Majority — Blacic J.
delivered the opinion of the Court.
Petitioner, (plaintiff below) brought suit as beneficiary in the District Court against respondent (defendant below) on a health and accident policy issued by respondent in 1926 to petitioner’s husband. Plaintiff alleged that the insured was accidentally killed July 26, 1934, while the policy was in full force and effect insuring against death resulting from accidental causes. At
The Court of Appeals reversed,[1] holding that the policy was term insurance and reserved to defendant the right to reject any quarterly premium on the due date, that defendant had properly exercised its option in rejecting the quarterly premium due July 1, 1934, and that the policy was, therefore, terminated prior to insured’s death. The court further held that no competent evidence had sustained plaintiff’s allegations that the required premiums had been paid. We granted certiorari.[2]
In the view we take of the case, it is unnecessary to consider plaintiff’s contention that the Court of Appeals erred in holding that defendant had the option to cancel the policy upon the due date of any quarterly premium. We find that there was competent and substantial evidence to sustain plaintiff’s allegation that insured had paid premiums sufficient to keep the policy in effect up to and including the date of insured’s death.
The evidence showed that:
The policy sued on was issued December 31, 1926; after advance payment of $74.00 for the first year’s pre
1 95 F. 2d 528 .
2 Post, p. 583; cf. Ruhlin v. New York Life Ins. Co., 304 U. S. 202 , 206.
Since the policy recites that “this policy is issued in consideration of . . . the payment in advance of $74.00 the first year . . .,” delivery of the policy prima facie
Although defendant did not object to plaintiff’s testimony of payment, and evoked explanation of it on cross-examination, the Court of Appeals, without any reference to governing State law,[4] concluded that the evidence was incompetent. That court believed this evidence represented an effort to alter the terms of the written policy contract by an oral agreement violating the provisions that “This policy . . . contains the entire contract of insurance,” and “No agent has authority to change this policy or to waive any of its provisions.” But this evidence of payment of premiums as required by the policy, did not affect the terms of the written contract. It was offered to prove the discharge of the insured’s obligation under the contract. The evidence was material to establish the fact of payment. No statutes of Arkansas or decisions of the highest court of that State[5] have been
3 Washington Fidelity Nat. Ins. Co. v. Anderson, 187 Ark. 974 , 976; 63 S. W. 2d 535 ; National Equity Life Ins. Co. v. Parker, 190 Ark. 642 , 644; 80 S. W. 2d 630 ; cf. Splawn v. Martin, 17 Ark. 146 , 153.
4 See 28 U. S. C., § 724. Cf. D’Wolf v. Rabaud, 1 Pet. 476 , 502; Wilcox v. Hunt, 13 Pet. 378 , 379; Nashua Savings Bank v. Anglo-American Co., 189 U. S. 221 , 228; cf. Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U. S. 64 .
5 Cf. Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins, supra.
Second. The Conformity Act requires that “The practice, pleadings, and forms and modes of proceeding in civil causes ... in the district courts, shall conform, as near as may be, to the practice, pleadings, and forms and modes of proceeding existing at the time in like causes in the courts of record of the State within which such district courts are held, any rule of court to the contrary notwithstanding.”[7]
Our attention has not been directed to any more authoritative Arkansas ruling governing the procedural effect of a request for a peremptory instruction without more, than the decision of the Supreme Court of Arkansas in A. B. Smith Lumber Co. v. Portis Bros., 140 Ark. 356 ; 215 S. W. 590 . There the Court said (at 358, 359, 360): “The cause . . . proceeded to a hearing upon the pleadings and evidence. When the evidence was concluded, appellant requested a peremptory instruction, and no other. The court refused the instruction over the objection of appellant, and, on its own motion, instructed the jury to return a verdict in favor of appellees . . . over the objection and exception of appellant. . . . and the court, on its own motion, gave a peremptory instruction for appellee. The request for a peremptory
6 Cf. Splawn v. Martin, supra; Vaugine v. Taylor, 18 Ark. 65 , 79; Borden v. Peay, 20 Ark. 293 , 306; Hill v. First National Bank, 129 Ark. 265 , 269; 195 S. W. 678 ; Lay v. Gaines, 130 Ark. 167 , 170; 196 S. W. 919 .
7 28 U. S. C., § 724.
This rule of procedure closely approaches that frequently approved by this Court on the same subject, to the effect that “ ‘where both parties request a peremptory instruction and do nothing more they thereby assume the facts to be undisputed and, in effect, submit to the trial judge the determination of the inferences proper to be drawn therefrom’. And upon review, a finding of fact by the trial court under such circumstances must stand if the record discloses substantial evidence to support it.”[8]
Here, there was ample evidence upon which to justify the verdict. Defendant obviously proceeded — after the evidence was closed — upon the belief that the facts and .all the inferences to be drawn therefrom raised only a question of law for the' court — -not one of fact for the jury; and plaintiff acquiesced. Neither defendant nor plaintiff did anything to indicate a desire or belief that the jury should pass upon any facts. Thus, the District Court sitting in Arkansas, having jurisdiction only by reason of diversity of citizenship and trying a suit involving an Arkansas contract, followed the procedural rule announced by the highest court of that State.
8 Williams v. Vreeland, 250 U. S. 295 , 298; Aetna Ins. Co. v. Kennedy, 301 U. S. 389 , 393.
Concurrence — Butler J.
Reversed.
Mr. Justice Roberts did not participate in the consideration or decision of this case.
Mr. Justice McReynolds and I are unable to accept the opinion or to agree with the judgment of the court just announced.
We are of opinion that the judgment of the Circuit Court of Appeals should be reversed, and that, for the reasons given in the separate opinion of Circuit Judge Stone, 95 F. 2d 528 , 534, the case should be remanded to the District Court for proceedings in accordance with that opinion.
9 Cf. Davis v. Wechsler, 263 U. S. 22 .
Cases cited
- 95 F. 2d 528 95 F. 2d 528 p. 492