Majority
Headnote
Policy of insurance — medical attendant — 2 B. 8 ., 406, §78 — Nonsuit—error in refusing, owed by defendant's -proof— Evidence — personal privilege — acts and dee-Icm'ations of insured before issuing of policy.We are called upon to consider only the exceptions taken upon • the trial. Nothing else is before us. That the answers of the
With respect to the other answers, it is contended that the statement that the assured had no medical attendant was untrue, because Drs. Eastman and Avery attended him previous to 1866, Dr. Carpenter in 1866 and 1867, and Dr. Picot during the years 1867 and 1868. There is no evidence that either Dr. Eastman or Dr. Avery was his usual medical attendant at the time to which the inquiry related. On the contrary, Dr. Eastman testified that the assured passed out of his hands in 1863, and Dr.. Avery testified that his treatment occurred in 1864 or 1866, consisted of the preparation of medicines, and lasted only a week or ten days. The circumstances under which Drs. Carpenter and Picot prescribed for him, have been already mentioned. The statement of Mr. Proudfit that Drs. Carpenter and Picot attended him, must be taken as having reference to the acts testified to by them. Setting aside Dr. Eastman, we think it would be a perversion of the real relation which existed between these physicians and the assured, to call either of them his medical attendant. A medical attendant is one to whom the care of a sick person has been intrusted. A physician who merely makes a casual prescription for a friend, under the circumstances proved in this case, in the street or elsewhere, can hardly be called such. (Gibson v. Am. Mut. Life Ins. Co., 37 N.
The admission in evidence of the policies, without the applications, was not, we think, improper. The policies of themselves formed complete contracts on the part of the defendant, and the warranties and representations contained in the applications, though forming the consideration of the contracts, were independent and collateral engagements, the breach of which constituted a defense, and which, without proof of such breach, were wholly inoperative upon any rights of the plaintiff But even if the objection of the defendant on this point should be deemed a good one, it was obviated by the subsequent introduction of the applications by the defendant itself. Even an error in refusing a nonsuit is cured by the defendant’s supplying the evidence needed.
The remaining questions are these : First, whether the acts and declarations of the assured, before his insurances were effected, were admissible in evidence ; second, whether the physicians who had prescribed for the assured should have been permitted to disclose information which they had thereby acquired.
The first of these questions has been conclusively settled in this State adversely to the defendant, and it cannot now be treated as an open one. (Rawls v. Am. Mut. Life Ins. Co., supra ; Swift v. Mass. Mut. Life Ins. Co., 2 N. Y. S. C., 303; Bliss L. Ins., § 362.) The admissibility of acts and declarations of assignors, in cases where fraud committed by them and their confederates is the subject in controversy, rests on a different principle. Such declarations are admitted as part of the res gestee. But the acts and declarations offered in this case related to another transaction between the declarant and another party, and had no connection with the transaction in controversy here.
W'e are also of opinion that the testimony of the physicians was properly excluded. The statute provides that “no person authorized to practice physic or surgery, shall be allowed to disclose any information which he may have acquired in attending any patient in a professional character, and which information was necessary to enable him to prescribe for such patient as a physician, or to do any act for him as a surgeon.” (2 R. S., 406, § 73.) The offer was, to
Again, it is saidjihat the privilege of objecting to the disclosure is that of the party, and that the assured, by referring the defendants to Dr. Carpenter when answering the questions put to him on his applications respecting his medical attendant, waived the privilege. There are several answers to this: First. The reference to Dr. Carpenter is easily explained by saying that it was given to enable the defendants to verify the statements of the assured by inquiries (0 be made of the doctor, who was one of the defendant’s medical examiners, out of court, rather than by an examination of him as a witness. Second. No occasion for the exercise of the privilege would ordinarily arise until after the death of the assured. One cannot waive a right, which, from its nature, must belong to another, and which, in the usual course of things, can never be claimed by himself, because it is brought into existence by his death. It is quite correct to say that the privilege is that of the party. The meaning of this, however, is, that the physician will not be allowed to break the seal of confidence, of his own volition. He must at least have the consent of his patient before he can doit. We are of opinion, also, that when the patient has died without giving such consent, the statnte forbids his testimony being received if objected to .by the “ party ” whose interests are to be affected by it. In such a case, if the rule mentioned be applicable at all, the term “ party ” must have reference, not to the dead patient, but to the living litigant, against whom the objectionable testimony is offered on the trial of an action to which he is a party. It would be unreasonable to suppose that it was the intention of the legislature, that the protection afforded by the statute should wholly cease with the death of the patient. Such a construction of the statute would impair and in many cases, frustrate the principle on which it is founded, namely, the promotion of unrestrained confidence between physi-
The argument, that, by allowing the privilege under consideration, the court will promote a scheme of fraud, cannot be admitted. One reason is, that if any such scheme was devised, Dr. Carpenter, the defendant’s own medical examiner, must have been a party to it, and it would be more reasonable to presume that the scheme originated with him than with the assured. "Where a medical examiner, selected by the insurer, gives a certificate that an applicant is a fit subject of insurance, when he knows that he is afflicted with diseases which render him unfit, and the insurer acts upon that certificate without further inquiry, and makes the insurance, the conclusion that the transaction, unexplained, was a device of the insurer to cheat the assured, .would be quite as fair and legitimate as that it was the act of the assured alone. Another and decisive reason is, that the statute contains no exception, and we
Nor can we accede to the proposition that section 390 of the Code, whereby a party to an action is enabled to examine the adverse party as a witness, has abrogated the privilege by which the provision of the Revised Statutes, cited, has protected the-information of the physicians against disclosure. Both statutes are perfectly consistent with each other, and, upon a settled principle of law, each is preserved and must be enforced. The authorities to which we have been referred upon this subject, relate only to the effect of section 390 of the Code upon the rule which prevents attorneys and counselors from divulging information in regard to their clients, of a confidential character. It is unnecessary to express any opinion respecting these decisions, for the reason that they do not absolutely conflict with the views expressed. It does not follow that, because section 390 of the Code has abrogated the rule of the common law relative to attorneys, etc., referred to, it has repealed a positive statute which established the same rulé with respect to physicians. Besides, the réasons given to support those decisions, however cogent when the client is alive and capable of testifying, cease when he dies.
The prevention and detection of fraud, and the discovery, vindica
It might have been urged with some show of reason, but was not, that, inasmuch as neither of the physicians, except Dr. Eastman, was a medical attendant, they did not come within the purview of the statute. We think, however, that the language of the statute, as well as the policy and intent thereof, plainly embrace a physician who casually, or in any way, attends and prescribes for a patient, whether he be the family physician, or the usual medical attendant, or not. (People v. Stout, supra.)
Our conclusion upon the whole case is, that the exceptions must be overruled, and that judgment must be ordered for the plaintiff upon the verdict.
Present — MulliN, P. J., SMITH and Gilbert, JJ.
New trial denied, and judgment ordered for plaintiff on the verdict.