Majority — STRONG J.
Syllabus
1. When two causes of loss concur, one at the risk of the assured and the other insured against, or one insured against by A. and the other by B., if the damage caused by each peril can be discriminated, it must be borne proportionably.delivered the opinion of the court.
Mr. Phillips, in his Treatise on the Law of Insurance, lays down'two rules respecting the concurrence of different causes of loss, which the plaintiffs, in error contend should be applied to this case, and. which, if applied, they insist must lead to a reversal of the judgment in the court below.[4] The first of these is :
“ In case of the concurrence of two causes of loss, one at the risk of the assured, and the other insured against, or one insured against by A., and the other by B., if the damage by the perils respectively can be discriminated, eac-h party must beat his proportion.”
“ Where different parties, whether the assured and the underwriter, or different underwriters, are responsible for different causes of loss, and the damage by each cannot be distinguished, the party responsible for the predominating efficient cause,' or that by which the operation of the other is directly occasioned, as being merely incidental to it, is liable to bear the loss.”
These propositions may be accepted as correct statements of the law, and the question before us is, whether the Circuit Court, in giving judgment for the assured, failed to apply them rightly to'.the facts of the case.
The insurance in this case was against all such loss or damage, not exceeding the sum insured, as should happen to the property by fire, other than fire happening by means of any invasion, insurrection, riot, or civil commotion, or of any military or- usurped power. Thus loss from fire happening in consequence of every other cause than those excepted was covered’ by the policy. The insurers took the risk of fires caused by lightning, explosions, and collisions. Such was'the contract.
It is urged on behalf of the plaintiffs in error the findings in the casé establish that the sinking of the steamer, wherein consisted principally the loss, or that part of it in excess of $15,000 chargeable to the collision, was the result of two concurrent causes, one the fire, and the other the water in the steamer’s hold, let in by the breach made' by the collision. Ás the influx of the water was the direct and necessary eonsequeuce of the collision, it is argued that the collision was the predominating, and, therefore, the proximate cause of the loss. The argument overlooks the fact, distinctly found, that the damage resulting from the sinking of the vessel was the natural and necessary result of the fire only. If it be said that this.was but an inference from \facts previously found, it was not for that reason necessarily a mere legal conclusion. But we need not rely, upon this. Apart from that findiug, the other findings, unquestionably of facts, show that neither the collision, nor the presence of water in
There is, undoubtedly, difficulty, in many cases, attending the application of the maxim, “próxima causa, non remota spectator ” but none when the causes succeed each other in order of time. In such cases the rule is plain. When one of several successive causes is sufficient to produce the effect (for example, to cause a loss), the law will never regal’d an antecedent cause of that cause, or the “ causa causans.”[4] In such a case there is no doubt which cause is the proximate one within the meaning of the maxim. But, when there is no order of succession in. time, when there are two concurrent causes of a loss, the predominating efficient one must be regarded as the proximate, when the damage done by each cannot be distinguished. Such is, in effect, Mr. Phillips’s rule! And certainly that cause which set the other in motion and gave to it its efficiency for harm at the time of the disaster must rank as predominant. In the present case, however, the rule hardly seems applicable, because the damage resulting from the fire and that caused by the filling of the steamer are clearly distinguished.
It is true, as argued, that as the insurance in this case was only against fire, the assured must be regarded as having taken the risk of collision, and it is also true that the collision caused the fire, but it is well settled that when an efficient cause nearest the loss is a peril expressly insured against, the insurer is not to be relieved from responsibility by his showing that the property was brought within that peril by a cause not mentioned in the contract.[3] The case quoted—
† † St. John v. The American Mutual Insurance Company, 1 Kernan, 519.
It has-been argued that because the policy was against fire only’, the assured are to be considered their own insurers against perils of the sea, including collisions, and as insurers against marine risks are liable for collisions, with all their consequences, including fires, the assured in this case must be held to have undertaken that risk. This would be so if they had taken out no policy against fire. But that works a material difference. Suppose these underwriters had insured the steamer against collisions and fire, and had theii reinsured in another company against fire alone, as they
"We have already sufficiently said that the amount of the loss caused by the collision, apart from the fire, was distinctly ascertained, and the insurers were not charged with it. So was the amount of loss caused by the fire itself ascertained. If therefore it was a case of the concurrence of two causes of loss, one at the risk of the assured, and the other of the insurers, the damage resulting from each has been discriminated, and the insurers have been held liable only for that caused by the peril against which they contracted.'[4]
Judgment has therefore been given in conformity with the rules as above stated, in Phillips on Insurance. It is
Affirmed.
* Vide Heebner v. Eagle Insurance Company, 10 Gray, 143 .
Footnotes
- * Phillips on Insurance, vol. i, 1136, 1137.
- * General Mutual Insurance Company v. Sherwood, 14 Howard, 366 .