Majority
Headnote
Title Insurance—Exceptions—Construction.This action, is brought to recover upon a policy of insurance issued by the defendant to the plaintiff, insuring the latter against “all loss or damage, not exceeding four hundred thousand dollars, which the insured shall sustain by reason of any defect or defects of title affecting the premises described in Schedule A, hereto annexed, or affecting the interest of the insured therein as described in said schedule, or by reason of unmarketability of the title of the insured to or in said premises, or by reason of liens or incumbrances charging the same at the date of this policy, saving all loss and damage by reason of the estates, interests, defects, objections, liens, and incumbrances excepted in Schedule B, or by the conditions of this policy, hereto annexed, and hereby incorporated into this contract.” Hie exceptions contained in Schedule B are found in subdivision 9, in the following words: “Defects and incumbrances arising after the date of this policy, or created or suffered by the insured, and assessments not confirmed at the date of this policy, are not to be deemed covered by it;” and they are the only exceptions which in any wise limit the liability of the defendant for any matter or thing which arises upon the facts appearing in this case. For all purposés of practical certainty there is no dispute of fact. It appears that the defendant was engaged to search the title of five pieces of property for the plaintiff, and also to insure the title to the property against incumbrances and otherwise. Upon the date of the execution of the policy of insurance, and as early as October, 1892, there existed as a lien and incumbrance upon one of the pieces of property a confirmed assessment levied by the municipal authorities of the city of Trenton, N. J., amounting to $1,900 and upwards. The defendant was requested to pay and discharge this incumbrance, but declined so to do; and the plaintiff, having paid the same, brings this action to recover such sum, claiming that it falls within the terms and conditions of the policy. It is probably true that the relation of the defendant, so far as its employment involved a search of the title to the premises and an examination of the same, would not be other or different than that of a lawyer engaged to perform the same service, the obligation in such case being the exercise of ordinary reasonable skill and knowledge of the profession; and liability could only be predicated of negligence and misconduct in the examination. Byrnes v. Palmer, 18 App. Div. 1 , 45 N. Y. Supp. 479 ; Ehmer v. Trust Co., 156 N. Y. 10 , 50 N. E. 420 . The contract of insurance, however, is an entirely different contract, wherein the doctrine of skill or negligence has no application. The contract issued by this defendant is one of insurance pure and simple, issued by a corporation, for which provision is made in the insurance law of the state. Article 5, Ins. Law; 2 Rev. St. (Banks & Bros.’ 9th Ed.) p. 1202, § 170 et seq. Therein these corporations are placed upon substan
Dissent
The court below dismissed the complaint upon the ground, substantially, that the guaranty against incumbrances ran only to the time the purchaser took its deed and entered into possession of the premises. Such, undoubtedly, would be the law as applied to the breach of a covenant contained in a deed, the rule being that breach of covenant is coexistent with the delivery of the executed deed. For an incumbrance thereafter created the covenant of warranty would not be broken. Such contracts are broken immediately, or not at all. It is evident, however, from what has preceded, that such doctrine can have no application to the contract of insurance issued in this case. Even if it could, there would be no breach of the contract until the execution and delivery of the policy of insurance; and as that, by its terms, insured against this specific incumbrance, there was an immediate breach of its condition upon the delivery. It may be true that the real contract between these parties contemplated that the guaranty and insurance of the title should take effect on the date of the delivery of the deed and the entry into possession, and should not be operative thereafter. Such was the theory of the defense set up in the answer to this action. That asks for a reformation of the contract of insurance, and such, evidently, was the theory of the attorney for the defendant when the cause came to trial. If such was not his theory, he came dangerously near to admitting the plaintiff’s cause of action, and standing upon his defense for a reformation of the contract to make it conform to what was in fact the terms of the agreement. But, however this may be, the case finally went off on the other theory, and a construction placed upon the terms of the contract of insurance, which, as we have seen, it will not bear. Nor can we now consider the testimony bearing upon the question as to whether the contract should be reformed. The plaintiff has not been heard upon that question, as the complaint was dismissed upon an erroneous theory. Upon the testimony and the contract as it stood unreformed, the court would have been authorized to render a judgment in favor of the plaintiff. It follows from these views that the judgment should be reversed, and a new trial granted.
BARTLETT and WOODWARD, JJ., concur.
(dissenting). I am constrained to differ with my associates in the views expressed in the opinion of Mr. Justice HATCH. There is no question but that, under the terms of the policy, the defendant guarantied the plaintiff against liens existing at its date. But a contract of insurance is one of indemnity, and
“Paroi evidence may, in proper modes, and within proper limits, be admitted to vary written instruments upon the ground oí mistake, fraud, surprise, and accident. This exception rests upon the highest motives of policy and expediency, for otherwise an injured party would generally be without remedy.”
The defendant is a corporation engaged in the business of examining and guarantying title to real estate. According to the admission of the reply, the plaintiff was incorporated in May, 1892, previously to which date the persons interested in the formation of the plaintiff corporation employed the defendant to examine and guaranty the titles to five pottery properties which were to become the property of the plaintiff. It is admitted by the pleadings that on April 24, 1893, the defendant issued its policy of title insurance, whereby it insured the plaintiff against all loss or damage, not exceeding $400,000, which it “shall sustain by reason of any defect or defects of title affecting the premises described in Schedule A, hereto annexed, or affecting the interest of the insured therein, * * * or by reason of liens or incumbrances charging the same at the date of this policy.” The schedule enumerated five deeds of property to the plaintiff corporation, of which four were dated June 16,1892, and recorded on July 8, 1892, one of which four covered premises known as the “Crescent,” situated in the city of Trenton. The plaintiff went into possession under the deed about the time of its date. The fifth deed, dated April 17, 1893, conveyed premises known as the “Empire,” and was recorded on April 24, 1893, the day on which the defendant’s policy was issued. There was testimony of Mr. Van Buskirk tending to show that in October, 1892, an assessment for the widening of Allen street, on which the Crescent property was situated, became a lien on that property. The plaintiff contended that the defendant was bound to pay the assessment, because it was a lien on the Orescent property before and at the date of the policy. The defendant contended that there was a mistake in the language of the policy, and set up in the answer facts upon which it asked for a reformation of the policy so that the defendant should be held to a guaranty upon each separate policy as of the time when the plaintiff took title to and went into possession of the respective estates. At the close of the evidence of both parties the court rendered a decision that the defendant was entitled to a judgment dismissing the complaint upon the merits, on the grounds that the defendant was liable only for such liens as existed on each lot at the time the plaintiff took title and possession, that the assessment in question was imposed after the plaintiff received the deed of the property and went into possession thereunder, and that such assessment was not one of the liens insured against by the terms of the policy. The judgment followed the language of the decision dismissing the complaint upon the merits, without referring to the defendant’s prayer for a reformation of
“We say that on the 24th of April, 1893, and theretofore and thereafter, there was a lien or incumbrance on a. part of the said premises, to wit, the parcel described in. the policy. * * * The Court: Do you give the date when that was imposed? Mr. Bayne: No, sir. Prior to the date of the policy is all that we allege; that at the date of the policy and prior thereto it was a lien upon the premises. We do not undertake to say the exact date when the lien occurred beyond the fact that it occurred prior to the date of the policy.”
It is evident, therefore, from this and subsequent colloquies between court and counsel, that the case was tried on the théory that the assessment became a lien before the date of the policy, not before the date of the plaintiff’s deed. The question, therefore, is whether the policy was intended to cover any lien which was imposed intermediate the date of the deed and the date of the policy. Upon this subject the evidence of the president of the plaintiff shows that there was a question whether the defendant should issue separate policies for each piece of property or one for all five. If separate policies had been issued, it may be assumed that, accord
Cases cited
- Byrnes v. Palmer 18 App. Div. 1 at 45 p. 117
- Ehmer v. Guarantee & Trust Co. 156 N. Y. 10 at 50 p. 117
- Allen v. St. Louis Insurance 85 N. Y. 473 p. 118