Majority
Headnote
1. Interpleader—When lies.On the 23d day of May, 1874, the plaintiff issued a policy of insurance on the life of Alonzo H. Doty for $2,000, primarily for the benefit; of his wife, Josephine Doty. There is,, however, a provision in the policy that, in the case of the death of Josephine before Alonzo, the sum to be paid by the company shall go to their children, if any are then living, or, if none, then-to the estate of Alonzo. There is also the following provision; “This policy maybe converted into cash, at the option of the-holder, at any time after the expiration of fifteen years from the date hereof, for the amount indorsed upon the back of the policy, corresponding to the age (nearest birthday) of the insured at the time of such conversion”; provided that this policy shall have been -first paid up by the payment of ten full premiums as herein stipulated.”
Ten fullu premiums were duly paid, and the stipulated fifteen years expired on the 23d of May, 1889. Alonzo became 47 years of age in 1891, and the then value of the policy under the provision above quoted was $740. Alonzo and Josephine are still living, and the defendants Starks A. and Carrie E. Doty are their infant children. In April, 1884, Alonzo borrowed $600 of defendant' Healey, for which he and Josephine gave their joint and séveral note, and delivered to Healey this policy of insurance as-security. There was at that time no actual assignment of the policy, verbal or otherwise, made to Healey ; but the delivery accompanied the note, and was made by Alonzo with the consent of-Josephine. The policy has ever since remained in the possession of Healey. Afterwards, on the 4th of April, 1890, Alonzo arid Josephine gave Healey a written assignment of all their “ right, title, claim, interest, and benefit” in and to the policy. The note for the payment of which Healey held this policy as security was put into judgment April 6, 1890. On the 29th of October, 1886, Josephine, with the consent of Alonzo (who united with her in the assignment), assigned the policy to defendants Peterson and Packer by a written assignment. This assignment recites an indebtedness to Peterson and Packer of $1,130.65. On the same day this debt was put into judgment. About November 1,1886, Peterson and Packer sent to the plaintiff a copy of their assignment, with a notice indorsed thereon indicating that they hold the original...
October, 1891, she commenced an action on the policy against plaintiff, and in her complaint therein declares that she “ elects that the same be converted into cash,” as provided by the policy, and claims to recover $740. On the 17th of November, 1890, one Peter Doty, claiming to be guardian of the infant children of Alonzo and Josephine (the defendants Starks A. and Carrie E. Doty), sent a letter to the plaintiff, forbidding any payment to either Peterson and Packer or Healey, and asserting that the children have such an interest in the policy that it cannot properly be paid to any one until it shall be ascertained whether Josephine survives Alonzo. The complaint in this action substantially sets out these facts, and the plaintiff asks to be allowed to pay the $740 into court, or to whoever may be entitled to it, that the rights of the defendants as between themselves may be determined, and that all of the defendants be restrained from proceeding against the plaintiff to recover the same. The defendants Doty and Peterson and Packer insist that the action cannot be maintained. Healey and Peterson and Packer each claims to be entitled to whatever sum may be due upon the policy whenever it shall be paid; Healey, that the election permitted by the policy has been rightfully exercised by her, and that the money is now due and payable ; and the defendants Doty, that they have such an interest that they may become entitled to the whole of the $2,000, and that they cannot be deprived of this interest by any assignment that Alonzo and Josephine, or either of them, might make.
I think the action may be maintained. Although the claims of the several defendants are not precisely the same in .detail, they each assert a right to the same thing, viz. to whatever sum may be realized from the policy, at whatever time it may be paid. It is true that Healey insists that she, being entitled to do so, has exercised the election provided for in the policy, and that, therefore, $740 is immediately due, and belongs toiler; while Peterson and Packer aver that she has no right of election, and that they will be entitled to receive whatever is due at any time they may choose to demand it; and the infants Doty, that their claim to the fund is such as to defeat both. But it is nevertheless the money due or to become due upon the policy to which all lay claim. Each asserts a right in hostility to the others, and, if they do not severally threaten an immediate action against the plaintiff, each has taken proper preliminary steps to enable an action to be brought at some future time. They have respectively notified the
I think, also, that the policy was assignable, notwithstanding tire contingent interests of the children. Legislation on this subject has been constantly progressive. Authority for a' wife to cause the life of a husband to be insured for her benefit was originally given by chapter 80 of the Laws of 1840. This act provided that, in case of the death of the wife before that of the husband, the insurance might be made payable to her children. A policy issued under that act was not assignable. Eadie v. Slimmon, 26 N. Y., 9 . No material change in this law was made until .chapter 821 of the Laws of 1873 was passed. By that act it was made possible for a married woman, by certain prescribed methods, to surrenderv such a policy to the -company issuing it, and, in case she was without children, to dispose of the policy by will, or by deed executed and acknowledged in a manner sufficient to, her dower right in lands. This, however, did not authorize or permit an assignment by a married woman having children. This was the state of the law until chapter 248 of the Laws of 1879 was enacted. This act provided that from and after its passage all policies upon the lives of husbands for the benefit of wives, whether theretofore or thereafter issued, should be assignable by the wife with the written consent of her husband, and might be surrendered to the company issuing it with the like consent. This statute seems, to confer upon the wife for whose benefit her husband’s life is
Having thus concluded that this policy could be assigned, the remaining question is as to whom the assignment has been properly and legally made to. Healey, in April, 1884, loaned $600 on the faith of it, but took no assignment in writing. This the law requires, or, if it does not require a written assignment of the thing itself, it requires the written consent of the husband when the wife assigns. This was not originally done. The policy w.as simply turned over to Healey as collateral to the note, which represented the loan then made. The most plausible argument that can be made is that the subsequent absolute assignment related to the prior delivery. If this were so, it would be a mere pledge that the principal debt, evidenced by the note, would be paid; and that, in case it was not paid, the pledgee might resort to the policy for reimbursement of the loan. In that case it gave Healey the right to foreclose the claim of Josephine, and nothing more. It was a mere pledge, and gave to the pledgee only a special property in the thing pledged, the general title to which remained
Cases cited
- Anderson v. Goldsmidt 103 N. Y. 617 p. 155
- McFarland v. Wheeler 26 Wend. 467 p. 156
- Ocean National Bank v. Olcott 46 N. Y. 12 p. 156
- McCaffrey v. Wooden 62 Barb. 316 p. 156
- Smillie v. Quinn 90 N. Y. 492 p. 156