Majority
Headnote
Marine insurance — implied wa/i'ranty of seaworthiness — a vessel built for inland namgation used for ocean traffic — duties of the assured with respect to her equipment.This action was brought to recover upon the defendant’s policy of marine insurance which insured tbe steamboat Dos Hermanos in the sum of $5,000 at and from Philadelphia to Frontera, Mexico. Tbe vessel sank in tbe ocean on September 13, 1884. The issues tried were that the Hermanos was not seaworthy for tbe voyage, that she deviated and, therefore, discharged the policy. In the consideration of the questions raised upon this appeal it will not be necessary to consider other than the first above mentioned. In order that the plaintiffs should succeed in this action it was incumbent upon them to establish that at the time the vessel started upon her voyage she was seaworthy. This ’obligation was acknowledged by the allegations of the complaint that the steamboat departed from the port of Philadelphia upon said voyage on or about the IYth day of August, 1884, being then staunch, strong and in every respect seaworthy, with competent officers and crew. It is conceded that at least a part of the voyage which the steamer was expected to make was required to be upon the open ocean; and the question
It is claimed, upon the part of the defendant, that there being no exception whatever in the policy, it being the ordinary marine policy insuring the steamboat against marine risk, that it was necessary before there could be a recovery for the plaintiff, to prove that the vessel was seaworthy as a sea-going vessel. Upon the other hand it was claimed by the plaintiffs that the vessel having been built simply for river navigation it was not necessary for them to show that she was equal to a regulan sea-going steamer, but all they were required to establish was that she was good and staunch of her class, and that a proper outfit had been added for the ocean voyage.
Strange as it may appear when we consider the number of adventures which would be calculated to raise the question here involved, we have been unable to find any principle established by the adjudicated cases which controls the construction of a marine policy in this respect where such policy is entirely silent as to the dimensions and capacity of the vessel insured. The ordinary rule is that parol evidence cannot be admitted to contradict or qualify the implied warranty of seaworthiness, any more than it could have been if the warranty had been express. If this were the law, it would bo perfectly clear that no recovery could be had upon the policy in question, because the vessel insured was not seaworthy for the voyage for which it was insured in the ordinary acceptation of the term. And the only difficulty is as to whether, in the consideration of a policy of insurance of this kind, it is admissible to consider extraneous facts for the purpose of showing that there has been a waiver of the rigor of the warranty implied in the policy. In the ease at bar it is not necesary to determine this question, because if we concede, for the purposes of the decision of this case, that the latter rule must prevail, yet even under this contraction no recovery could be had. It is clear that the claim that all that it was necessary to show in respect of seaworthiness was that the vessel was strong and staunch for the purpose of river and smooth water navigation is not well founded; and none of the cases which are cited by the learned counsel for the plaintiffs in any way support any such proposition.
This case extended the right to explain what was intended by the implied warranty in the policy, as far as any which we have been able to find has ever done. And the court held that because it was a river steamer that, therefore, the rigid warranty which would be applicable to a sea-going vessel could not necessarily have been intended when the vessel was insured, because no such warranty could possibly have been complied with. In that case it appeared that, because of the weakness of the vessel, an increased premium was charged. In the case at bar no such evidence appears.
It is argued that the premium taken was a high premium, in that the insurance company took a premium showing a computation of one loss in twenty; whereas, from the evidence in this case, it would seem that it would have been more proper, if an augmented premium. was to be taken, that it should have been based upon a computation of nineteen losses out of twenty.
The evidence in the case at bar, not only in respect to the question of insurance, but also in respect to another important feature of the case cited, utterly fails. The judgment of the court in the case cited was based upon this consideration: “ Taking all these
There is no evidence of this kind in the case at bar. All that the evidence shows'is that the vessel was fit for river and smooth water navigation. There was not a particle of evidence tending to show that any substantial precaution was taken to protect her against the dangers to which a vessel of this construction was peculiarly subject, namely, the action of the sea upon her hull. The case is entirely barren of any evidence tending to show that any extraordinary precautions of any kind whatever were taken; and it would appear from the evidence that the vessel was lost because of the very causes which might have been anticipated, and, perhaps, might have been guarded against.
If it was necessary, in order to comply with the warranty, to show that everything which could be done had been done to render this vessel fit for the voyage, taking into consideration her structural weakness, it was necessary that the plaintiffs should have proved that fact, and not limited themselves to evidence tending to show that the vessel was staunch and strong of her class, and was fit for river navigation when she was insured for an ocean voyage. This was no proof of the allegation contained in the complaint that she was strong, staunch and seaworthy at the time she commenced her voyage.
Our attention has been called to another case (Bouilon v. Lupton 15 Com. Bench [N. S.], 113), in which three steamers, intended for the navigation of the Danube, were insured at and from Lyons to Galatz, with leave to call at all ports and places in the Mediterranean for all or any purposes, beginning the adventure at Lyons. These vessels left Lyons and duly arrived at Marseilles. All three of the vessels were in a fit and proper state for the voyage down the Shone to
In discussing this question the court say: “ There is an implied warranty in every insurance of a ship that a vessel shall be seaworthy. By which it is meant that she shall be in a fit state as to repairs, equipment and crew, and, in all other respects, to perform the voyage insured and to encounter the ordinary perils at the time of sailing upon it. That is the general rule. If it be applicable here, of course, there can be no doubt that the defendants are right and they ought to succeed, because the warranty of seaworthiness has not been complied with at Lyons in respect to the whole voyage. If the insurance attaches before the voyage commences, it is enough that the state of the ship be commensurate to the then risk; and if the voyage be such as to require a different complement of men or state of equipment in different parts of it, as if it was a voyage down a canal or river, and thence to and on the open sea, it is enough if the vessel be at each stage of the navigation in which the loss happens, properly manned and equipped for it.”
It thus appears that the last case cited in no way conflicts with any rule which has been established with reference to. the implied warranty attaching to policies of marine insurance. And the later case of Clapham v. Langton (5 Best & Smith [Q. B. Rep.] 729), is in entire accord with the principles which have been laid down. In that case the action was brought upon a policy of insurance upon a ship at and from the Tyne to Odessa or another port in the Black sea. The length, breadth, draught and tonnage of the vessel were specified in a memorandum on the face of the policy at the time of making the same. The defense was unseaworthiness. On the trial
IJpon an examination of the opinions there seems to have been a delightful contrariety of opinion, and although the court agreed that the judgment should be affirmed, they arrived at this conclusion for different reasons, and no opinion whatever was expressed upon the question whether parol evidence, as to the character of a vessel, is admissible to qualify the ordinary warranty of seaworthiness in a policy; and it would seem that the turning point of the case was that the policy contained the dimensions of the vessel, which showed that she could not possibly be seaworthy as a sea-going vessel. This conclusion, perhaps, is some-what conjectural, as the case is not explicit on this point, and the only point which seems to be established is that where a vessel is made as seaworthy for the voyage as a vessel of such nature and description could reasonably be made, the
The only other point necessary to be considered is the claim made on the part of the respondent, that the question of seaworthiness is always one of fact to be determined by the jury; and our attention is called to the decision of the Court of Appeals, in the case of Walsh v. Washington Insurance Company ( 32 N. Y., 427 ), where the court say that “ the jury having found for the plaintiff, and the court below having approved the findings upon the facts, there would seem to be no serious question for consideration here, in regard to the seaworthiness of the vessel; for it is agreed by all the authorities that this is peculiarly a question of fact for the jury.” This case fails to establish any such claim as is made for it. Undoubtedly the question of seaworthiness is peculiarly a question of fact for the jury; but where the evidence is without dispute that the voyage is of a character for which the vessel is not fitted, and that no substantial precautions whatever, have been taken to provide for perils which must necessarily be encountered, there seems to be no question for the jury because there has been no compliance with the law, and the jury have no power to find contrary to the evidence. If there is any conflict of evidence upon the subject, and
Tbe conclusion at wbicb we bave arrived is that there was a breach of tbe implied warranty contained in tbe policy, in that there was no attempt to put tbe vessel in tbe state in wbicb she ought to bave been put upon tbe beginning of an ocean voyage.
Tbe judgment must be reversed and a new trial .ordered, with costs to tbe appellant to abide tbe event.
Maoomber, J"., concurred;
I concur. I think tbe testimony established the unseaworthiness of tbe vessel, tested by any rule properly applicable to tbe case.
Judgment reversed and new trial ordered, with costs to tbe appellant to abide tbe event.