Majority
Headnote
1. Double Insurance—Operation of Law—Violation of Poliot.The policy in suit contains the following provision:
“This entire policy, unless otherwise provided by agreement indorsed hereon or added hereto, shall be void if the insured now has, or shall hereafter make or procure, any other contract of insurance, whether valid or not, on property covered' in whole or in part by this policy.”
It does not appear that any agreement for additional insurance-was indorsed upon the policy, nor is it claimed that the defendant ever consented that such additional insurance should be, or received any notice that it had been, obtained from the Springfield. Fire & Marine Insurance Company, prior to the service of the-proofs of loss. The single question, therefore, which we are called upon to consider, is whether or not the procuring of this-additional insurance was such a violation of the condition heretofore referred to as vitiated the defendant’s policy. There is, of course, no claim that the wagons and harness specified in the second policy were the identical property covered by the defendant’s, contract of insurance; but it is insisted that, inasmuch as the-policy in suit referred to the subject-matter of the insurance in general terms, without specifying any particular wagons or harnesses, the risk thereby assumed was what is termed a “shifting” risk, and one which attached to and embraced any and all wagons-
But the question which has thus far been discussed, while full of interest, and perhaps not altogether easy of solution, is nevertheless one which, in our opinion, is not necessarily controlling in the case. The learned justice before whom this action was tried has found as a fact:
“That, at the time the policy of the Springfield Fire & Marine Insurance Company was issued, a list of the property thereby insured was shown to the agent of that company by the agent of said Cummings, and it was not the intent of said company to insure any of the property insured by the defendant.”
And as a conclusion of law he further finds:
“That the policy in suit did not cover any of the property covered or insured by the policy issued by the Springfield Fire & Marine Insurance Company.”
It is apparent from the language here quoted that the decision of the trial court involved, to a very considerable extent, the intent of the parties when the insurance represented by the two policies which have been referred to was effected, and that such intent was ascertained, not only from the policies themselves, but from extrinsic facts and circumstances. The duty, therefore, devolving upon this court, is to determine (1) what was the real intent of the parties; and (2) whether the trial court was justified in consider
“The problem of two policies, each containing a condition against other insurance, has worried the judges a great deal. * u * Almost every conceivable solution has been adopted in some jurisdiction or other, and there hardly exists In the law a more variegated chapter than this.” 2 May, Ins. § 365, B.
It will be helpful, therefore, in our undertaking, if we bear in mind that not only is the burden cast upon the defendant of establishing by competent and satisfactory evidence the breach of the condition relative to additional insurance which is relied upon as a defense to the action (Richmond v. Insurance Co., 79 N. Y. 230 ), but that it is also the settled policy of the law to construe such a condition strictly against the insurer (Harrow v. Society, 116 N. Y. 537 , 22 N. E. 1093 ). In the case of Rann v. Insurance Co., 59 N. Y. 388 , it was said by Allen, J., that:
“In the interpretation of conditions inserted in, and making a part of, the contract by insurers, and in language chosen by them, care should be taken that a strained and unnatural effect should not be given to words and terms, to the prejudice of the insured.”
And in Hoffman v. Insurance Co., 32 N. Y. 405 -413, it was held that where words “were used in an enlarged or restricted sense, other things being equal, that construction will be adopted which is most beneficial to the promisee.”
Proceeding, therefore, upon the lines thus pointed out for our guidance, what interpretation shall the condition in the defendant’s policy receive? The language of this condition, so far as it is necessary to refer to the same in this connection, is that the entire policy shall be void if the insured shall, without the consent of the insurer indorsed thereon, “hereafter make or procure any other contract of insurance, whether valid or not, on the property covered in whole or in part by this policy.” How, in one aspect of the question, this language is perfectly plain, and free from ambiguity. It means precisely what it says, which is that, if the insurer obtains additional insurance upon the specific property covered by the policy, he must procure the written consent of the insurer thereto, or else be deprived of whatever security his contract of insurance was designed to afford him. But can it, by any rule of construction which is not strained or unnatural, be held to mean that if the insured obtains a policy in another company which was not designed to cover property already insured, and which can only be said to have that effect by operation of law, he violates the condition contained in his policy? We think the mere statement of this latter proposition is sufficient to show that the construction which is sought to be given to the language quoted necessarily involves a consideration of the intent of the parties, which may be ascertained from the policy itself, as well as “from such extrinsic evidence as may be necessary to identify the property described.” Sanders v. Cooper, 115 N. Y. 279 -285, 22 N. E. 212 ,
To epitomize the whole matter, then, we think that double insurance resulting from the operation of law, and without design upon the part of the insured, is not a violation of the true spirit and intent of the condition contained in the defendant’s policy (Yose v. Insurance Co., 39 Barb. 302 ); that even if the risk covered by the policy in suit did attach to the property thereafter removed to the Hoag barn, there being no imputation of fraud in the case, it may be shown by facts and circumstances outside of the policy that it was not the intention of the insured to obtain.double insurance (May, Ins. § 366); and, lastly, that the trial court having found, upon conflicting evidence, that there was no such intent, its decision ought not to be disturbed.
Judgment affirmed, with costs. All concur.
Cases cited
- Richmond v. Niagara Fire Insurance 79 N. Y. 230 p. 337
- Darrow v. Family Fund Society 116 N. Y. 537 p. 337
- Hoffman v. Ætna Fire Insurance 32 N. Y. 405 p. 337
- Sanders v. Cooper 115 N. Y. 279 p. 337
- McMaster v. President of Insurance Co. of North America 55 N. Y. 222 p. 338
- Vose v. Hamilton Mutual Insurance 39 Barb. 302 p. 339