Majority — Strong J.
Syllabus
Assumpsit against an insurance company upon a life policy. Plea, non assumpsit, «•¡ill an agreement that either party might introduce any matter in evidence which would be legally admissible if it had been specially pleaded. Leave was subsequently granted the defendant to file a plea of puis darrein continuance. There was also an agreement which provided for the admission of the record of a suit in equity then pending in the Supreme Court of New York, whereto the parties hereto, and others claiming the benefit of the policy, were parties, and stipulated that any further proceedings therein might be filed as a part of the agreement at any time before the trial of this action. A decree was rendered by said court November 26, that the company pay the full amount of the policy to the credit of the suit, for the benefit of such of the other parties as should be found to be thereunto entitled, and that upon such payment the company be released and discharged from further liability on said policy, and that the several claimants be enjoined from suing thereon. The amount was thereupon forthwith paid into court. On the 25th of November the plaintiff stated his case, whereupon the hearing was postponed until the 29th of that month, when the defendant, no evidence having'as yet been submitted, filed with the clerk of the court a duly certified transcript of said decree. On the trial, leave was refused the defendant to set up the matter of that suit and decree by way of plea, or put it in evidence, under the agreement. Held, that the decree was a final determination of the claim of the plaintiff below," and should have been admitted as matter of evidence, having the same force and effect in a court of the United States as in the courts of New York.delivered the opinion of the court.
The first assignment of error is that the Circuit Court refused to allow the matter of the decree of interpleader in the New York case, which is mentioned at the end of the first bill of exceptions, to be set up in any manner, either by way of plea or in evidence. To understand this assignment, it is necessary to observe carefully what the New York case was. It was a bill filed on the 4th of April, 1872, in the Supreme Court of New York, wherein Rosalie C. Barry was complainant, and The Mutual Life Insurance Company, together with William H. Bruñe and Horatio L. Whitridge, were defendants.
On the 27th of June next following, Bruñe filed an answer, and at the same time Whitridge also answered. In neither ansAver was there a denial of most of the averments of the bill. Bruñe denied that Mrs. Barry’s assignments were involun
Subsequently the company put in an answer to Mrs. Barry’s bill, accompanying it with a petition for an interpleader. The answer conceded the company’s liability to pay the sums-due upon the policies (those issued to Bruñe, and the same as those in suit in the present case); averred readiness to pay to the person or persons lawfully entitled to receive payment, and to whom, payment could be made with safety; and offered to pay into court. The petition prayed that the company might be permitted thus to pay; that thereupon it might be discharged; and that Bruñe, Whitridge, and Mrs. Barry might be ordered to interplead.
The case in the Supreme Court of New York, therefore, though not strictly a bill of interpleader, was in effect that, and more. It was in the nature of such a bill, and was, under the practice of that State, a proper proceeding to determine the rights of the parties. Badeau v. Rogers, 2 Paige (N. Y.), 209. Brune and Whitridge, as well as Mrs. Barry and the company, were parties to it, and all of them appeared and pleaded. The court thus had complete jurisdiction alike of the insuring company, of Whitridge, Bruñe, and Mrs. Barry, the persons claiming as assured by the policies, and also of the subject,— the liability of the company to the claimants.
On the twenty-sixth day of November, 1873, a decree was entered in the case, which was a final determination of the rights of Whitridge, Brune, and Mrs. Barry, or either of them, as against the company. So far as it is necessary to refer to it, it was as follows .* —
“ It is further ordered that the defendants, The Mutual Life Insurance Company, within three days next hereafter, deposit the residue of said $25,000 with the United States Trust Com
It was further ordered that the several claimants be enjoined from bringing any other action or proceedings against the defendant, The Mutual Life Insurance Company of New York, upon the said policies of insurance; and the claimants were also ordered to interplead upon the pleadings already interposed.
On the same day the insurance company paid to the United States Trust Company, to the credit of the action, as ordered, the amount of the policies.
It was this judgment of the New York Supreme Court which the plaintiffs in error offered to plead at the trial in the Circuit Court puis darrein continuance, and also offered to give in evidence, under an agreement between the parties, and, still further, independently of any agreement. But the court refused to allow it to be pleaded, or to be given in evidence; and this refusal is assigned as error.
The argument submitted to us has taken a very wide range. Much has been said which, in our opinion, has no bearing upon the exact question before us. It may be admitted that the pendency of an' action between the same parties and for the same cause, in a foreign jurisdiction, is pleadable only in abatement. So it may be admitted that even a plea in bar, puis darrein continuance, cannot be received without verification. But the question here is, whether a final judgment determining the rights of the parties against each other, made by a court having jurisdiction both of the parties and of the subject of
If, then, the record of the decrees of the New York court was pertinent to the issue in the case in the Circuit Court, as we have seen it was, and was material, why should it not have been received? There was nothing in the pleadings, .nor in the agreement of the parties, we think, that stood in the way of its admission. The defendant below, now plaintiff in error, had pleaded the general issue, and, under that in assumpsit, a judgment recovered maybe given in evidence. 2 Stra. 733; 1 Saund. Williams’s notes, 67 a; Stafford v. Clark, 2 Bing. 377; Young v. Black, 7 Cranch, 565 . And if this were not the general rule, there was an agreement of the parties filed in the
This, however, was not all. The parties entered'into another agreement, that the two causes (viz. suits on the two policies) should be consolidated; that a special plea before filed by the defendant should be waived; that either party should have leave to offer in evidence any matter admissible, as if specially pleaded; and that certain facts, papers, and records were admitted and agreed to, for the purpose of taking the court’s opinion in the case as to the plaintiff’s right to maintain the action. Among the papers and records was the record of the case in the Supreme Court of New York, including the original petition of Mrs. Barry, and subsequent proceedings, together with the answer of the company and the petition for an inter-pleader. This agreement was made on the 18th of November, 1873, before the decree discharging the defendants was entered in the New York court. But the tenth clause provided for the use of any subsequent action in that case. It was as follows: —
“ 10th. And the said case, wherein Rosalie C. Barry is plaintiff, and The Mutual Life Insurance Company of New York and William H. Bruñe and Horatio L. Whitridge are defendants, is still pending in New York, and if there should be any further proceedings therein which eitiler party may think material, they may be filed as part of this agreement at any time before the trial of this ease.”
The decree of the New York court was a further proceeding in that case, and by the agreement it was stipulated that it might be filed and submitted to the court as an agreed fact in the case. It is true the agreement allowed filing at any time Before the trial, and the case was called for trial on the 25th of November, 1873. On that day, after the plaintiff had stated his ease, but before any evidence was read, the further hearing was postponed until November 29; and on the 29th, before any
And if the filing, when it was filed, of the final decree of the New York court as a part of the agreed facts was not allowed by the tenth clause of the agreement of November 18, the decree was still admissible in evidence. That agreement stipulated that either party might offer in evidence any matter admissible as if specially pleaded. It did not require the court to enter judgment upon the admitted facts alone.
It is argued by the defendant in error that the decree rejected by the court was not filed, and that the offer of the plaintiff in error was only to show a lis pendens. It is true the record did not show that the interpleading between Mrs. Barry and Bruñe and Whitridge had terminated. But the decree was a final determination of the claim of all and each of them against the defendant in the present case, upon the policies now in suit. The claim against the company is no longer open to litigation.
Upon the whole, therefore, we conclude that the first assignment of error must be sustained, and what we have said renders it unnecessary to remark upon the second.
The judgment of the Circuit Court must be reversed, and the record remitted for a new trial; and it is
So ordered.
Cases cited
- Mayhew v. Thatcher 6 Wheat. 129 p. 336
- Habich v. Folger 20 Wall. 1 p. 336