Majority
Headnote
1. Specific Performance—Contract to Adopt.This is an action to, determine who is entitled to the fund arising out of an.insurance policy (No. 10,029, dated April 8, 1865) issued by the Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company upon the life of Morris R. Merchant for $5,000, made payable, first, to Mary A. Merchant, his wife; and, in case of her decease before the death of Morris R. Merchant, the amount of said insurance is payable to his heirs at law. The plaintiffs Joseph W. Merchant and Hiram B. Merchant are brothers of the insured. Jenette J. Merchant is the assignee, and has been substituted to the rights of, Benjamin F. Merchant, who was also a brother of the insured. Mary A. Merchant, the beneficiary, died on the nth day of November, 1887. Morris R. Merchant, the insured, died intestate on the 5th day of January, 1900. The policy of insurance was never in any manner changed, and no other individual beneficiary was ever substituted in the place or stead of Mary A. Merchant. The policy became a paid-up policy, and was in force, payable to the heirs at law of Morris R. Merchant, at the time of his death. The defendant, Nettie M. White, claims to be the legally adopted child of Morris R. Merchant, and she claims the right to the funds arising out of said insurance, as his heir at law, as the beneficiary under said policy. After the death of Morris R. Merchant, proofs of loss were duly filed, and such steps and proceedings were taken that the said insurance company became charged with the payment of the funds arising under their contract of insurance with said Merchant. An action was therefore commenced, first by the plaintiffs against the insurance company, upon said contract. An order was subsequently made, on the application of said defendant insurance company, to substitute Nettie M. White as the defendant in said action, for the purpose of settling the rights and equities between these parties. Merchant v. Insurance Co., 57 App. Div. 375 , 68 N. Y. Supp. 406 . The fund arising upon said policy was paid into court, under an order duly entered; and said fund, with the interest thereon, is now in the hands of the treasurer of Broome county, awaiting the determination of this action.
“Know all men by these presents that, in consideration of one dollar to me paid, I, Melvin 0. Smith, do hereby grant and convey to Morris R. Merchant of De Ruyter, in the county of Madison and state of New York, the custody, tuition, and services of my infant daughter, Nettie May Smith, during the full term of her minority, and until she shall arrive at the age of twenty-one years; hereby giving and granting to said Merchant all the rights and powers vested in me as father during said term; and I hereby authorize said Merchant, at his option, to change the last name of said Nettie so that she may be hereafter known as Nettie May Merchant. Witness my hand and seal this thirtieth day of January, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and seventy-three.
' “M. O. Smith. [L. S.]
“Signed and sealed in the presence of B. V. Ellis, and acknowledged on the same day before B. Y. Ellis, a justice of the peace, Wayne Co., N. Y.”
It will be seen that Mary A. Merchant did not join in any agreement for, nor did she give her consent to, the adoption of the defendant, as required by Laws 1873, c. 830, passed June 25, 1873, as amended by Laws 1887, c. 703, passed June 25, 1887. Smith v. Allen, 161 N. Y. 478 , 55 N. E. 1056 ; Von Beck v. Thomsen, 44 App. Div. 373 , 60 N. Y. Supp. 1094 , affirmed in 167 N. Y. 601 , 60 N. E. 1121 . Morris R. Merchant did not execute such an agreement with Smith. It was only a release of the custody and the services of the defendant to Merchant.
On the trial of this action it was sought to be shown that Morris. R. Merchant entered into a parol agreement with Margaret Smith to adopt said child as his heir, and to treat her in all respects as his own child. The parol agreement is seriously in conflict with the written instrument put in evidence by the defendant. The parol evidence of the declarations of Morris R. Merchant on the trial is nearly evenly balanced between his alleged agreement with M. O. Smith to make the child his heir, under the written instrument, defendant’s Exhibit 1, and his alleged parol agreement with defendant’s mother. The agreement was only contingent,—never consummated. On the part of the defendant it is now sought to enforce said alleged parol agreement as the contract for the adoption of said defendant, and defendant asks for a specific performance of that contract. Can the written instrument be modified by parol evidence ? Hill v. Blake, 97 N. Y. 216 ; Littlejohn v. Shaw, 159 N. Y. 188 , 53 N. E. 810 ; Browne v. Paterson, 165 N. Y. 460 , 59 N. E. 296 . In actions for the enforcement of parol contracts,, in equity, it is undoubtedly the rule of law that, before the enforcement of such a contract will be decreed by a court of equity, it must appear affirmatively, and by the clearest evidence, that it was founded upon an adequate consideration, that it
I think there is another serious objection to the enforcement of the alleged parol adoption. There is no pretense that Mary A. Merchant had any part or lot, or ever acquiesced, in the adoption of the defendant, so as to in any manner conflict with her rights as the beneficiary under the contract of insurance. Mary A. Merchant had one child by a former husband. He was her heir at law. The insurance was undoubtedly originally secured for the benefit of Mrs. Merchant, Morris R. Merchant having no children of his own. It is quite impossible to assume, from her relations with Morris R. Merchant, that the defendant supposed herself to be entitled to the fund to become due upon this policy. It is unquestionably true that she was clothed, cared for, and educated by said Morris R. Merchant; and, while she must have known of the instrument in writing, defendant’s Exhibit 1, which she produced in court and put in evidence upon the trial, at the age of 17 years she deliberately ran away from home, married without the consent of her alleged foster father, and has almost continuously lived apart from him since. While if the evidence in this case satisfied me that the contract of adoption alleged in the answer was actually made, and the circumstances justified the turning over of this insurance to the defendant as her own, I might be inclined to do so, yet the defendant herself has so treated the alleged contract as to show that she was convinced of the justice of devoting its use to the care and maintenance of the insured during his life, without seeming to be overanxious for his welfare, or willingly taking upon herself the burden of his maintenance and support when he became old and helpless, and so sorely in need of a daughter’s love, sympathy, and care. Nor am I satisfied that, from the terms and conditions of the policy itself, the
I am impressed with the belief that it would be,a serious mistake to hold that in the case at bar the evidence warrants the declaration by the court of a specific performance of the alleged parol agreement to adopt the defendant as the heir of the insured. Judgment is therefore ordered in favor of the plaintiffs, to the full extent of the fund deposited in court; but I think, under the circumstances of this case, it should be without costs to either party.
Judgment for plaintiffs, without costs.
Cases cited
- Smith v. Allen 161 N. Y. 478 p. 758, p. 759
- Hill v. Blake 97 N. Y. 216 p. 758
- Littlejohn v. Shaw 159 N. Y. 188 p. 758
- Browne v. Paterson 165 N. Y. 460 p. 758
- Lennon v. Bradley & Currier Co. 27 Misc. Rep. 452 p. 759
- Cummings v. Line 138 N. Y. 675 p. 759
- Canda v. Totten 157 N. Y. 281 p. 759
- Winne v. Winne 166 N. Y. 263 p. 759
- Carroll v. Collins 6 App. Div. 106 p. 759
- Smith v. Allen 32 App. Div. 374 p. 759
- Brantingham v. Huff 155 N. Y. 140 p. 759
- Whitehead v. New York Life Insurance 102 N. Y. 143 p. 760
- Walsh v. Mutual Life Insurance 133 N. Y. 408 p. 760
- Ferdon v. Canfield 104 N. Y. 143 p. 760
- Cyrenius v. Mutual Life Insurance 145 N. Y. 576 p. 760