Majority — Cardozo J.
delivered the! opinion of the Court.
The case, which is here upon demurrer to a declaration, depends for its solution upon the nature of the breach of contract imputed to the defendant, the petitioner in .this court, and upon the measure of the damages recoverable therefor.
On September 11, 1931, the insured, according to the declaration, lost “the total and irrecoverable use” of one hand and one foot, and became totally and permanently disabled. Upon proof of his condition the company paid him the monthly benefits called for by the policy from October 11, 1931, to July 11, 1933, and during the same period waived the payment of semi-annual premiums.. It refused to make a monthly payment in August, 1933, and refused the same month to waive a semi-annual premium, “asserting to the plaintiff as its ground for such refusal that since it appeared to the defendant that for some time past the plaintiff had not been continuously totally disabled within the meaning of the disability benefit provision of the policy, the defendant would make no further monthly disability payments, and that the premiums due on and after August 7,1933, would be payable in conformity with the terms of the contract.” Later, upon the expiration of a term of grace, “the defendant, on or about September 19, 1933, declared the policy as lapsed upon its records.” Plaintiff has elected to treat the defendant’s acts “as a repudiation and . denunciation of the entire contract,” relieving him on his part from any further obligation.
There -are two counts to his declaration. In the first, after stating the foregoing facts, he claims the cash surrender value that the policy will have in February, 1969, if he'lives until that time, the date being chosen with reference to his expectancy of life under the. American Table of Mortality. This value, $1,408, is less than the amount necessary' to give jurisdiction in accordance with the Judicial Code. Judicial Code, § 24; . 28 U. S. C., § 41. In the second count, after stating the same facts, he claims for damage's the total benefits that .will be payable to him during the same period of expectancy, if he
Upon the showing made in the complaint there was neither a repudiation of the policy nor such a breach of its provisions as to make conditional and future benefits the measure of recovery.
Repudiation there was none as the term is known to the law. ■ Petitioner did not disclaim the intention or the duty to shape its conduct in accordance with the provisions of the contract. Far from repudiating those provisions, it appealed to their authority and endeavored to apply them. If the insured was still disabled, monthly benefits were payable, and there should have been a waiver of the premium. If he had recovered the use of hand or foot and was not otherwise disabled, his right to benefits had ceased, and the payment of the premium was again a contractual condition. There is nothing to show that the insurer was not acting in good faith in giving notice of its contention that the disability was over. Mobley v. New York Life Insurance Co., 295 U. S. 632 , 638. If it made a mistake, there was a breach of a provision of the policy with liability for any 'damages appropriate thereto. We do not pause at the moment to fix the proper measure. Enough in this connection that at
Renunciation or abandonment, if not effected ¡at that stage, became consummate in the plaintiff’s view at the end of the period of grace when the company declared, the policy “lapsed upon its records.” Throughout the plaintiff’s argument the declaration of a lapse is treated as equivalent to a declaration that the contract is a nullity. But the two are widely different under such a policy as this.[1] The policy survived for many purposes as an enforcible obligation, though default in the payment of. premiums had brought about a change of rights and liabilities. • The- insurer was still subject to a duty to give the insured the benefit of the stipulated surrender privileges, cash or new insurance. It was still subject to a duty upon proof within six months that the disability continued .to reinstate the policy as if no default had occurred. None of these duties was renounced. None of them was questioned. Indeed, there is lacking an allegation that notice of the entry on the records was given to the plaintiff, or that what was recorded amounted to more than a private memorandum. In that respect'the case is weaker for the plaintiff than Mobley v. New York Life Insurance Co., supra, decided at the last term. There .also the controversy turned upon the rejection of a claim of disability under a like contract of insurance'. The insurer took the ground that the disability had ended and that premiums would not be waived. Upon default it gave notice to the insured that the policy
1 See the cases collected in Yance on Insurance, 2d ed., pp. 283, 301, 302.
What the damages-would be if there had been complete repudiation we do not now decide. Cf. Kelly v. Security Mutual Life Insurance Co., 186 N. Y. 16 ; 78 N. E. 584 ; O’Neill v. Supreme Council A. L. of H., 70 N. J. L. 410 , 415; 57 Atl. 463 . For breach short of repudiation or an intentional abandonment equivalent thereto, the damages under such a policy as this do not exceed the benefits in default at the commencement of the suit. Full justice will thus be done alike to insured and to insurer. The insured, if he proves that the benefits are due, will have a judgment effective to reinstate his policy. The insurer will be saved from a heavy, perhaps a crushing liability as the consequence of a claim of right not charged to have been made as a disingenuous pretense. Cf. Armstrong v. Ross, 61 W. Va. 38 , 48; 55 S. E. 595 . So the courts have held with an impressive concord of opinion.[2] Federal Life Insurance Co. v. Rascoe, 12 F.
2 Daley v. People’s Building, Loan & Saving Assn., 178 Mass. 13 , 18; 59 N. E. 452 ; Howard v. Benefit Association of Railway Employees, 239 Ky. 465 , 468; 39 S. W. (2d) 657 ; Woods v. Provident Life & Accident Insurance Co., 240 Ky. 398 ; 42 S. W. (2d) 499 ; Indiana Life Endowment Co. v. Reed, 54 Ind. App. 450 , 460, 461; 103 N. E. 77 ; Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Marsh, 186 Ark. 861 , 869; 56 S. W. *679 (2d) 433 ; Massachusetts Protective Assn. v. Jurney, 188 Ark. 821 , 826; 68 S. W. (2d) 455 ; Cobb v. Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co., 4 Cal. (2d) 565 ; Brix v. People’s Mutual Life Insurance Co., 2 Cal. (2d) 446 ; 41 P. (2d) 537 ; Atkinson v. Railroad Employes Mutual Relief Society, 160 Tenn. 158 , 167, 168; 22 S. W. (2d) 631 ; Atlantic Life Insurance Co. v. Serio, 171 Miss. 726 , 730; 157 So. 474 ; Allen v. National Life & Accident Insurance Co., 228 Mo. App. 450 , 452; 67 S.W. (2d) 534 ; Puckett v. National Annuity Assn,, 134 Mo. App. 501 ; 114 S. W. 1039 ; Garbush v. Order of United Commercial Travelers, 178 Minn. 535 , 539; 228 N. W. 148 ; Kimel v. Missouri State Life Insurance. Co., 71 F. (2d) 921 , 923; Menssen v. Travelers' Insurance Co., 5 F. Supp. 114 ; Ginsburg v. Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co., 5 F. Supp. 296 ; Hines v. Fidelity Mutual Life Insurance Co., 6 F. Supp. 692 ; Kithcart v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Co., 1 F. Supp. 719 ; Wyll v. Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co., 3 F. Supp. 483 ; Parks v. Maryland Casualty Co., 59 F. (2d) 737 ; cf. Kelly v. Se curity Mutual Life Insurance Co., 186 N. Y. 16 ; 78 N. E. 584 ; Killian v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Co., 251 N. Y. 44 , 48; 166 N. E. 798 .
We have no thought to suggest an invariable rule whereby the full value of a bargain may never be recovered for any breách of contract falling short of repudiation of intentional abandonment. All depends upon the circumstances. Helgar Corporation v. Warner’s Features, Inc., 222 N. Y. 449 , 452, 453, 454; 119 N. E. 113 .[3] There may be times when justice requires that irrespective of repudiation or abandonment the sufferer from the breach shall be relieved of a duty to treat the contract as subsisting or to hold himself in readiness to perform it in the future. Roehm v. Horst, supra, pp. 17, 18 ; Nichols v. Scranton Steel Co., 137 N. Y. 471 , 487; 33 N.
3 For a collection of the cases, see Williston, Contracts, vol. 2, §§ 864, 866, 867, 870; vol. 3, § 1290; and cf. Restatement, Law of Contracts, vol. 1, § 275.
If that test be applied; the declaration will not. stand. The plaintiff does not need redress in respect of unmatured instalments in order to put himself in a position to shape his conduct for .the future. If he is already in de-. fault for the non-payment of a premium, he will not .be in' any worse predicament by multiplying the defaults thereafter. On the other hand, if his-default is unreal because the premiums had been waived, the insurer will be estopped from insisting upon later premiums until the declaration of a lapse has been canceled or withdrawn. Besides, if the disability is permanent, there will be nothing more to pay. The law will be able to offer appropriate relief “where compensation is wilfully and contumaciously withheld.” Cobb v. Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co., 4 Cal. (2d) 565 ; 51 P. (2d) 84 .
We have refrained in what has been written from developing the distinction between an anticipatory breach and others. The line of division between the two has not always been preserved with consistency or clearness. To-blur it is prejudicial to accuracy of thought-as well as precision of terminology. Strictly an anticipatory breach is one committed before the time has come when there is a present duty of performance. Roehm v. Horst, supra; Pollock on Contracts, 9th ed., p. 293; Williston, Contracts, vol. 3, § 1296 et seq., collecting the decisions. It is the outcome of words or acts evincing an intention to refuse performance in the future. On the other hand, there are times, as we have seen, when the breach of a present duty, though only partial in its extension, may confer upon the injured party the privilege at his election
The judgment of the Court of Appeals should be reversed and that of the District Court affirmed.
Reversed.
Cases cited
- Mobley v. New York Life Insurance 295 U. S. 632 p. 676, p. 677
- Dingley v. Oler 117 U. S. 490 p. 677
- Roehm v. Horst 178 U. S. 1 at 15 p. 677, p. 679, p. 680, p. 681
- Pierce v. Tennessee Coal, Iron & Railroad 173 U. S. 1 at 11 p. 677
- Norrington v. Wright 115 U. S. 188 p. 680