Majority
Headnote
Insurance (Marine) — Re-insurance—Construction op contract.The plaintiff sought to recover upon an open policy or contract of reinsurance made by defendant and two other companies, in which they assumed certain obligations that are now in dispute, and bound themselves “ severally and not jointly, nor the one for the other, to the assured.”
The plaintiff had issued in each case an open policy of insurance to Twombly & Co., The N. Y. Lighterage & Transportation Company and John H. Starin, on account of whom it may concern, bearing date respectively September 1, 1881, February 1, 1883, and December 6, 1882: “Loss, if any, payable to assured upon all kinds of lawful goods and merchandise laden on board the good lighter or lighters, as indorsed hereon, or in a book kept for that purpose, for the several amounts, and on the goods and merchandise as specified in the said indorsement, the said assured agreeing to enter for insurance all goods carried by them at the full value thereof, and to report the same to this company on Monday of each week, or as such times as they may require.
“ At and from point or points in the harbor of New York as far south as the Narrows, and the inland waters of New Jersey, adjacent and tributary thereto, and on the North river as far as Piermont, and the Bast river as far as Throgg’s Neck * * *
“ The said loss or damage to be estimated according to the true and actual cash value on the day of the disaster.”
On March 17, 1885, merchandise on board the lighter “ Chase ” was indorsed by Twombly & Co. for the amount to be insured of $16,000 in the book referred to in their policy, and the same was reported by them to the plaintiff at the time required. The cargo was lost by perils covered by the policy, and the loss adjusted upon the basis of the actual cash value of the cargo on the day of the disaster in the sum of $12,058.48.
“ The said loss or damage to be estimated according to the true and actual cash value on the day of the disaster/'
The true meaning and construction of the following indorsement made upon this policy and bearing date February 2, 1885, raises the only question presented by this appeal.
“ On and after this date this policy covers the Continental In surance Company as reinsurance to the extent of one-half of the amount of each and every'risk which equals or exceeds m value the sum of $15,000 and which the said Continental Insurance Company may have on cargo of any one barge or lighter and insured by them under their open policies issued to the following named persons, viz. •. Twombly & Company, John H. Starin, New York Lighterage & Transportation Company. * • * *
“ On cargoes of the value of $50,000 and upwards, this policy is to cover the excess of $25,000, not exceeding the sum of $50,000 on any one cargo.
“ John Newman, Agent.”
The defendant’s contention is, that as the value of the several cargoes which were lost proved, in each case, upon the adjustment, to be less than $15,000, the loss is not covered by the contract of re-insurance, and this view has been sanctioned by the courts below. The plaintiff, on the other hand, claims that as
The defendant, and the two other re-insuring companies, agreed with the plaintiff to share one-half its liability for a certain class •of those risks. That class was to be specified and defined, not by the result of a disaster, but by indorsement on the policy of re-insurance which the plaintiff held. Accordingly, the parties limited the operation of the contract t o each and every risk which equals or exceeds in value $15,000." The defendant's liability was not to attach to any other risks that the plaintiff might take. It must be presumed from the nature of the business and the purpose of the contract that both parties intended to define the class of risks to be covered by the re-insurance m such language as to enable each to know, when the entry was reported, whether the risk was re-insured or not It was important for the plaintiff to know, when the report was made, m each case, whether it had reinsurance1 or not, and it was equally important for the defendant and its co-contractors to know, as risks were reported, whether or not they had assumed any liability with respect to them. If the parties by the use of the words ,£ risk which equals or exceeds m value $15,00G ' meant only such risks as, after loss, and upon adjustment, equaled or exceeded that amount, then it is obvious that they could never Know whether there was re-insurance or not, save in the very few exceptional cases where there should be a loss, and it was finally adjusted at figures within the limit specified ; whereas if they meant the entered value of the cargo, or the :sum written, both parties would know precisely where they stood. It must be admitted that the entered value is the basis for the
When, the parties splice of risks that equaled or exceeded $15,000, they meant to designate such risks as the plaintiff might have upon goods, upon the lighters named, that were entered or written for that amount or more, and they did not intend that the existence of a contract of reinsurance was to depend upon the constantly fluctuating value of the goods, the notions of an adjuster as to value, or the judgment of a court or jury. They intended that the obligations of the defendant should be complete and perfect when the goods were entered for insurance, and not that the existence of any contract whatever should be left to depend upon the extent of the loss, after the disaster, against the possibility of which the plaintiff was seeking to protect itself. The intention might have been expressed with more particularity and with greater precision, and made so plain that no controversy as to the meaning could ever arise. But we know that the multifarious transactions of business men are not always preceded by carefully and accurately measuring and weighing their words, nor are their ordinary agreements or contracts always ■drawn by persons skilled in the use of language. In the vast majority of such cases no controversy ever arises, and in the ■exceptional cases, in which the courts are called upon to settle the dispute, they should give to such instruments a reasonable and sensible construction, and which appears to conform the nearest to the justice of the case and the end which the parties sought to accomplish, but which, from inadvertence or the poverty of language, they have failed to express fully and accurately.
In this case the contract is clear enough, except that the parties, in defining the class of risks to be covered by the re-insurance, used an expression which perhaps left some room for controversy as to whether the entered dr actual value of the cargo was intended. But we think that the real intention of the parties is easily
The contract cannot be construed one way after a loss, and another and different way before, or one way for the purpose of collecting premiums and another way for the purpose of determining liability. When the question arises, as it does in this case, whether the reinsurance ever attached or the contract ever came into operation, it is reasonable and just to hold that the value referred to in the indorsement was the entered and not the actual value. The defendant’s contract attached, if at all, when the goods were laden upon the lighters, and as it was impossible then, or at least extremely inconvenient, to determine what their actual value was, the parties must have intended that the obligation under the agreement of reinsurance should derive its life and validity from the entered value of the cargo. In the opinion of the learned general term much importance is given to the point that the construction which the plaintiff contends for would create liability on the part of the reinsuring companies upon risks where the strippers or carriers had entered the property for insurance at an ex
The learned counsel for the defendant insists that the construction of the contract which we have here indicated as the proper one is contrary to the decision of this court in the case of Arnold v. Pacific Mut. Ins. Co., 78 N. Y., 7 . This was an action by the owner or consignee upon an open policy of marine insurance to recover for goods lost. It was held that an honest mistake in reporting the cargo, and the route upon which the vessel was to sail, by the assured, did not vitiate the policy or furnish a defense against the loss. There was another question in that case growing out of a claim by the assurers that there was a deviation from or unnecessary delay in the voyage to which the contract applied, which, of course, has no application to the case at bar. The learned counsel is doubtless correct in his position that if the goods were lost after they were laden, but before entry in the book or report, the liability of the plaintiff to the shippers attached. But it does not follow from that, we think, that the word risk, as used in the contract, refers to the actual and not the entered value. The plaintiff’s contract with the shippers covered all goods laden upon the lighters specified without regard to value. The defendant’s contract with the plaintiff covered only such risks as the plaintiff had upon the same goods when the value amounted to a sum which was specified, and thus the liability of the defendant, unlike that of the plaintiff, was limited to cargoes the value of which equaled or exceeded a specified sum. On such cargoes the liability of the defendant also attached when the goods were laden, though it could not be known until the entry was made, and if, in the meantime, a loss occurred, a subsequent entry and report in good faith and without fraud or collusion would be necessary to perfect the right of action. The entered value, of course, is not conclusive either upon the plaintiff or the defendant as to the extent of the liability after loss. That
The judgment should, therefore, be reversed, and a new trial granted, costs to abide the event.
All concur.
Judgment reversed.