Majority
delivered the opinion of the Court.
These are eleven libels filed in the District Court of the United States for the Eastern District of Louisiana by a Mexican cprporation known as the Compañia de Navegación, against as many different insurance companies, English and American, on eleven separate policies, insuring the.tug “Wash Gray” in favor of the libelant as owner in different sums aggregating $85,000, and covering a voyage of the’ tug while in tow from Tampico, Mexico, to Galveston, Texas.
The tug was designed for inland waters. She was 87% feet long, with 19 feet beam, 9 feet depth of hold, and was of 105 tons. She was insured specially for this sea voyage, to be towed'as agreed with the Insuring Companies by the “ Freeport Sulphur No. 1,” á vessel engaged in regular , trade on the Gulf of Mexico, and measuring 309 feet -in length, 45 feet beam, with 22% feet depth, and of approximately 3,000 tons displacement.
The District Judge found for the owner of the “ Wash Gray ” on all the policies. The Insurance Companies appealed to the Fifth Circuit'Court of Appeals, which without objecting to the facts as found by the District Court reversed the case with directions to dismiss the libels.
Counsel/for the Insurance Companies seek to sustain the judgment of the Circuit Court of Appeals on four grounds.' They say, first, that the Insurance Companies were released from liability because there was not disclosed to them before the voyage a contract of towage, a term of which was material to the risk and was concealed and the policies were thus avoided. The towage contract provided as follows:
All the policies had attached to them by rider and rubber stamp a clause like the following:
“Any agreement, contract or act, past or future, positive or implied, by the Insured whereby any right of recovery of the insured against any vessel, person or corporation is released, decreased, transferred or lost, which would, on acceptance of abandonment, or payment of loss by this company, belong to this Company but for such agreement, contract or act, shall render this policy null and void as to the amount of any such loss or damage, but the Company’s right to retain or recover the full premium shall not be affected.”
We do not think that the towing contract has the effect claimed for it by the companies. It did not release the “ Freeport ” from any loss or damage to the “ Wash Gray ” due to the negligence of the master or crew of the towing vessel; and for a loss thus caused the companies would be subrogated to the claim of the owner of the “Wash Gray.”
The rule laid down by this Court in The Steamer Syracuse, 12 Wall. 167 , 171, covers the point. That was a libel by the owner of a canal boat against the Steamer Syracuse for negligence in towing the canal boat and running her into a vessel at anchor in the harbor of New York. The claim was made that there had been a special agreement between the canal boat and the steamboat by which the canal boat was being towed at her own risk. Upon this point the Court said:
“ It is unnecessary to consider the evidence relating to the .alleged contract of towage, because, if it be true, as the appellant says, that, by special agreement, the canal-
In view of this state of the law, the towiñg contract here shown was not a fact material to the risk, a concealment of which from the underwriters would injure them or avoid the policy.
The second objection is that the tug was negligently towed at too great a speed, proximately causing the loss. There is really very little evidence to sustain the claim that there was any negligence on the part of the towing vessel or her master or her crew. The trial court specifically, found that the towing was well done, that nine miles an hour was not too fast a speed to be maintained, but that on the contrary the maintenance of such speed was necessary in order to prevent the towed vessel from turning over or careening, and there is no finding to the contrary by the Court of Appeals.
The third objection is that the tug was not seaworthy and therefore the risk never attached. The finding by the trial court distinctly negatives any such claim. It said:
“ Libellant’s case, upon this point, does not depend entirely on the fact that, as' a condition precedent to the underwriting, the insurers required and obtained inspections, detailed recommendations of two expert marine surveyors, and a certificate of compliance with all requirements deemed by them necessary to show that the Wash Gray was seaworthy and fit, equipped and apparelled with a view to the particular voyage, in tow of the particular
This issue, however, brings up clearly the difference between the view of the District Court and that of the Court of Appeals in respect to liability in this case. What does “ seaworthy ” mean in the implied or expressed warranty to which the insured is to be held?
Arnould on Marine Insurance, Vol. II, tenth English edition, says:
“ Sec. 710. It is obvious that there can be no fixed and positive standard of seaworthiness, but that it must vary, with the varying exigencies of mercantile enterprise. * The ship/ said Lord Cairns, ‘ should be in a condition to encounter whatever perils of the sea a ship of that kind, and laden in that way, may be fairly expected to encounter ’ on the voyage. Steel v. State Line S. S. Co. (1877) 3 App. Cases, 72, 77. . . .
“Again the class. of vessel may be such as will not admit of being put into that condition of seaworthiness
This view of varying seaworthiness according to the circumstances known to both parties is fully supported in the case of Thebaud v. Great Western Insurance Company, 155 N. Y. 516 . There the plaintiff applied to the defendant insurance company to insure, for a voyage from Philadelphia to Frontera, Mexico, a steamer in course of construction for use on rivers and inland waters. The defendant caused the vessel to be examined by an engineer, and issued the usual marine policy, exacting, however, a double premium. The vessel proceeded part of the way on her voyage, avoiding the sea, but in reaching' Mexico she had to put out to open sea and was lost. It was held that as both parties to the contract knew that the vessel was not a sea-going craft or suitable for the navigation of' the high seas, and as the defendant issued its policy with full knowledge of the nature of the risk, the warranty of seaworthiness, implied in a contract of marine insurance, should not be construed in a way to be repugnant to the general purpose of the parties in executing the contract, nor held to be broken by the
In Klein v. Globe & Rutgers Insurance Company, 2 F. (2d) 137 , decided by the Circuit Court of Appeals of the Third Circuit, the policy covered an upper river steamboat for a voyage down thé Mississippi River to New Orleans, and from there in tow down the river and across the Gulf to Tampico, for which a higher premium than usual was paid. She was bulkheaded and otherwise prepared under the supervision of the agents of the insurance company for her voyage to Tampico. She was inspected and found to be thoroughly all right at the mouth of the Mississippi River, but after she was being towed in the Gulf, an examination disclosed considerable water in the hold and thereafter the vessel sank. It was held that the implied warranty of the insured was that the boat was seaworthy to the extent of being able to withstand all the ordinary perils of navigation of the upper river and that the perils of the sea in the Gulf, against which she was insured, were such perils as would be extraordinary to a vessel of her type. Júdgment was given for the insured.
Again, in the Farmers’ Feed Company v. Insurance Company of North America, 166 Fed. 111 , affirming the District Court for the Southern District of New York, 162 Fed. 379 , the defendant insurance company, knowing-.the age and exact condition of a barge, insured her for operation in waters adjacent to New York at a high premium.The loss occurred by reason of wind and tide near Brooklyn Bridge, and the defense was unseaworthiness. The Second Circuit Court of Appeals said:
“ The Mackey was undoubtedly very old and somewhat decayed, but her condition, her history and all the facts regarding her were fully known to the company at the time the policy was executed, a written record stating
The fourth objection claimed by the respondents is that no recovery could be had because the loss of the “ Wash Gray” was not caused by any peril insured against. These policies all contained a clause like the following:
“ It is the intent of this insurancé company by this policy to fully indemnify the insured against the adventures and perils of the harbors, bays, sounds, seas, rivers and other waters above named.”
It is urged by the Insurance Companies that weather when the wind did not exceed a velocity of twenty-five miles, though with squalls, and with a cross current and swell producing a choppy sea with waves five feet high and breaking over the head of the vessel, did not constitute a peril of the sea.
There was some emphasis too placed by counsel for the companies on the log of the “ Sulphur No. 1 ” in which the state of the weather and of the sea seemed to be minimized. Upon this point the trial court finds it to be unreliable because .the entries in the log do not seem to have been made at the times of the observations they record and moreover the entries were made from the standpoint of a vessel of 3,000 tons, and not one of a vessel of the size of the “ Wash Gray.” The court said:
• But it is contended on behalf of the insurance companies that the phrase “ perils of the sea ” has not a varying but an absolute meaning, and they rely on the language of Mr. Justice Story in the Reeside, 20 Federal Cases, No. 11,657, p. 458 ( 2 Sumn. 567 ), quoted and approved in Garrison v. Memphis Insurance Company, 19 How. 312 . In the former case the question was whether great damage to bales of carpeting by absorbing oil which had leaked from a number of casks, said to have been improperly stowed, was occasioned by the perils of the sea and the extraordinary rolling of. the schooner during the voyage. Justice Story said:
“ The phrase ‘ danger of the seas/ whether understood in its most limited sense, as importing only a loss by the natural accidents peculiar to that element; or whether understood in its more extended sense, as including inevitable accidents upon that element, must still, in either case, be clearly understood to include such losses as are of extraordinary nature, or arise, from some irresistible
But we think the definition of “ dangers of the sea ” by Justice Story was meant by him to be applied in the ordinary case of a sea-going vessel with no special circumstances as to the exceptional character of the vessel known to both parties and recognized by both in a high premium charged and paid. A contract of maritime insurance is usually not different from any other contract except that the words and phrases used may have a technical nautical meaning to be understood by the parties and enforced accordingly. We have seen however from the cases that the term “ seaworthiness ” varies with the circumstances and the exceptional features of the risk known to both parties. The view of the Circuit Court of Appeals that “ perils of the sea ” has an absolute meaning and may not be varied by the knowledge of the parties as to the circumstances and must be maintained stiffly in favor of the insurance companies and against the' insured, is not necessary or reasonable. The variation in the significance of “ seaworthy,” as shown by the above authorities, when caused by exceptional circumstances known to both parties, applies as well to the meaning of perils of the sea as to that of seaworthiness. The two térms in such cases are correlative terms. Klein v. Globe & Rutgers Insurance Co., 2 F. (2d) 137 , 139, 140.
The Circuit Court of Appeals distinguished Klein v. Globe & Rutgers Insurance Company, The Farmers’ Feed Company v. The Insurance Company and Thebaud v. Great Western Insurance Company, and 4 Joyce on Insurance, Section 2159, as follows:
“ Recovery was allowed in each of those cases on the actual contract which was held to be different from the contract evidenced by the insurance policy. It was merely
We find ourselves unable to follow this distinction. In all these cases the recovery was on the contract, and the question was of the construction of the contract. Its construction was affected necessarily by the special circumstances surrounding the contract known to both parties and acted on by them in charging and paying an increased compensation for the risk run. The circumstances in this case are very like those shown in the cases cited. They certainly justify the conclusion to which we have come.
The judgment of the Circuit Court of .Appeals is reversed.
Cases cited
- The Folmina 212 U. S. 354 p. 67
- Richelieu & Ontario Navigation Co. v. Boston Marine Insurance 136 U. S. 408 p. 67, p. 69
- The G. R. Booth 171 U. S. 450 p. 67
- Swan v. Union Insurance 3 Wheat. 168 p. 67, p. 69
- Hazard's Administrator v. New England Marine Insurance 8 Pet. 557 p. 68
- Sun Mutual Insurance v. Ocean Insurance 107 U. S. 485 p. 70
- British Columbia Mills Tug & Barge Co. v. Mylroie 259 U. S. 1 p. 70
- The Steamer Syracuse 12 Wall. 167 p. 73
- Garrison v. Memphis Insurance Co. 19 How. 312 p. 79