Majority
OPINION OF THE COURT
In Matter of Kelly v State Ins. Fund, we held that when a workers’ compensation claimant recovers damages in a third-party action, “the compensation carrier’s equitable share of litigation costs incurred by the claimant may be apportioned on the basis of the total benefit that the carrier derives from the claimant’s recovery” ( 60 NY2d 131 , 135 [1983]). The carrier’s “total benefit” is the recoupment of its lien (the sum of past benefits paid the claimant) and relief from future obligations to make benefit payments to the claimant (id.). Where a carrier’s future benefit “cannot be quantified or reliably predicted,” i.e., the future benefit is speculative, it is improper for a court to apportion litigation costs based on that benefit (Burns v Varriale, 9 NY3d 207 , 215 [2007]).
On this appeal, we are asked to determine whether the future medical benefits that a compensation carrier has been relieved of paying due to a claimant’s successful prosecution of a third-party action are “so speculative that it would be improper to estimate and to assess litigation costs against [that] benefit to
I
Peter Bissell sustained injuries in a work-related accident that rendered him a paraplegic. The Workers’ Compensation Board concluded that Bissell sustained a permanent total disability and ordered the New York State Insurance Fund (the Fund), the compensation carrier for Bissell’s employer, to pay Bissell $400 a month for the duration of his life. Pursuant to Workers’ Compensation Law § 29 (1), Bissell commenced a third-party action against the Town of Amherst. As relevant here, the jury awarded Bissell $4,650,000 in damages over 32.7 years to cover future medical expenses.[1] The trial court reduced that award to its present value of $4,259,536.
The Fund asserted a lien against Bissell’s judgment in the amount of $219,760, representing $154,880 in past workers’ compensation benefits and $64,880 for past medical expenses. It acknowledged its Kelly obligation to contribute towards attorneys’ fees relative to the present value of the lost wages compensation benefit given Bissell’s permanent total disability designation; however, the Fund refused Bissell’s request that it pay that share of attorneys’ fees relative to the recovery of the future medical expenses awarded him, offering to pay its share of the cost when Bissell actually incurred each medical expense.
Bissell commenced a proceeding pursuant to section 29 (1) of the Workers’ Compensation Law to extinguish the Fund’s $219,760 lien against the third-party recovery and demanded $1,399,734 in “fresh money” representing, in part, the Fund’s equitable share of the cost of recovery of the $4,259,536 in future medical expenses that the Fund had been relieved of expending for Bissell’s future medical care. The Fund countered that it was not bound by a jury’s future medical expenses award, and that because it was impossible to reasonably ascertain the “total benefit” the Fund received by virtue of that award, it would reimburse Bissell the agreed-upon 33.5% reimbursement of those expenses only when Bissell actually incurred them.
* The jury returned a verdict of $30 million against the Town, but the Appellate Division reduced that amount to $23.4 million, finding that certain of the awards were excessive. It did not alter the jury’s award for future medical expenses, holding that the jury’s verdict in that respect was supported by the trial evidence ( 56 AD3d 1144 , 1148 [4th Dept 2008]).
II
There is no question that the Fund received a benefit from the third-party action, i.e., it will be relieved of paying a substantial sum of Bissell’s future medical expenses and lost wages (see Workers’ Compensation Law § 29 [4] [setting forth the carrier’s right to credit the claimant’s recovery in the third-party action against its obligation to pay additional workers’ compensation indemnity and/or medical benefits]). As a result, the Fund must pay its equitable share of the litigation costs expended in obtaining that recovery (see Workers’ Compensation Law § 29 [1]). At issue, however, is whether the Fund is bound by the jury’s future medical expenses award, such that the Fund’s 33.5% share of litigation costs can be “quantified or reliably predicted” and, therefore, should be included as part of the Kelly calculation. We conclude that the jury verdict for future medical expenses is not the proper barometer by which the Fund’s share of litigation costs may be measured.
Relying on our holdings in Burns and Kelly, Bissell contends that the amount of future medical expenses—having been decided by a jury and upheld by the Appellate Division as being supported by the trial evidence—cannot be deemed speculative since the benefit to the Fund can be “quantified by actuarial or other reliable means” (Burns, 9 NY3d at 215 ; Matter of Kelly, 60 NY2d at 139 ). Therefore, according to Bissell, the present value of the future medical expenses should be included as part of the Kelly calculation, entitling him to an immediate payment of the attorneys’ fees expended in obtaining that portion of the award. We disagree.
We held in Bums that “if a claimant does not receive benefits for death, total disability or schedule loss of use, the carrier’s future benefit cannot be quantified by actuarial or other reliable means” (Burns, 9 NY3d at 215 [emphasis omitted], citing
In a third-party action, the injured employee will have only one opportunity to obtain a recovery for future medical expenses, and the jury assessing the medical evidence will have the chance to make but one award for such expenses, if any. By contrast, in the workers’ compensation context it is possible to wait and see what happens, and to require the carrier to pay its share of litigation costs when that share can be accurately calculated—i.e., when the actual medical expenses that the carrier has been relieved from paying are known. Moreover, whether the claimant is entitled to medical treatment pursuant to the Workers’ Compensation Law is a determination that must be made by the Workers’ Compensation Board, and such determination is not dependent upon the jury’s verdict in the third-party action.
Although the claimant cannot include future medical expenses as part of the Kelly calculation, that does not mean that the carrier is relieved of paying its equitable share of the benefit. The trial court has the discretion to “fashion a means of apportioning litigation costs as they accrue and monitoring (e.g., by court order or stipulation of the parties) how the carrier’s payments to the claimant are made,” thereby ensuring that the carrier’s equitable share of litigation costs is based on concrete, realized benefit, while concomitantly ensuring that the claimant will not wait indefinitely for the carrier’s payment of its share (Burns, 9 NY3d at 217 ).
Accordingly, the order of the Appellate Division should be affirmed, with costs.
Order affirmed, with costs.
Cases cited
- Kelly v. State Insurance Fund 60 NY2d 131 at 135 p. 698, p. 699
- Claim of Merchant v. Pinkerton's Inc. 50 NY2d 492 p. 698
- Stenson v. New York State Department of Transportation 84 AD3d 22 p. 698
- Burns v. Varriale 34 AD3d 59 p. 698
- Burns v. Varriale 9 NY3d 207 at 215 p. 698, p. 699
- Wood v. Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. 123 Misc 2d 812 p. 698
- Cox v. Belmont Iron Works 104 Misc 2d 801 p. 698
- Steitz v. Gifford 280 NY 15 p. 698
- Briggs v. Kansas City Fire & Marine Insurance 121 AD2d 810 at 812 p. 698, p. 699, p. 702
- Becker v. Huss Co. 43 NY2d 527 p. 698
- Miszko v. Gress 4 AD3d 575 p. 698
- Smith v. Spinoccia 119 AD2d 660 p. 698
- Bissell v. Town of Amherst 79 AD3d 1638 at 1641 p. 699, p. 701