Majority
Headnote
1. Insurance—Endowment Policies—Action for Undeclared Dividend.The plaintiff was the holder of an endowment policy in the defendant company for $20,000, which he took out in 1882, and which matured in 1897, when he received the sum mentioned, together with $3,932, as additions, to which had been devoted his annual dividends or share of the surplus profits allotted to him by the company. This action is brought to recover $7,087.38, on the ground that said sum would be due and payable, in addition to what he actually received, if the company had allotted to him his proportion of its whole surplus; his claim being that the company was bound to
“This policy, during its continuance, shall be entitled to participate in the-distribution of the surplus of this society, by way of income, to the amount insured, according to such principles and methods as may from time to time be adopted by this society for such distribution, which principles and methods are hereby ratified and accepted by and for every person who shall have- or claim any interest under this contract; but the society may at any time before a forfeiture, upon request of the person holding the absolute legal title-to this policy, substitute a cash payment, to be fixed by said society, in lieu of the said increase to the amount insured, to be used in reduction of subsequent premiums.”
The contention of the defendant is that the plaintiff’s contract with the company, as contained in his policy, does not require that 'the whole surplus or profits of the company shall be divided among, the policy holders; that if the contract embraced the charter provisions as well as the stipulation of the policy, and both taken together gave a right to plaintiff, as policy holder, to a division of the whole surplus, still an action at law would not lie for any specific sum until such sum had been allotted to the plaintiff; that this action, although, in form an action at law, involves an accounting to ascertain what sum, if any, equitably belongs to plaintiff, and is not maintainable, in view of the provision of the insurance law (Laws 1892, c. 690, § 56; Laws 1890, c. 400) that proceedings for an accounting against the corporation must be upon the application of the attorney general; and that plaintiff’s right, if any, to a larger dividend than he received, gives no right to demand a cash payment, but, under the charter, to have such dividend applied to the purchase of additional insurance or an annuity.
There remain two objections of defendant to the maintenance of this action: One is to the merits,—that plaintiff’s contract with the company gives him no right, so far as his complaint shows, to a greater dividend than he has received; and the other is to form,— that the share, if any, to which plaintiff is equitably entitled, can only be ascertained by an accounting, and that, under the statute cited, the attorney general alone is authorized to bring the necessary action therefor.
The objection that the piaintiff’s contract with the company, as set out in the complaint, gives no right to the moneys demanded, seems to be well taken. The relation between the policy holder and the company is purely that of contracting parties. The company is not a trustee for its policy holder, nor required to account to him, as to a cestui que trust. Taylor v. Insurance Co., 9 Daly, 459 . The obligation of the company is upon contract, and the policy constitutes the contract. Hencken v. Insurance Co., 11 Daly, 282 . Consulting this policy, to ascertain what the company contracts with reference to the surplus, we find that the insured is entitled to “participate in the distribution of the surplus according to such principles and methods as may from time to time be adopted by this society for such distribution, which principles and methods are hereby ratified and accepted for every person who shall have or claim any
With regard to the objection that the complaint does not set forth facts entitling plaintiff to a judgment for the sum demanded, but
“According to the principles and methods adopted by the defendant for distribution of surplus, there was distributed in the year 1895 to the plaintiff $328, as Ms proportion of a distribution of a surplus amounting to $2,002,954.23,. and that the proportion due this plaintiff of the $43,277,179 net surplus ascertained on December 31, 1896, according to the same principles and methods, which were the principles and methods in force during the life of plaintiff’s, policy, is $7,087.38, in addition to the amount of surplus actually awarded, of $3,932; making a total amount of $11,019.38 of surplus, and $20,000 of principal.”
These are statements, not of fact, but of conclusions, and the complaint is demurrable for want of the necessary allegations of fact to sustain the demand for the sum of $7,087.38 claimed. The plaintiff, under the terms of his policy, must abide by the methods and principles adopted by the company in distributing its surplus; and he professes to base his claim upon them, conceding their correctness. What these methods and principles are, is not set forth, but it is alleged that an apportionment of surplus has been made each year that the policy was in force; and it is manifest that it will require a series-, of further apportionments made for each of those years of the undistributed surplus to correspond with those actually made and set forth in the complaint. Instead of seeking to recover upon such a method, which would correspond to that adopted by the company in arriving-at the annual sums that make up the $3,932 allotted to plaintiff, he-arbitrarily selects the amount apportioned to his policy in the year-1895, which is $328, and is larger than the sum allowed for any other-year, and seeks to recover the same proportion of the entire net surplus of $43,277,179 as $328 bears to $2,002,954.23, which was the surplus distributed in 1895. The complaint does not show that such a distribution will accord with the methods and principles of distribution adopted by the company, for such methods and principles are not set forth. The complaint seems to be fatally defective in this regard. For aught that appears in the complaint, an account of the-business of the company for each year that the-plaintiff’s policy was in force will have to be gone into, in order to ascertain what proportion of the whole surplus he was equitably entitled to each year,— a hardship which the legislature has sought to relieve the company from at the suit of a single policy holder. The complaint sets forth proportions of the surplus distributed to the plaintiff each year, and the net accumulation of each year over and above the sum distributed. A comparison of these figures shows that different elements or factors, entered into the distribution of each year, and these differences the complaint ignores; but they must be the subject of inquiries which make an accounting indispensable. There seems, therefore, to be a visible defect in the complaint, (1) in failing to show facts that entitle plaintiff to the proportion of the net surplus which he demands in this action; (2) in failing to show that an accounting will not be required in order to ascertain what further sum is due to the plaintiff; and (3) in failing to show that the plaintiff’s contract with the company entitles him to any greater sum than he has received.
Cases cited
- Boardman v. Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railway Co. 84 N. Y. 157 p. 506
- Thomas v. New York & Greenwood Lake Railway Co. 139 N. Y. 163 p. 506
- Day v. Ogdensburgh & Lake Champlain Railroad 107 N. Y. 129 p. 506
- New York, Lake Erie, & Western Railroad v. Nickals 119 U. S. 296 p. 506
- Fisher v. Charter Oak Life Insurance 52 N. Y. Super. Ct. 179 p. 507