Majority — Harlan J.
Syllabus
1. A case should not be withdrawn from the jury, unless the facts are undisputed, ■ or the testimony is of such a conclusive character that a verdict in conflict therewith would be set aside.delivered the opinion of the court.
This is a writ of error from a judgment for the amount of a policy of insurance .upon the life of Jackson Riddle, issued on the twentieth day of September, 1871, by the Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance Company of Hartford, Connecticut.
The policy purports to have been issued in consideration as well of the representations made in the application for insurance, as of the payment by the wife and children of- the insured (the payees named in the policy) of the sum of $215, and the annual payment of a like amount on or before the' twentieth day of September in every year during its continuance. It contains a stipulation that if the premium be not paid at the office of the company in Hartford, or to some agent of the company producing a receipt signed by the president or -secretary, on or before the day of its maturity, then, in every such- case, the ■ company shall not be liable for any part of the sum insured, and the policy shall cease and determine, all previous payments being forfeited to the company. The policy is upon the half-' note plan, and it is part of the contract that the dividends set apart to the insured be applied in the discharge, pro tanto, of
The amounts due in the years 1872, 1873, 1874, and 1875 were paid, but not until the expiration .of several — in' some instances ten or more — days after the time fixed by the policy. They were received, in each instance, so far as the record-discloses, without objection upon the part of the company or its agents.
On.the 6th of October, 1876, the insured lost his life in a railroad collision, leaving unpaid the premium due on the twen- . tieth day of September of that year. His residence and post-office, for more than a year prior to his death, had been. at Oxford, Ind. Of his removal to that place the general agent of the company at Chicago was distinctly informed, as the evidence tended to show, as early .as October, 1875. The letter from that office acknowledging the receipt of the premium due on 20th September, .1875 (but not paid until about Oct. 9, of that year), was - addressed to the insured, at his new residence ' in Oxford, Ind. ’ On the fourth day of October* 1876,— fourteen days after the premium for-, that year was due, — there was sent from the office of the company’s general agent at Chicago, addressed, by mistake, to the - insured at Fowler, Ind., a notice similar to that given in 1875. This
Upon the part of the payees-it is contended that the company waived strict compliance with the provision making the continuance of the policy dependent upon the payment of the annual premium on the day named therein ; and that, in view of the settled course of business between the company and its agents on one side and the insured on the other, it is estopped to rely upon the non-payment of the last premium, at the, day, as working a forfeiture of the policy.
The facts and circumstances established by the testimony are sufficiently indicated in the charge of the court, to certain parts of which, to be presently examined, the company objected. It is enough to- say that the testimony was ample to enable each party to go to the jury upon the substantial issues in the case. The motion, at the close of. the plaintiff’s evidence, for a peremptory instruction for the company was properly denied. It could not have been allowed, without usurpation, upon the part of the court, of the functions of the jury. Where á'cause fairly depends upon the effect or weight of testimony, it is one for the consideration and determination of the jury, under proper directions as to the principles of law. involved. It should never be withdrawn from them, unless the testimony be of such a conclusive character as to compel the court, in the exercise of a sound judicial discretion, to set aside a verdict returned in opposition to it. Greenleaf v. Birth, 9 Pet. 292 ; United States v. Laub, 12 id. 1; Bank of the Metropolis v. Guttschlick, 14 id. 19; Bevans v. United States, 13 Wall. 56 ; Hendrick v. Lindsay, 93 U. S. 143 .
After saying that the policy, with the. application, contained-the agreement of the parties ; that the clause providing for a forfeiture for non-payment of the premium at maturity, and declaring the want of authority in agents either to receive premiums after the time fixed for their payment, or to waive forfeitures, constituted a part of the contract, binding upon both parties unless waived or modified by the company or by its agent thereunto authorized; also, that strict performance of the forfeiture provision- could be waived by the company, either expressly or by implication, — the court proceeded to lay down the rules by-which the jury should be guided in determining whether there was such waiver. It said, in substance, that if the conduct of the company in its dealings with the insured and others similarly situated had been such as to induce a belief on his part that so much of the contract as provides for a forfeiture, if the premium be not paid at the day, would not be enforced if payment were made within a reasonable period thereafter, the company-ought not, in. common justice, to be permitted to allege such forfeiture against one who aeted upon that belief, and subsequently made or tendered the payment; and that if the acts creating such' belief were done by the agent' and were subsequently approved by the company, either expressly, or by receiving and retaining the premiums, with full knowledge of the circumstances, the same consequences should follow.
The court further told the jury, in substance, that if they found from the evidence that the company was in the habit of sending renewal receipts for the premium on this policy to its local agent, at the place of residence of the insured, duly signed by the president and secretary of the company, leaving their use subject entirely to the judgment of that agent, and the latter was accustomed to receive the premiums from the insured, without objection, several days after the same became due, and to issue the.receipt therefor, and the home company or the managing agents or officers had full knowledge of such practice, and received from its agent, and retained, the pre
The objection of the company to these parts of the charge was overruled, and an exception taken. , The objection would have more weight had the charge ended with these remarks, because in such a presentation of the case the court would have placed before the jury only one side of the issues to which it directed attention. But the charge is not liable to such criticism, since the court, in the same connection, instructed the jury that if the company had not authorized its local agent, to whom the renewal receipts were sent, to extend the time for' payment of the premium beyond the day named in the policy, nor had habitually accepted from the insured through its agent the premiums on the policy after the same became due, with full knowledge that the same were so. paid after due and the receipt issued by its agent, then that they could not find that the company had, either expressly or by implication, waived a strict compliance with the- terms of the policy in reference to payment of the premiums, and the policy became forfeited according to its terms.
It seems to the court that the charge was as favorable to the company as it could have demanded. It was, as to its essential parts, in substantial harmony with recent decisions of this court. In Insurance Company v. Norton, 96 U. S. 234 , we said, in reference to a policy, similar to the one here in suit, that the company was not bound to act upon the. declaration that its agents had no power to make agreements or waive forfeitures, but might, at any time, at its option, give them such power; that the declaration was tantamount to a notice to the insured, which the company could waive and disregard at pleasure. “ In either case,” said the court, “ both with regard to the forfeiture and to the powers of its agents, a waiver of the stipulation or notice would not be repugnant to the writtén
The court below then passed to an examination of the remaining ground relied on as excusing the non-payment of .the last premium on the day it fell due; viz., the.failure of the. company to give the insured seasonable notice of the amount of dividends to be applied in reduction of the premium.
After stating that, by the terms of the policy the premiums .Qould be paid either at the home office or to an agent of the company, producing the proper receipt, and that by the terms of the application^ which was the basis of the contract of insurance, the annual dividends due tfie insured could be applied in discharge of premiums, the court instructed the jury that if
To that part of the charge the company excepted. In the same immediate connection the court below, it may be observed, further instructed the jury that if it had not been the, uniform custom of the company to send the insured such notice and statement at or about the time the premium became, due, or if the company of managing agent had not been notified of the change of the post-office address of the insured until about the fourth day of October, or that .the company had in reality sent the notice, by mail or otherwise, at a prior date, properly addressed to the insured, then it was not the fault of the company that the insured was not notified, and the want of such notice would not excuse him from making' payment at the day, and the policy would, consequently, become forfeited.
We are of. opinion that these propositions are substantially correct. Nor do we perceive that the rulings of the court below
The .present case has features which plainly distinguish it from., the Thompson case. In the former, there was a tender of the premium within a few days after the death of the insured, and as soon as the payees ascertained the sum required • to be-paid. -In the latter, the amount to be paid was fixed. It was not liable to be reduced on account of dividends or for any . other reason, and the insured, therefore, knew the exact amount to be paid in order to prevent' a forfeiture of the policy. Now, ■ although-the policy issued upon Riddle’s life required payment annually'of a specific sum as a premium!; that stipulation must
The assignments of error bring to our attention numerous exceptions ta,ken by the company to the admission of evidence, and to the refusal to give instructions asked in its behalf. We deem it unnecessary to consider them in detail. So far as they affect the substantial rights of the parties, they are disposed ‘of by what has been said touching the charge of the court upon the essential questions in the case.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Insurance Co. v. Norton 96 U. S. 234 p. 30, p. 34, p. 35
- Greenleaf v. Birth 9 Pet. 292 p. 32
- Bevans v. United States 13 Wall. 56 p. 32
- Hendrick v. Lindsay 93 U. S. 143 p. 32
- Insurance Co. v. Mowry 96 U. S. 544 p. 35
- Thompson v. Insurance Co. 104 U. S. 252 p. 37