Majority
Headnote
1. Plunge—What Constitutes—Life Insurance Policy.This action has been tried once before, and resulted in a judgment that the action was properly brought; that the defendants Ann Healey, Starks A. Doty, and Carrie E. Doty had no interest in the policy sued upon; that the firm of Peterson & Packer were the holders of the policy, and entitled to the moneys payable thereunder, whenever they should elect to exercise the option thereby given to the holder to convert the policy into cash under the terms thereof. Insurance Co. v. Healey (Sup.) 28 N. Y. Supp. 478 . An appeal was taken from this judgment to the general term, which resulted in a reversal, and the granting of a new trial. Insurance Co. v. Healey, 86 Hun, 524 , 33 N. Y. Supp. 911 . The action is one for interpleader, and to determine conflicting claims to the policy and the moneys payable thereunder.
If the question of the right to maintain the action was presented as a new proposition, I should be inclined to say that the complaint should be dismissed on the grounds that these defendants are not here claiming the same thing, , and that it is not now possible to determine the rights of the parties, because the future cannot be foretold, and the court should not be called upon to adjudicate upon rights and interests which will depend upon the order in which the deaths of the several beneficiaries under the policy may occur, or upon the question of survivorship among them. There has been some controversy on this trial as to how this question was decided upon the appeal. One of the learned justices at the general term in his opinion ( 86 Hun, 535 , 33 N. Y. Supp. 917 ) reasoned that, so long as the rights of the conflicting claimants were inchoate, an action of interpleader would not lie. Another concurred with the learned trial justice upon the first trial that the action was properly brought. 86 Hun, 537 , 33 N. Y. Supp. 918 . The third justice dissented without writing an opinion. This dissent amounts to a concurrence with the learned trial justice on the former trial that the action was properly brought. I think, therefore, that question is removed from consideration upon the new trial. This appears to devolve the duty úpon me in the first instance to attempt to determine the rights and interests of the conflicting claimants under the policy; some, if not all, of which are subject to contingencies which may or may not happen. The policy
“Eighth. That this policy may be converted into cash, at the option oí the holder, at any time after the expiration of fifteen years from the date thereof for the amount indorsed upon the back of this policy corresponding to the age (nearest birthday) of the insured at the time of such conversion: provided, that this policy shall have been first paid up by the payment of ten full annual premiums as herein stipulated.
"Ninth. That no assignment of this policy shall be valid unless made in writing indorsed hereon, and unless a copy of such assignment shall be given to this company within thirty days after its execution; and any claim against this company arising under this policy made by any assignee shall be subject to proof of interest.”
Doty and his wife are still living. They have two children, the defendants Starks A. and Carrie E. Doty, who were both infants at the time this action was commenced. Starks A. has since arrived at the age of 21 years. Alonzo H. paid the annual premiums upon the policy for 10 years, and the stipulated period of 15 years named in the eighth condition of the policy expired on the 23d day of May, 1889. He became 47 years of age on the 9th day of September, 1891, and the value of the policy under the option clause was $740 at that time and at the time of the commencement of the action. His present age is 52, and the value under the clause is now $840. On the 13th day of April, 1884, Alonzo H. borrowed the sum of $600 of the defendant Healey, for which he and his wife Josephine gave their joint anti several note to Healey, and delivered to her the policy in question as collateral security for the note, and the same has ever since remained in her possession. There was no written assignment of the policy at the time it was delivered to her. Judgment was perfected in her favor against Doty and his wife under the note for $600, above mentioned, August 6, 1890, and no part of the judgment has been paid. On August 6, 1890, Doty and his wife executed and delivered to Healey a written assignment “of all their right, title, claim, interest, and benefit” in and to the said policy, and the plaintiff received a copy of such assignment on the 7th day of April, 1890. In October, 1891, Ann Healey brought an action against the plaintiff, in which she claimed to be the holder of the policy, and “elected that the same, be converted into cash,” and asked judgment against the plaintiff for $740, the then value of the policy under the option clause. Proceedings in -that action have been stayed until the determination of this action. On the 29th day of October, 1886, Josephine Doty, with the consent of her husband (who united with her in the instrument), executed an assignment in which she recited an indebtedness
The first question to be determined here, then, is as to the effect of the delivery of the policy to the defendant Healey. There has been a good deal of conflict in the evidence upon the question as to whether or not at the time Peterson & Packer received the assignment of the policy they knew of the claim of Healey with reference to it. A careful examination of the conflicting testimony leads me to the conclusion that the preponderance of testimony is in favor of Healey’s contention, and that at the time they received their assignment they knew that the policy had been pledged to her as collateral security for her loan to the Dotys. I do not think, however, that the delivery of the policy to Healey amounted to an assignment of it, as she claims, but, in my opinion, it constituted a valid pledge of the policy, and created an equitable lien thereon for the amount’ of her note to the extent of the interest of Josephine and Alonzo in the policy. A contract of pledge need not be in writing. It depends for its validity on delivery and possession of the subject-matter, and only a special property, not the title, passes. 18 Am. & Eng. Enc. Law, 590, and cases cited. Nonnegotiable choses in action are proper subjects of pledge. Wilson v. Little, 2 N. Y. 443 . A life insurance policy may be effectually pledged by delivery with or without a written assignment. Jones, Pledges, §§ 145, 147; 18 Am. & Eng. Enc. Law, 651; Bliss, Ins. §§ 325, 328; Ang. Ins. § 327; Merrill v. Insurance Co., 103 Mass. 245 . The clause in the policy which prohibits the transfer of it without the consent in writing of the insurers does not apply to a deposit of it by way of pledge. Jones, Pledges, § 147; Merrill v. Insurance Co., supra; Leinkauf v. Calman, 110 N. Y. 50 , 17 N. E. 389 . The reason is that a pledge is not a transfer of the title nor an assignment of the policy. The legal title remains in the pledgor. The pledgee has the possession and a special property which he holds to protect his equitable lien. I think the pledge of this policy to Healey should be made effectual, and her lien enforced in equity, unless the statute stands in the way. From the time of the act of 1840 (chap
The next question to be considered is as to the interests of the respective parties. The policy is payable when due to Josephine in case she survives her husband, and in case of her death before his decease it is payable to their children, if any, then living, or to their
Taxable costs not exceeding $100- are allowed to the plaintiff, to be charged by it against the moneys payable under the policy. The guardian ad litem is allowed his taxable disbursements and taxable costs, not exceeding $50 in addition thereto, and the defendant Healey is allowed her taxable disbursements; such costs-and disbursements to be paid by the plaintiff, and charged by it against the moneys payable under the policy.
Ordered accordingly.
Cases cited
- Wilson v. Little 2 N. Y. 443 p. 1046
- Leinkauf v. Calman 110 N. Y. 50 p. 1046
- Walsh v. Mutual Life Insurance 133 N. Y. 408 p. 1048