Majority
Headnote
1. Contracts (§ 176[2] )—Construction—Accrual-Question fob Jury.The complaint alleges that on the 17th of •October, 1909, certain fire insurance policies owned by one Ehrlich were transferred and assigned to the defendant by said Ehrlich; that, at the special request of the defendant, the plaintiff paid to the said Ehrlich the sum of $1,000, and that on the 3d of February, 1909, the defendant entered into an agreement with the plaintiff, whereby defendant in consideration of the foregoing agreed to pay the plaintiff the sum of $1,000 upon the receipt by the defendant of the payment of the loss sustained by the said Ehrlich on certain fire insurance policies thereinbefore stated to have been assigned to the defendant. The allegations of this complaint are not entirely clear as to when the obligation of the defendant to pay to the plaintiff this sum of $1,-•000 accrued. It is alleged that the defendant was to pay to the plaintiff this sum of money on “the payment of the loss sustained by the said A. N. Ehrlich on the certain fire insurance policies aforestated, as hereinbefore stated, to have been assigned.” The answer of the defendant denies the allegations of the complaint to which attention has been called, and then sets up a separate defense which is not material upon this appeal.
Upon the trial the defendant conceded that the aggregate amount of the policies assigned to it was $15,500, of which approximately $8,100 had been collected to the date of the trial, and that actions were pending against insurance companies for the balance, and that about $5,500 had been collected on these policies prior to the commencement of the action. The plaintiff was then called as a witness, and testified without objection that Ehrlich introduced plaintiff to one Gans and stated to Gans in the presence of the plaintiff that plaintiff was the man that he (Ehrlich) “was talking to you before about—he wants to loan me $1,000 and you will give him a writing,” when plain
“I, the undersigned, L. L. Gans, treasurer of the Giveen Manufacturing ■Company, agree to pay Abraham Cohen, one thousand ($1,000) dollars upon receipt of payment of fire insurance policies, pertaining A. N. Ehrlich’s loss by fire. Giveen Mfg. Co.,
“L. L. Gans, Treasurer.”
Plaintiff then testified that he read this paper over, but- not being able to read English well, and noticing that the paper said something about fire insurance policies, said to Gans, “What has that got to do with me?” to which Gans replied, “That is all right; * * * you will get your $1,000 the first money what we will get in from the fire insurance policies; that plaintiff asked, “How long will it take to get my money, the $1,000?” and Gans answered, “It will take a couple of weeks;” that at the end of two weeks plaintiff asked Gans for the money, when Gans said, “We did not receive ■any money yet, but the first money that will come, you will get your $1,000;” that he subsequently again asked for his money when Gans said, “We have no money yet; when we will get in the first money, you will get your $1,000.” Plaintiff paid Ehrlich the $1,000 upon the day of the first conversation. Gans was then called as a witness for the plaintiff, and testified that he was one of the organizers of the defendant, and at the time of the making of this contract was its president and treasurer and also a director; that his duties consisted of signing checks, looking after the general management of the defendant’s’ business, supervising and taking a general observation of all that was going on; that he signed the instrument introduced in evidence; that the fire insurance policies of Ehrlich were assigned to the defendant and the defendant had received part of the benefits of the assignment; that at the time he signed this contract for the defendant he had power to sign contracts. The plaintiff then rested, and defendant moved to dismiss the complaint on the ground that, according to the agreement, “it provides upon ■payment of the policies, and it does not mean one, two or three, but it means the payment of all the policies.” The plaintiff claimed that the agreement was ambiguous, and that the agreement of the parties was that plaintiff should be paid out of the first payment that was received by the defendant on account of these policies. The court held that there was nothing ambiguous about the contract, but that it means that the defendant agreed to pay the plaintiff upon receipt of payment of the policies which did not mean one policy but meant them all, and that the action had been prematurely brought. The motion to dismiss the complaint was thereupon granted, to which the plaintiff excepted.
The motion for a direction of a verdict was made upon the ground
Dissent
It follows, therefore, that the judgment appealed from should be reversed, and a new trial granted, with costs to the appellant to abide the event.
MILLER and DOWLING, JJ., concur.
(dissenting). The nonsuit was granted on the ground that the action was brought prematurely.
It was admitted on the trial that one A. N. Ehrlich assigned to the defendant 16 fire insurance policies aggregating $15,500 as security for an indebtedness owing by him to the defendant; that thereafter. the property covered by the insurance policies was damaged or destroyed by fire, and prior to the commencement of the action the defendant had collected on the policies the sum of $5,500, and that actions are pending for the recovery of the balance. According .to the testimony of the plaintiff and to inferences that may reasonably be drawn therefrom, at the time of or after assigning the policies to the defendant he had an interview with one Gans who was president and treasurer of the defendant with respect to giving the plaintiff a writing or order as a condition of plaintiff’s loaning to Ehrlich the sum of $1,000, and Ehrlich thereafter gave Gans an order in writing
“I, the undersigned, L. L. Gans, treasurer of the Giveen Manufacturing. Oompany, agree to pay Abraham Cohen, one thousand ($1,000) dollars upon receipt of payment of fire insurance policies, pertaining A. N. Ehrlich’s loss by" fire. Giveen Mfg. Co.,
“L. L. Gans, Treasurer.”
No questioh is raised with respect to the authority of Gans to act" for the defendant in the premises. The plaintiff claims to have made-out a prima facie case on the theory that the writing quoted was-ambiguous, and that the parol evidence received without objection shows that the defendant agreed to pay the plaintiff out of .the first' moneys received on the insurance policies. The appellant contends-that the contract is not ambiguous, and that the complaint was framed on the theory that the plaintiff was only entitled to recover after the defendant collected all that was collectible on the insurance policies, and that, as no amendment of the complaint was asked for or allowed, it cannot be ¿mended on appeal for the purpose of reversing the judgment. It is alleged in the complaint that certain 'fire insurance policies were assigned by Ehrlich to defendant on October 17, 1908; 1 that plaintiff paid to Ehrlich $1,000 at the special instance and request of the defendant; that on or about the 3d day of February, 1909, the defendant in consideration of said payment entered into an agreement with the plaintiff, whereby it agreed to pay to him “the sum of one thousand ($1,000) dollars, upon receipt by the defendant of the payment of the loss sustained by the said A. N. Ehrlich, on the certain fire insurance policies, aforestated, as hereinbefore stated, to have been assigned,” and “that the loss on the insurance policiesaforedéscribed has been paid.” It will thus be seen that both by the provisions of the contract and by the allegations of the complaint the plaintiff was to be paid when the defendant received payment on the insurance policies of the loss sustained by Ehrlich. Of course, the contract was susceptible to parol proof to identify the policies and thus show the loss to which that relates; but, when it was shown that Ehrlich assigned 16 policies representing an aggregate insurance of $15,500, then I think there was left no ambiguity in the contract, and the pláintiff could not recover without showing that the whole amount of the insurance had been collected, or that it had been collected so far as collectible, or that the defendant had not proceeded with due diligence in collecting it and that a reasonable time therefor had elapsed. So likewise, under the allegations of' the complaint, the plaintiff was only entitled to recover on like proof,, for that is the theory of the action as disclosed by the complaint, and even though a recovery on another theory might have been sustained had -the complaint been amended, or even though it might have been amended on appeal to sustain a recovery on another theory, it cannot be amended on appeal to bring about a reversal.
I therefore dissent from the reversal of the judgment and vote to affirm it.
McEAUGHEIN, J., concurs.