Majority — Roberts J.
delivered the opinion of the Court.
This case turns upon the proper construction' of the limitation provision of § 19 of the World War Veterans Act of 1924, as amended.[1]
The respondent brought an action in the District Court for Northern Illinois in his own right and as administrator of Robert C. Towery, deceased, upon claims on two war risk insurance term policies issued to the decedent while in the military service of the United States. The claim of respondent as administrator was for total permanent disability benefits alleged to have accrued to the insured in his lifetime, and the claim as beneficiary designated in the policies was based upon the death of the insured. The complaint alleged that the premiums were deducted from the insured’s pay during his military service, from which he was discharged June 18, 1919; that he became totally and permanently disabled, while the policies were in force, on June 18, 1919; that he died April 22, 1927; that, on May 2, 1927, respondent was appointed administrator; that, on February 11, 1932, respondent made claim for disability and death benefits
Section 19 provides that, in the event óf a disagreement between the veteran and the Bureau as to a claim under a policy, the claimant may bring an action in the District Court to obtain a decision of the controversy. The statute then proceeds:
“No suit on yearly renewable term insurance shall be allowed under this section unless the same shall have been brought within six years after the right accrued for which the claim is made or within one year after the date of approval of this amendatory Act, whichever is the later da]te, . . . Provided, That for the. purposes of this section it shall be deemed that the right accrued on the happening of the contingency on which the claim is founded: Provided further, That this limitation is suspended for the period elapsing between the filing in the burean of the claim sued upon and the denial of said claim by the director. . . .”
The Circuit Court of Appeals held that the “contingency,” on the happening of which “the right accrued for which the claim is made,” is not defined by the statute and must be ascertained from the policy provisions. In the light of these provisions the court held that, in the case of a claim for benefits payable to the insured, the contingency is the accrual of an installment and, in the case of a claim by a beneficiary,. the contingency is the death of the insured.
2 97 F. 2d 906 .
3 See United States v. Tarrer, 77 F. 2d 423 .
4 Act of Oct. 6, 1917, c. 105, § 402, 40 Stat. 398 , 409. Bulletin No. 3 Treasury Department, October 16, 1917. Regulations and Procedure U. S. Veterans Bureau 1930, Part II, pp. 1241, 1258, 1259.
5 World War Veterans Act, 1924, as amended, U. S. C. Tit. 38, § 514; McCullough v. Smith, 293 U. S. 228 .
Section 19 plainly intends to put a time limitation upon the institution of suit, whereas, the decision of the court below would provide no such limitation úpon suits by veterans for total permanent disability benefits, but simply a limitation on the number of installments recoverable; and,’in application to disability cases, would
We think the legislation and the- policy do not confer two rights. The beneficiary’s interest in the policy is derivative from that , of the veteran. It may be taken away by legislation, even after the death of the insured.[5] There are different events upon the happening of which the payment of benefits to the veteran or to his beneficiaries or to his estate depend. We think it highly unlikely that Congress intended to accord each of the claimants pf possible benefits: under the policy six years from the time any installment or lump sum payment fell due within which to bring suit.
Millions of veterans allowed their yearly convertible term insurance to lapse when they left the Service.[6] Congress provided that if, at the time of the lapse, the veteran was totally and permanently disabled he might ■recover notwithstanding he had not made immediate and timely claim. Section 19 of the Act of 1930 was an amendment of an earlier act. The statute. *was undoubtedly intended as one of . .repose. The purpose of its adoption, as shown by the Committee Reports,[7] was to substitute a uniform rule of limitation for suits on contracts of insurance in lieu of the state statutes, which, pursfiant to the Conformity Act, had theretofore been applied. These varied as respects the period prescribed from three to twenty years. As the reports show, the additional year from the date of the passage of the Act was granted to prevent the hardship of cutting off claims which would have been barred by the six year limitation
6 White v. United States, 270 U. S. 175 .
7 Lynch v. United States, 292 U. S. 571 , 576.
8 House Committee Report No. 1274, 70th Congress, First Session, p. 1. Senate Committee Report No. 1297, 70th Congress, First Session, p. 1.
The construction adopted by the court below would permit the bringing of suits even twenty years after the disability occurred. It is obvious that each year ascertainment of the essential facts which conditioned liability would become more difficult.' We think then that, reasonably construed, the section provides that there shall be but one right, — that is, the right to benefit payments, and but one critical contingency which conditions that right, namely, the occurrence of permanent total disability or death while the policy remains in force.
All the other contingencies referred to by the court below, which condition actual payment of the benefits to one person or another, are of minor importance. They are not matters with respect to which disagreement with the Veterans Administration is likely:
Two objections are raised by the respondent to this construction of the section. First, it is said that if suit is brought on a policy and judgment recovered that judgment is only for the installments which have theretofore fallen due and that if the Government should fail to pay subsequently accruing installments these might, under our ruling, be barred by the six year limitation. We have said:[8] “Undoubtedly, when one’s right to recover is established by judgment, the Veterans’ Bureau will pay him installments maturing in his favor after the commencement of the action.” This has been the consistent ad-, ministrative practice. Indeed the Bureau has treated a judgment for installments due the veteran as requiring,
, The judgment is
Reversed.
10 Letter of Solicitor of Veterans Administration, February 8, 1938.
11 Veterans’ Administration Regulations R. 3141-3143.