Majority
Headnote
Insurance—Forfeiture of policy—Waiver.-—The policies provide as follows:
“ This entire policy, unless otherwise provided by agreement indorsed hereon and added hereto, shall be void if, with the knowledge of the insured, foreclosure proceedings be commenced, or notice given of any sale of any property covered by this policy, by virtue of any mortgage or trust deed.”
It was established, and we do not understand that it is disputed, that there was a violation of this condition by reason of the commencement of foreclosure proceedings after the issuance ■of the policies, with the knowledge of the insured, and that judgment of foreclosure and sale was entered before the happening of the fire. In Quinlan v. Insurance Co., 133 N. Y. 356 , 45 S. R. 200, this condition in the policy was under consideration, and it was held that its violation rendered the policy void. See, also, Armstrong v. Insurance Co., 130 N. Y. 560 , 42 S. R. 555; Baumgartel v. Insurance Co., 136 N. Y. 547 ; 50 S. R. 19 ; Allen v. Insurance Co., 123 N. Y. 6 ; 33 S. R. 216 ; Messelback v. Norman, 122 N. Y. 583 ; 26 N. E. 34 ; O’Brien v. Insurance Co., 134 N. Y. 28 ; 45 S. R. 389; Lett v. Insurance Co., 125 N. Y. 82 ; 34 S. R. 411.
It is conceded that tbe foreclosure proceedings having been commenced and ripened into judgment before the fire, this
“ This company shall not be held to have waived any provision or condition of this policy or any forfeiture thereof by any requirement, act, or proceeding on its part relating to the appraisal, or to any examination herein provided for.”
Unlike, therefore, the policy involved in the Titus Case, the° one here has a legal sanction for a provision which in express-terms declares that no waiver shall result from “ any requirement, act, or proceeding * * * relating to the appraisal or to any examination.” In addition, we have the form of the appraisal agreement, and the separate appraisals as to the machinery and as to the building, items of the policies in evidence, expressly providing as follows :
“ It being understood that this appointment and submission is wdthout reference to any other questions or matters of difference within the terms and conditions of insurance, and is of binding effect only so far as regards the actual cash value of the loss and damage to said property.”,
The facts relied upon to show a waiver, consisting of the trouble and expense connected with making the proofs of loss and presenting for examination books and papers and in paying an appraiser, were all connected with the appraisement itself, and are therefore covered by the provision in the standard policy to which we have referred, and in that respect differ from the cases which have arisen under the old forms of policy, of which the case relied upon of Titus v. Insurance Co., supra, is the leading one. The last expression of the court of appeals bearing upon insurance policies is to be found in Kiernan v. Insurance Co., 150 N. Y. 190 , which was an action to set aside an award, made by appraisers under a policy of fire insurance, as fraudulent and void, and to recover the amount of the policy. It does not appear in that case whether it was an old form policy, or a standard. But an examination thereof we do not think will aid the appellant in sustaining its contention that the acts relied upon constituted a waiver; for while, as-therein held, in conformity with a long line of decisions, an election by the company to insist upon the forfeiture of a fire-insurance policy for breach of its conditions must be asserted within a reasonable time after acquiring knowledge of the breach,—which is not the case here,—it is also held that, when an appraisal of the loss under the fire insurance policy-is proper in any event, the mere fact that one was had at the request of
“ The most of the acts of the company tending to show its intent to waive the forfeiture were independent of the appraisal, for some of them preceded while others followed it. They did not bear such a relation to it as to be excluded from consideration under the clause of the policy upon the subject of waiver. Without prolonging the discussion upon this point', we announce as our conclusion that the evidence, independent of all acts relating to the appraisal, sustains the finding of a waiver by the trial court.”
Here all the acts relied upon to show a waiver were directly connected with the appraisement, and, as we have seen, as they were expressly provided against, they cannot now be relied upon, contrary to the provision in the policy, as affecting the very thing which those clauses were aimed at preventing. Upon the laiv, therefore, we think the learned trial judge was right in holding that there was no waiver, as he was equally right upon the facts, because it appeared that, at the time the appraisal was commenced, the companies had no knowledge of the foreclosure of the mortgage, and did not obtain it until some weeks afterwards, and there -is no evidence that the companies did anything to induce the insured to do anything or to incur any expense which would prevent them within a reasonable time insisting upon the forfeiture. It is true they permitted the appraisal to proceed to an award, and within a reasonable time thereafter they availed themselves of the forfeiture, and during that period, which was a short one, nothing was done by the companies to affect injuriously the insured, or induce it to change its position, or lead it to believe that, with full knowledge of the forfeiture they had waived it.
We think the judgment was right, and should be affirmed, with costs.
All concur.
Cases cited
- Quinlan v. Providence Washington Insurance 133 N. Y. 356 p. 1065
- Armstrong v. Agricultural Insurance 130 N. Y. 560 p. 1065
- Baumgartel v. Providence Washington Insurance 136 N. Y. 547 p. 1065
- Allen v. German American Insurance 123 N. Y. 6 p. 1065
- O'Brien v. Prescott Insurance 134 N. Y. 28 p. 1065
- Lett v. Guardian Fire Insurance 125 N. Y. 82 p. 1065
- Titus v. Glens Falls Insurance 81 N. Y. 410 p. 1066
- Kiernan v. Dutchess County Mutual Insurance 150 N. Y. 190 p. 1066