Majority
This is an action to recover upon public liability policy No. P. 6486, issued by the defendant insurance corporation to plaintiff corporation,
The plaintiff corporation was engaged in the business of supplying buildings with janitors, elevatormen, watchmen, window-cleaners, and other employees necessary for their care and maintenance. Through an insurance broker, Mullin-Acton Company, the plaintiff corporation placed its insurance with the defendant insurance company. This insurance brokerage firm, however, did not place all of the plaintiff’s insurance business as plaintiff also did business through other insurance brokers. Two policies were issued by the defendant insurance company on February 17, 1925, one a public liability policy, which is the one here sued on, and the other a workmen’s compensation policy. The printed portion of the public liability policy under the heading of “Exclusions” provided that, “This policy shall not cover loss arising from bodily injuries or death caused . . . by any elevator or other hoisting device. ...” However, under the heading of “Description of trade, business or work covered by this policy” appeared the following statement of the operations of insured, that portion following the colon being typewritten: “A. All operations incidental to the trade, business or work described as follows: Buildings— operations (contractors) all employees engaged in care, cus
On March 25, 1925, while the elevators were being operated by operators furnished by plaintiff corporation, an accident occurred in the Santa Marina building in San Francisco in which one Charles Helikcr, a minor, was killed by one of said elevators.
The plaintiff advised the defendant insurance company of the accident and that as the defendant insurance company was liable under public liability policy No. P. 6486, it would expect the defendant company to undertake the defense of the suit instituted by the father of said minor for damages for the death of his son. The defendant insurance company denied liability under the public liability policy and plaintiff’s attorney conducted the defense. Judgment was rendered against plaintiff and the Santa Marina Corporation, owner and operator of the Santa Marina building. The plaintiff corporation settled the judgment against it by the
Appellant contends: First, that the policy on its face expressly excluded from its provisions and protection loss arising from the operation of elevators; and secondly, that the policy was modified three days after it was issued by a rider expressly eliminating the operation of elevators from the declaration.
The first contention requires little consideration. The very fact that the defendant insurance company thought it necessary to issue a rider in order to eliminate this coverage indicates a belief on its part that loss arising from the operation of elevators was included in the policy. There is some ambiguity and uncertainty in the policy by reason of the fact that in the printed portion of the policy under “exclusions” was the provision that “this policy shall not cover loss arising from bodily injuries or death caused by any elevator or other hoisting device”, whereas, in the typewritten portion of the policy was a provision that the policy covered all operations' incidental to the business or work of the insured which included all employees engaged in the operation of elevators. It is scarcely necessary to reiterate the rule, so frequently applied in similar situations, requiring all uncertainties and ambiguities in a policy of insurance to be resolved against the insurer. (14 Cal. Jur., p. 443; Narver v. California State Life Ins. Co., 211 Cal. 176 [ 71 A. L. R. 1374 , 294 Pac. 393 ].) Moreover, section 1651 of the Civil Code expressly and explicitly provides that, “where a contract is partly written and partly printed, or where a part of it is written or printed under the special directions of the parties, and with a special view to their intention, and the remainder is copied from a form originally prepared without special reference to the particular parties and the particular contract in question, the written parts control the printed parts, and the parts which are purely original control those which are copied from a form. And if the two are absolutely repugnant, the latter must be
In its answer the defendant insurance company alleged that the policy did not express the actual understanding and agreement of the parties, but that the policy in question was made, issued and delivered to the plaintiff under and by reason of the mutual mistake of both parties. The trial court expressly found that said policy of insurance was not issued by mutual or other mistake, but that the same correctly covered the operations for which said plaintiff company had applied to said defendant insurance company. The terms of the written contract, considered in conjunction with the fact that an adequate premium was advanced, furnish ample support for this finding. It may be conceded, perhaps, that the defendant insurance company did not in fact intend to assume liability for this particular loss and that it was through an error on the part of an employee that the liability was covered by the policy. This may be inferred from the fact that shortly after the. issuance of the policy a rider was in fact prepared eliminating this liability. At most this was merely a unilateral mistake, and furthermore the mistake of the party preparing the contract. Having received the policy from the defendant insurance company, and having paid a consideration ■ therefor, the plaintiff corporation was entitled to rely upon the express agreement as expressing the mutual understanding of the parties, and the defendant company after the loss had occurred which was covered by the express terms of the policy was bound by those terms.
By the express terms the policy provided that it could be canceled “at any time by either of the parties upon written notice to the other party stating when thereafter cancellation shall be effective”, and that “notice of cancellation mailed to the address of the assured herein shall be sufficient notice”. Upon discovery of its mistake, therefore, the
It is well settled that policies of insurance are written contracts between the parties and are governed by the same rules which are applicable to contracts generally. (Boyer v. United States F. & G. Co., 206 Cal. 273 , 276 [ 274 Pac. 57 ]; Bassi v. Springfield Fire etc. Ins. Co., 57 Cal. App. 707 [ 208 Pac. 154 ].) So, also, the modification of a contract of insurance is governed by the rules which are applicable to contracts generally and the same elements essential to the validity of the original contract are essential to a modification ’ thereof. (Bassi v. Springfield Fire etc. Ins. Co., supra.) These essential elements, the presence or absence of which determine the existence of the contractual obligation as enumerated by the Civil Code, section 1550, are: (1) Parties capable of contracting; (2) their consent; (3) a lawful object, and (4) a sufficient cause or consideration.
We are of the opinion that the second essential element enumerated is entirely lacking in the instant case. An analysis of consent shows two elements, namely, an offer or proposal and an acceptance. In the state of proof as shown by the record, we see no escape from the conclusion that the offer of modification never reached the person having authority to accept the same, and this being so necessarily there was no acceptance, no consent, and consequently, no binding contract. It is to be noted that the original contract had been completed and that the attempted modification was initiated by the insurer who thereby became the offeror. The issuance of the rider was an offer or proposal by the insurance company to the insured that the original contract
In the instant case the modification suggested was a vital and all important one as demonstrated by the fact that the original premium was estimated at $75, whereas the premium after the exclusion of the liability for elevator operations amounted to only $7.01, or approximately only ten per cent of the original premium. It is possible and quite probable that the insured would have preferred to have the entire public liability coverage in one company and would have canceled the entire policy rather than accept the modification. Apparently nothing was done by the offeror to see that the offer was actually received "by the offeree. It was admitted that not even a letter of transmittal accompanied the rider, and no effort was made to ascertain whether or not the modification was acceptable to the insured'.
The case of Bassi v. Springfield Fire etc. Ins. Go., supra, is similar in many respects to the instant case. In that case, which involved two fire insurance policies, the court held that a rider which had been attached to one of the policies by the agent of the insurance company some six months after delivery of the policies to the insured, which rider contained provisions by which the insured covenanted and agreed to keep his books and inventory of stock securely locked in a fireproof safe at night and at all times when the building mentioned in said' policy was not actually open for business, was not binding upon the insured by reason of the fact that the insured did not understand the rider or agree thereto and no new consideration had passed
Since we have held herein that mutual consent was entirely lacking to the modification of the contract by the rider, it will not be necessary to go into the question of whether or not there was any or sufficient consideration for the modification. In the case of Bassi v. Springfield Fire etc. Ins. Co., supra, it was held that a mere forbearance to cancel the policy would not be a sufficient consideration for the modification of the contract of insurance by the attachment of a rider, in the absence of a binding agreement not to cancel. The defendant insurance company herein insists that a refund of $67.99 out of the advance premium of $75 which had been deposited by the insured or its broker with the defendant insurance company was a consideration for the modification. Inasmuch as it is an admitted fact that the defendant insurance company did attempt to modify the policy by means of the rider, we may take it for granted that this reduction in premium was actually made by the defendant insurance company and was made in good faith even though made subsequent to the accident. However, the refund ivas apparently made to the insurance broker, and it is doubtful whether this payment, or the giving of credit for the amount, would be binding upon the plaintiff corporation. In any event, in the absence of an acceptance of the proposed modification by the plaintiff corporation, the question of consideration becomes immaterial.
Appellant strongly relies upon the retention of the rider in the office of the plaintiff corporation as creating an estoppel against the plaintiff to deny the validity of the modification of the contract and the consequent elimination of the liability for elevator operations. In this regard appellant insists that it was misled by the silence of the plaintiff corporation into a belief that the plaintiff had acquiesced
As a last resort appellant relies upon section 3543 of the Civil Code which provides that, “where one of two innocent persons must suffer by the acts of a third, he, by whose negligence it happened, must be the sufferer”. The loss in the instant case will result not solely by virtue of the negligence of the plaintiff corporation, which negligence, if any, consisted in the employment of an employee who made a mistake, but from a combination of errors committed by the employees of both parties. The original mistake was committed by an employee of the insurance company who through error made the public liability policy correspond with the workmen’s compensation policy, which error was perpetuated by the agent of the insurance company who signed and delivered the policy without detecting the error. There is nothing to indicate that even if the offer of modification had in fact reached the proper person in authority in the plaintiff’s corporation, it would have been accepted',’ and this being so, it seems to us that, conceding plaintiff was negligent in employing an inefficient employee, in the final analysis, the loss to the defendant insurance company results from the failure of someone in the defendant’s organization to check up and ascertain definitely whether or not such modification had been received and
Our final conclusion is that the public liability policy of insurance as issued and delivered, unchanged and unmodified by the rider, was the existing contract at the time of the elevator accident, and that the defendant insurance corporation was liable thereunder.
Judgment is affirmed.
Langdon, J., Preston, J., Shenk, J., Richards, J., Waste, C. J., and Seawell, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Narver v. California State Life Insurance 211 Cal. 176 p. 613
- Farnum v. Phoenix Insurance 83 Cal. 246 p. 615
- Boyer v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co. 206 Cal. 273 at 276 p. 615
- Bassi v. Springfield Fire & Marine Insurance Co. 57 Cal. App. 707 p. 615
- Weintraub v. Weingart 98 Cal. App. 690 at 701 p. 618
- Lencioni v. Fidelity Trust & Savings Bank 95 Cal. App. 490 at 498 p. 618