Majority — Sutherland J.
Syllabus
CERTIORARI TO THE CIRCUIT COURT OP APPEALS POR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT.delivered-the opinion of the Court.
This is an action to recover the amount of a life insurance policy issued by the petitioner to Rudolph Hurni. At the conclusion of the evidence the jury found for the plaintiff, respondent here, under the peremptory instruction of the court, and judgment was rendered accordingly. Upon appeal this judgment was affirmed by the Court of Appeals. 280 Fed. 18 .
There were two trials below. Upon appeal following the first, the Court of Appeals reversed á judgment in favor of plaintiff on the ground of material misrepresentation by the insured. 260 Fed. 641 . Pending the second trial plaintiff amended its reply to the answer and alleged for the first time that this defense was barred, under the terms of the policy, by defendant’s failure to contest within two years.
The policy was applied for on September 2, 1915. It was in fact executed on September 7th but antedated as of August 23, 1915, and was delivered to insured about September 13th. The insured died on July 4, 1917.
The application provides that “ the applicant upon request may have the policy antedated for a period not to exceed six months.” Underneath the heading of the application there was written the direction: “ Date policy August 23j 1915; age 47.” The testimonium clause, followed by the signatures of the officials, reads: “In Witness Whereof, the company has caused this policy to be executed this 23rd day of August, 1915.” The policy acknowledges the receipt of the first premium and provides that a like amount shall be paid “ upon each 23rd day of August hereafter until the death of the insured.”
First'. .The rule is settled that in case of ambiguity that construction of the policy will be adopted which is most favorable to the insured. The language employed is that of the company and it is consistent with both reason and ■justice that any fair doubt as to the meaning of its own words should be resolved against it. First National Bank v. Hartford Fire Insurance Co., 95 U. S., 673 , 678-679; Thompson v. Phenix Insurance Co., 136 U. S. 287 , 297; Imperial Fire Insurance Co. v. Coos County, 151 U. S. 452 , 462.
. The word “ date ” is used frequently to designate the actual time when an event takes place, but, as applied to written instruments, its primary signification is the time specified therein. Indeed this is the meaning which its derivation; (datus=given) most naturally suggests. In Bement & Dougherty v. Trenton Locomotive, &c., Co.,
Here the words, referring to the written policy, are “from its date of issue.” While the question, it must be conceded, is not certainly free from reasonable doubt, yet, having in mind the rule first above stated, that in such case the doubt must be resolved in the way most favorable to the insured, we conclude .that the words refer not to the time of actual execution of the policy or the time of its delivery but to the date of issue as specified in the policy itself. Wood v. American Yeoman, 148 Iowa, 400 , 403-404; Anderson v. Mutual Life Insurance Co., 164 Cal. 712 ; Harrington v. Mutual Life Insurance Co., 21 N. D. 447 ; Yesler v. Seattle, 1 Wash. 308 , 322-323. It was competent for the parties to agree that the effective
Second. The argument advanced in support of the second- ground relied upon for reversal, in substance, is that a policy of insurance necessarily imports a risk and where there is no risk there can be no insurance; that when the insured dies what had been a hazard has become a certainty and that the obligation then is no longer of insurance.but of payment; that by the incontestability clause the undertaking is 'that after- two years, provided the risk continues to be insured against for the period, the insurer will make no defense against a claim under the policy; but that -if the-risk does not continue for two years (that' is, -if the insured dies in the meantime) the incontestability clause is not applicable. Only in the event of the death of the insured after two years, it is said, will'the obligation to pay become absolute. The argument is ingenious but fallacious, since it ignores the fundamental purpose of all simple life insurance, which is not to enrich the insured but to secure the.beneficiary, who has, therefore, a real, albeit sometimes only a contingent, -interest in the policy.
In order to give the clause. the meaning which the petitioner ascribes to it, -it would be necessary to supply words which it does not at present contain. The provision plainly is that the policy shall be Incontestable upon the simple condition that two years shall have elapsed from its date of issue; — not that it shall be incontestable after two years if the insured shall live, but incontestable without qualification and in any. event. See Monahan v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., supra; Ramsey v. Old Colony Life Ins. Co., 297 Ill. 592 , 601; Ebner v. Ohio State Life Ins. Co., 69 Ind. App., 32 , 42-48; Hardy v. Phoenix Mutual Life Ins. Co., 180 N. Car. 180, 184-186.
Counsel for petitioner cites two cases which, it is said, sustain his view of the question: Jefferson Standard Life
Certain difficulties, both legal and practical, said to arise from this interpretation, in respect of the enforcement of the rights of., the insurer, are suggested by way of illustration. But these we deem it unnecessary to review. It is enough to say that they do not, in fact, arise in the instant case and they could not arise except as a result of the contract, whose words the Insurance. Company itself selected and by which it is bound.
The judgment of the Court of Appeals is
Affirmed.
Cases cited
- McMaster v. New York Life Insurance 183 U. S. 25 p. 168
- Cable v. United States Life Insurance 191 U. S. 288 p. 170
- Insurance Co. v. Bailey 13 Wall. 616 p. 170
- Aetna Life Insurance v. Moore 231 U. S. 543 p. 171
- Prudential Insurance v. Moore 231 U. S. 560 p. 171
- Thompson v. Phenix Insurance 136 U. S. 287 p. 174
- Imperial Fire Insurance v. Coos County 151 U. S. 452 p. 174