Majority
Headnote
1. Beneficiary Certificate—Action—Prima Facie Case.The action is upon a beneficiary certificate issued by the defendant to William S. Robinson for the benefit of his mother, the plaintiff. The first ground upon which the appellant contends that it is not liable is that the complaint fails to state, and the evidence fails to establish, a cause of action against it. The precise contention of the appellant is that neither the complaint nor the evidence shows that the appellant is an assessment beneficiary order, that the decedent was a member thereof, or that there is any fund for the payment of the claim. It is alleged in the complaint that the appellant is a corporation duly organized under the laws of the state of Tennessee; that the decedent was duly élected and admitted as a member of the New Amsterdam Commandery, United Order of the Golden Cross, located in New York, N. Y.; that subsequently thereto the defendant executed and delivered to the decedent a benefit certificate, which recited his election and admission to membership in said commandery; that he was “a contributor to the junior order class benefit fund of this order”; that his application for membership and the statements certified by him to the medical examiner were on file in the office of the supreme keeper of records, and were made a part of the contract; and that it was issued upon condition that he comply "in the future with the laws, rules, and regulations now governing said commandery and fund, or that may hereafter be enacted by the supreme commandery to govern said commandery and fund.” The certificate further recited that:
“These conditions being complied with, the Supreme Commandery, United Order of the Golden Cross [being the defendant], hereby promises and binds itself to pay out of its junior class benefit fund to Margaret Robinson, in accordance with and under the provisions of the law governing said benefit fund, and upon satisfactory evidence of the death of said member, and upon the surrender of this certificate, the sum of $2,000: provided, the said benefit fund of said class reaches the sum of $2,000 at the assessment called in payment oí this certificate; and, if said assessment shall not reach the said sum of $2,000, there shall be paid on said certificate all or a proportionate part of the fund received from the then membership in one assessment: and further provided, that said member is in good standing in this order at the time of his death; that this certificate shall not have been surrendered by said member, and another certificate issued at his request, in accordance with the laws of this order: and provided, also, that the suspension, disconnection, or expulsion of said member shall work an immediate forfeiture of all claims of said member on the benefit fund of the order; also the forfeiture of the claims of the beneficiaries named in this certificate.”
The complaint duly alleges the acceptance of the certificate in writing upon the conditions therein named, the death of the member while in good standing before the surrender of the certificate or change of beneficiary, and “that the junior class benefit fund reached the sum of $2,000 at the assessment called in payment of said certificate, or would have reached said sum if said assessment had been called,” and that payment has been duly demanded and refused. The answer admits all of these allegations of the complaint, except that the defendant denies that it has any knowledge or information sufficient to form a belief concerning the death of the member; but it admits the receipt of papers purporting to be proofs
The facts thus admitted and proved clearly made out a prima facie case of liability on the part of the defendant. In view of the allegations of the complaint which are admitted, it appears either that the fund out of which the claim was payable was sufficient for the purpose, or that it was insufficient through the omission of the defendant to levy an assessment. The appellant did not contest the claim on the ground of its inability to pay, but on account of alleged false representations on the part of the member in his application.
The next point to be considered relates to the defense based upon alleged misrepresentations of the decedent in his application for membership. It was recited in the application that the questions and answers contained therein were to form a part of the contract in case a benefit certificate was issued. The following questions and answers appear therein: “5. (a) Is there now any insurance on your life?” “Yes.” “(b) If so, in what company, and for what amount?” “Temples O. of Liberty, $1,000.” It was shown that the decedent was at that time insured in the Prudential Insurance Company of Newark, N. J., for the sum of $158. At the end of the questions and answers, and before the signatures of the decedent, there was a printed clause to the effect that the member agreed “that, if there be in any of the answers herein made any untrue or evasive statements, misrepresentations, or concealment of facts, * * * then all claims on the benefit fund * * * _ shall be forfeited and lost by me.” It is not claimed that the decedent made any express misrepresentations, but it is contended that his answer did not disclose all of the truth, and was, therefore, evasive, and constituted a misrepresentation or concealment of fact as to his insurance in the Prudential Company. The rule is well settled that warranties of this character are strictly construed against the insurance company or order. It will be observed that the language of the question is in the singular, and it may well be that the applicant would understand thereby that the commandery merely desired him to specify one other organization or company in which he was insured. If he intentionally suppressed the truth, the contract might be avoided on the ground of fraud, but it would not constitute a breach of warranty. Dilleber v. Insurance Co., 69 N. Y. 256 , 25 Am. Rep. 182 .
At the close of the evidence both parties moved for a direction of a verdict, and neither requested to go to the jury upon any question. The court directed a verdict in favor of the plaintiff for $2,000 and interest. The parties thus, by consent, permitted the court to pass upon any question of fact there might be in the case. It cannot be said that there was a fraudulent concealment of facts as matter of law, and a finding that there was no fraudulent concealment would be supported by evidence. The decedent died of consumption. In his application, in answer to a question, he stated that his father died of pneumonia; and the appellant, contending that the father also died of consumption, sets up a breach of warranty in this regard. Upon the trial the appellant offered in evidence a certificate of the death of the deceased
“All maps, surveys and official records, which shall have been on record or on file in the office of either the register of the city and county of New York, or the surrogate of said city, or any of the courts of record of said city, or the clerk of the city and county of New York, or any of the departments of said city as enumerated in section thirty-four of the New York City consolidation act (chapter four hundred and ten, Laws of eighteen hundred and eighty-two), or in the office of the registers, surrogates, commissioners of public works, or kindred department or park department of a period of twenty years or upwards prior to such trial, shall be presumptive evidence of their contents and shall be receivable in evidence as such uuon any trial in any of the courts of this state in any controversy pending therein, between any parties.”
The former provisions of section 955 of the Code of Civil Procedure were repealed by chapter 416 of the Laws of 1877. The present section was added by chapter 522 of the Laws of 1892. The health department is one of the departments enumerated in the statute re-, ferred to in this section of the Code, and there can be no doubt but that certificates of death are “official records” on file in that department. If that section is to be construed literally, it would seem, therefore, that the certificate should have been received in evidence. It is urged by the appellant that the reason for the exclusion of a death certificate made evidence by local laws no longer obtains. It is contended that the incorporation of these provisions in the Code shows a legislative intent that the “maps, surveys, and official records” to which reference is made shall be received in evidence, and be presumptive evidence of the facts recited therein, in private litigations in any court. It is not apparent that any reason exists why death certificates filed in the city of New York should be received as evidence when similar certificates filed elsewhere throughout the state pursuant to similar laws and for the- same purposes are incompetent as evidence in litigations between private parties. Rules of evidence should be uniform, and it has not been the policy of the lawmakers in the past to depart
It follows that the judgment and order should be affirmed, with costs. All concur.
Cases cited
- Dilleber v. Home Life Insurance 69 N. Y. 256 p. 15
- Davis v. Supreme Lodge, Knights of Honor 165 N. Y. 159 p. 16
- Buffalo Loan, Trust & Safe Deposit Co. v. Knights Templar & Masonic Mutual Aid Ass'n 126 N. Y. 450 p. 16