Majority — Story J.
Syllabus
There is no principle of. law or of equity by which a mortgagee has a right to claim the benefit of a policy, underwritten for the mortgagor on the mortgaged property, in case of loss by fire. It is not attached, or an incident to his mortgage. It is strictly a personal contract for the benefit of the. mortgagor, to which the mortgagee has no more title than any other creditor.delivered the opinion .of the Court.
This.is a writ of error to the circuit court of the District of Coiumbia, for the county of Alexandria.
The original action was assumpsit, brought by the defendant in error against the insurance company, upon a policy of insurance, against fire underwritten by the company, on the 9th of April 1823, whereby the company insured for the defendant in error, and his partner, Poindexter (since deceased), 7000 dollars on their stone mill, called the Elba mill, four stories high, situated on an island about a mile from Frederickburg, in Virginia. The declaration averred a total loss by fire, on the 14th of February 1824.
There was a former suit brought on the same policy, against, the
In the court below, various pleas were' interposed by the company, upon some of which there were issues to the country; and others, which were special, eventuated .in demurrers. Upon the former, a verdict was at the trial found for the plaintiff; and upon the latter, (as well as upon the verdict) judgment was ultimately pronounced in favour of the plaintiff. Bills ofiexceptions were also taken at the trial upon various points of law raised in argument; and the correctness of the ruling of these points, raised both upon the special pleadings and upon the trial of the issues of fact, are upon the present writ of error brought before us for revision. All the leading facts of the case, except the new certificate of Hooe beforementioned, and the testimony of Joseph Howard (which will hereafter be a subject of comment, upon the inquiry as to his competency), are'precisely the same as were before us upon the writ of error in 1829. And as the testimony of Howard, if admissible, does not in our opinion at all vary the operation and pressure of the point of law in the case; we deem it unnecessary to do more than .to refer to the case, as reported in Peters’s Reports, for all the material facts. It may be proper, how-. ever, to state, that it was then decided that there was no waiver by the company of their right, to the preliminary proofs, required by the ninth article of their rules ; and that the assured had an insurable interest.
In examining the case presented by the present writ of error, we shall endeavour to strio ñ of the artificial and complicated form in
The first question naturally presented is,'whether Joseph Howard was a competent witness in the suit. The .original defendants (the insurance company) objected to his competency; and the objection was overruled, and his testimony was admitted by the court. The facts relied on to establish his incompetency were these.' Howard and Lawrence (the plaintiffs) had, in September 1813, purchased the premises of W. and G. Winchester; and in the conveyance it was declared, that it was subject to the payment of the annual rent of 80 pounds, and also to the payment of 6695, dollars, the balance of the purchase money due to the grantors, agreeably to certain notes given therefor by Howard and Lawrence; and tha£ the same sum of 6695 dollars, and the accruing interest, should be a lien on the premises, in the same manner as if a mortgage had been executed therefor. Howard and Lawrence, in May 1814, executed a deed of trust to W. J. Roberts, on the premises, to secure certain indorsers upon their notes at the Bank of Virginia;- and the Farmers Bank at Frederickburg. In July 1818, Howard made an agreement with Lawrence to convey the premises to him, at the price of 30,000 dollars; to which amount Lawrence was to procure a release of debts due from Howard-and Lawrence, and then Howard Was to make a conveyance of his moiety of the premises to Lawrence, subject to the liens given to' the banks (hereinafter mentioned), and to Winchester; ¿nd also the ground rent, &c. Lawrence, in November 1822,- entered into a contract with Poindexter, by which the latter became interested in a moiety of the premises,'and became liable to the payment of a moiety of the debts due by Howard and Lawrence to the Bank of Virginia, and the Farmers Bank, at the Frederickburg branches, for which Howard and Lawrence had executed the deed of trust to Roberts; and also'for the debt due to Winchester, for which there was a mortgage or lien on the premises.
Lawrence and Poindexter, in February 1824, assigned the present policy on the premises to Roberts, by an instrument which states no purpose, but merely says;' “ that for value received, they do assign the policy to Roberts;” to whom the said property has been conveyed, intrust, for certain purposes. It may be inferred that the object
It is admitted, that all these bank debts of Howard and Lawrence have been discharged, and all the liability to all their indorsers, except John Mundell deceased ; who, as executor, has, by a release under seal, released Howard from all liability,.by reason of the indorsements of his testator. It is suggested that this release is inoperative in point of law-; because it is not competent for an executor to' release such a liability to his testator. We are of a different opinion, if the transaction was bona fide and for a sufficient consideration; and' there is no evidence to disprove either.. So that the deed of trust has become completely functus officio: and Howard, as to the bank debts, has no interest whatsoever, to be affected by the assignment of the policy.
The debt to the Winchesters of 6695 dollars, yet remains due and unpaid; and as to this, it is insisted that there is a remaining interest in Howard, who is personally liable to the payment of it; and the proceeds of the policy, if recovered, will go, pro tanto, in discharge of that debt. Assuming that Howard is personally liable for that debt; still, unless the creditors have riot merely a lien on the premises, but a lien on the policy for it, Howard has no interest which renders him incompetent in this suit. Now, we know of no principle of law or of equity by which a mortgagee has a right to claim the benefit of a policy underwritten for the mortgagor on the mortgaged property, in case of a loss by fire. It is not attached, or an incident to his mortgage. It is strictly a personal contract for the benefit of the mortgagor; to which the mortgagee has no more title than any other creditor. Lord Chancellor King, in Lynch v. Dalzell, 3 Bro. Parl. Cases 497; S. C., 2 Marshall on Insurance, b. 4, ch. 4, p. 803; took notice of. this distinction, saying : “ these policies are not insurances of the specific things (goods) mentioned to be insured; nor do such insurances attach to the realty, or iu any manner go with the same, as incident, by any conveyance or assignment: but they are only special agreements with the persons insured against such loss or damage as they may sustain.” . So that in this view we are of opinion, that Howard was a competent witness and properly admitted by the court below. We have already said, that we do not perceive that the testimony given by Howard, changes in any material, respect the legal posture of the case. The first exception of the insurance company was, therefore, properly overruled.
9. “ All persons assured by this company, sustaining any loss or damage by fire, are forthwith to give notice to the company ; and, as soon as possible thereafter, deliver' in as particular an account of their loss or damage, signed with their own hands, as the nature of the case will admit of, and make proof of the same by their oath or affirmation, and by their books of accounts, or proper vouchers, as shall be reasonably required : and shall procure a certificate under the hand' of á magistrate or a sworn notary of the town or county in which the fire happened, not concerned in such loss, directly or indirectly, importing that they are acquainted with the .character and circumstances of the person or persons insured ; and do know, or verily believe, that he, she, or they, really and by misfortune, without any kind of fraud or evil practice, have sustained by such fire loss or damage to the amount therein mentioned : and, until such affidavit and certificate are produced, the loss claimed shall not be payable : also, if there appears any fraud, the claimant shall forfeit his claim to restitution or payment by virtue of his policy.”
It is contended on the part of the company: first, that the certificate from a magistrate, here provided for, is to be procured “ as soon as possible and that these words in the preceding clause are to be drawn downand construed to belong to the latter clause, so as to read : “ and shall, as soon as possible, procure a certificate, &c.” And, secondly, if this construction be riot adopted, still that the certificate must be procured within a reasonable time; and that the procurement of it after five years from the time of the loss, is. not a reasonable time.
We are of opinion, that the words “ as soon as possible,” cannot be drawn down to fix the construction of the clause respecting the certificate. We think the true intent and meaning of it is, that the certificate must be procured within a reasonable time after the loss. It would be a most inconvenient course to adopt a different construction, not required by the terms of the clause or the context; as it w.ould make the material inquiry, not the production of the certificate, but the possible diligence in proving it. The assured is not entitled to receive or to sue for the loss until the certificate is obtained ; for it is a condition precedent to his right of action. The language is: “ and until such affidavit and certificate are produced,
The next 'nquiry is, whether the new certificate was procured within a reasonable-time. In the ordinary course of things upon a .trial before the jury, this would be a mixed question of fact and law : of law, where all the facts and circumstances were admitted or established; of fact, where these circumstances were open for the ascertainment of the jury. In the present case, the question is directly made upon a full display of all the facts and circumstances in the special pleadings. We are of opinion, that under'all these facts and circumstances, the non-production of the proper certificate at an earlier period is fully accounted for; and that the proper certificate was procured within a reasonable time. The first certificate was procured shortly after the loss, and presented to the company; which then made no objection to it. The objection to it was first taken at the trial in the circuit court in the former suit. The court were then of opinion, that the previous conduct of the company amounted to evidence, proper to be left to the jury, of a waiver of any objection to the certificate. This court reversed the judgment on that point; and almost contemporaneously with the annunciation of that decision, the new certificate was obtained. The non-production then of the proper certificate was occasioned, not by any laches properly imputable to thé party, but by the omission of the company to give notice of the defect; and of. the mistaken confidence placed by the party in the company itself.
If the company had contemplated the objection, it would have been but ordinary fair dealing, to have apprised the plaintiff of it; for it is now obvious that the defect might have been immediately supplied. As it was, the company, unintentionally, it may be, by their silence, misled him. The delay to procure the correct certificate, was not unreasonable. This view of the matter disposes of the fourth plea.
The next question which arises is, whether there has been iri the proposal for the insurance, a misrepresentation of the interests of the assured in the property insured; and if there has been, whether if that misrepresentation is material to the risk, and would have enhanced the premium ; it avoided tire policy. The proposal for insusurance describes the property and interest thus. “What premium will you ask to insure the following property, belonging to Lawrence and Poindexter, for one year, against loss or damage by fire, .on their stone mill, four stories high, covered with wood, situate, &c.” It was decided by the court, in the former case, in 2 Peters’s Rep. 47, &c., that the real interest existing in Lawrence and Poindexter, at the time of the proposal, was not such as is described therein. It was further decided by the court, in the same case, that a misrepresentation of the interest of the assured, which is material to the risk, would avoid the policy. The language of the court on that occasion was: “ the contract for insurance is one in which the underwriters generally act, on the representation of the assured; and that representation ought, consequently, to be fair, and to omit nothing which it is material for the underwriters to know. It may not be necessary that the person requiring insurance should state every incumbrance on his property, which it might be required of him to state if it was offered for sale. But fair dealing requires that he should state every thing which might influence, and probably would influence the mind of the underwriter in fanning or declining the contract, &c. Generally speaking, insurances against fire are made in the confidence that the assured will use all the precautions to avoid the calamity, insured against, which would be suggested by his inte
We think this reasoning entirely satisfactory, and founded in the true exposition of the contract of insurance. Whenever the nature of this interest would have, or might have a real influence upon the underwriter, either not to underwrite at all, or not to underwrite except at a higher premium, it must be deemed material to the risk; and if sOj the misrepr.esentat.ion or concealment of it will avoid the .policy. One of the tests, and certainly a decisive test, whether a misrepresentation or concealment is material to the risk, is to ascertain whether, if the true state of the property .or title had .been known, it would have enhanced the premium; If iL would, then the misrepresentation or concealment is fatal to the policy. Now,, at the trial of the present case, the counsel for the insurance com¡iany, in their second bill of exceptions, prayed the court to instruct the jury, that if they “ find from the evideuce that a full disclosure of the actual title of the insured in the premises, as it existed.at the time, was material to, and would have considerably.increased, the estimate and value of the risk and premium; and that no other disclosure of the same was- made than as aforesaid [i. e. in the offer of insurance}, then there was a material concealment, which avoids the policy.” The court, being divided in opinion, did not give this instruction to the jury; and it was consequently refused. In our opinion, upon the principles already slated, it ought to have been given;.and the refusal was an error for which the judgment must be reversed. But the court rightly rejected the instructions upon the same subject asked in. the first bill of exceptions; which proceeded upon the ground that if there was any misrepresentation of the interest of the assured, that alone, whether material or not to the risk, would avoid the policy. The instruction asked upon the same subject, in the second bill of exceptions, is still more objectionable.: as it called upon the court to declare to the jury, as matter of law, that the non-disclosure of the true nature and extent of the title aud interest of the assured in the premises, Was a concealment of circumstances materially affecting the risk, which avoided the policy:
The next question is, whether a loss by fire, occasioned -by the fault and negligence of the assured, their servants and agents, but without fraud or design on their part; is a loss for which the underwriters are liable. In regard to marine insurances, this was formerly a question much vexed in the English and American cqurts. But in England the point was completely settled in Busk v. The Royal Exchange Insurance Company, 2 Barn. & Ald. Rep. 82, upon the general ground that causa próxima, non remota, spectatur; and, therefore,'that a loss whose proximate cause is one of the enumerated risks in the policy, is chargeable to the underwriters; although the remote cause may be traced to the negligence of the master and mariners. Although in the policy, in that case, the risk of the barratry was also assumed by the underwriters; yet it. is manifest, that the opinion of the court proceeded upon the broad and general ground. The same doctrine was afterwards affirmed in Walker v. Maitland, 5 B. & Ald. 171, and Bishop v. Pentland, 7 Barn. & Cres. 219; and is now deemed inconlrovertibly established. The same doctrine was fully discussed and adopted by this court in the case of The Patapsco Insurance Company v. Coulter, 3 Peters’s Rep. 222.
In relation to insurances against fire on land, the doctrine seems to have prevailed, for a great length of time, that they cover losses occasioned by the mere faults and negligence of the assured and his servants, 'unaffected by'any fraud d"i‘ design. "In the arguments of counsel on marine policies, it has constantly been taken for granted, both in England and America:[1] and although there is no case directly on the point decided by the highest authority; yet Lord Chief Justice Gibbs, at nisi prius, held, that if a servant by negligence sets a house on fire, the loss is recoverable on a policy against fire. Indeed, if such losses where not within such policies, the indemnit;against such risks would be- practically of little importance; since much the larger number of fires of this sort may be traced back to some negligence, slight or otherwise, of the members of families. The language of fire policies, too, abundantly justifies this conclusion upon the common principles of interpietation. The underwriters agree to pay “all loss or damage,” which the assured may sustain by fire
(a) (a) See Busk v. Royal Exchange Insurance Company, 2 Barn, and Ald. Rep. 82; and Grim v. The Phœnix Insurance Company, 13 Johns. Rep. 451 .
The next question which arises, is upon the supposed misdescription of the premises in the proposal for insurance, and the effect of that misdescription. It was decided by this court, in the former case ; in 2 Peters’s Rep. 26, 53, 56, that the misdescription of the premises (not fraudulently made), to be such as would vitiate the policy, must, upon the true construction of the fundamental rules of the company, not only be material to. and increasing ihe risk, but such as would occasion the insurance to be made at a lower premium than would otherwise be demanded. If, therefore, the misdescription were material -to the risk, and would increase it, but yet would not reduce the premium; it would not avoid the policy. And that the points as to the misdescription, as well as the effect thereof upon the premium, •were matters of fact for the consideration of the jury. We are entirely satisfied that this is the true construction-of the terms and intent of the fundamental rules. Upon this ground, we are of opinion, that the fifth plea is bad in substance; for it puts the case wholly upon (he materiality of the misdescription .to the risk, without any ■reference to the premium- The last instruction asked by the counsel -of the company, in the bill of exceptions; propounds the point in a
The judgment of the circuit court must be reversed for the error already stated; and the cause remanded, with directions to the court to award a venire facias de novo.
This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of the record from the circuit court of the United States for the District of Columbia, holden in and for the county of Alexandria, and was argued by counsel; on consideration whereof, it is the opinion of this court, that