Majority
Headnote
-Accident insurance policy — time of inception of contract — notice of death to the company — contract containing ultra vires conditions — death occurring from an injury after the expiration of the time fixed by the policy.The defense in tbis case is based on the provisions of the certificate of membership. The plaintiff claims that that certificate was not a part of the contract, and that she is not bound by its •conditions. Her position is that the contract was complete upon the passage by the board of directors, upon Friday evening, of the resolution approving the application and accepting Palmer as a member, and that the certificate executed the next day could attach .no condition not specified in the constitution or by-laws.
The certificate bears date the same as the resolution, operates as of that date, is under the corporate seal and is executed by the officer who, by the’ provisions of its constitution, is to be recognized as the legal representative of the association, and the one to execute all papers legally demanded or requisite in connection with the affairs of the association. It purports to be the corporate act, constituting the membership and stating the contract on the part of the corporation. It was in the form adopted by the board at its •organization and not afterwards changed. The resolution was preliminary, and the certificate was the corporate act and deed. The matter was not completed until the execution and delivery of the certificate.
In determining what was, in- fact, the corporate act at that time the resolution and certificate must be taken together. "Very clearly that was the intention of the officers of the corporation. Their membership contracts had always been in that way, and there was no reason for a change in this instance. That was the contract they assumed to make in conducting the affairs of the corporation. I can .see no reason to doubt that the contract, which in this case was proffered by the corporation to Palmer in return for his application, was represented by the certificate. That was what they sent to Palmer, and was the only communication from defendant to Palmer of its manner of action upon the subject; the only obligation delivered by defendant. This Palmer received and kept. That Palmer expected to receive a certificate is indicated by a reference to one in the application. The presumption is he expected to receive a certificate in the usual form issued by the defendant (Van Loan v. Farmers’ Mut. Fire Ins. Assn., 90 N. Y., 285 ; De Grove v. Metropolitan Ins. Co., 61 id., 602); and this presumption is strengthened
The plaintiff in this respect must occupy her husband’s position. I see no way to avoid the conclusion that the certificate must be considered in determining the obligations of the' defendant. The certificate must be deemed to indicate what both parties meant and understood by the acceptance mentioned in the resolution. The case of Fried v. Royal Insurance Company ( 50 N. Y., 243 ) is cited by plaintiff. There the plaintiff applied to the agent of the defendant in New York for an insurance on the life of her husband, presented a proposal and paid the premium, and received from the agent a receipt stating that the proposal would be forwarded to the home office for acceptance, and if accepted a policy would be issued, and if declined the premium would be returned, and in case the husband died before the decision was received the sum insured was to be paid. The proposal was forwarded and accepted, a policy issued by defendant and forwarded to the agent to be executed and delivered. The agent executed it, but declined to deliver it, having been advised that the health of the assured had declined, and he had standing instructions not to deliver in such a case. It was held that the contract and acceptance were unqualified and could not be limited by private instructions to the agent, stress being laid on the idea that in case the party died before decision the sum insured was to be paid, and that the instructions to the agent did not apply to a case where the premium was paid. The case before us is very different.
But the plaintiffi says that the board of directors had no power to make such a contract as is indicated by the certificate. If, as I think it must be held, the contract in that form was the only one presented and delivered on the part of the defendant, and that is void for want of power, then the plaintiff has no contract to stand on. It is the one presented to and received by Palmer, or none.
It is further urged that the provision that death must happen
Be this as it may, I see no escape from the conclusion, upon the other feature of the case, that the only membership proffered or accepted by the defendant or its board of directors, or expected by the recipient Palmer, was the one indicated by the certificate, and that under that the plaintiff, if she takes at all, necessarily takes subject to the conditions therein stated.
There is nothing in the case upon which plaintiff can base an estoppel. There is nothing to show that Palmer expected to receive anything different from what he, in.' fact, did receive. Nor is there anything in the manner of the refusal of the defendant to pay the claim that affects its right to raise the question here considered. In view of the conclusions thus far, it is not necessary to consider the question as to want of immediate notice of the accident or the death, which is raised by the defendant. There is no question but that the conditions of the certificate, if effective, are upon the facts a perfect defense. The death did not occur within ninety days from the happening of the accident. No claim is made on account of temporary or total disability simply, but only for the death. It follows that the plaintiff is not entitled to recover.
HaediN, P. J., and MaetiN, J., concurred.
Judgment ordered for the defendant upon the submission, with costs. Form of judgment to be settled before Merwin, J,