Majority
Headnote
1. Insurance—Marine Accidents—Construction op Policy—Loss.Both parties appeal from this judgment,—the plaintiffs because of the refusal of the court to allow a recovery for the amount of the costs paid by the plaintiffs in the litigation to determine the question as to the liability of the two tugs of which the plaintiffs were the owners for the loss and damage arising from .and growing out of a collision, and the defendant because of the denial of the motion to dismiss the complaint. The action was brought to recover under a policy of insurance. The policy provided that/
The question of the liability of the insurance company for the costs- and expenses of the litigation under a policy such as that sued on in» this action was settled by this court in the case of Fernald v. Insurance Co., 27 App. Div. 138 , 50 N. Y. Supp. 838 . As that case dis
Upon the defendant’s appeal, two questions are presented—First, that the evidence shows a breach of warranty contained in the policy ■of insurance; and, second, that the claim of the plaintiffs was barred by the limitation contained in the policy of insurance. The policy -of insurance contained the following provision:
"Warranted by the insured that the steam tug aforesaid shall at all times be in charge of, and commanded by, a duly-licensed pilot or captain, and that <she shall not take or tow a larger number of boats or craft than she can at ■■all times properly and safely handle and fully protect.”
The defendant offered no evidence upon the trial tending to show that this warranty was violated by the plaintiffs, but depended en-' tirely upon the opinion delivered by Judge Brown in the United -States district court, in which he decided the question of the liability ■of the tugs. There is nothing in the decree of the court by which it was adjudged that this warranty was broken, the decree simply adjudging that the said steam tugs were both in fault for the disaster ■and damage; and the defendant relies solely upon the ground that the judge, in his opinion, stated that the tugs were liable for a lack -of reasonable prudence in starting with such a tow at a time when the bad weather that followed was, “according to all experience and within the ordinary knowledge of boatmen, to be hourly expected.” The plaintiffs called as witnesses the captains of the two tugs and the captain of one of the barges which was lost. From that testi- • mony it appeared that the tow had nice weather on the start, but that the wind came out from the eastward way, and, as one of the witnesses called it, “a pretty good swell” came in. “The consequence was that the Minnie, [one of the barges] by heaving up and down, laboring in the sea-way, caught in a guard of the Dom Pedro, and lifted it up for a distance of from twenty to twenty-five feet. She began to fill and sink in about three minutes,” and the tow then broke up. One of the witnesses also testified that these two- tugs bad in tow 14 canal boats; that there was very little wind, but quite a heavy swell, and that the tow could have got along all right bad it not been for the breaking óf the Dom Pedro by the collision with the Minnie; that one of the tugs had since that time taken 16 boats; that the tow was made up in the usual way, navigating the usual course; and that there was no difficulty in the two tugs together handling these boats that night. This evidence was not -contradicted, the defendant offering no evidence at all. We think the defendant failed to prove any breach of this warranty. The statement in the opinion of the district court judge was not evidence of facts which would justify a jury in finding a breach" of the warranty, and there was nothing in the decree of the district court from which it could be inferred that the injury was sustained by, or that the liability was imposed upon, the plaintiffs in consequence of any act that could be construed into a breach of the warranty. We think, therefore, that the judge was correct in refusing to dismiss the complaint upon the ground that there was a breach of warranty. There was no request to submit this question of a breach of the warranty
The question as to the statute of limitations arises under the following clause of the policy:
“It is also agreed that all claims under this policy shall be void unless prosecuted by suit at law within twelve months from the date of the loss, any •statute of limitation to the contrary notwithstanding.”
The collision occurred on the night of November 9, 1893. The ■ decree of the district court was entered on April 16,1895, and the final decree of the district court, after the appeal to the circuit court of appeals, seems to have been entered on the 27th of June, 1896. The action was commenced on May 10, 1897. Under the policy, however, the defendant was not to be liable until the liability was determined by a suit at law, and it was necessary for the insured to defend the •claim against the boats injured; the policy providing that it shall ■be lawful and necessary for the insured “to sue, labor, and travel for, .and to make all reasonable exertions in and about, the defense, safeguard, and recovery of the said vessels and cargoes, or any part thereof, without prejudice to this insurance.” Under the policy it is quite clear that it was the .duty of the insured to defend against the claim, and that the loss under the policy cannot be said to have accrued until, by the determination of the court, the insured was finally compelled to pay. By the policy the insurance was to indemnify the insured for loss and damage arising from, or growing ■out of, any accident caused by any collision and (or) stranding. There was no loss or damage sustained by the defendant, within the terms of this policy, until the insured had been compelled to pay the claims of the owners of the vessels; the contract of insurance being simply for indemnity. Any action brought by the insured under this policy prior to the time that they had paid the judgment of the admiralty court imposing a liability upon them for the loss of the barges composing the tow would have been premature, as, until such payment, no liability arose on behalf of the insurance company to pay under a contract to indemnify the owners of the tugs for any loss or damage arising from, or growing out of, a collision. Under the policy, therefore, the “date of .the loss” was not until the final -decision of the United States court imposing a liability upon the tugs covered by the insurance, and its payment by the plaintiffs.
No other question was presented on this appeal, and we think that the judgment appealed from is right, and it is affirmed, without costs. All concur.