Majority
Headnote
Fire Insurance—Separate Items Insured—Entirety or Severability op Contract—Nature op Bisk.—Where several items are insured in a policy of insurance against loss by fire, the question of the entirety or severability of the contract depends upon the nature of the risk. Where the property is so situated that the risk on one item cannot be affected without affecting the risk on another item, the policy must be regarded as entire; but where the property is so situated that the risk on each item is separate and distinct from the risk on the others, the policy must be regarded as severable.This is an action upon a policy of fire insurance, by which, in consideration of a premium of $21.75, the defendant insured the plaintiff in the sum of $1,700 against
The principal defense, and the only one which need be considered on this appeal, is based upon the following provisions of the policy: “This entire policy shall be void if the insured has concealed, or misrepresented, in writing or otherwise, any material fact or circumstance concerning this insurance or the subject thereof; or if the interest of the insured in the property be not truly stated herein; or in ease of any fraud or false swearing by the insured touching any matter relating to this insurance or the subject thereof, whether before or after a loss.”
It appears that the buildings were located upon unsurveyed government land, to which plaintiff had no title. He was merely in possession as a “squatter.”
The plaintiff claimed, and so alleged, that any warranty as to title had been waived by defendant’s agents, in that they had caused the policy to be issued after having received from plaintiff full notice of the fact that he was holding as a “squatter” on unsurveyed government land. This alleged notice and waiver were denied by the insurer, which alleged that plaintiff, at the time of applying for the insurance, stated to defendant that he was the owner in fee simple of the land, and on these issues the case went to trial before a jury.
The court charged the jury as follows:—
. “I instruct you that on the evidence before you, without any conflict, the plaintiff is entitled to a verdict for $748.95 for loss on the personal property described in the policy of insurance.
“As to the loss claimed on the buildings, I instruct you that if you find that the defendant or its agents did not know, or had not been informed at the time of the issuance of the policy, that the plaintiff did not own the land on which the
buildings were located, and did not learn that plaintiff did not own the land until after the commencement of this action, then plaintiff is not entitled to recover anything for the loss of the buildings. But if defendant or its agents did have knowledge of the plaintiff’s title or learned of it before the fire, then there was a waiver of the fact that plaintiff did not own the land and plaintiff is entitled to recover the loss of said building, viz.: $575.30. If you find on this issue in favor of the plaintiff, your verdict will be for the plaintiff for $1,324.25. If you find on this issue in favor of the defendant, then your verdict will be for the plaintiff in the sum of $748.95.”
The verdict was for $748.95 (the amount of loss claimed on the second, fourth, and fifth items of the policy), and defendant appeals from the resulting judgment and an order denying a new trial.
It is evident that the trial court regarded the conditions and warranties which we have quoted as applying solely to the buildings insured, and not to the contents of those buildings. In other words, the policy was treated as severable into as many contracts as there were items insured. Whether such policies, insuring distinct items for different amounts, in consideration of a gross premium, are to be regarded as entire or severable, is a question that has not heretofore come before this court, although it has been passed on by the courts of many other states. The authorities on the point are so numerous that it would be impracticable to attempt to review, .or even to cite, all of them. There is conflict between the adjudications of different courts, and even, in some instances, between those of the same court. In a general way, the effect of the cases may be summarized and illustrated by saying that the courts of a number of states have laid down the rule accepted by the trial court in the ease at bar,—namely, that where the property insured consists of different items which are separately "valued or insured for separate amounts, the contract is divisible, and a breach of warranty or condition as to one item will not affect the insurance on the remainder of the property, even though the premium be entire. (Merrill v. Agricultural Ins. Co., 73 N. Y. 452 , [ 29 Am. Rep. 184 ] ; Schuster v. Dutchess County Mut. Ins. Co., 102 N. Y. 260 , [ 6 N. E. 406 ] ; Phoenix Ins. Co. v. Lawrence, 4 Met. (Ky.)
On the other hand, there are many eases holding that such contracts are entire, and that a breach of any condition or warranty vitiates the whole insurance, most of these decisions basing their conclusion on the ground that the premium was a single or gross sum. (Gottsman v. Pennsylvania Ins. Co., 56 Pa. 210 , [ 94 Am. Dec. 55 ]; Day v. Charter Oak F. and M. Ins. Co., 51 Me. 91 ; Plath v. Minnesota Farmers’ Mut. Fire Ins. Assn., 23 Minn. 479 , [ 23 Am. Rep. 697 ]; Garver v. Hawkeye Ins. Co., 69 Iowa, 202 , [ 28 N. W. 555 ]; Cuthbertson v. North Carolina Home Ins. Co., 96 N. C. 480 , [ 2 S. E. 258 ]; Southern Fire Ins. Co. v. Knight, 111 Ga. 622 , [ 78 Am. St. Rep. 216 , 36 S. E. 821 ]; Agricultural Ins. Co. v. Hamilton, 82 Md. 88 , [ 51 Am. St. Rep. 457 , 33 Atl. 429 ]; McGowan v. People’s Mut. Fire Ins., 54 Vt. 211 , [ 41 Am. Rep. 843 ].)
There is still another line of cases which take a middle ground between the extreme doctrines above stated and hold that the question of the severability of the contract in such cases depends upon the nature of the risk,—i. e. that where the property is so situated that the risk on one item cannot be affected without affecting the risk on the other items, the policy must be regarded as entire; but where the property is so situated that the risk on each item is separate and distinct from the risk on the other items, so that what affects the risk
In our opinion, the rule declared in the cases last cited is supported by reason and tends, to produce a just result. Whether a contract is entire or severable is a question of intention, to be determined from the language employed by the parties, viewed in the light of the circumstances surrounding them at the time they contracted. (Sterling v. Gregory, 149 Cal. 117 , [ 85 Pac. 305 ].) In these cases the policy, insuring several classes of property, provides that it shall be void in certain events. In view of the settled rule that any uncertainty or ambiguity in a contract of insurance is to be interpreted most strongly against the insurer, it is proper to say that this language should not be given the effect of avoiding the policy as to every item insured in all cases. Where the warranty or condition which is broken does not affect the risk on certain items, the insurance should not be held to be ineffective as to those items. Such construction would subject the insured to a forfeiture for a cause which had no substantial relation to the interest of the insurer. The purpose of the warranties and conditions is to protect the insurer from liability on risks which he would have been unwilling to take for the stipulated premium, or perhaps for any premium. And if, as to any item, the breach of condition or warranty does not at all affect the risk, the release of the insurer from liability for that item may fairly be said not to have been
In the foregoing discussion we have laid no stress on the" fact that the language of the policy is that “this entire policy shall be void, if,” etc. In most of the cases cited above the word “entire” did not appear in the policy in this connection. It has been held (sometimes even in jurisdictions where separate valuations are ordinarily regarded as rendering the contracts divisible) that the inclusion of this word makes the contract entire and indivisible. (Germania Fire Ins. Co. v. Schild, 69 Ohio St. 136 , [ 100 Am. St. Rep. 663 , 68 N. E. 706 ]; Germier v. Springfield F. and M. I. Co., 109 La. 341 , [ 33 South. 361 ]; Agricultural Ins. Co. v. Hamilton, 82 Md. 88 , [ 51 Am. St. Rep. 457 , 33 Atl. 429 ]; Martin v. Insurance Co.
The respondent contends that whatever construction be put upon the policy the judgment' must be affirmed, because there was uncontradicted testimony to the effect that shortly after the fire the company ascertained the true state of the title, and for a period of several months thereafter and up to the time of trial, made no offer to return the premium. During all this time, however, it denied liability. It may be conceded that if, by reason of a breach of warranty as to title, no risk ever attached, the insured was entitled to a return of his premium. (Civ. Code, sec. 2617.) But the insurer’s delay in offering to repay it (assuming the delay to have been unreasonable), did not forfeit the right to defend for such breach. The cases cited to the proposition that a party cannot rescind a contract without restoring what he has received under it are not in point. (The defendant is not in this action seeking to rescind the contract sued upon; it is standing upon the contract, and insisting that under its terms 'there is no liability. Nor can the mere retention of the premium, after the loss has occurred, and where the liability is steadfastly denied, constitute either a waiver of the defense or an estoppel. To constitute such waiver or estoppel "by the action or non-action of the insurer after the loss, it is essential “that one party should have relied upon the conduct of the other, and been induced by it to put himself in such a position that he would be injured if the other should be allowed to repudiate his action.” (McCormick v. Orient
Furthermore, the retention of the premium was not pleaded by the plaintiff. His complaint showed affirmatively that there had been a breach of warranty as to title, and to overcome this he was obliged to allege facts showing a waiver or estoppel. He met this requirement by alleging the issuance of the policy by the defendant after notice of the defect of title, but this did not put in issue any waiver or estoppel that might have been created by other facts. If the plaintiff relies on waiver or estoppel as to any defense which would otherwise be available to the defendant under the facts stated in the complaint, the facts constituting such waiver or estoppel must be pleaded in the first instance. (19 Cyc. 923; Gillon v. Northern Assurance Co., 127 Cal. 480 , [ 59 Pac. 901 ]; Vernon Ins. and T. Co. v. Maitlen, 158 Ind. 393 , [ 63 N. E. 755 ]; Bruce v. German S. and L. Soc., 24 Or. 486 , [ 34 Pac. 16 ]; McCoy v. Iowa State Ins. Co., 107 Iowa, 80 , [ 77 N. W. 529 ].)
The judgment and order appealed from are reversed.
Henshaw, J., McFarland, J., and Lorigan, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Merrill v. Agricultural Insurance 73 N. Y. 452 p. 513, p. 517
- Schuster v. Dutchess County Insurance 102 N. Y. 260 p. 513
- Sterling v. Gregory 149 Cal. 117 p. 515
- Columbian Insurance Co. of Alexandria v. Lawrence 2 Pet. 25 p. 516
- Columbia Insurance v. Lawrence 10 Pet. 507 p. 516
- Kiernan v. Dutchess County Mutual Insurance 150 N. Y. 190 p. 518
- McCormick v. Orient Insurance 86 Cal. 260 p. 519
- McCormick v. Springfield Fire & Marine Ins. Co. 66 Cal. 361 p. 519
- Fishbeck v. Phenix Ins. Co. 54 Cal. 422 p. 519
- Gillon v. Northern Assurance Co. 127 Cal. 480 p. 519