Majority
Headnote
1. Life Insurance—Wife—Exemption—Limit.Frederick Domeyer died January 31, 1900, and at the time of his death his wife, the defendant Charlotte Domeyer, held three insurance policies for $10,000 each upon his life, by the terms of which the amounts secured thereby were payable to her,— one issued by the Provident Savings Life Assurance Society of New York June 1, 1892, one issued by the United States Life Insurance Company August 30, 1893, and one issued by the Penn Mutual Life Insurance Company August 26, 1895. The plaintiff also held three policies, aggregating $10,000, issued on the 4th of June, 1891, by the Provident Savings Life Assurance Society of New York upon the life of Frederick Domeyer, payable to the defendant Charlotte Domeyer, and which were, on the 25th of September, 1894, assigned by Mrs. Domeyer and her husband to the plaintiff as collateral security for the payment of a debt then due him from the husband. The United States Company and the Penn Company paid to Mrs. Domeyer the amounts covered by their respective policies after deducting the premiums due. The Provident Company paid into court the amount secured by the policy issued June 1, 1892, but refused to pay the policies assigned to the plaintiff, for the reason that the proceeds of such policies were claimed by both the plaintiff and the defendant Charlotte Domeyer. Thereupon this action was brought to procure a judgment establishing an alleged claim of the plaintiff against the estate of Frederick Domeyer, deceased, and adjudging that the proceeds of the three policies theretofore assigned belonged to- him, to be applied towards the satisfaction of his claim, and also adjudging that he had a lien, sufficient to satisfy his claim, upon the proceeds of the other policies, for any sum that might remain after such application. The plaintiff had a judgment establishing his claim against such estate at $18,939.28 and directing the Provident Company to pay to him the proceeds of three policies theretofore assigned, such proceeds to be applied towards the satisfaction of his claim; and also adjudging that he had a lien upon the proceeds of the other policies, except the one issued by the United States Company, and as to that he had a lien for so much of the proceeds as was purchased by the annual premiums in excess of $74; and directing the wife to pay to the administrator of Frederick Domeyer, deceased, so much of the proceeds of the policy issued by the United States Company as was purchased by the annual premiums in excess of $74, and the entire proceeds of the policy issues by the Penn Company; also directing that the money theretofore paid into court on the $10,000 policy issued by the Provident. Company be also paid to the administrator. From this judgment both parties have appealed.
“A married woman may, in her own name, or in the name of a third person, with his' consent as her trustee, cause the life of her husband to be insured for a definite period, or for the term of his natural life. Where a married woman survives such period or term, she is entitled to receive the money payable by the terms of the policy as her separate property and free from any claim of a creditor or representative of her husband, except that where the premium actually paid annually out of the husband’s property exceeds $500 that portion of the insurance money which is purchased by excess of $500 is primarily liable for the husband’s debts.”
The amount of premiums annually paid on the policies the proceeds of which are here in dispute largely exceeded the $500 provided by this statute, inasmuch as they amounted to $1,262. In order, therefore, to determine the rights of the plaintiff, it is necessary, as already indicated, to construe this statute, and ascertain, if possible, just what the legislature intended by its enactment. The manifest purpose of the statute of 1858, as it seems to us, was to exempt from the rights of creditors a certain share of the income of the husband, which he might apply towards the establishment of a fund for the benefit of his widow. By the act of 1858 the wife was permitted to cause to be insured for her sole benefit the life of her husband for any definite period, or for the term of his natural life; and, in case of her surviving her husband, the insurance becoming due by the terms of the policies payable to her was to be her own property, free from all claims of creditors of her husband. The act, it will be observed, further provided that such exemption should not apply where the amount of the premium annually paid out of the property of the husband exceeded $300. Thus by the express language of the act it would seem that the legislature intended to ex
But then the question presented is as to how this claim of the creditors can be enforced. The statute provides that that portion of the insurance money which was purchased by excess of premiums above $500 is “primarily” liable for the husband’s debts. The word “primarily” is used as a synonym for the word “first,”—that is, that the excesss of the insurance shall be first liable for the husband’s debts, and, secondly, that, after the husband’s debts have been satisfied, the remainder of the excess shall belong to the wife. If we are right in thus construing the statute, it necessarily follows that this excess of insurance is a fund for not one, but all, the creditors of the deceased. It is an equitable asset of the estate of the husband, who died insolvent, without sufficient property to pay all his just debts. Therefore the executor or administrator of the husband’s estate in the administration of the same is obligated to reduce this equitable asset to possession under the powers conferred by chapter 314 of the Laws of 1858, and distribute the same among all the creditors of the deceased. Of course, the wife cannot be deprived of any part of this insurance which is not necessary for the payment of the debts of the deceased. That this was the legislative intent is indicated by the phrase that this excess of insurance shall be “primarily” liable for the payment of the husband’s debts; in other words, if the husband does not leave sufficient property to pay his debts, then the claims of all the creditors are to become a lien upon the insurance purchased by annual premiums in excess of $500, and until such claims have been paid the wife has no interest in such proceeds,—that is, the proceeds of the excess of insurance is property which has been produced by the misapplication of assets of the insolvent husband, and which, under the statute, forms a part of his estate to be distributed, after his other property has been exhausted, among all his creditors.
It may be suggested that the executor or administrator might be unwilling to take the necessary legal proceedings to reduce this insurance to possession. That may be. But if an administrator or an executor refuses to perform his duty he can be removed, and some one appointed in his place, who will properly execute the duties of his trust; or, in case of his refusal, it is possible a creditor, on behalf of himself and all other creditors, might bring an action, making the-executor or administrator a party defendant, and alleging that he had refused to bring such action. It seems to us clear, however, that a creditor situated as the plaintiff is has no standing whatever to maintain an action of this character. In this connection it may not be out of place to call attention to the fact that in no event can the premium paid upon the three policies assigned to the plaintiff be charged to the defendant Charlotte Domeyer; in other words, such premiums cannot be considered as a part of the $500 in determining what insurance she is entitled to under the statute. These policies were assigned as collateral security for the payment of the husband’s debts
It follows, therefore, that the judgment appealed from must be reversed, with costs, and, inasmuch as the plaintiff cannot, under any circumstances, recover in this action, the complaint must be dismissed, with costs to the defendant Charlotte Domeyer. All concur.