Majority
Headnote
[1] Workmen’s Compensation Act—Review of Proceedings—Power of Court.—An annulment of an award of the Industrial Accident Commission is authorized only when the commission acted without or beyond its powers, or when the award was procured by fraud, or is unreasonable, or when the findings of fact do not support it.This is a proceeding brought to review, and have annulled, an award of the respondent, the Industrial Accident Commission. S. E. Hayden was killed on March 24, 1920, while working as a carpenter for Florence Ritchie Dearborn, the petitioner herein. The accident was caused by his being thrown from an automobile while on his way to a telephone to order lumber needed in the erection of the building on which he was working. He left surviving him the other respondents, a widow and three minor children, who were dependent upon him for support. The employer denied any liability for compensation for the death of Hayden, and the dependents made due application for an adjustment of the claim. There were two hearings before the commission. On the first the applicants were awarded the sum of $4,999.98. That decision was confirmed on the rehearing. Thereupon the petitioner brought this proceeding in review.
The defendant before the commission, the petitioner here, denied liability for compensation in the matter of Hayden’s death upon the ground that his employment was both casual and not in the course of petitioner’s trade, business, profession, or occupation. There was ample proof that Hayden, at the time of receiving the injuries from which he died, was actually performing services for Mrs. Dearborn. The burden was, therefore, cast upon petitioner to prove that the deceased was an independent contractor in the matter, or otherwise excluded from the provisions of the Compensation Act. (Workmen’s Compensation Act, sec. 19d, Stats. 1917, p. 849.) She was unsuccessful before the commission, which found that the employment of Hayden was not casual, and made the award. The correctness of that finding presents the only point of controversy on the hearing.
The material facts appear without conflict. Mrs. Dear-born, the petitioner, is associated with her husband in ranch
The relevant portion of the Workmen’s Compensation Act, section 8(a) (Stats. 1917, p. 835), provides that the term “employee,” as used in sections 6 to 31, inclusive, of the act, shall be construed to mean “every person in the service of an employer, . . . but excluding,” among others, any person whose employment is casual. Section 8(e) of the act provides that the term “casual” “shall be taken to refer only to employments where the work contemplated is to be completed in not exceeding ten working days, without regard to the number of men employed, and where the total
[1] At the outset of this inquiry we may repeat what was said by the present chief justice in Southern Pac. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 177 Cal. 378 , 380, [ 170 Pac. 822 ]; “This court, in reviewing awards of the commission, is not acting as a court of appeal. It has no power to weigh the effect of positive evidence. It must assume that the commission believed all the evidence given which tends to sustain the award made. . . . Section 84 [sec. 67 of the present act] of the Workmen’s Compensation Act, which gives us the power we are now exercising over this award of the commission, authorizes us to annul an award only when the commission acted without or beyond its powers, or when the award was procured by fraud, or is unreasonable, or when the findings of fact do not support it. The findings are not subject to review except in so far as they may have been made without any evidence whatever in support thereof. The review of the findings, even in such cases, is not based on the theory that they are not supported by the evidence, and that we are weighing evidence to determine that proposition, but upon the theory that the commission has no jurisdiction to make a finding where there is no evidence to support it.” This restatement of the power of the court on review in these proceedings is pertinent, for the reason that the petitioner takes the position that there was no evidence in this proceeding below to support the finding of the non-casual character of Hayden’s employment, and that, as a consequence of such absence of fact, the commission exceeded its jurisdiction in making the award. If the petitioner’s contention is correct the award must be annulled, otherwise it must stand.
According to the testimony before the. commission, Mrs. Dearborn contemplated the construction of a small dwelling on property to be purchased, to be occupied by her brother and his family. She wanted the work to be done quickly, Consequently, she talked the matter over with the decedent, and employed him in the manner already shown. She was assured by Hayden that the work-would take three or four days. Mrs. Dearborn and Hayden, together, ordered the first list of materials for the building. Hayden secured two
The petitioner seeks to avoid the effect, and compelling force, of the evidence already summarized, by asserting that, while the cost of the labor on the finished house and the length of time consumed in its erection unite to remove the work of decedent from the category of a “casual employment,” the work actually “contemplated” by her when she employed Hayden was completed within ten days, and at a ■ cost for labor of less than one hundred dollars. In support of this contention she testified that the structure she was building for the occupancy of her brother and family was to be completed only as far as the exterior was concerned. No inside comforts or furnishings were to be provided, and no toilet was to be built on the premises; that as the work
The respondents point out that, if it were true that the work contemplated by the petitioner, when she employed the decedent, was to be completed in four days, there would still be evidence to support the finding of the commission that the cost of the labor was in excess of one hundred dollars, and the employment was, therefore, not casual. The carpenters, and there were three of them, each received $8.50 per day. At that rate the cost of their labor alone for the four days would amount to $102.
[2] From this review of the proceedings it clearly appears that facts were not wanting before the commission to justify the finding that the total labor cost of the building upon which the decedent employee was engaged was in excess of one hundred dollars, and the time occupied by the
Lennon, J., Wilbur, J., Richards, J., pro tem., Shaw, C. J., Shurtleff, J., and Sloane, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Southern Pacific Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 177 Cal. 378 at 380 p. 594