appeal side, province of Quebec (1), affirming the judgment of the Superior Court, Tessier J., and maintaining the respondent's action.
On the 23rd December, 1907, Joseph A. Bilodeau, the respondent's husband, took out a policy of insurance upon his life with the New York Life Insurance Company in the sum of $5,000, and the policy itself indicated as beneficiaries the wife of the assured, the present respondent, together with a daughter of the assured by a previous marriage in equal shares. The policy provided that it would lapse in the event of failure to pay the premiums within thirty days of their maturity, and would then have no cash surrender value.
The assured was engaged in business, and in course of time became indebted to the appellant company to a considerable extent. On the 15th December, 1925, the assured, together with the two-named beneficiaries, executed a transfer of the policy to the appellant company to which, at that date, the assured was indebted in the sum of $7,500. During the year 1926 the assured made an authorized assignment in favour of his creditors and in the month of August, 1929, he died. The premiums of insurance payable in respect to this policy, for the last three years prior to the death of the assured, were paid by the appellant company. The insurance company, on or about the 31st August, 1929, paid to the appellant company, in virtue of the transfer above referred to, the sum of $5,026.62. In the month of October of that year, the respondent instituted proceedings against the appellant company, asking that she be declared the beneficiary under this policy and entitled to the proceeds thereof; that the transfer in favour of the appellant be declared illegal, null and void; that the payment made by the insurance company to the appellant be declared null and void; and that the appellant be condemned to pay to her the sum of $5,200.
L. E. Beaulieu K.C. for the appellant.
E. J. Flynn for the respondent.
C.J.C.-Although impressed by the views of Mr. Justice Howard in the Court of King's Bench, I find it impossible to follow him to his conclusions. To give effect to them here, I think, would be to exhibit a vacillation in the opinion expressed by this court on the subject of the scope and application of Art. 1301 C.C., which could not fail to be disastrous. We might as well at once forego any idea that the doctrine of stare decisis (Stuart v. Bank of Montreal) (1) forms part of our jurisprudence.
As Mr. Justice Howard, the dissenting judge in the Court of King's Bench, points out, parol evidence given to shew the true purpose and character of the instrument,which, in form, is as absolute as transfer can be made, and was executed by Mr. and Mrs. Bilodeau and their daughter, Marie Antoinette Bilodeau, the interest of the latter being similar to that of Mrs. Bilodeau,-was clearly admissible (Rodrigue v. Dostie) (2); although that learned judge differs from the majority in his court as to the effect of such evidence. The learned dissenting judge seems to agree, however, that this latter question depends largely on the view taken as to the meaning and effect of the testimony of the appellant Daoust. As put by him, " this document is in terms an absolute alienation " by the respondent Rose-Anna Ferland (Bilodeau) of all her interest in the policy to the appellant, a document which, if intended to operate according to its form, it was entirely competent for her to execute (Laframboise v. Vallibres ever, it is open, in any case where the validity of a document is challenged on a ground of public policy (as it is here under Art. 1301 C.C.), for the person so challenging to adduce oral evidence at the trial to shew what was the true and real purpose or intention of the transaction which resulted in its being given. The respondent having pledged her oath that, when she executed the document in question, she did so on the understanding that it was to be used as collateral security to her husband's debt, and in no sense for her own benefit, and that she had, in fact, derived no benefit whatever from the transaction-testimony fully corroborated, quantum valeat, by her son-in-law, Charles Caron,-as put by Mr. Justice Howard,
& there remains to be considered only the testimony of Mr. Daoust, a small portion of which he quotes, commenting thus:- The respondent has analyzed it, pointing out that, though Mr. Daoust under examination-in-chief took the position that the transfer of the policy C.0.
to the appellant was absolute, he admitted under cross-examination that it was in reality a transfer for security. With respect, I do not think that that is the correct conclusion to be drawn from Mr. Daoust's evidence. As I read it he maintained throughout that the transfer conveyed to the appellant the absolute ownership of the policy and that it was accepted and retained by the appellant as such. He does say that, on a subsequent occasion, Mr. Bilodeau assured him, that he would pay his debt to the appellant in full and promised to keep the policy in force in the meantime, and he adds that, if Mr. Bilodeau had done so, the policy would have been transferred back to him, because he (Daoust) was unwilling to keep what was not due to him.
" Q. Et s'il vous avait pay6, je comprends que vous lui auriez remis, avec plaisir, sa police que vous d6teniez?
R. Oui, mime s'il avait pay6 les cinq mille piastres, s'il avait pay6 *
* * disons qu'il nous devait seulement que deux mille piastres, les h6ritiers de Bilodeau auraient retir6 la diffirence. Comprenez-vous? Je ne veux pas avoir ce qui ne m'est pas du."
I cannot see in that any admission, direct or indirect, that the transfer of the policy was anything but an absolute alienation of it. The way the appellant subsequently dealt with this policy is quite consistent with its submission that the policy by the transfer became its absolute property. It is true that it did not give any tangible consideration-did not pay anything-for the transfer of the policy even by way of credit; it did not enter the policy on either side of the ledger in its account with Mr. Bilodeau;
"R. Il n'a jamais 6t6 appliqu6 comme garantic collat~rale.
Q. Mais il n'a jamais 6t0 appliqu6 non plus comme paiement? R. Comme paiement, 6videmment que non, tant qu'il ne serait pas mort."
Personally, although the learned appellate judge, who dissented, declined to accept this testimony, I am prepared to do so at its face value, in accord with the view of the learned trial judge and with that of the majority of the Court of King's Bench.
For me, these questions of the meaning and effect of Daoust's testimony and of his credibility are purely matters of fact, on which I am not prepared to reverse the judgment of the Superior Court, confirmed by that of the Court of King's Bench.
This case resembles Banque Canadienne Nationale v. Carette (1), where Rinfret J., delivering the judgment of this court, said,
(1) [1931] Can. S.C.R. 33, at 38.
En plus, la banque, dans son factum, admet "que les polices d'assurance en question ont 6t6 donnies & la Banque Canadienne Nationale par J.-Ed. Poulin, le mari de l'intim6, pour garantir son compte general. II en r6sulte que le litige doit 6tre envisag6 du point de vue d'un transport par une femme mari6e en garantie des dettes de son mari, et non pas, ainsi que la plaidoirie 6crite l'avait d'abord soumis, comme un transport pur et simple d'une femme mari6e en paiement des dettes do son mar.
Cette distinction est trs importante; car, comme nous l'avons fait remarquer entre autres dans la cause de Laframboise v. Vallibres (1), "I'on est d'accord, en effet, pour interpriter Particle 1301 du code civil comme une prohibition A la femme mari6e de cautionner, de garantir, de s'engager pour l'avenir 'avec ou pour son mari'; et il est admis que 'acte juridique ainsi proscrit par le l6gislateur est le contrat de garantie ou de siret6. Le mot 's'obliger', dans cet article, doit s'entendre comme indiquant seulement le contrat de cautionnement.
(Lebel v. Bradin (2)." Par cons6quent, si I'intim6e avait c~d6 purement et simplement ses droits dans les polices, la question de l'application de 'article 1301 C.C. se pr&senterait sous un jour tout diff6rent.
See, too, page 39 of the Carette judgment (3), from which I take the following extract:
Cependant, l'admission que les transports des polices d'assurance ont 6t6 faits par I'intimbe non pas en cession pure et simple & la banque, main seulement en garantie collat6rale des dettes du mari, entraine comme cons6quence l'application de 'article 1301 du code civil en vertu duquel " La femme ne peut s'obliger avec ou pour son mari qu'en qualit6 de commune; toute autre obligation qu'elle contracte ainsi en autre qualit6 est nulle et sans effet, sauf les droits des cr6anciers qui contractent de bonne foi."
La banque a pritendu que la prohibition contenue dans cet article ne visait que la garantie personnelle de la femme maride et ne comprenait pas la garantie r6elle.
L'honorable juge Lafontaine, le pr4sent juge-enchef de la province de Qukbec, dans la cause de Joubert et Turcotte Kieffer (4), a fait de cette question une 6tude approfondie, A. laquelle nous ne saurions rien ajouter, et oii il a d6montr que par le mot " s'obliger " il faut entendre "tout engagement quelconque par lequel une femme mari6e prend A sa charge le paiement d'une dette de son mari, soit qu'elle contracte une obligation personnelle, comme dans le cautionnement, ou qu'elle engage ses biens seulement, comme dans le contrat d'hypothbque ou de gage."
C'est ce que cette cour a d4cid6 dans la cause de Klock v. Chamberlin (5), et de nouveau dans la cause de Rodrigue v. Dostie (6).
As I read the facts and Mr. Daoust's testimony, they admit of only one conclusion, viz., that his company never had any absolute power over the policy, or any unqualified interest in it, but that interest was always in the nature of collateral security for the indebtedness of Mr. Bilodeau to his company.
(1) [1927] Can. S.C.R. 193, at 197.
(4) [19161 Q.R. 51 S.C. 152. (2) [19131 R.L. ns. 16.
(5) [1887] 15 Can. S.C.R. 325. (3) [1931] Can. S.C.R. 33.
(6) [19271 Can. S.C.R. 563. For instance, when Bilodeau became insolvent, this policy was not indluded as part of his estate, and in making claim as creditor, the appellant " put in " for the whole CMIE LtE.
amount thereof, not taking anything off on account of the p p
,icy' neither making any reduction for it in the amount of its claim as presented to the assignee, nor making any reference to its being held by the company as security or otherwise. Daoust had admitted in his evidence at the trial that " it had never been applied by him in 'any way as a payment ". I agree with the learned trial judge and with the majority of the Court of King's Bench that Daoust's testimony, taken as a whole, is consistent only with the appellant having had no real title to the policy in question as owner, but that it held the same always merely as collateral security for Bilodeau's debt.
I refer again for an instant to the judgment of this court in Banque Canadienne Nationale v. Carette (1),
II faut dire, par cona6quent, que les transports d'assurance dont l'intim6 demande la nulit6 tombent sous le coup de l'article 1301 du code civil; * * * L'article 1301 du code civil a pour but la protection de la femme maribe contre le danger d'engager sea biens ou sa responsabilit6 personnelle, oih elle pourrait se laisser entrainer sous I'influence de son mari ou mgme par simple affection pour lui.
In La Banque Canadienne Nationale v. Audet (2), my brother Rinfret excludes all cases in which a married woman had been held not responsible (although she had contracted with (avec) her husband), where it was demonstrated that she had herself obtained the benefit of any advance made on her obligation (such as Banque d'Hochelaga v. Jodoin (3) ), and he proceeds (at pp. 307-8) Tons ces jugements peuvent s'expliquer par le motif que ces cas ne tombent vraiment pas sous P'article du code civil.
*
*
* Il est conforme A l'histoire de cette 14gislation, depuis le droit romain jusqu'aux statuts ant6rieurs au code, de comprendre, par l'expression "s'obliger" de l'article 1301 CC., uniquement le cautionnement de la femme avec ou pour son man.
Cette interpritation est maintenant fix6e dans la jurisprudence Lebel v. Bradin, Cour du Banc du Roi (4); Laframboise v. Vallibres (5); Banque Canadienne v. Carette (6).
(Voir 4 Ed. VII, c. 42, qui daclare que Particle 1301 C.C. ne s'est jamais appliqu6 aux achats, ventes ou 6changes d'immeubles, ni aux baux emphyth6otiques faits par la femme maride.)
I1 en r6sulte que l'obligation de la femme maride pour sea (1) [19311 Can. S.C.R. 33, at 41
(4) [1913] RIL. n.s. 16. and 42.
(5) [1927] Can. S.C.R. 197. (2) [1931] Can. S.C.R. 293.
(3) [1895] A.C. 612.
(6) [1931] Can. S.C.R. 33. propres affaires ou pour son propre compte, qu'elle soit on non commune avec son mari, n'4tant jamais, h proprement parler, un cautionnement de sa part, ne constitue pas un acte oii elle " s'oblige " au sens de Particle D on , & 1301 C.C., et ne tombe pas sous le coup de cet article.
CIE E. I accept, as applicable to the case now before us, the following passage from La Banque Canadienne Nationale v. Audet (1), where Rinfret J., delivering the judgment of this court, says,
Le premier 614ment dans la pr6sente cause est que l'intime s'est port6e caution avec son mari pour la dette d'un tiers en une autre qualit6 que celle de commune en biens. De ce chef, la cause parait done de prime abord Stre r6gle par le principe g~ndral pos6 dans l'article 1301 du code civil (Lebel v. Bradin '(2).
and also this passage, from p. 310,
D'autre part, la preuve ne laisse aucun doute sur le fait qu'elle n'a zertainement tire aucun profit de l'obligation qu'elle a contractie. In Trust and Loan v. Gauthier (3), Lord Lindley, in giving the judgment of the Judicial Committee, said, Except in dealing with their common property, she is not to bind herself with him, i.e., she is not to join in any obligation which affects him.
and, at p. 101,
Their Lordships gather from the decisions referred to in the argument and in the published commentaries on the Code Civil that the words " for her husband " are now judicially held to mean generally in any way for his purposes as distinguished from those of his wife; and that ignorance on the part of her obligee (cr6ancier) cannot avail him, if it is proved that she in fact bound herself for her husband. These conclusions are, in their Lordship's opinion, sound and in accordance with the language of art. 1301 and with its evident object.
As to the history, purpose and purport of the amendment to article 1301 C.C., enacted in 1904 (4 Ed. VII, c. 42), and said to have been passed in consequence of the judgment of the Privy Council in Trust and Loan v. Gauthier (4), I cannot do better than refer again to the following passage from the decision of this court in Banque Canadienne Nationale v. Audet (5), in which my brother Rinfret deals, entirely to my satisfaction, with that amendment and its effect. He says,
Dans la cause de Leclerc v. Bidard (6), la Cour de R6vision h Qubbec (Dorion J.) s'est demand6 quelle 6tait la port~e de cet amendement. Elle fait remarquer avec justesse qu'il " ne peut pas 6tre question de bonne foi lorsque le contrat prend la forme d'un cautionnement par la (1) [19311 Can. S.C.R. 293, at 309.
(4) [19041 A.C. 94.
(2) [1913] 19 R.L. ns. 16 at 33.
(5) [19311 Can. S.C.R. 293. (3) [1904] A.C. 94
(6) [1913] Q.R. 45 S.C. 129. femme de l'obligation du mari. C'est IA ce qui est express6ment prohib6 par la loi."
&
Lorsque 1'obligation a 6t6 contract~e avec le mari, I'amendement CIE vient certainement confirmer le droit du cr6ancier de prouver que la femme s'est obligbe pour sa propre affaire. Mais ce droit avait d6j& 6t6 reconnu au crdancier par la jurisprudence.
I reste le cas oil la femme mari6e s'oblige seule avec l'autorisation de son mari. Les tribunaux ont toujours annul6 cette obligation lorsqu'il 6tait d6montri & leur satisfaction que nonobstant ses termes apparents, l'obligation avait 6t6 assumbe par la femme, suivant 1'expression du Conseil Priv6 "in any way for her husband's purposes ". Mais le jugement du Conseil Priv4 dans lequel cette expression se rencontre (Trust & Loan v. Gauthier) (1) ajoutait:
" Ignorance on the part of the lender that the money was borrowed for the husband's purposes is of no avail, and the burden is on him to prove that it was not so borrowed."
Leclerc v. Bdard (2) a donc dcid6 que I'amendement de la loi 4 Ed. VII, c. 42, s. 1, fait naitre la prisomption que le prit fait A la femme suparke seule, quoique autoris6e de son mari, lui a profit4 & elle-minme. Par suite, si elle invoque la nullit6 de son obligation pour violation de l'article 1301 C.C., c'est sur elle que tombe le fardeau de la preuve que le prit a profiit6 h son marib la connaissance du priteur.
The learned judge says, at p. 312,
Le jugement de la Cour du Bane du Roi dans la cause de Lebel v. Bradin (3), dont nous avons dbj& parl6, contient une 6tude trbs complite de toutes les questions qui se soulivent en vertu de 'article 1301 C.C., et de 'amendement de 1904.
Sa conclusion est que, sous I'effet de cet amendement, le cr6ancier qui pr~te A la femme mari6e s~par6e de biens seule, pour 6tre r6put6 de bonne foi, doit verser le produit de 'emprunt A la femme elle-mgme, et il doit ignorer et n'avoir aucune raison de croire que cet argent pourra servir les int6rits du mari. Le cr6ancier, dans ce cas, n'est pas responsable si subs6quemment la femme remet les fonds emprunt6s A son mari; car depuis l'amendement il n'est plus tenu de surveiller 1'emploi des deniers provenant du pr~t qu'il lui a fait. Rinfret J. then concludes as follows:
Il n'est pas n6cessaire de dire que les d6finitions que nous venons de rapporter 6puisent tous les cas le creancier pourra, en vertu de I'amendement, 4tablir une bonne foi suffisante pour sauvegarder ses droits 1'encontre de la nullit6 6dict~e par l'article 1301 C.C. Mais h la suite de ces d6finitions, I'on doit stirement d6cider qu'il ne peut 6tre question de bonne foi dans le cas d'une obligation contract6e express6ment par la femme s6par6e pour son mari. Dans le cas d'une obligation contractke par la femme marie seule, soit express6ment soit apparemment pour elle-mime, les droits du crbancier serout sauvegard6s m~me si I'argent est subs6quemment employs pour les fins du mari, lorsque les circonstances 4tabliront les 616ments de bonne foi indiqu6s par la Cour du Bane du Roi dans la cause de Lebel v. Bradin (4).
Dans le cas oi la femme s'oblige avec son mari, l'amendement permet d'6tablir la bonne foi du cr6ancier. Mais la loi pr~sume contre lui; et c'est done A lui qu'il incombe de la prouver.
(1) [1904] A.C. 94.
[1913] Q.R. 45 S.C. 129.
(3) [19133 19 RL. n.s. 16. (4) [1913] 19 R.L. na. 16. Nous ne trouvons pas, en l'espbce, la rencontre des 616ments ncessaires pour arriver h la conclusion que l'appelante peut invoquer le b6n6fice de l'amendement. Ds l'6poque oii furent sign6s les deux actes de E garantie, elle connaissait toutes les circonstances qui entrainent la nullit4 CIE de ces actes: le fait que l'intim6e 6tait maride A l'un des cosignataires et le fait que son mari 6tait actionnaire dans la compagnie pour laquelle elle se portait caution. Par suite, il est impossible de dire que l'appelante a contract6 de bonne foi. Il s'agit, bien entendu, de la bonne foi au sens 16gal et suivant le texte de larticle 1301 du code civil.
I agree with Mr. Justice Hall's view in the case at bar, who, concurring in the judgment of Mr. Justice Bond, says, Further, it is, in my opinion, evident that Bilodeau always intended to pay his debt during his life time. He was perhaps over-optimistic in his expectation that he would be able to do so, because, shortly afterwards, he went into bankruptcy. Nevertheless, there is nothing to suggest that either Mr. Daoust or Bilodeau himself anticipated that the company-appellant would be obliged to hold the policy and keep it in force until the latter's death, at which time only would it acquire any definite value. This view is borne out by Mr. Daoust's own admission that he was always ready and willing to return the policy at any time on the payment of the debt, and it is further borne out by the fact that he made several demands upon Bilodeau for the payment of the premiums which matured subsequent to the assignment. He even goes so far as to say that it was agreed that the premiums should be paid by Bilodeau. That agreement was entirely incompatible with Mr. Daoust's contention that his company had become the absolute owner of the policy, as a payment, rather than as security for the debt.
In the case at bar, being perfectly satisfied that the document in question was a violation of Art. 1301 C.C., it would never do, because of the extremely high character of the appellant Daoust, or of the patent honesty of the respondent's husband, to make an exception from the clear rule laid down by this court in Carette's case (1).
Nor will it do to say that, although stare decisis may be a good enough doctrine for the rest of Canada, it forms no part of Quebec jurisprudence and it, therefore, should not be applied in this court to cases from that province. Here, the old idea, ubi jus est aut vagum aut incertum, ibi maxima servitus praevalebit, still obtains. In my opinion, -the doctrine of stare decisis must equally apply in the determination of any case which comes before this court, whatever may be the province of its origin.
For the foregoing reasons, I would dismiss this appeal with costs
(1) [1931] Can. S.C.R. 33.
DUFF JJ.-We agree with the conclusion of our brother Smith, and with his reasons. It is settled by several decisions of this court that the ambit of article 1301 is not restricted to personal obligations; a real guaranty falls within its scope. Only one question can be regarded as susceptible of debate. That question is, whether or not the instrument of 15th December, 1925, would, but for the disability imposed by that article, have effected a transfer of the respondent's rights under the policy of insurance to the appellants, as security for her husband's debt.
It seems to us to be a case of res ipsa loquitur. By the policy, the New York Life Insurance Company promised to pay, on proof of the death of the husband, at the expiration of a stipulated -period, the sum of $5,000, less any moneys due the company, to the respondent and to Marie- Antoinette Bilodeau, the respondent's daughter, in equal shares.
By the document of 15th December, 1925, the husband, the wife and the daughter executed a transfer in these terms:
This transfer, with the policy, was delivered to the appellants, to whom the husband was indebted in some $7,500, and who, thereafter, paid the premiums, and, on the death of the husband, collected the proceeds.
Let it here be observed, that it was in virtue of the respondent's transfer of her rights under the policy to them, that the appellants were entitled to demand, and did in fact demand, from the insurance company, the moneys which, by the terms of the policy, had, in the event which happened, become payable to her. It was the transfer which enabled them to obtain payment to themselves of these moneys. It is self-evident that they must have accepted the transfer either in payment or in part payment of the debt, or as security. It is, of course, not suggested that it was given or accepted as a gift. It is, moreover, admitted, and it is indisputable, in fact, that it was not accepted as payment in whole or in part. Indeed, it is plain, on the face of the facts, that the appellants accepted the transfer with the intention of making use of it just as they didnamely, to collect any moneys which might, during the currency of the debt, become payable under the policy to any of the transferors, and to apply these moneys in payment, or part payment, of the debt. This is really not disputed. They accepted, that is to say, the transfer of the andt respondents' rights under the policy, as security for the payment of the husband's debt.
It is argued that the appellants are protected by the reservation, in the article, in favour of creditors dealing in good faith. The onus is, of course, upon the creditor who takes refuge under that reservation, to shew that the circumstances bring his case within it. Knowledge must be imputed to him of the facts appearing plainly on the face of the transaction.
In the present case these included, first, the fact that the debt was the debt of the husband, and second, the fact that the rights which were transferred by the respondent as security for that debt (and of which the appellants now claim the benefit), were her personal rights. In these circumstances, and in the absence of some evidence shewing that they were under some delusion touching the actual facts, they cannot escape from the operation of the articles. It is to be noted, moreover, that Daoust was called as a witness, and that he did not state that he was ignorant of a single fact necessary to bring the transfer within the article. His defence, as put by himself, was a justly unsuccessful attempt to convince the court that he had not accepted the transfer as security.
The appeal should be dismissed with cost.
J.-On the 23rd December, 1907, Mr. Joseph A. Bilodeau took out a policy of life insurance with the New York Life Insurance Co. in the sum of $5,000-the beneficiaries named being, his wife, the respondent, and a daughter of the assured by a previous marriage.
On the 15th December, 1925, Bilodeau was indebted to the appellant company in the sum of $7,500, and on that date he, his wife the respondent, and the daughter Marie- Antoinette Bilodeau, joined in a transfer of the policy, which was then in force, to the appellant, the operative words of which are as follows:- In the year 1926 the assured, Joseph A. Bilodeau, made an authorized assignment in favour of his creditors and the appellant filed with the assignee a claim for the full amount of his account, upon which the liquidator awarded him a dividend of $209.85.
The assured Bilodeau died in August, 1929.
He had failed to pay the annual premiums subsequent to the assignment of the policy and these were paid by the appellant.
The insurance company paid the amount of policy to the appellant in virtue of the transfer referred to, and the respondent then brought this action, claiming to be declared beneficiary under the policy and entitled to the proceeds thereof and asking that the transfer in favour of the appellant, as against her, be declared null and void under the provisions of Article 1301 C.C., which provides as follows: Evidence was adduced at the trial on behalf of the respondent to shew that the real object of the transaction was to guarantee an existing debt of the respondent's husband and, on objection taken to this evidence, the trial judge held that, a matter of public order being at stake, evidence was admissible to shew the true nature of the transaction notwithstanding that the assignment was in form absolute, and this ruling seems not to be seriously challenged.
Coupling the document with the evidence of the surrounding circumstances connected with the making and delivery of the document, and the other evidence, the trial judge held that the transfer was made to secure the debt of the husband owing to the appellant, and this finding is concurred in by four of the five judges of the Court of King's Bench of Quebec.
It seems to me that the only question involved in the present appeal is whether or not this finding should be upheld or reversed.
I am unable to discover any ground upon which it should be reversed. Daoust himself testifies that the assignment was not made in payment of the debt or in payment of any J. part of it. It was not made in consideration of an extension of time for payment of the debt, and it cannot be contended that it was made as a gift to the appellant. What, then, was the object of the transfer? The appellant did not release his debt against the deceased Bilodeau, or any part of it, but retained all his rights to collect the full amount of the debt against the deceased, just as if no assignment of the policy had been made. He filed his claim with the assignee for $7,494.71, without making any mention of the policy or giving any credit on the account, by reason of the transfer to him of the policy and received a dividend on that fuI amount.
If the dividend paid by the liquidator had reduced the indebtedness to less than the amount of the moneys received on the policy, it seems clear that the appellant could not have retained the surplus as his own but would have been obliged to account for it to the assignors of the policy.
It is argued that he would, in such a case, have been obliged to account to the deceased Bilodeau or his estate only, and that because of having joined in the absolute transfer, the respondent would have no right to call for such accounting.
The transfer is made by all three parties to the policy and if it was made as a security for the account by one of these parties, it was to the same effect as to all three. It seems to me impossible to say that this single document, signed by the three parties, took effect as an absolute assignment by one and an assignment as security by the others.
I am of opinion that the trial court and the Court of King's Bench properly found that the transfer was made by all three parties as a security for the debt of the husband Bilodeau and, that being the fact, article 1301 C.C. applies as was held by this court in La Banque Canadienne Nationale v. Carette (1).
There, as here, the transfers of four policies were absolute in terms, on their face, and imposed no personal liability on the wife. The assignee, however, admitted that they were, in fact, given as security for the husband's debt. It was because of the fact established by the admission that it J. was held that article 1301 C.C. applied. The only difference here is that the fact is established by evidence instead of by admission.
In my opinion the appeall should be dismissed with costs. J. (dubitante) .- L'appelante se plaint d'un jugement en date du 7 octobre 1930 de la Cour Sup6rieure du district de Qubbec, confirm6, sauf le dissentiment de 1'Honorable Juge Howard, par un arr~t de la Cour du Banc du Roi du 31 mars 1931, annulant le transport-cession d'une police d'assurance qui lui avait 6t6 consenti par les b6n6ficiaires, I'intim6e et une fille de 1'assur6, conjointement avec ce dernier, feu Aliace Bilodeau, en son vivant marchand, de la cit6 de Qu6bec, client de 1'appelante, compagnie manufacturidre de chaussures. Le jugement annula et mit A n6ant, quant A 'intim6e, le transport consenti par elle en faveur de l'appelante et condamna cette dernidre a payer h l'intim6e la somme de $2,031.96 avec intiret et les dipens.
II serait inutile d'exposer de nouveau la doctrine que cette cour a adopt6e dans plusieurs arrits: Klock v. Chamberlin (1); Laframboise v. Vallibres (2); Rodrigue v. Dostie (3); Banque Canadienne Nationale v. Carette (4); Banque Canadienne Nationale v. Audet (5). Je ne saurais rien ajouter ce qui a t dit, et je me contente, pour 6viter les r6pititions, d'y r6f6rer. Il ressort de ces d6cisions que si le transport de cette police d'assurance a t6 fait par i'intim6e, non pas en cession pure et simple h l'appelant, mais seulement en garantie collat6rale des dettes du mari, cela entrainerait comme cons6quence l'application de Particle 1301, en vertu duquel
Cette cour a d6jh adopt6 1'opinion de i'honorable jugeen-chef Lafontaine, de la province de Qu6bec, dans la cause de Joubert et Turcotte v. Kieffer (1), d6montrant que par C le mot " s'obliger " id faut entendre
D'apris la preuve, sommes-nous en presence d'une renonciation de la part de l'6pouse, d'un abandon et d'une cession de ses droits, suivant le texte du document, ou, au contraire, ce texte est-il simul6 et l'intimbe a-t-elle, en rialit6, engag6 ses biens avec i'idie de retour? Avait-il convenu entre les parties que les biens transport6s devaient revenir A l'intim6e si les dettes du mari 6taient par ailleurs pay6es? Enfin, l'appelante a-t-elle contract6 de bonne foi?
Examinons le dossier pour d6terminer la r~ponse A ces questions dont depend le sort de Faction.
Le 13 d6cembre 1907, Joseph Aliace Bilodeau obtint de la New York Insurance Company une assurance de $5,000 et d6signa comme b6n6ficiaires sa femme separ6e de biens, la pr~sente intimbe, et sa fille, Marie-Antoinette Bilodeau, A -parts 4gales, sous r6serve du droit de rAvocation, ce qui permettait A Vassur6 de designer un nouveau b6n6ficiaire aux lieu et place de l'intimbe, sujet aux restrictions de la loi concernant l'assurance sur la vie des maris et parents, devenus le chapitre 244 des Statuts Refondus de Qu6bec, Une autre condition de cette police, qui ne pouvait 6tre remise pour 6tre pay6e comptant du vivant de l'assur~e (no cash surrender value), exigeait le paiement A l'avance des primes, A peine de d6ch6ance aprbs un dilai de trente jours.
Bilodeau, l'assur6, semble avoir pay6 ses primes r6gulibrement jusqu'au 13 d6cembre 1925 inclusivement. A 'cette dernibre date, l'intimbe avait certains droits 6ventuels pour une p6riode d'une ann6e en vertu de la police, sujet aux conditions suivantes: que Bilodeau ne r6voquit pas, en faveur de sa fille, ce b6n6fice 6ventuel de l'intimbe pour la moiti6 du produit de l'assurance; que l'intim6e surv6cfit A son mari, s'il d6c6dait pendant I'ann6e.
Jusqu'?t 1898, le statut qui permettait, contrairement au principe g6neral pos6 A Particle 1265 du code civil, A un mari d'avantager sa femme durant le mariage au moyen d'une police d'assurance, d6crtait que les polices d'assurances r6gies par la loi ne seraient pas saisissables pour J. dettes dues soit par la personne assurbe, soit par la personne devant bin6ficier de la police, et seraient incessibles par toutes telles personnes.
La 1oi 61 Victoria, c. 40, a permis la cession et a ajout6 & l'article 5604 des Statuts Refondus de 1888 les mots
Cette loi est maintenant Particle 30 du chapitre 244 des Statuts Refondus de 1925.
Le 15 dicembre 1925, I'intin6e signs le document suivant:
lequel fut accept6 par la mise-en-cause et transmis h I'appelante. Comme la demanderesse-intim e l'admet, ce document constitue, h sa face m~me, une renonciation par 'intim6e ses droits comme b6nificiaire.
Mais peut-on dire, comme elle l'alligue et comme les jugements le d6cident, que la preuve verbale faite par l'intim6e et M. Daoust, pr6sident de la compagnie appelante, dimontre que cet abandon ou renonciation fut simul6 et ne fut consenti par elle que pour garantir la dette de son mari? La demanderesse, apris avoir alligu6 que ce document fut signi et consenti sur les instances du g6rant de l'appelante, a seulement prouv4, par son propre t6moignage, que son mari lui aurait dit qu'il voulait sa signature pour garantir ce qu'il devait 'a Daoust, Lalonde et Cie. Elle ajoute que son mari lui disait: " Je rembourserai et je te retournerai la police."
Cette preuve verbale a 6t6 admise, malgr6 l'objection des procureurs de i'appelante, bien qu'elle semblit contredire 1'6crit sign6 par Ia d6fenderesse; et je crois, vu qu'il s'agit de 'application possible d'une loi d'exception, mais d'ordre public, que le juge de premi~re instance a probablement eu raison d'accueillir cette preuve testimoniale. Mais ces con- J. versations entre mari et femme, en l'absence de M. Daoust et en dehors de la connaissance de 1'appelante, ne sauraient Her cette dernibre, qui a simplement regu, sans l'avoir sollicit6e de son d6biteur, la police d'assurance avec le transport pur et simple et Facceptation de l'assureur. M. Daoust, dans son t6moignage, apris avoir relate que ce document lui a 6t6 adress6 spontaniment par son d~biteur, a- bien ajout6 qu'il ne pouvait le considrer comme un paiement en acompte de sa criance, vu qu'il n'a retir6 et ne pouvait recevoir aucun argent du vivant de l'assur6, mais it d6clara aussi qu'il aurait 6t0 dispos6, sans y 6tre obligh par aucune convention A cet effet, A remettre, si sa criance avait 6t0 payee, la police en question. Cette transaction a 6t6 faite par Bilodeau, qui semble avoir 6t6 un homme d'affaires scrupuleusement honn~te, et par M. Daoust avec la meilleure foi du monde; et A premiere vue, I'appelante semblerait avoir droit h la protection que la 16gislature a assur~e aux " crianciers qui contractent de bonne foi ", par le statut 4 Ed. VII, c. 42. Cette l6gislation, sanctionn6e le 2 juin 1904, parait avoir it6 provoqu6e par l'interpritation donn6e A 1'article 1301 par le comit6 judiciaire du Conseil Priv6, le 3 novembre 1903, dans I'affaire Trust & Loan Company of Canada v. Gauthier (1),
I'on semblait d6passer les limites jusqu'alors fixies par la jurisprudence canadienne pour d6cr6ter la nullit6 des obligations de la femme pour ou avec son mari.
En 1926, Bilodeau fit faillite et, contrairement A ce qui s'est pr6sent6 dans la cause de La Banque Canadienne Nationale v. Carette (2) oii il 6tait admis de part et d'autre que la police d'assurance avait 6t6 donn6e en garantie collat6rale, la maison Daoust, Lalonde & Cie produisit une r~clamation pour le plein montant de sa criance, sans mentionner A 1'acquit de Bilodeau, comme paiement ou garantie, la police qu'elle d6tenait.
Le 13 d6cembre 1926, la police devenait caduque, A moins du paiement de la prime dans les trente jours. C'est I'appelant qui, cette ann6e-1 et jusqu'au dicis de Bilodeau, survenu en 1929, paya les renouvellements. L'intim6e pr6tend que ces paiements ont 6t6 faits A son b6nifice et avantage, et non pas pour le b6n6fice et avantage de l'appelante, qui a pay6 pour prot6- J. ger ses droits en vertu du transport. Avons-nous, dans le timoignage de M. Daoust, la preuve que la femme a cautionn6 pour son mari? Elle ne I'a certainement pas fait par 6crit. Ant6rieurement A la signature du transport, Daoust ne 1'a pas rencontr6e; et c'est de son propre mouvement, pour satisfaire sa conscience, que Bilodeau a transmis A l'appelante, qui ne l'avait pas demand6, cette police d'assurance. Mme en admettant comme prouv6 que le cr~ancier 6tait dispos6, sans s'y 6tre oblig6 par une convention formelle, A remettre la police aux b6n6ficiaires aprbs paiement de la dette, pouvons-nous dire que ceci constituait une d6rogation aux termes de 1'article 1301 du code civil, d'sprbs la jurisprudence 6tablie? L'intimbe n'a pas encouru une obligation personnelle vis-A-vis de l'appelante. Mais a-telle engag6 l'avenir pour qu'on puisse dire que cette renonciation a 6t6 faite avec esprit de retour? N'oublions pas qu'il s'agit ici d'une 1oi qui, en 1841, a chang6 le droit commun tel qu'i existait alors. L'application mgme mitig~e du s6natus-consulte Vell6ien auquel on nous r6fire avait 6t6 abandonn6e en France sous Henri IV, en 1606, et le Code Napolbon a fait disparaitre compltement cette incapaciti de la femme, tout en lui donnant le droit de se faire indemniser, s'ii y a lieu, soit par la communaut6, soit par son mari. La 16gislation de 1841 aurait donc fait un pas en arribre; et cet article 1301, que nous avons conserv6 dans notre code, reste unique dans la lgislation moderne, comme l'a d6montr6 M. J. J. Beauchamp, d~s 1896, dans une 6tude trds fouillie, au 2e volume de la Revue Lgale, N.S. p. 320, et sp6cialement aux pages 383 et suivantes. La 16gislature, en 1904, semble l'avoir reconnu et avoir voulu en diminuer la rigueur en adoptant un proviso en faveur des cr6anciers de bonne foi.
Il me fait plaisir de pouvoir citer une haute autorit6, feu sir Louis Jett6, ancien juge-en-chef de la province de Qu6bec, qui disait: Re Hogue & Cousineau & La Socigtg de Construction de Montarville (1):
Or dans la cause de Boudrias v. McLean (2), la Cour d'Appel a jug6 que la femme peut valablement renoncer, en faveur de son mari, non seulement A son douaire, mais encore A l'hypothique lui garantissant ses DAosT, & reprises matrimoniales.
CIE LTE. Ce jugement, de l'aveu de l'Hon. Juge Meredith, qui faisait alors partie du tribunal, a surtout t6 bas6 sur un article remarquable publid dans le 3e volume de la Revue de L6gislation, p. 133 et suivantes, par feu Cannon J. M. Louis Rena Lacoste, et sur les autorit6s qui y sont cities.
La doctrine consacr~e par ce jugement est que la loi du Bas-Canada, telle que modifibe par l'ordonnance d'enregistrement de 1841, difend, il est vrai, A la femme le cautionnement des dettes, des engagements contract6s par son mari; elle lui d6fend de s'obliger pour Tui, de se rendre responsable de ses obligations, autrement que comme commune en biens; mais elle ne lui ddfend rien de plus. Par suite, les actes qui n'exigent, qui ne contiennent, de la part de la femme mariee, aucune responsabiliti, aucune obligation, elle peut les faire.
Ainsi elle peut payer pour son man, car ce n'est pas IA s'obliger pour lui, puisqu'elle ne contracte aucune obligation en ce cas.
De mame une femme maride peut renoncer & son hypothaque Idgale sur les biens de son mari en faveur d'un crdancier de ce dernier; en faisant cette renonciation, elle ne s'oblige point; elle ali-ne.
C'est pourquoi les empereurs Philippe disent dans un rescrit adress6 A une femme au sujet du sinatus-consulte Vellien qui d~fendait aux femmes de s'obliger pour autrui: " Il est constant en jurisprudence que, mgme durant le mariage, les droits d'hypothique et de gage peuvent Stre remis au mari."
6 Pandectes de Pothier, p. 251.
Et nous trouvons la raison de cette distinction entre l'obligation de la femme et sa renonciation A son hypothique dans les Pandectes:
"C'est parce qu'une femme se ditermine plus aishment A s'obliger pour autrui qu'A donner; quia facilius se obligat mulier, quam alicui donat."
Cette doctrine a td consacr6e de nouveau en 1871, par la Cour d'Appel, dans la cause de Lagorgendiare v. Thibodeau, mentionnie au ler vol. de la Revue Critique, p. 478.
Mais aprbs avoir 6tabli la validit6 de cette renonciation, quant aux droits hypothcaires, il nous reste A en d~terminer 1'6tendue et la port~e. C'est un principe admis par tous les auteurs que les renonciations, suivant I'expression de Merlin, doivent Stre resserries dans leurs termes pride et qu'on ne doit jamais les 6tendre d'un cas A 1'autre.
Rkpertoire, vo. Renonciations,
Il est 6galement certain que la renonciation que l'on appelle en droit in favorem n'est pas un abandon ou plut6t un aniantissement complet des droits hypoth6caires de la femme, mais constitue simplement un acte d'abstention par lequel la femme promet de ne pas se privaloir des avantages qu'elle pourrait avoir sur le priteur.
4 Proudhon. Usufruit no 2339.
Cette renonciation, A laquelle quelques auteurs attribuent, quant A celui qui 1'obtient, les effets de la subrogation, ne prive n6anmoins la femme renoneante, de ses droits hypothicaires qu'A I'encontre de celui qui l'a obtenue.
Remarquons que ce jugement, unanimement confirm6 en appel, le 3 fivrier 1880 (1), par sir A.
Dans l'espice, il est prouv6 que 1'appelante, apris avoir accord6 du ddhai et exp6di6 de nouvelles marchandises A Bilodeau et apris avoir pay6 les primes, en aurait demand6 en vain le remboursement h Biilodeau.
Est-ce que cette inutile demande de remboursement doit l'obliger A payer A l'intim6e la moiti6 de ce qu'eie a regu de la mise-en-cause, au dicks de Bilodeau?
Ne pouvons-nous pas dire que i'appelante a regu de bonne foi, non seulement pr6sum6e ici mais prouvie, la cession et le paiement de la police d'assurance dont elle s'est dipartie lors du paiement avec une 6gale bonne foi? Dans cette espbce, qui est peut-6tre la plus favorable de toutes celles qui se sont pr6sent6es devant les tribunaux, l'6quit6 et la bonne conscience ne semblent-elles pas militer en faveur de 1'appelante, qui a regu, non de l'intim6e, mais de la mise-en-cause, le paiement partiel de ce qui lui 6tait dfi, et ce, en vertu du titre que 'assur6 lui avait adressi apontan6ment avec le consentement et la renonciation de sa femme?
La femme n'a pas sign6 un cautionnement, que Particle 1929 du code d6finit mais la preuve d~montre-t-elle une garantie ou un engagement de payer A mgme son patrimoine la dette de son mari? Les droits 6ventuels qu'elle aurait pu exercer en cas de prd6cs de son mari dans 1'annie suivant le renouvellement du 13 d~cembre 1925, seraient certainement devenus caducs par 1'omission de payer la prime. L'assur6 en faillite, en d60embre 1926, ne pouvait la payer et ne l'a pas fait. La police a 6t6 maintenue en vigueur grace aux d6boursis faits par l'appelante.
Peut-on pr6tendre un seul instant que cette dernibre surait pay6 ces primes si 1'intimbe n'avait pas sign6 ce qu'ele appelle sa renonciation A ses droits? Peutelle aujourd'hui avec 6quit6 demander A une cour de justice d'annuler ce document, en disant qu'elle b'a signs par erreur, ou qu'il ne veut pas dire ce que son texte comporte? Peutelle dire que les parties se sont entendues pour simuler leur contrat? Et, aprbs avoir obtenu, sous ce pr6tendu faux pr6texte, le concours de l'appelante pour payer les primes et maintenir la police en vigueur, peut-elle s'approprier aujourd'hui le produit de la police? Ni le s6natus-consulte Vellien, ni 1'article 1301 C.C. n'ont t6 pass6s pour encourager la fraude par la femme mariee.
Lebel v. Bradin (1):
Comme le disait en 1903 l'Honorable Juge Archambault, plus tard juge-en-chef de la province de Qubbec, dans son discours devant le Conseil L6gislatif, en discutant un amendement propos6 ' l'article 1301 et reproduit au long dans cette cause de Lebel v. Bradin (2).
Avec respect, j'aurais 6t0 enclin h dire que l'exception au droit commun et it la loi des assurances de Qu6bec que comporte 1'article 1301 du Code civil ne devrait pas 6tre appliqu6 aux circonstances de l'espkce. Mais la majorit6 de mes colligues, comme le juge de premibre instance et la majorit6 des juges de la Cour du Banc du Roi, ont trouv6 que Daoust, par sa version de I'affaire, a 6tabli, en fait, h leur satisfaction, que la femme ne s'est pas d6pouille de ses droits, mais s'est suffisamment oblig~e pour et avec son mari pour dire qu'elle a engag6 son patrimoine venir de fagon h, n6cessiter 'application de la sanction de Particle 1301. L'interpritation exacte de cet article est trop importante et j'ai trop de respect pour la jurisprudence de cette cour et pour ceux qui 1'ont 6tablie dans les causes cit6es au commencement de ces notes pour enregistrer un dissentiment formel, mais je reste avec un doute s6rieux qu'il y ait lieu, dans I'oecurrence, d'appliquer cette doctrine.
Appeal dismissed with costs. Solicitors for the appellant:
Beaulieu, Gouin, Mercier & Tellier.
Cases cited
- A.C. 612 A.C. 612
- A.C. 94 A.C. 94
Statutes and regulations cited
-
Unresolved citations
- s. 16
- s. 1