Majority
Headnote
1. Benefit societies—Judgment.This action is based upon a policy or certificate of membership, issued by the defendant and bearing date August 28, 1891, by which the defendant, “ for and in consideration of the representations and warranties made to it in the application for this certificate and the sum of four dollars and seventy cents to it in hand paid, and the agreement to pay a like sum every two months during the balance of the first year, and then four dollars and seventy cents every two months thereafter,” constituted Mary O’Brien a member of class B. of the association, with the provision that the beneficiary therein named should receive two shares of the mortuary fund collected for the pool so called in
Mrs. O’Brien died on the 12th November, 1891. In the bylaws there is a provision that “ in case the payment of any claim is contested by the association and a judgment is rendered in favor of the claimant, the said claim shall be placed in and paid pro raía with the claims of the pool then forming.” By the judgment in this case it is “ ordered and adjudged that the defendant shall include the plaintiff’s claim in the pool forming at the time of the service upon the attorney for the defendant of a copy of this judgment and notice of its entry, and from such pool the defendant is directed to pay to the plaintiff the proportionate amount thereof that she should be entitled to under the certificate which she holds and the by-laws of the company.
No misstatement or fraud is charged, and there is no dispute as to the amount or form of recovery in case the plaintiff is here entitled to recover at all. The defendant claims (1) that th'e court erred in refusing to grant a non-suit on the ground that under the by-laws of the defendant the plaintiff was not entitled to maintain an action at law to recover money damages on the certificate; (2) that the court erred in holding that the policy ever had a valid inception ; (3) that the court erred in refusing to grant a non-suit on the ground that no application was made by Mary O’Brien for the issuance of the certificate; (4) that the court erred in holding that the policy was not lapsed for failure to pay the premium due November 1, 1891.
1. The complaint sets out the making of the certificate or policy, stating its effect, and a copy is attached. It is alleged that all the conditions of the contract to be performed by the plaintiff or Mrs. O’Brien have been performed or their performance waived by defendant. The death is alleged and notification thereof in due time to the defendant and that defendant waived proofs of death. It was then alleged that at the time of Mrs. O’Brien’s death and since that time the monies collected in the mortuary fund for the pool, out of which the plaintiff should be paid the benefit under the certificate, were sufficient to pay the plaintiff the maximum amount of the shares, being altogether $500, no part of which had been paid. Judgment for that sum was demanded. In the certificate it is stated that it is issued and accepted upon the conditions and agreements contained in the by-laws of the association.
The case was tried at the circuit before the court and a jury. At the close of the evidence, in view of the provision of the by
The relief granted was not demanded in the complaint, and the defendant claims that in this action the court had no right to grant it. An answer having been interposed, the court may permit the plaintiff to take any judgment consistent with the case made by the complaint, and embraced within the issue. Code, § 1207. The fact that the wrong relief was asked is not important. Murtha v. Curley, 90 N. Y., 377 . The judgment was based upon the cause of action as alleged and proved. The form and amount of the recovery is regulated by the by-laws which are referred to in the certificate which is a part of the complaint. The judgment was certainly embraced within the issue and was also consistent with the case made by the complaint. It was fixed by the certificate and the by-laws. It is not claimed that the judgment is wrong if the court had the power to grant it. Smith v. People’s Mut. Ben. Society, 64 Hun, 534 ; 46 St. Rep., 10 . We think that the court had the power. It is to be observed that the defendant had opportunity to go to the jury on all questions that it desired to. It in effect consented that the court pass on all" the questions of fact aside from the one submitted and render the proper judgment. It is not material whether it be called a trial at equity or law.
2. The theory of the defendant on the second proposition is that the application was not approved by the company and the policy was, by mistake delivered to the plaintiff. There is evidence showing that Mr. Sperry, the agent of the defendant, saw the plaintiff on the subject of transferring to the defendant a policy she was carrying on the life of her mother in the Flower City Insurance Company, and which she was willing to transfer to the defendant; that soon after this Mr. Mahar, w'ho seems to have been acting for defendant at the request of Mr. Sperry, called on the plaintiff and delivered to her the policy in question, she paying him therefor the premium of four dollars and seventy cents, and receiving .therefor the receipt of Mr. Sperry for the defendant; that on the same occasion Mr. Mahar wrote out the application, and it was signed by plaintiff, and she also signed the name of her mother. This was forwarded to the defendant, and there is evidence tending to show that at first it was marked ap
8. But it is said that the application was not in fact signed by Mrs. O’Brien. She was not present at the time the application was made out by the agent of the defendant and the policy delivered. The agent asked the plaintiff to sign her mother’s name and she did so. The plaintiff testifies that her mother knew of the application being made; that she spoke to her beforehand about it. There is in the answer no allegation that the plaintiff did not have authority to act for her mother. On the contrary it is affirmatively alleged that Mrs. O’Brien made the application. So far as this question is concerned, we think the nonsuit was properly denied.
4. Was the policy forfeited by reason of the failure to pay the premium due November 1, 1891 í The plaintiff a short time before this date called on Mr. Sperry who had given her the receipt for the first premium, and offered to pay the premium soon becoming due. lie declined to receive it, saying that he had no receipt from the company for her among the receipts that had been sent him, and therefore could not accept her premium. The plaintiff replied she didn’t understand it, and the result was he promised to call the attention of the company to the fact of her call and see what there was of it, Apparently the plaintiff heard nothing farther about it, and the death occurred on the 12th November.
Mr. Sperry was employed by the defendant to assist in obtaining transfers from the Flower City Company to the defendant, and in that matter to the knowledge and assent of defendant he gave receipts for the defendant in his individual name for the premiums paid at the time of the transfer. The plaintiff had such a receipt for her first premium. The defendant knew that Sperry had been accustomed to receive the premiums in the Flower City, and they also employod him to act as their collector. He, however, for any premiums after the first, had in fact no authority to collect except upon receipts furnished by the company.
The by-laws of the defendant provided that premiums should be payable at the home office of the association ; “ but if for the sake of convenience or otherwise any premiums are paid to collectors or agents of the association, such collector or agent shall be deemed and held to be the agent of the members so paying, unless the agent or collector shall furnish the members so pay
There was evidence tending to show, and the court found,, that at the time when the second premium would have become due under the certificate the company disowned its obligation under it and failed to send to their agent Mr. Sperry a receipt, on the ground that the certificate was not an existing obligation upon their part.
If prior to 1st November the defendant repudiated its contract, mailed no notice to the plaintiff and sent no receipt to its agent for the plaintiff, although it did for others according to its custom, it should not be permitted to say that there was a forfeiture by reason of the nonpayment. The plaintiff saw the agent of the defendant, with whom she had personally dealt, with the approval of the defendant, and paid the first premium. She had a right to-believe that he would know what the defendant wanted, and in the absence of the notice called for by the by-laws she was not required to send the premium to the home office on pain of forfeiture. Ordinarily a tender is not necessary when the acts- and conduct of the other party indicate that it will be futile. Baumann v. Pinckney, 118 N. Y., 604 ; 30 St. Rep., 60 ; Manhattan Life Ins. Co. v. Smith, 44 Ohio State, 157. A company cannot take advantage of a forfeiture that it encourages by a failure to give its accustomed notice before the premium is due. Helme v. Phil. Life Ins. Co., 61 Pa., 167 . No tender was necessary after the death, as by the terms of the certificate the premiums paid were to be returned to the insured.
These considerations lead to the conclusion that the court below correctly held that the defense of forfeiture was not made out. It follows that the judgment should be affirmed.
Judgment and order affirmed, with costs.
Hardin, P. J., and Martin, J., concur.