Majority
Headnote
1. Evidence of Custom—Unambiguous Contract.This cause has been tried three times. On the last trial it was presented on amended pleadings. The trial judge •directed a verdict for the plaintiff, and from the judgment entered thereon this appeal is taken. The action was brought upon a contract purporting to be one of insurance, and by which, the plaintiff claimed, the full relation of assured and insurer was established between him and the defendant. That contract consisted of an instrument called a “binding slip,” which was delivered by the defendant to insurance brokers employed by the plaintiff, and is in these words:
Beecher & Benedict.
New York, 180
Insure 13. M. Van Tassel
§10,000 for 12 months
on
Building N. E. corner 13th Ave. and W. 11th street,
N. Y. City.
In store.
Binding this 1 day of January, at noon.
(This memo, to be void on delivery of the policy at the
office of Beecher and Benedict.)
Company. Amount. Accepted.
Greenwich. §10,000
Renewal
550,298 not in force. Wm. Adams.
It appeared in evidence that the plaintiff, in the year 1889, held a policy of insurance issued by the defendant, which covered the
It is contended, however, on the part of the appellant, that the plaintiff was not entitled to recover because he failed to allege or prove that before suit brought he had either paid or tendered to the defendant a premium of insurance for $10,000. This point is urged, not as affecting the validity of the contract, but as going to the right of the plaintiff to maintain an action upon the contract without actual payment or tender of payment of the premium, as a condition precedent to his right to sue. In the complaint, credit is given for the amount of premium on $10,000 (which was $75), and the recovery is for the amount of the insurance less that premium. The defendant is not in a position to urge that objection, even if it were one that can be taken in any event. It is quite clear from the evidence that, if any premium had been tendered, it would have been rejected by the defendant. It does appear that, immediately after the loss occurred, the plaintiff tendered a premium upon a risk assumed to be to the extent of $5,000 only, and that was rejected, not on the ground of insufficiency in amount, but on the specific ground that defendant did not insure the building referred to in the communication in which the check for' the amount tendered was contained. On the 17th of January, 1891, the defendant expressly repudiated any liability, saying it had no insurance on the building referred to. Again, on the 21st of February, 1891, it declined to accept any papers purporting to be proofs of loss, on the express ground that it had no in
It is further urged that there can be no recovery by the plaintiff because he did not show that he owned the building mentioned in the contract of insurance, and the rule is invoked that a breach of warranty of ownership or a false representation as' to ownership avoids the policy. It is alleged in the complaint that, at the time the loss occurred, the plaintiff was the absolute owner in fee of the property and the building erected on the premises. That allegation of the complaint is denied. There is no proof that the plaintiff owned the land upon which the building was erected, but it does appear that that building stood upon leasehold ground. In the absence of any proof of misrepresentation or concealment, it was not necessary for the plaintiff to prove that he was the absolute owner in fee of the land. It was only necessary for him to show an insurable interest in the building. There was nothing in the binding slip, nor anything, so far as appears, that was stated at the time that slip was issued, concerning the plaintiff’s ownership of the property; but it does distinctly appear 'that the defendant knew that the plaintiff was not the owner in fee of the land, and that the policies previously issued by it to the plaintiff were so issued with that knowledge. In other words, the defendant knew the building was on leased ground, and assuming that, in some former application (which, however, does not appear), the statement was made that the plaintiff was the owner in fee of the property, all that was waived by the defendant. Van Schoick v. Insurance Co., 68 N. Y. 438 . It appears from the policy issued for the year 1859, distinctly, that the building insured stood upon leased ground, and the policy was issued with reference to that situation of the building. It contains this memorandum: “April 14th, 1890. It is understood that said building stands on leased grounds.” It was therefore known to the defendant that the plaintiff was not the owner in fee of the property. But the defendant contends that it still remains that the plaintiff asserted he was the owner-of the building, and that there is nothing in the lease in evidence, and under which the plaintiff was in possession of the property, that showed that, as between the landlord and the plaintiff, the latter owned the building. It appears that the buildings destroyed were large and valuable, were erected by the plaintiff, and paid for by him. We do not find anything in the evidence of any representation that would avoid this insurance on the ground of misrepresentation or concealment as to the ownership of the building. The argument is made that all of the plaintiff’s rights depend upon the conditions of the New York standard policy, and we are not disposed to differ with that view. One of the conditions of such a policy is that, if the interest of the insured be other than unconditional and sole owner
It is further contended that the trial judge erred in refusing to allow the case to go to the jury upon the question whether or not the plaintiff consented to a cancellation of the insurance by acquiescence in the letter of June 7th of the defendant to the brokers. That matter was disposed of by the court of appeals. The same circumstances and situation with reference- to the sending and receipt of that letter appeared on the former trial as are now before us. No new feature is introduced concerning it, and no further consideration of that subject is required. No other matter suggested by the appellant as a ground for reversing this judgment requires consideration.
The judgment must be affirmed, with costs. All concur.
Cases cited
- Lipman v. Niagara Fire Insurance 121 N. Y. 454 p. 81
- Karelsen v. Sun Fire Office of London (Ltd.) 122 N. Y. 545 p. 81