Majority
Headnote
1. Insurance—Additional insurance.Judgment affirmed, with costs, on opinion of referee.
The opinion of Noah Davis, Esq., to whom/ the cause was referred to hear and determine, is as follows:
This case is, in my judgment, distinguishable in its facts, in some respects, from all the great number of cases that have been called to my attention by counsel, or examined by me. No question is made or suggested but that the policy issued by defendant to Hanford ■ Lockwood was a valid and obligatory instrument in his hands. It was made on the 27th day of June, 1892, and
“Warren E. Smith is now recognized as owner of this policy, and the property mentioned as insured hereinunder, subject, nevertheless, to all the rules and conditions of this policy, none of .which are hereby waived or avoided; and loss, if any, first payable to Hanford Lockwood, mortgagee, as interest may appear. Twenty thousand dollars incumbrance is hereby permitted.
“Dated at N. Y. City, August 18th, 1892.”
Afterwards, and on the 23d day of November, 1892, Smith bargained and sold the insured property to Q-eorge E. Nichols, who, it seems, took possession, and commenced repairing the buildings. Hr. Lockwood still held the policy of insurance for the purpose of the security of his mortgage in case of loss, as permitted by the indorsement of the company. Afterwards, and on about the 27th of December, 1892, Lockwood applied to the defendant company, and, presumably upon a statement of the existing facts, the company made another indorsement on the policy, in these words:
“George E.. Nichols is now recognized as owner of this policy, and the property mentioned as insured hereinunder, subject, nevertheless, to all the rules and conditions of this policy, none of which are hereby waived or avoided.
“Dated at N. Y. City, Dec. 27th, 1892.”
This indorsement was obtained and made without the knowledge of Hr. Nichols at the time it was made. Its obvious purpose was to keep the policy in full vigor for the benefit of Hr. Lockwood, to whom the loss, if any, was made payable by the former indorsement. Courts are bound to construe such indorsements in such manner as to give them full vigor and effect for the purposes for which they were made and intended. In my judgment, the manifest intent in this instance, was to keep the policy in full force for the benefit of all concerned, as security for the payment of the mortgage held by Hr. Lockwood, and that necessarily involved the benefit of the property owner. It is shown that, at the time of the making of this indorsement, Hr. Nichols, the purchaser of the property from Smith, did not know of the indorsement then made on the policy, and is, of-course, not chargeable with any misrepresentation,’ if any were made; but it is not alleged or claimed that there was any fraud or misrepresentation on the part of any one. On the 22d day of December, 1892, Nichols (who had entered into possession of the property purchased from Smith, and was engaged in making repairs, etc., but had not yet received a conveyance) applied to the Liverpool, London & Globe Insurance Company for insur
But another answer to this defense is found in the fact that when Nichols took his policy in the Liverpool, etc., Company,, he liad ail insurable interest in the property by reason of his contract with Smith of purchase and sale, and agreement to convey at a fixed day, accompanied by possession, etc. That policy must be held to attach to such insurable interest, and not to be within the clause of defendant’s policy now under consideration. In Adams v. Insurance Co., 9 Hun, 45 , one of the defenses was that plaintiff could recover, if at all, “only pro rata with another policy; that is, two-thirds of the amount of loss.” The court held that other insurance mentioned in such a clause “does not include an insurance made by a mortgagee upon his interest as such” (Id., 48); and the court cited with approval, amongst other cases, Acer v. Insurance Co., 57 Barb. 68 . In that casé the language was: “The plaintiff’s policy has this condition: ‘If the assured, or any other person or parties interested, shall have existing’, during the continuance of this policy, any other contract or agreement for insurance (whether valid or not) against loss or damage by fire, on the property hereby insured, not consented to by this company,’ etc., ‘then this insurance shall be void and of no effect,’ etc. This is a general provision, and the question is whether the ‘other persons or parties interested,’ specified in the condition, refers merely to parties interested in the plaintiff’s insurance, or to other parties who may have a different interest in the property from that held and owned by the plaintiff, and who may obtain insurance upon their interests in the same property. I am clearly of the opinion that the condition is limited to the former class, and that it was not the understanding or intention that any other person who might have a separate interest in the property, and not connected in interest with the plaintiff, and having no interest in his insurance, might avoid the plaintiff’s contract by obtaining an insurance of his own interest in the property without the plaintiff’s knowledge dr consent. * * * I think the interpretation I have adopted is not only in consonance with justice, but with the rules of language. By this ren
“Warren E. Smith is now recognized as owner of this policy and the property mentioned ás insured hereinunder, subject, nevertheless, to all the rules and conditions of this policy, none of which are hereby waived or avoided, and loss, if any, first payable to Hanford Lockwood, mortgagee, as interest may appear. Twenty thousand dollars incumbrance is hereby permitted. “Dated at N. Y. City, August 18th, 1892.
“C. Patterson & Son, Gen’l Agents.”
ETo question is made that this indorsement is not to be deemed the act of the company. It is, therefore, the defendant’s act, and it is to be carried into effect by the court giving* to it such construction as will fully accomplish its manifest intent and purpose. If to do so requires changes in the policy, consistent with law and competent for the parties to make, they are to be made, or to be deemed made, as the legal rights and the equities of the parties require. Lockwood is to be recognized and deemed, not as owner, any longer, but as mortgagee of the insured property, which may be incumbered by the present owner to the amount of $20,000; a mortgage to that amount, doubtless, then covering this, with other parcels of land. Smith is to be recognized as the legal or equitable owner of the policy, subject, of course, to Lockwood’s right to receive the loss, if one occurs; and the insurance is to remain mutatis mutandis, as though originally made in that form. All rules and conditions of the policy are kept in full force, except as necessarily modified or changed by these new relations. Afterwards ETichols became a purchaser of the premises from Smith, subject to the mortgage of Lockwood. He entered into possession under his contract of purchase, and com
“George E. Nichols is now recognized as owner of this policy and the property mentioned as insured hereinunder, subject, nevertheless,to all the rules and conditions of this policy, none of which are hereby waived or avoided.
“0. PATTERSON & SON, G’l Agents.”
“Dated at N. Y. City, Dec. 27th, 1892.
This was done at the request of Mr. Lockwood, still holder of the mortgage secured by the policy, with the full assent of the company. There was no intent to deprive Lockwood of that security, or his rights under it, but, on the contrary, to maintain and protect his rights, and his title to receive payment of any loss that might occur. Its legal and equitable effect and object were to recognize the change of ownership, legal or equitable, of the assured property, in such form and with such force as should continue the policy as a valid instrument, notwithstanding, and subject to, the change in ownership of the property, and in the relations of the parties to it and towards the policy. The purpose was to keep alive the insurance in full force and effect for Lockwood as mortgagee, and Nichols, the new purchaser, notwithstanding the changes made in the ownership of the property. This new consent was procured by Lockwood, and delivered to him. Its purpose was to have Nichols substituted,, as owner of the property and of the policy, for Smith, and to maintain in full vigor the rights of Lockwood as mortgagee, entitled to receive the proceeds in case of loss, and whatever stood in the way of those objects was to be modified or removed, so that the intended purpose would be accomplished. No deception was practiced to' mislead or deceive the defendant, on the part of either of the persons concerned. It has already been shown that Nichols had previously applied and taken out a policy in another company for the sum of $3,500, before he became the owner of the defendant’s policy with its consent, or had any legal right therein as the insured in law or equity. This act could not avoid the policy of defendant, of which Smith had been, by the Company’s consent, made owner, with loss, if any, payable to Lockwood. The act of Smith in contracting to sell to Nichols the insured property did not and could not operate to make Nichols the insured. lie held the property only by contract of sale and purchase, to be consummated by subsequent conveyance, and the indorsement of the company, recognized him as owner of the property and policy, is satisfied by the equitable relation and ownership, since the sole purpose was to keep in life and vigor the right of Lockwood to receive as mortgagee the proceeds of any loss. If the indorse
Another defense sternuously urged is that the proofs of loss were not served on defendant by the proper party. The policy requires such proofs to be served by the insured within a prescribed period. In due season the proofs of loss were served by Nichols. These proofs were kept and retained without objection that they were not served by the proper party, or were not proper in form or substance. Under the circumstances of the case, I feel bound to hold that the defendant is estopped, by receiving and keeping these proofs from Nichols, in the manner and form shown, from asserting that they were not served by the proper party, or that Nichols did not occupy a relation to the company which entitled him to make whatever service of proofs of loss were requisite to give his claim a standing a court under the policy. The company, by its own act, had put Nichols in a position where his equitable rights were, in my opinion, such as entitled him to serve the proofs. So far as affects this question, the company had made Nichols “the insured” when they recognized him as “owner of the policy and property;” the loss, if any, to be. paid upon the obligation of Lockwood, which he had assumed, and which was a lien on the insured property. Nichols was also the assignee of all the rights of Lockwood to recover in this action, and may, as such assignee, assert all those rights. Ilis own rights were so connected with those of Lockwood that his action in making and serving proofs of loss, under the circumstances, Lockwood could assert, under the consent of the company indorsed on the policy, as a basis of his own right to collect the loss. Under such circumstnces, the company is estopped from asserting that the proofs, etc., were not served or made by a proper person. If they had been refused or returned in proper season on any ground of that kind, they could have been renewed by another party also in interest.
If these views be right, the defense wholly fails in respect to the several questions discussed. It is insisted, however," that there was a fraudulent overvaluation of the loss sustained in the claim presented. This is a question of fact, upon the evidence. I am of opinion that such alleged fraud is not proven. The assured procured a valuation by competent persons, whose testimony shows that it was made in good faith. My finding upon the evidence must be against the alleged fraud.
The only remaining question is the amount plaintiff is entitled to recover. This question depends upon one already considered, to wit, whether the policy taken by Nichols in the Liverpool, etc.,
Cases cited
- Acer v. Merchants' Insurance 57 Barb. 68 p. 569
- Tyler v. Ætna Fire Insurance 12 Wend. 507 p. 570
- Ætna Fire Insurance v. Tyler 16 Wend. 385 p. 570
- Adams v. Greenwich Insurance 70 N. Y. 166 p. 570
- Moore v. Hanover Fire Insurance 141 N. Y. 219 p. 570