Majority
Claimant’s objection tó this workmen’s compensation award is that it charges to the employer and carrier 1/6 only of the “ surgical, disability and medical expenses”
The workmen’s compensation referee gave him an award against this employer and insurer for 10-3/5 weeks’ disability plus the surgeon’s bill and the hospital bills on a finding that the industrial accident of November 8, 1954 “ aggravated a pre-existing condition and left the shoulder in a weakened condition which required surgery for correction.” The Workmen’s Compensation Board, however, modified the decision of its referee by charging the employer-carrier with II6 only of the disability period following the operation and 1/6 only of the surgical and hospital expense of the operation. There was a board finding that the surgical repair of September, 1955 and the subsequent disablement were ascribable to all six accidents (the industrial accident, the three preceding ones and the two subsequent ones) and that the industrial accident contributed proportionately 1/6 to claimant’s need for shoulder repair and consequential disability.
The theory of claimant, simply stated, is that this employer hired him with a known history of prior shoulder injuries and took him as he found him, that the 1955 surgery and disability were precipitated by the industrial accident and that the Workmen’s Compensation Law requires that an employer pay the
There seems no reported decision directly in point. However, subdivision 7 of section 15 of the Workmen’s Compensation Law which in the same or similar language has been in the statute for many years seems in its last proviso to justify this result: “ 7. Previous disability. The fact that an employee has suffered previous disability or received compensation therefor shall not preclude him from compensation for a later injury nor preclude compensation for death resulting therefrom; but in determining compensation for the later injury or death his average weekly wages shall be such sum as will reasonably represent his earning capacity at the time of the later injury, provided, however, that an employee who is suffering from a previous disability shall not receive compensation for a later injury in excess of the compensation allowed for such injury when considered by itself and not in conjunction with the previous disability except as hereinafter provided in subdivision eight of this section.”
Claimant does not deny that when there is a series of compensable accidents there can be an apportionment (see Matter of Anderson v. Babcock & Wilcox Co., 256 N. Y. 146 , and many other cases, one of the most recent being Matter of Fichtner v. Bloomingdale Bros., 4 N Y 2d 914 ). He argues, however, that subdivision 7 of section 15 (supra) is applicable only when the previous accidental injuries are compensable, citing Matter of Conway v. Aluminum & Brass Co. ( 304 N. Y. 571 ).
In some instances there might be a difficulty of reconciliation between the command of subdivision 7 of section 15 that compensation for a later injury shall not exceed compensation allowable for such injury considered by itself and the settled rule of the cases that when a subsequent industrial accident aggravates a previous disability the employer is liable for
In the appellant’s brief there is some discussion of subdivision 8 of section 15 which is construed in Matter of Mastrodonato v. Pfaudler Co. ( 307 N. Y. 592 ) and which subdivision provides that, if an employee who has a permanent physical impairment and is hired as a disabled person incurs a subsequent disability in a work accident resulting in a new permanent and substantially greater disability than before, the current employer must pay the compensation but is reimbursed in part from a Special Disability Fund. But subdivision 8 does not apply to the present situation and neither of the Appellate Division opinions in the present case relies on subdivision 8. There is no showing
The final argument of appellant is that there was no evidentiary basis in this record for the finding that the industrial accident’s contribution to the necessity for surgery was approximately 1/6 of the whole causation. Of course, such a finding could never have mathematical or exact demonstration. But the physician on whose testimony claimant relies here said that this was a common condition of a “ recurrent dislocating shoulder ’ ’ and that it ‘1 constituted a proportional aggravation of any subsequent condition in that shoulder ’ ’. Surely it was not irrational to conclude that each of the six accidents contributed in equal part to the final necessity for surgery. There is support in our decisions for the theory that in the absence of special circumstances equal apportionment is the best rule to apply (see Matter of Anderson v. Babcock & Wilcox Co., 256 N. Y. 146 , supra; Matter of Fichtner v. Bloomingdale Bros., 4 N Y 2d 914 , supra; Matter of Conklin v. Arden Farms Dairy Co., 3 N Y 2d 860 ).
The order should be affirmed, with costs.
Chief Judge Conway and Judges Dye, Fuld, Froessel, Van Voorhis and Burke concur.
Order affirmed.
Cases cited
- Claim of Schurick v. Bayer Co. 272 N. Y. 217 p. 449, p. 450
- Claim of Conway v. Aluminum & Brass Co. 304 N. Y. 571 p. 449, p. 452
- Claim of Meszaros v. Goldman 307 N. Y. 296 p. 449, p. 450
- Claim of Mastrodonato v. Pfaudler Co. 307 N. Y. 592 p. 449, p. 450, p. 453
- Claim of Riehl v. Town of Amherst 308 N. Y. 212 p. 450
- Claim of Kopec v. Buffalo Brake Beam-Acme Steel & Malleable Iron Works 304 N. Y. 65 p. 450
- Claim of Anderson v. Babcock & Wilcox Co. 256 N. Y. 146 p. 450, p. 452, p. 454
- Claim of Fichtner v. Bloomingdale Bros. 4 A D 2d 897 p. 450
- Claim of Fichtner v. Bloomingdale Bros. 4 N Y 2d 914 p. 450, p. 452, p. 454
- Claim of Conklin v. Arden Farms Dairy Co. 2 A D 2d 910 p. 450
- Claim of Conklin v. Arden Farms Dairy Co. 3 N Y 2d 860 p. 450, p. 454
- Claim of Altschuller v. Bressler 289 N. Y. 463 p. 450
- Claim of Sullivan v. B & A Construction, Inc. 307 N. Y. 161 p. 450
- Claim of Bervilacqua v. Clark 250 N. Y. 589 p. 450
- Claim of McCormack v. National City Bank 303 N. Y. 5 p. 450
- Claim of Schwab v. Emporium Forestry Co. 216 N. Y. 712 p. 453