Majority
OPINION OF THE COURT
The principal issue presented in this appeal is whether the definition of “total disability” in a disability income policy is ambiguous and, if not, whether plaintiff satisfies the requirements of that definition. We conclude that the definition is not ambiguous and plaintiff failed to establish his entitlement to benefits under the policy as a matter of law.
In 1992, plaintiff James J. White, Jr., a physician who specialized in orthopedic spinal surgery, purchased a disability income policy from First UNUM Life Insurance Company. In 1996, the policy was transferred to defendant Continental Casualty Company (CNA), and again, in 2001, to defendant Life Insurance Company of Boston & New York (LICOBNY). Prior to the 2001 transfer, the policy provided that plaintiff would be considered totally disabled if he was “unable to perform the substantial and material duties of [his] occupation due to an Injury or Sickness.” After the policy transfer, the definition of total disability was changed by adding a second provision which required that plaintiff not be able to “[perform] the duties of any gainful occupation for which [he is] reasonably fitted by education, training, or experience.” Plaintiff does not dispute that he was notified of the change in the language of the policy.
As with any contract, unambiguous provisions of an insurance contract must be given their plain and ordinary meaning (see Teichman v Community Hosp. of W. Suffolk, 87 NY2d 514 , 520 [1996]), and the interpretation of such provisions is a question of law for the court (see Bailey v Fish & Neave, 8 NY3d 523 , 528 [2007]; Chimart Assoc. v Paul, 66 NY2d 570 , 572-573 [1986]). It is well settled that “[a] contract is unambiguous if the language it uses has ‘a definite and precise meaning, unattended by danger of misconception in the purport of the [agreement] itself, and concerning which there is no reasonable basis for a difference of opinion’ ” (Greenfield v Philles Records, 98 NY2d 562 , 569 [2002] [brackets in original], quoting Breed v Insurance Co. of N. Am., 46 NY2d 351 , 355 [1978], rearg denied 46 NY2d 940 [1979]). “Thus, if the agreement on its face is reasonably susceptible of only one meaning, a court is not free to alter the contract to reflect its personal notions of fairness and equity” (Greenfield, 98 NY2d at 569-570 [citations omitted]). If the terms of a policy are ambiguous, however, any ambiguity must be construed in favor of the insured and against the insurer (see United States Fid. & Guar. Co. v Annunziata, 67 NY2d 229 , 232 [1986]).
Here, in order to receive disability income benefits under the policy, plaintiff is required to establish that he is “unable to
* Defendant CNA was granted summary judgment dismissing the complaint against it and is not a party to this appeal.
In addition, although the question of whether a policyholder’s condition falls within the policy’s definition of total disability is typically one for a jury (see McGrail v Equitable Life Assur. Socy. of U. S., 292 NY 419 , 425 [1944]), here, plaintiff failed to present any evidence demonstrating the existence of a triable issue of fact concerning whether he is totally disabled under the policy. Clearly, plaintiff satisfied the first provision of the definition inasmuch as he stopped performing orthopedic surgeries due to medical problems prior to filing a claim under the policy. However, as to the second provision, the evidence in the record demonstrates that plaintiff renders second medical opinions on spinal surgery, performs independent medical examinations and serves as an expert medical witness. Therefore, the courts below correctly determined that, as a matter of law, plaintiff is “performing the duties of [a] gainful occupation for which [he is] reasonably fitted by [his] education, training, or experience,” and thus, he is not totally disabled within the meaning of the policy.
Plaintiffs remaining contentions lack merit.
Accordingly, the order of the Appellate Division should be affirmed, with costs.
Chief Judge Kaye and Judges Ciparick, Graffeo, Read, Smith and Jones concur.
Order affirmed, with costs.
Cases cited
- Allstate Insurance v. Zuk 78 NY2d 41 p. 265, p. 266
- Slayko v. Security Mutual Insurance 285 AD2d 875 p. 265, p. 266
- Nationwide Mutual Insurance v. Davis 195 AD2d 561 p. 265, p. 266
- Cross Properties, Inc. v. Home Indemnity Co. 41 Misc 2d 822 p. 265
- Niccoli v. Monarch Life Insurance 70 Misc 2d 147 p. 265, p. 266
- Niccoli v. Monarch Life Insurance 45 AD2d 737 p. 265, p. 266
- Niccoli v. Monarch Life Insurance 36 NY2d 892 p. 265, p. 266
- Monarch Life Insurance v. Brown 125 AD2d 75 p. 265
- Primavera v. Rose & Kiernan, Inc. 248 AD2d 842 p. 265
- Dal Construction Corp. v. City of New York 108 AD2d 892 p. 265
- Pontello v. County of Onondaga 94 AD2d 427 p. 265
- Rotuba Extruders, Inc. v. Ceppos 46 NY2d 223 p. 265
- Keith v. Houck 88 AD2d 763 p. 265
- Pepper v. Allstate Insurance 20 AD3d 633 p. 265
- Johnson v. Travelers Insurance 269 NY 401 p. 265
- Bretton v. Mutual of Omaha Insurance 110 AD2d 46 p. 265
- Michelson v. Massachusetts Casualty Insurance 102 AD2d 1003 at 1004 p. 265, p. 268
- Jones v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance 295 AD2d 569 p. 265
- Salimbene v. Merchants Mutual Insurance 217 AD2d 991 p. 266
- Madhvani v. Sheehan 234 AD2d 652 p. 266
- Noroian v. Cohen 7 AD3d 288 p. 266
- Nicholas J. Masterpol, Inc. v. Travelers Insurance Companies 273 AD2d 817 p. 266
- Lawton v. Lawton 239 AD2d 866 p. 266
- Centennial Life Insurance v. Scherrer 191 AD2d 298 p. 266
- Taterka v. Nationwide Mutual Insurance 59 NY2d 743 p. 266
- Slayko v. Security Mutual Insurance 98 NY2d 289 p. 266
- Teichman v. Community Hospital of Western Suffolk 87 NY2d 514 at 520 p. 267
- Bailey v. Fish & Neave 8 NY3d 523 at 528 p. 267
- Chimart Associates v. Paul 66 NY2d 570 at 572-573 p. 267
- Greenfield v. Philles Records, Inc. 98 NY2d 562 at 569 p. 267
- Breed v. Insurance Co. of North America 46 NY2d 351 at 355 p. 267
- United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co. v. Annunziata 67 NY2d 229 at 232 p. 267
- McGrail v. Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States 292 NY 419 at 425 p. 268