Majority
Headnote
Insurance on life of husband for wife's benefit — assignment of, by wife, through coercion— Trust — Judgment of foreign court.The object of this action was to prevent the moneys claimed upon two policies of life insurance, issued by the defendant The Mutual Life Insurance Company, from being paid over to the defendant Bruñe, or his assignee, and to secure an adjudication that the policies were, in fact, the property of the plaintiff, and that the moneys owing upon- them should be paid to her. The policies were issued in the name of, and to the defendant William II. Bruñe, upon the life of John S. Barry, the plaintiff’s husband. And when they were issued, and at all times since then, Bruñe, as a creditor, had an insurable interest in the life of Barry exceeding the amount insured. One of the policies was for the sum of $20,000, and the other for $5,000, and they were both issued on or about the 18th day of January, 1872, and Barry, whose life was insured, died in the following month of March.
Before either of these policies was issued, two other policies in the same amount were issued by the same company, upon the same life, in favor of'the plaintiff, who was then the wife of John S. Barry. The first was dated on the 11th day of January, 1867, for the sum of $20,000, at the annual premium of $592.80, payable on that day in each year. And the second was dated on the 9th of December, 1870, for the sum of $5,000, and it was issued in consideration of the payment of an annual premium of $168.60, payable on that day in each year. The premiums on these policies were properly paid up to and including the year 1871, when the plaintiff’s husband, John S. Barry, became embarrassed in his business, which was that of banker. And at his request the defendant Bruñe loaned and advanced him the notes of his firm for about the sum of $80,000. These notes were to be paid by Barry, and, in the mean time, he.was to secure the firm of Bruñe & Sons against their liability upon them. For that purpose, in July, 1871-, the plaintiff under the persuasion, controlling influence and coercion of her husband, executed an assignment in blank which was afterwards so filled up by his direction as to assign the two policies in suit to the defendant Bruñe, and it was then mailed to him by depositing it in the post-office at the city of New York, addressed to him at Baltimore, which was the place of his residence. He held the assignment and the policies in that form until
By a clause contained in each of the policies, they were liable to forfeiture for the non-payment of the premiums on the days when payment should be made, and after such forfeiture the company was in terms exonerated from all liability upon them, but that was in this case qualified by the understanding that the assignee was to receive others in his own name in lieu of them. Pursuant to that the policies were allowed to lapse for such non-payment and, with the assent and co-operation of Barry, those now in suit were applied for and received by the defendant Bruñe. They were issued and delivered to him upon the basis of the applications and examinations made for those held by the plaintiff; they bore the same numbers respectively; they were for the same amounts, referred to the same registers in the company’s books, and were for the same premiums, but payable in semi-annual instead of annual payments, as'the policies which had lapsed, and they were issued in consideration of the payment of the premiums remaining unpaid on the original policies, and that to the extent of $169.48 was made from dividends, or profits, credited to the plaintiff by the company on the larger and first policy it had delivered to her.
It is entirely clear from these facts, that no substantial change was made in the insurance by what transpired. The new policies were a substitute for those previously issued, a continuation in fact of the same insurance but in the name and for the declared benefit of the defendant Bruñe. They were designed simply to secure him the same advantage expected to have been derived from the assignment alone, and which would have resulted from it, if that had been a valid and binding instrument. It was not intended to create a new insurance, but simply to render that previously made effectual
To that extent it is entirely applicable to the present controversy,
But even if he had been an assignee for value without notice, his title would still have been defective. For by the assignment which was made no title whatever to the policies was transferred to him. For there was not only an absence of power to make a valid assignment in the assignor, but beyond that, it never received that assent from her which was necessary to render it binding upon her. It was found as a fact, upon evidence not questioned as insufficient, that she executed it under the persuasion, controlling influence and coercion of her husband; .and that, as well as her want of power, rendered it entirely inoperative against her. (Barry v. Equitable Life Ins. Co., supra; Whitridge v. Barry, 42 Md., 140 .) For that reason, as the insurance continued to be practically the same as it previously had been, after the new policies were issued, and, in substance, only a continuation of that which had been made in her own name, she was entitled to receive the moneys the company became liable to pay upon them.
But it has been urged by the learned counsel representing the defendants Bruñe and Hams, the latter of whom has been appointed trustee in place of the deceased assignee Whitridge, that the insurance company was not entitled to be protected against a further pay
There was but one insurance either in fact or in law, and the contest was limited to the right to its proceeds. The insurance company became liable for only one aggregate sum of $25,000, and it received the premium or consideration for that, and for nothing beyond it. Whitridge, as the assignee of Bruñe, who received the new policies in the place of and as substitutes for the old ones, limited his claim to the recovery of that money, and for that judgment was awarded in his favor. The plaintiff in this action claimed the same fund, and her right to it has been established. The payment or deposit already made of it, pursuant to the judgment in this ease, will discharge the entire liability of the insurance company, and satisfy the judgment recovered by Whitridge and now held by the defendant Harris, who was appointed as his trustee upon his decease. And it was therefore within the power of this court to enjoin further proceedings after-wards for the enforcement of that judgment. Complete justice
Beady, J., concurred. Davis, P. J., taking no part.
Judgment affirmed, with costs.