Majority
Headnote
1. Evidence—Pleadings.On the 16th day of June, 1891, the defendant issued a policy of insurance or indemnity to John T. Brooks, upon his horse, wherein the défendant agreed, “ upon receiving satisfactory proofs of the death of said animal by disease, accident, or broken leg, to pay to the said insured, executors, administrators, or assigns, the sum of one hundred dollars, from its mortuary fund, within sixty days after the approval of the claim by its executive board.” It was averred in the complaint, and proven on the trial, that on the 13th day of August, 1891, Brooks, by a written indorsement upon the certificate, transferred arid assigned to the plaintiff all his “ right, title, and interest in said certificate, and to all advantages to be derived therefrom,” which assignment was in writing, and bears date the 13th day of August, 1891, and was executed in the presence of a witness, and thereafter, on the 15th day of August, 1891, the assignment was approved by Elsbree, the general manager of the defendant. It is averred in the complaint that the plaintiff became the owner and holder of the certificate. The answer of the defendant alleges 11 that at the time of said alleged indorsement upon said certificate the said plaintiff in this action loaned to the said John T. Brooks the gum of fifty dollars; that as security for the said loan the said John T. Brooks executed and gave a chattel mortgage or bill of sale of or upon said horse mentioned in said certificate, and upon other property, to the said Levi M. Algase, for the purpose of securing the payment to the said Levi M. Algase of said loan of fifty dollars that, for the purpose of further securing the said Algase for said loan, said alleged assignment of said certificate was made; that said consent given by defendant to said indorsement upon said certificate was so given for the purpose and to the extent only of permitting said insurance or certificate or indemnity to continue upon said insured property after the giving of such chattel mortgage or bill of sale, and for no other purpose was such consent given.” When the hearing commenced before the referee, the defendant’s counsel moved to dismiss the complaint on the ground that “it does not state facts sufficient to constitute a cause of action.” The motion was denied, and an exception was taken.
■It is to be observed that the defendant, in its motion, in no way pointed out any specific defect in the complaint; and we are of the opinion that, considering the allegations, of the complaint in connection with the allegations found in the answer, it appeared that a sufficient cause of action was stated, and therefore the motion was properly overruled. In Olmsted v. Keyes, 85 N. Y. 598 , it was said: “A life insurance is not, like fire insurance, a contract of indemnity, but a mere contract to pay a certain sum of
Upon the hearing before the referee the plaintiff offered in evidence that portion of the defendant’s answer which alleged “that at the time of said alleged indorsement upon said certificate the said plaintiff in this action loaned to the said John T. Brooks the sum of fifty dollars; that as security for the said loan the said John T. Brooks executed and gave a chattel mortgage or bill of sale of or upon the horse mentioned in said certificate.” The defendant objected to the admission of the answer in evidence. The objection was overruled, and the defendant took an exception. In Mott v. Consumers' Ice Co., 73 N. Y. 543 , it was held: ‘•'Where a party gives in evidence an admission in the pleading of his adversary, he is not estopped from questioning a portion thereof which is against him. He is at liberty to use the admission so far as it makes in his favor, and to disprove the residue.”
In Holmes v. Jones, 121 N. Y. 461 ; 31 St. Rep. 379 , it was Leld: “ Statements, admissions, and allegations in pleadings are always in evidence for all the purposes of the trial. They are before the court and jury, and may be used for any legitimate purpose.”
In the course of the opinion, it was held: “ They are made for the purpose of the trial, and are before the court and jury, and may be used for any legitimate purpose.”
Our attention is called to Quinn v. Neeson, 48 St. Rep. 570 ; 21 N. Y. Supp. 106 , by the appellant; but the case does not aid its contention, because it appears in the opinion that “ it was expressly charged that the answer might be considered by the jury as evidence in the case,” although it had not been offered in evidence. We are of the opinion that no error was committed by the referee in receiving that portion of the answer of the defendant in evidence which was offered at the hearing, nor in overruling the defendant’s motion to dismiss the -complaint on the ground stated. Williams v. Ins. Co., 9 How. Pr. 365 ; Peabody v. Washington Co. M. Ins. Co., 20 Barb. 841 ; Fowler v. N. Y. Ind. Ins. Co., 26 N. Y. 422 :—are not applicable to the case before us, as they were cases where the question pre-' sented to the court arose upon demurrers.
2. We are of the opinion that no error was committed in receiving evidence that the plaintiff, at the time of the death of the horse, held security upon the horse for the indebtedness due to him from Brooks. The defendant, in its answer, had alleged the loan by the plaintiff to Brooks, and the giving of a chattel mortgage upon the horse in question; and it was competent for the plaintiff to prove that .the security thus referred to remained “ unsatisfied and unpaid,” to the extent of $50, which is the amount awarded by the referee. The case differs from Thomas v. Montauk F. Ins. Co., 12 St. Rep. 738 .
3. Evidence was given that the horse died in November, 1891, after receiving injuries at the railroad crossing of the Delaware &
4. The circumstances attending the injuries of the horse, and the cause of its death, were fully detailed in the evidence, and, after considering them, the referee, upon the evidence relating to that subject, found “that such injury to said horse was caused by negligence of the president, managers, and company of the Delaware & Hudson Canal Company, and without any neglect or carelessness on the part of said John T. Brooks, who was driving said horse at the time of said injury; that at the same time the harness and wagon of said Brooks were broken and injured by the negligence of said company.” We think the evidence warranted the finding made by the referee. It being a question of fact, upon which there was some evidence, we are not disposed to disturb the conclusion reached by the referee in that regard. Nor arc we inclined to hold that the fact that Brooks presented a claim to the railroad company for damages sustained by reason of its negligence in injuring his horse, harness, and wagon, and gave a release to the railroad therefor, furnishes a defense to the defendant. It had issued its certificate of indemnity, and entered into a contract to pay in case of the
Judgment affirmed, with costs.
All concur.
Cases cited
- Mott v. Consumers' Ice Company 73 N. Y. 543 p. 672
- Holmes v. Jones 121 N. Y. 461 p. 672
- Williams v. Insurance of North America 9 How. Pr. 365 p. 672
- Fowler v. New York Indemnity Insurance 26 N. Y. 422 p. 672
- Hathaway v. Orient Insurance 134 N. Y. 409 p. 674
- Dakin v. Liverpool, London & Globe Insurance 77 N. Y. 600 p. 674
- Cromwell v. Brooklyn Fire Insurance 44 N. Y. 42 p. 674