Majority
Headnote
Life Insurance—Payment of First Premium by Note—Condition— Delivery of Policy—Waiver.—Where the note of the insured was given for the first annual premium upon a life insurance policy, for which a receipt was given by the general agent specifying that if the application was accepted the policy should be in force from the date of acceptance, and the note was forwarded by such agent to the home office, and its amount was there charged to the agent, and the policy was issued and delivered to the insured, it must he held that the first premium was paid by the note, and the delivery of the policy is evidence that cash payment was waived in so far as it may have been a condition precedent to the delivery of the policy.Action on an insurance policy. The defendant is a Dew York corporation. A nonsuit was granted in the court below, and judgment went for defendant, from which, and from an order denying a new trial, plaintiff appeals. The motion for a nonsuit was upon these grounds: 1. That it does not appear that any premiums were paid after the first annual premium; 2. That it appears affirmatively that no such premiums were ever tendered; and 3. That the action is barred ’by the statute of limitations of this state, and particularly by subdivision 1 of section 339 of the Code of Civil Procedure. The policy was made in 1888, and the insured, Hope, died in 1891; he gave a note for the first premium, although it does
The appeal was first heard in Department, and the judgment was there affirmed, on the ground that the action was barred by subdivision 1 of section 339 of the Code of Civil Procedure. In the opinion of the Department, delivered by Temple, J., all the main points in the case were discussed and passed upon; and we are satisfied with that opinion, and that the case, as then presented, was correctly determined, and said opinion is hereby adopted. The arguments as to the statute of limitations were there wholly directed to the question whether or not the policy was to be considered as a “writing executed out of this state.” But on a petition for hearing in Bank appellant for the first time called attention to an act of the legislature, approved April 1, 1872, entitled “An act in relation to foreign corporations” (Stats. 1871-72, p. 826), and contended that under this act respondent was entirely precluded from pleading any part whatever of the statutes of limitation. Thereupon a hearing in Bank was granted, and the case was subsequently-argued and submitted in Bank.
After full consideration of the question, we are of the opinion that the act of 1872 does not prevent respondent from availing itself of the statute of limitations. Waiving the question whether the subject of the act is expressed in the title, it must be construed in connection with other legislation on the subject of foreign insurance corporations. The act refers to foreign corporations generally, and provides that every such corporation doing business in this state must “designate some person residing in the county in which the principal place of business of such corporation is, upon whom process issued by authority of or under any law of this state may be served,” and “shall file such designation in the office of the secretary of state.” Section 2 provides that a corporation failing to comply with the act shall be denied the benefit of the statute of limitations.
Section 595 of the Political Code provides that the insurance commissioner must issue a certificate of authority to transact business in this state to any persons who are solvent, not in arrears of taxes, etc., and “who have fully complied with the laws of this state.” In the ease at bar, the plaintiff herself introduced without objection such a certificate issued by the insurance commissioner in 1888 to respondent. In that document the commissioner, after reciting that respondent had “im all respects fully complied with the laws of California regulating and governing the transaction of insurance business in this state,” and had “appointed and commissioned William H. Dunphy of the city and county of San Francisco as his attorney and agent in this state, as required by section 616 of the Political Code of this state,” certifies, “by virtue of the authority conferred upon me by section 595 of said code,” that “said Home Life Insurance Company and its agent are duly authorized to transact the business of life insurance in this state.” This certificate was sufficient prima facie evidence of the compliance by respondent with the provisions of the code above mentioned.
The judgment and order appealed from are affirmed.
Temple, J., Garoutte, J., Van Dyke, J., Harrison, J., and Henshaw, J., concurred.
The following is the opinion rendered in Department Two, August 14, 1899, approved and adopted in the foregoing decision of the court in Bank:
February 20, 1888, plaintiff’s intestate applied through Conway, an agent of defendant in San Francisco, for a policy of life insurance upon his life for ten thousand dollars. The medical examination was had and the risk accepted. Hope gave his note, payable to the order of Dunphy, the general agent at San Francisco, for the amount of the first premium, and received from the agent a conditional receipt. Dunphy testified: “He gave his note, and it was to show that a settlement was made at the time the application was made. We call it a conditional or binding receipt.”
The receipt provided that in the event of the acceptance of the application the policy should be in force from the date of the acceptance. The application and note were placed with the general agent at San Francisco, who forwarded them to the home office at Hew York for its approval and acceptance. The amount of the note was charged to Conway, the soliciting agent, and was actually paid to the company by him about one year thereafter. Whether Hope paid is left as a matter of inference and presumption.
A policy was issued at the Hew York office, which" alone had authority to accept and issue policies, on the eighth day of
It must be held that the first annual premium was paid by the promissory note, and that the delivery of the policy is evidence that payment in actual cash was waived, if it can justly be said that such payment is made a condition precedent to the delivery of the policy.
Apparently, Hope paid no further attention to the insurance, and died September 22, 1891, delinquent for three annual premiums. This action was commenced August 21, 1895.
The defendant, among other defenses, denied the issuance of a paid policy; avers that the first premium was not paid before the delivery of the policy, and, therefore, by the terms of the policy defendant is not liable thereon; also that the policy lapsed by the failure of deceased to pay the annual premiums, and pleads the statute of limitations.
At the trial a nonsuit was granted, and a motion for a new trial was made by the plaintiff, which was denied. The appeal is from that order and from the judgment.
Motion for nonsuit was based upon three grounds: 1. It does not appear that any premium except the first was paid; 2. It was proven that no premium except the first was ever tendered; and 3. The action is barred by subdivision 1 of section 339 of the Code of Civil Procedure.
It is averred in the complaint that the second premium had not been paid, and it is not contended that any part of any premium had been tendered. In fact, Hope paid no attention to it after its issuance.
The insurance company is located in the state of Hew York, and it is agreed that the policy is a contract which was to be performed in that state. By a statute of that state, then and now in force, it was provided: “Ho life insurance company doing business in the state of Hew York shall have power to declare forfeited or lapsed any policy hereinafter issued or renewed by reason of nonpayment of any annual premium or interest, or any portion thereof, except as hereafter provided.”
It is averred in the complaint, and not denied in the answer, that no statutory notice was ever mailed to Hope. It is held by the court of appeals in New York (De Frese v. National Life Ins. Co., 136 N. Y. 144 ) that: “The contract is to be read as if the act of 1876 had been literally incorporated into it. There could be no forfeiture for this cause unless the defendant alleged and proved nonpayment after due service of the notice required by law.” This authority was followed in Griffith v. New York Life etc. Ins. Co., supra.
The suit was not commenced for more than three years after the death of Hope, but was commenced in less than four years. An action upon a contract, obligation, or liability founded upon an instrument in writing executed in this state is barred in four years (Code Civ. Proc., sec. 337); if founded - upon an instrument in writing executed out of the state, in two years. (Code Civ. Proe., sec. 339, subd. 1.) Is the policy upon which suit is based an instrument executed in this state, or was it executed, within the meaning of the statute, in the state of Hew York?
The question of locality depends upon the further inquiry as to when the contract became in force. The defendant contends that it was in force as soon as the risk was accepted by the company and the policy was issued and sent from its office to its local agent for Hope. The plaintiff claims that the policy was not in force until it was handed to Hope by the local agent. This last contention is based, in part, at least, upon the fact that Hope had not paid the first premium in cash, and they argue that such payment was expressly made a condition to the taking effect of the policy. Appellant relies for authority
In the policies considered in those cases it was expressly stipulated that the policy should not be in force until actual payment of the premium to the company during the lifetime and good health of the insured. There is no equivalent stipulation in the policy involved here. There was no provision that it should not be in force until the payments were made. There is no express requirement that the premiums shall be paid in money, nor were the agents restricted, as in those cases, by the express direction that they should receive only cash in payment. Still, in each of those cases it was held that the agent could waive the requirement as to cash payments, and that he did so by an unconditional delivery of the policy. Another difference between the Griffith case and this is that there the policy was issued and sent with express instructions not to deliver it until the money was paid by the insured and he was found to be in good health. There was nothing of the kind in this case.
The only mention of cash payments in this case is an indorsement upon the policy, which is signed by no one and presumably not known to the insured prior to his receipt of the policy.
In his application he was made to covenant that the policy should not bind the company “until the premium thereon shall have heen received by said company in the lifetime of the assured, and that it shall not continue in force in case of default of payment of any note or notes which may be given in part payment of the premium thereon.” Instead of prohibiting payment by note, this was a plain intimation that notes might be accepted in payment.
The application made by Hope was reported to the general agent at San Francisco, who was also present when the note was given. He testified: “He gave his note, and it was to show the company that a settlement was made at the time the application was made. We call it a conditional binding receipt.” He said, further, that the receipt showed the amount of premium paid for the amount of insurance applied for, and stated that the insurance would be in force “from the date when the application was accepted from the company.”
■Of course, a covenant for a forfeiture implies that the policy is in force, and must do so here, notwithstanding the use of the word “delivery”; and, besides, this contains no provision forbidding payments being made by note.
Finally, the attesting clause is as follows: “In witness whereof, the Home Life Insurance Company has, by its president and secretary, signed and delivered this contract at the city of Hew York, in the state of Hew York, this eighth day of March, 1888.”
.We may conclude that there was no rule of the company, condition in the policy, or in the application for it, nor any instruction to the agents, which prohibited payments by notes, or which rendered the policy inoperative until payment in money was made or duly waived. There is, therefore, no force in the argument that the delivery must have been in California because the contract could not be in force until such condition was waived by an unconditional delivery to Hope.
The question then is, whether the policy was in force so soon as issued and sent from the home office to the agent in San Francisco for Hope. There was no stipulated condition as to the delivery except that the first premium should be first paid while . he was in health. That had been paid by his note, for which 'he received a conditional receipt. The condition was that the
Our statute makes the rule of delivery as to written instruments the same as in regard to grants (Civ. Code, see. 1627), and in section 1059 of the Civil Code it is enacted: “Though a grant be not actually delivered into the possession of the grantee, it is yet constructively delivered in the following cases: 1. Where the instrument is by the agreement of the parties at the time of execution understood to be delivered, and under such circumstances that the grantee is entitled to immediate delivery.”
It is, therefore, a matter solely of intention. If it was intended that document should be in force before it was actually handed over, it will be deemed constructively delivered. Of course, the agent could not complete the contract of insurance, but he could, provisionally, contract, subject to the approval of the principal, whose ratification would make the contract binding as made.
The corporation, by its attesting clause, declared that the instrument was delivered in Hew York on the 8th of March. By itself this formal clause means but little. But the understanding was that it was then to be in force, and it was sent to the local agent for delivery without condition. Ho act was to be done, no fact determined, before delivery. Under such instructions, supposing everything had been properly done, and all was fair and honest, had Hope died during the transmission, his beneficiaries could have enforced the policy; and, that being so, its execution was complete when it left the Hew York office.
"To the same effect is 1 May on Insurance, 97; 1 Beach on Insurance, sec. 483; Richards on Insurance, 54; Elliott on Insurance, sec. 14; 1 Wood on Insurance, 49; Ford v. Buckeye etc. Ins. Co., 6 Bush, 133 ; 99 Am. Dec. 671 , note.
The matter is elaborately considered in Yonge v. Equitable Life Assur. Co., 30 Fed. Rep. 902 ; also in Hallock v. Commercial Ins. Co., 26 N. J. L. 268 . In this last case it is said: “Breck, the agent, and the mail were only the vehicles to carry it to him, and it was the same thing as if mailed or sent directly to the plaintiff. The defendants suggest in answer that Breck was their agent, and that by sending it to him they did not part with the possession of the policy, and that they only gave authority to Breck to deliver, which they could and did revoke Before actual delivery. But when they mailed the policy to Breck to deliver, they did not constitute him their agent to receive it and keep it for them, nor to retain it as their agent. .... It was a delivery to Breck to deliver it to plaintiff, which was a good delivery to plaintiff.” This was affirmed in the court of errors. (Commercial Ins. Co. v. Hallock, 27 N. J. L. 645 ; 72 Am. Dec. 379 . See, also, Fried v. Royal Ins. Co., 47 Barb. 127 ; affirmed 50 N. Y. 243 .) In New York Life Ins. Co. v. Babcock, 104 Ga. 67 , 69 Am. St. Rep. 134 , the matter is again gone over and the cases cited and discussed. It is concluded that the delivery is complete when sent to the local agent to be unconditionally delivered, and, though it was lost •on the way, it was nevertheless the property of the insured.
Regarding, therefore, the expressed intention of the parties, and the law as declared in the authorities, the policy was in force when it was transmitted from Eew York, and is an instrument executed out of this state.
But the appellant argues that, conceding that section 339 of the Code of Civil Procedure is applicable, still it does not ap
Ho proof having been made, we must assume that no notice of proof was made until immediately before the action was commenced. The only statement in the policy upon the subject is the covenant to pay the legal representatives of John T. Hope, after due notice and satisfactory proof of death and interest, in accordance with the terms of the contract. It is not provided, as in Case v. Sun Ins. Co., 83 Cal. 473 , that an action shall not be commenced until something else has heen done in addition to the demand. The main thing is notice and proof of death and the interest of the party giving the notice. These things must necessarily be stated in any notice. Practically, this covenant calls for a demand only.
But, in any event, the demand, notice, and proof should be made within the period of limitations, or the demand is stale and suit cannot be maintained thereon. (Meherin v. San Francisco etc. Exp., 117 Cal. 215 ; Thomas v. Pacific etc. Co., 115 Cal. 136 ; Williams v. Bergin, 116 Cal. 56 .)
In Palmer v. Palmer, 36 Mich. 487 , which is a leading case upon this question, it is said: “He is really and in fact able at any time to bring an action when he can by his own act fix the time of payment. It is no stretch of language to hold that a cause of action accrues for the purpose of setting the statute in motion as soon as the creditor by his own act, and in spite of the debtor, can make the demand payable.” This is, in my judgment, the true doctrine. Otherwise, the demand is in this condition: The cause of action has accrued if the creditor so wills, but if it suits his convenience its life will be prolonged indefinitely. The rule is put upon a different theory in Bills v. Silver Min. Co., 106 Cal. 9 , which, however, may work the same result. It is there practically said that the cause of action does not accrue until demand, but where demand can be made at any time it must be made within the period of the statute or the right of action is lost. This leaves undetermined
The order and judgment are affirmed.
Henshaw, J., and McFarland, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Andrews v. Pond 13 Pet. 65 p. 533
- Hall v. Cordell 142 U. S. 116 p. 533
- Baxter v. Brooklyn Life Insurance 119 N. Y. 450 p. 533
- De Frece v. National Life Insurance 136 N. Y. 144 p. 533, p. 543
- Griffith v. N.Y. Life Ins. Co. 101 Cal. 627 p. 533
- Ivey v. Kern County Land Co. 115 Cal. 196 p. 533
- Berliner v. Travelers' Insurance Co. 121 Cal. 451 p. 533
- Ryer v. Oesting 119 Cal. 564 p. 534
- Giddings v. Insurance Co. 102 U. S. 108 p. 534
- Scudder v. Union National Bank 91 U. S. 406 p. 534
- United States v. Le Baron 19 How. 73 at 76, 77 p. 534
- Case v. Sun Insurance 83 Cal. 473 p. 534, p. 548
- Collins v. Driscoll 69 Cal. 550 p. 534
- Jefferson v. Wendt 51 Cal. 573 at 575 p. 534
- Fried v. Royal Insurance 47 Barb. 127 p. 535, p. 547
- Fried v. Royal Insurance 50 N. Y. 243 p. 535, p. 547
- Bills v. Silver King Mining Co. 106 Cal. 9 p. 535, p. 548
- Thomas v. Pacific Beach Co. 115 Cal. 136 p. 535, p. 548
- Williams v. Bergin 116 Cal. 56 p. 535, p. 548
- Meherin v. San Francisco Produce Exchange 117 Cal. 215 p. 535, p. 548
- Frandzen v. County of San Diego 101 Cal. 317 p. 535
- Lawrence v. Ballou 50 Cal. 258 p. 540
- Olcott v. Tioga Railroad 20 N. Y. 210 p. 540