Majority
Headnote
Bohds—Evidence.This action was brought upon a bond given by the appellant, which, after the formal parts, recited that one William Boswell was indebted to the respondent in the sum of $40,000 and upwards, and that in order to secure the payment of that sum, Boswell had applied for a policy pf insurance to the Equitable Life Assurance Society for $40,000, payable on his death to the respondent, and further recited that, “ Whereas, the above bounden Frank H. Oowperthwait has agreed, and does hereby agree, in consideration of the sum of one dollar to him in hand paid, the receipt whereof is hereby acknowledged, to pay the premiums of insurance on the said policy as the same may become due from time to time.” The condition of the bond was that if the appellant should pay the premiums upon the policy as they became due, then the obligation should be void.
A number of defenses were set up in the answer, but upon the trial the appellant rested his defense solely upon the ground that the bond was given upon condition, and in consideration, that the respondent would forbear to take or avail himself of any legal proceedings againat Boswell for the enforcement of any rights or
Upon this appeal the respondent contends that the questions intended to be presented to the court should not be considered, because they are raised by exceptions to the exclusion of offers merely, and are not based upon testimony actually offered and excluded. While it is quite true that this court will not, as a rule, review exceptions taken to mere offers, yet an inspection of this case convinces us that the offers were made in absolute good faith and for the purpose of facilitating the business of the court and with its sanction, to which the respondent did not at the time raise any objection ; hence we think that in this particular case we are justified in departing from the rule, and should determine the case upon the exceptions as if they had been to testimony actually offered and excluded.
At common law the want of consideration might be shown to defeat a recovery on all executory instruments not under seal, whatever might be the recitals contained therein. Anthony v. Harrison, 14 Hun, 198 , affirmed 74 N. Y., 613 . By the R. S., title 3, part3, chapter 7, article 8, § 77, orig. ed., it was provided that “ In every action upon a sealed instrument, and where a set-off is founded upon any sealed instrument, the seal thereof shall only be presumptive evidence of a sufficient consideration, which may
But it is also as well settled, and just as fundamental and familiar a rule of law in this state, that if a paper appear on its face to be a complete contract, then, in the absence of fraud, accident or mistake, paroi evidence is inadmissible to enlarge its terms, the conclusive presumption of law being that such paper embodies the entire agreement of the parties, and whether or not the writing upon its face be a complete expression of the parties is for determination by the court. Lamson Con., &c., v. Hartung, 45 St. Rep. 50 ; S. C. reargued, 46 id., 191 ; Harrison v. McCormick, 89 Cal., 327 ; Thomas v. Scutt, 127 N. Y., 133 ; 38 St. Rep., 692 ; Eighmie v. Taylor, 98 N. Y., 288 ; Dent v. S. S. Co., 49 N. Y., 390 ; Seitz v. Machine Co., 141 U. S., 510 . In the latter case, Fuller, Oh. J., stated the rule as follows: “Undoubtedly the existence of a separate oral agreement as to any matter on which the original contract is silent, and which is not inconsistent with its terms, may be proved by paroi, if, under the circumstances of the particular ease, it may properly be inferred that the parties did not intend the written paper to be a complete and final statement of the whole of the transaction between them. But such an agreement must not only be collateral, but must relate to a subject distinct from that to which the contract applies; that is, it must not be so closely connected with the principal transaction as to form a part and parcel of it. When the writing itself upon its face is
The question, therefore, to be determined in this case is whether the offers made by the appellant upon the trial related to the consideration of the instrument merely, or whether under color of inquiring into such a consideration it was really intended to add another term to the contract itself, and one which, if established, would render the writing imperative. On looking at the instrument it is apparent that it contains every essential of a complete undertaking to do a specific act without any other condition than that expressed therein. It recites the indebtedness of Boswell to Gerard, and declares that the object of procuring the policy of insurance was to secure the payment of that indebtedness ; and the appellant undertook, in consideration of the sum of one dollar to him in hand paid, the receipt whereof was acknowledged, to pay the premiums of insurance on the policy as the same became due from time to time.
It is manifest, therefore, that the appellant knew of the indebtedness, and knew that the obligee had a perfect right at any time to pursue all legal methods, civil or criminal, for the enforcement of his just debt. If he had intended to pay the premiums only in case the obligee forbore to exercise his legal rights, it is clear that, he should have made that a condition of his agreement and not rested upon a paroi promise of the obligee not to pursue his legal remedies. To permit him to show that now, would be to introduce a new term in the agreement between the parties, and that as appellant himself contends, in order to render it completely inoperative. We think the offers savored much more of an attempt to import a new condition into the instrument, than to show the consideration thereof. That this is so, we think will be clearer from an illustration: Suppose that A. desires to provide for the support of B., a widow, during life or widowhood, and, to this end, enters into an agreement in writing with C. that he will pay a certain sum monthly for the support of B. during life. If B. should thereafter marry, could it be contended that A. could show by paroi that one of the terms of the contract was that he should only pay C. during widowhood ? But in the case under consideration the appellant undertakes to pay the premiums upon the policy upon Boswell’s life as they fall due, and the only condition he provides for in the bond to render it inoperative is that he shall pay or cause to be paid to the insuring society the just and full sum of the amount of any premium or premiums which may become due at any time or times thereafter. If the defendant desired to render the instrument void upon the condition that the obligee was not to take legal proceedings, then he ought to have so provided in the condition or in the recitals or other part of the bond. But such a condition is nowhere hinted at, and we think the offers were, therefore, properly excluded. Cocks v. Barker, 49 N. Y., 110 ; Worrall v. Mann, 1 Seld., 229; Gilbert v. N.
As before shown, either party is at liberty to show for any purpose, except to prevent its operating, whether the writing is under seal or not, that its consideration was different, greater or larger than that named in it, or not wholly or at all pecuniary, in a suit by the vendor against the vendee to recover the actual consideration agreed to be paid, or in a suit brought by the vendee against the vendor on the covenants of a seizin or against incumbrances. Bingham v. Weiderwax, 1 N. Y., 514 ; Barker v. Bradley, 42 id., 320. Where a receipt is part and parcel of a contract, it cannot be contradicted to defeat the contract itself. Wood v. Chapin, 13 N. Y., 517 . And in McCrea v. Purmort, supra, it was held that a mere receipt can be inquired into, because it is only evidence of the fact of payment; but where the acknowledgment of a receipt of the consideration is part of the instrument which is used to prove a right vested, created or extinguished, no evidence can be admitted which will prevent the operative effect of the contract. See also, Halliday v. Hart, 30 N. Y., 474 ; Marsh v. McNair, 99 id., 180; Hinckley v. N. Y. C. R. R., 56 id., 429; Engelhorn v. Reitlinger, 122 id., 76; 33 St. Rep., 275 . In Marsh v. McNair, supra, it was claimed that a certain assignment was in fact given as collateral security for an indebtedness, but it was held that in the absence of any claim of fraud or mutual mistake as to the contents of the assignment, the plaintiff was concluded thereby, and oral evidence was incompetent to show that it was executed as collateral security merely. And in the course of his opinion, Bari, J., said: “It is believed that no case can be found where paroi evidence has been received for the purpose of showing that such an instrument was given merely as collateral security and not for the precise purpose mentioned in it.” (Citing cases.) And in Coon v. Knap, supra, it was held that a receipt may be explained as to the consideration part when the explanation is not ■contradictory to, but consistent with the instrument When a receipt is in the nature of a contract, it falls within the general rules applicable to contracts.
In a number of the cases cited by the appellant, there was either no consideration expressed in the instrument itself, or the seal was relied upon as importing a consideration, or a guarantee or other matter was incorporated into another instrument, but not essential to the validity of that instrument, as in Vanderbilt
We, therefore, think the learned judge who tried the case below committed no error in excluding the testimony offered by the appellant, and that he properly directed 'judgment is favor of the plaintiff.
But even if the offers had been accepted, the only breach of the condition which might possibly have been established by them which was attempted to be shown, was that after the bond had been executed and certain premiums paid, the plaintiff docketed a judgment against Boswell for the sum of $41,356.36 upon the latter’s confession. This confession was the act of Boswell and not of the respondent, and it may be well questioned whether such an act would have amounted to a breach of the condition if established.
But appellant contends that even if judgment was properly directed in favor of the plaintiff, it was for too large an amount, and should have been for the sum of $1,458.40 only, being the amount of the premium which became due March 17, 1891. But the bond was conditioned upon the appellant’s “ paying the amount of any premium or premiums which may become due at any time or times hereafter upon the above mentioned policy within the time required or to be required by the rules of said society ; should the said William Boswell comply fully with all requirements and com ditions of said policy of insurance, then the above obligation to be void, otherwise to remain in full force and virtue.”
This was an entire contract of which there was a total breach by reason of the non-payment of the premium, and, therefore, full and final damages are recoverable. Schell v. Plumb, 55 N. Y., 592 . In that case the contract was to support plaintiff during her life, and the court said, “ that was a continuing contract during that period, but the contract was entire, and the total breach put an end to it and gave plaintiff the right to recover an equivalent in damages, which equivalent was the present value of the contract.” Shaffer v. Lee, 8 Barb., 412 , was cited in that case, where there was a bond to furnish obligee and wife with necessary meat during their lives, wherein it was held there was an en
In this case Oowperthwait agreed to pay the premiums on the policy of insurance described in the bond when they became due. He failed to pay the March premium, and the policy, in consequence of that failure, lapsed and was void. Ho premium could become payable thereon at any time thereafter. The breach of the contract on his part was of necessity total, and the plaintiff must recover in this action his full and final damages. Besides, the loss of the policy was the natural and approximate result of the failure of the appellant to pay the premium. Had he done so the policy would now be alive, it became inoperative on his failure to pay the March premium. In such case the damages are the value of the policy. People v. Security, etc., Co., 78 N. Y., 125 . The appellant had full knowledge of the special circumstances affecting the question of damages, and that his breach would cause the policy to lapse; and we must, therefore, infer that the contract was entered into upon the basis of these facts, and that the parties had contemplated them in fixing the amount of the damages defendant was to pay at $10,000. Booth v. Spuyten Duyvil Rolling Mill Co., 60 N. Y., 487 ; Grindle v. Eastern Express Co., 67 Me., 317 . The direct consequences of a breach of contract are always compensated, and here they were the loss of the policy. Eten v. Luyster, 60 N. Y., 252 ; Starbird v. Barrows, 62 id., 615; Devlin v. The Mayor, 63 id., 25; Ward v. N. Y. C. R. R., 47 id., 32.
The value of the policy at the time of the default was such sum as it would cost to replace it; hence the exception to the question, “ What would have been the charge for a paid up policy of $40,000 on the life of Boswell at that date? ” was not well taken, and as the answer shows that it wras much larger than the amount of the verdict directed, the appellant was not in any way injured thereby even if it were erroneous. The instrument is not one of indemnity, but a bond by which the defendant bound himself to do certain acts, to wit, to pay premiums on the policy as they should become due. To such a bond non damnificatus cannot be pleaded. Gilbert v. Wiman, 1 Comst., 550; Rector, etc., v. Higgins, 48 id., 532; Seligman v. Dudley, 14 Hun, 186 ; Belloni v. Freeborn, 63 N. Y., 383 ; Kohler v. Matlage, 72 id., 266.
The court did not err in refusing to deduct the amount of the paid up policy from the verdict directed against the defendant, as after the deduction the damage to the plaintiff was much more than the entire face of the bond.
The order appealed from should be affirmed, with ten dollars costs and disbursements.
Halt, Oh. J., and Bischoff, J., concur.