Majority
Headnote
1. Insurance — Credit Insurance — Breach oe Warranty — EstoppelKnowledge op Soliciting Agent.This action was brought upon a bond of indemnity issued by the defendant intended to insure the plaintiffs, who were merchants, against losses resulting from insolvency of their debtors between the 28th day of August, 1901, and the 15th day of October, 1902. The complaint alleges the issuance of such bond in consideration of a premium of $300, and that during the period for which they were insured plaintiffs suffered a loss which was adjusted at the sum of $5,-219.36, from which the defendant is entitled to a deduction of $500, the terms of the policy providing that the insured should bear an initial loss of $500 and the company be responsible only for losses above said amount, and asked judgment for the balance of $4,719.36. The answer admits the issuance of the bond, and sets up as a separate defense that by the written application for the bond, signed by the plaintiffs, they warranted certain statements to be true, and that said statements
It was also proven upon the trial, by examination made by an officer of the defendant from the books, made after the presentation of the claim, what the precise amounts for such years really were, as follows: Sales for the year 1896, $122,831.73; 1897, $202,211.12.; 1898, $261,103.27; 1899, $321,094.60; 1900, $321,023.64; and that the losses for the year 1900 were $1,464.75 and for four years previous thereto, $1,-115.81.
The application upon which the bond .was issued, and in which the answers were written by Kraemer and signed by the plaintiffs, contained, among other things, the following:
“This application is to be considered as in part consideration of the bond to be issued. * * * We make answers to the following questions, and we warrant the said answers to be true, and they are offered as a consideration for the bond hereby applied for and any bond which may hereafter be issued to us * * *. A. What have been your gross sales and losses each year during the past five years?
Amount of Gross Sales.
Amount Gross Losses.
1896— $300,000 $278.30
1897— 300,000 427.13
1898— 300,000 579.81
1899— 350,000 5.19.22
1900— 350,000 750.00
“[There may be a salvage from 5 to 10 per cent, of these losses.]
“This application and the bond to be issued constitute the entire agreement between, the undersigned and the American Credit Indemnity Company of New York, any verbal or written promise or agreement by any agent of the said company to the contrary notwithstanding. It is also agreed and warranted that this application, whether as respects anything contained therein or omitted therefrom, has been made, prepared and written by the applicant, or by his own proper agent.”
The bond issued upon said application was under seal, and contained the following; clause:
“Misrepresentation, concealment or fraud in obtaining this bond or in the proof or adjustment of any claim for loss thereunder, shall void it from the date of its issuance, and the premium paid shall be forfeited. No person shall at any time have power to alter or change the terms of this bond or any provisions thereof, nor shall notice to any person or knowledge of his either before or after the execution of this bond be held to effect a waiver or change this bond or any provision thereof. Alterations, changes and waivers of the provisions of this bond shall only be valid when authorized by this company in writing over the signature of its president or secretary.”
And the application by the terms of the bond was made a part thereof.
It appearing that the figures stated in the written application were not true statements of the business operations of the plaintiffs for the preceding five years to the knowledge of the plaintiffs when they signed the application upon which the bond of indemnity was issued, the court directed a verdict for the defendant. It is not contended upon this appeal that the statements warranted in said application to be true were, as matter of fact, true. The claim of the appellant is that as Kraemer, the soliciting agent, knew that they were not true, and, as Kraemer wrote the various amounts in the application after averaging them himself, that the knowledge of Kraemer was the knowledge of the defendant, and that, inasmuch as with that knowledge the premium was accepted and the bond issued, the defendant is estopped from denying liability thereon.
The contention of the respondent is that Kraemer was not a general agent of the company; that therefore his knowledge could not be imputed to the company; that it clearly appears that the plaintiffs knew Kraemer was a mere soliciting agent from the fact that, during the continuance of the negotiations, he would have to report back to the company from time to time before the amount of the initial loss was fixed; that therefore, in the making of this application, Kraemer was not the agent of the company, but the agent of the insured; and that by
The question of the relationship that an agent bears to the insurer and to the insured has been many times considered by the courts. I take it that whether or not the knowledge of the agent is to be imputed to the company, or whether or not the agent is to be considered for certain purposes the agent of the insured, depends upon the nature of the agency and the character of the contract. In Sternaman v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, 170 N. Y. 13 , 62 N. E. 763 , 57 L. R. A. 318 , 88 Am. St. Rep. 625 , the Court of Appeals has finally determined, so far as life insurance companies are concerned, that where the insured is obliged to submit to an examination by the medical officer chosen by the company, and where that medical officer is required to put down in his own handwriting the answers to specific medical inquiries addressed to the insured, “the medical examiner is the agent of the insurer in making the examination, taking down the answers and reporting them to the company; that his knowledge, thus acquired, his interpretation of the answers given, and his errors in recording them, are the knowledge, interpretation, and errors of the company itself, which is estopped from taking advantage of what it thus knew and what it had thus done when it issued the policy and accepted the premium.” But in that same opinion it was said:
“The parties to the policy in question could agree that the person who filled out part A of the application was the agent of the insured and not of the company. There is a' difference in the nature of the work of filling out the blank to be signed by the insured and that of filling out the blank furnished for the use of the medical examiner. The former is the work of the insured, and may be done as well by one person as by another. He may do it himself or appoint an agent to do it for him. It is quite different, however, with the work of the medical examiner, because that requires professional skill' and experience, and the insurer permits it to be done only by its own appointee.”
There is nothing in this bond nor in the application which provides that the application should be made out by the officer of the company, nor did the questions therein contained require any technical knowledge or experience. They are of the simplest character, purely as to matters of fact. They are:
“How long have you been in business? What line? Jobbers or manufacturers? What territory do you cover? In what sections do you make the largest aggregate sales? What are your longest terms of sale? Do you sell mostly to manufacturers, jobbers, or dealers? Is any fact now known to you or has any information come to your knowledge which injuriously affects the credit, or standing of any person, firm, or corporation now indebted to you or to whom you now contemplate selling goods? What have been your gross sales and gross losses each year during the past five years?”
There is no similarity whatever between these questions and those propounded by the medical examiner, and this application comes, it seems to me, distinctly within the quotation from the Sternaman Case, supra:
“The parties to the policy could agree that the person' who filled out part A. of the application was the agent of the insured and not of the company.”
And that is precisely what the insured did in these words:
“It Is also agreed and warranted that this application, whether as respects anything contained therein or omitted therefrom has been made, prepared and written by the applicant or by his own proper agent.”
The insured knew the facts. He read what the agent had written down. He signed the paper with his knowledge, warranting the said answers to be true and warranting that they were prepared by his own agent. As I read the Sternaman Case, this he could do, and, if he did it, must be held to be bound thereby.
The appellant contends that Lewis v. Guardian Tire & Life Assurance Company, 181 N. Y. 392 , 74 N. E. 224 , 106 Am. St. Rep. 557 , is a direct authority in point. In that case a fire insurance company defended upon the ground of a breach of the conditions of the policy that other insurance had been effected on the property, previous to the issuance of the policy, which additional insurance was not noted or indorsed thereon. There seems to have been no question in that case of an application containing false statements warranted to be true by the applicant over his own signature and with knowledge thereof. The question decided was “that, if the insurance company or its general agent is at the time of the issue of the policy notified of the facts which under the terms of the policy would render it void if not noted on the policy, the company cannot avail itself of such a defense, though a different rule prevails as to breaches of conditions occurring subsequent to the issue of the policy,” and the decision went upon the specific ground that it appeared upon the face of the papers that the agent to whom the application was made and who delivered the policy was the general agent of the company; the name “Patterson & Son, Agents,” appearing upon the policy in two different places and having been put thereon, not by the agents, but by the officers of the company in its office. That case is therefore an authority only for the proposition that the knowledge of a general agent of an insurance company, whose general agency is conceded or established, is the knowledge of the company. There is no such evidence in the case at bar. Kraemer is conceded to be a soliciting agent. His name does not appear upon the indemnity bond sued on. It does appear on the application in writing, opposite the name of the applicant, as of a witness thereto, and all of the evidence tends to show that he did not possess the powers of a general agent, because after every interview, while negotiations were going on with the insured, the insured testified that he had to go back to the company before he could give an answer.
In the case of Butler v. Michigan Mutual Life Insurance Company, 184 N. Y. 337 , 77 N. E. 398 , the question was whether the knowledge of a soliciting agent of the defendant of the true facts concerning the health of the insured disclosed to said soliciting agent before the insured went to the medical examiner for examination, was the knowledge of the company, and the court held that it was not, stating:
“Had Freeman been authorized to fix insurance and issue policies, a very different question would be presented.”
There is no evidence in this case that ICraemer had any right to fix insurance or to issue the policy. On the contrary, it appears affirma
Appellant makes the further point that the defendant, having adjusted the plaintiffs’ claim with knowledge of the alleged breach of warranty, must be deemed to have waived the same. The facts in this regard are as follows: After the plaintiffs forwarded their claim to the defendant one of the plaintiffs testified that Brown, the adjuster of the company, called upon them and said, “I came here to adjust your claim,” and that thereupon with two bookkeepers went over the books, working during the morning and afternoon until about half past 4, at which time, -Brown said to the plaintiffs:
“We owe you about four thousand six hundred and odd dollars. What are you willing to take for cash? As a rule, if we make a settlement and they want to pay cash, we will throw off a little something.”
Witness said:
“I will not throw off one cent. I want four thousand six hundred odd dollars, whatever is the amount stated. When do you expect to send me the amount?”
Brown said:
“We have 60 days’ time to settle, to pay the amount, and I said, ‘All right; I can wait.’ ”
Tha work upon the books upon that first day was confined entirely to the examination as to the losses for which the plaintiffs were claiming indemnity under their bond. Upon the next day the examiner re
Dissent
It follows, therefore, that the judgment and order should be affirmed, with costs. All concur, except McLAUGHLIN, J., who dissents.
(dissenting). I think the court erred in directing a verdict for the defendant. A question of fact was presented, which should have been submitted to the jury, as to the authority of the defendant’s agent, Kraemer, to waive the conditions of the policy, and also as to whether he did not, in fact, waive the conditions which it is claimed constitute a forfeiture. Lewis v. Guardian Fire Insurance Co., 181 N. Y. 392 , 74 N.
Cases cited
- Sternaman v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 170 N. Y. 13 at 62 p. 675
- Lewis v. Guardian Fire & Life Assurance Co. of London, England 181 N. Y. 392 p. 676, p. 678
- Butler v. Michigan Mutual Life Insurance 184 N. Y. 337 p. 676