Majority
Respondent Industrial Accident Commission made an award of compensation in favor of John Campellone against petitioner, the workmen’s compensation insurance carrier for J. S. Metzger & Son, Inc., and against the Gagnon Co., Inc., jointly and severally. The award followed findings by the commission that Campellone sustained personal inju
The principal attack on the award raises the question whether there was substantial evidence to support the findings that Campellone was employed by Metzger & Son as a special employer, and that he received his injuries in the course of such employment.
Metzger & Son was the general contractor on a construction job at Indio, California, and arranged with John A. Fox, a truck broker, to supervise the hauling or the operation of trucks in connection with the work. Fox was at the same time supplying trucks or supervising their operations on two other construction jobs in the vicinity. The Gagnon Company, learning from Fox that hauling work was available in the vicinity of Palm Springs, acquired a truck and hired Campellone to drive it and to keep it in repair.
On or about November 25,1942, Campellone drove the truck to Palm Springs, having been instructed by the Gagnon Company to “see Fox to find out where the truck was to work.” Campellone, upon being informed by Fox that there were three jobs available, chose to use the truck in connection with the Metzger job. Fox advised him that the truck would be used to haul concrete aggregate from a crusher at Whitewater to the Bell and Whittier Ranches, and directed him to Whitewater with instructions to “see somebody there.” The following day, the Gagnon Company was informed by Fox that it would be paid directly by Metzger & Son, and that credit arrangements would be made for gas and oil. Fox agreed to “watch the operation of the truck” for the Gagnon Company.
Campellone commenced work on November 26, 1942, and continued working until he was injured on November 29th. Little supervision was exercised over the men at work. The trucks would pull under a steam shovel, receive their loads, pull out to a scale where weight tickets were made out, and proceed to their destinations where the 'Weight tickets were signed and the loads dumped. Campellone testified that he
On November 29th, the Gagnon Company’s truck was damaged while sand was being unloaded at the Whittier Ranch. The driver, Campellone, headed back to Cabazon for another load and decided to repair the truck to prevent sand from spilling. He was injured while making the necessary repairs on a public highway.
Petitioner argues that the Gagnon Company occupied toward Metzger & Son the relation of an independent contractor, and that therefore the relationship between Metzger & Son and Campellone was that of a general contractor and the employee of an independent subcontractor. On the other hand, respondent contends the evidence discloses that Metzger & Son had the right to control the activities of the injured workman, and that it accordingly supports the finding that a special employment relationship existed between the parties.
It cannot be disputed, and respondent commission found, that the injured workman was employed by the Gagnon Company. But an employee may at the same time be under a general and a special employer, and where, either by the terms of a contract or during the course of its performance, the employee of an independent contractor comes under the control and direction of the other party to the contract, a dual employment relationship is held to exist. (National Auto Ins. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 23 Cal.2d 215 [ 143 P.2d 481 ]; Guarantee Ins. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 22 Cal.2d 516 [ 139
In the present case the evidence does not disclose an express agreement either affirming or denying the right of the claimed special employer to control the manner and method in which the work was performed by the injured workman. The existence or nonexistence of the right must, therefore, be determined by reasonable inferences drawn from the circumstances shown. (Riskin v. Industrial Acc. Com., 23 Cal.2d 248 [ 144 P.2d 16 ]; Guarantee Ins. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 22 Cal.2d 516 [ 139 P.2d 905 ].) The respondent commission could reasonably infer from the evidence before it that Metzger & Son at least shared the right to control and direct the manner in which the work was to be done. The Gagnon Company had not previously engaged in the trucking business, . and Campellone was not one of its regular employees. It did not know, and apparently did not care, for whom the work would be performed or where the performance would take place. The Gagnon Company gave no instructions to the injured employee other than to report to Fox; no one was present at the time and place of performance to direct Campellone other than the representatives of Metzger & Son, including Fox, who the commission justifiably found acted as an agent
If the evidence before the commission was also subject to the inference that Metzger & Son did not have the right to control and direct the activities of the injured workman, we cannot say as a matter of law that the opposing inference drawn by the commission is incorrect. (Riskin v. Industrial Acc. Com., 23 Cal.2d 248 [ 144 P.2d 16 ]; Guarantee Ins. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 22 Cal.2d 516 [ 139 P.2d 905 ].) Moreover, if Campellone was performing services for Metzger & Son at the time of his injury, the burden of proof rested on petitioner to establish that Campellone was an independent contractor or the employee of an independent contractor rather than a special employee of Metzger & Son. (Riskin v. Industrial Acc. Com., supra; Drillon v. Industrial Acc. Com., 17 Cal.2d 346 [ 110 P.2d 64 ]; Hillen v. Industrial Acc. Com., 199 Cal. 577 [ 250 P. 570 ].)
Petitioner next contends that Campellone’s injury did not occur in the course of his special employment by Metzger & Son. It argues that the service being performed at the time of injury, namely the repair of the truck, did not benefit Metzger & Son; and that since the Gagnon Company expressly engaged Campellone to keep the truck in repair, it alone had the right of direction and control at the time of injury. It further argues that there has been no showing that Campellone suffered injury as the result of the direction and control of Metzger & Son, and that such a showing is necessary to establish a right to compensation against a special employer.
Whether an employee’s injury occurred in the course of his employment is a question of fact to be determined in light of the circumstances of the particular case. (San Bernardino County v. Industrial Acc. Com., 217 Cal. 618 [ 20 P.2d 673 ]; Griffin v. Industrial Acc. Com., 19 Cal.App.2d 727 [ 66 P.2d 716 ].) It is generally said that “an employee is in the
In argmng that the injury did not arise out of or occur in the course of an employment by Metzger & Son, petitioner cites cases which state that in order to establish the legal relation of special employer and special employee so as to entitle the employee to compensation, it must appear that he suffered injury “as a result of ” or “in consequence of” the “direction and control” of the special employer. (Stacey Bros. etc. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 197 Cal. 164 , 169 [ 239 P. 1072 ]; Famous P. etc. Corp. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 194 Cal. 134 ,136 [ 228 P. 5 , 34 A.L.R. 765 ]; see, also, Independence Indemnity Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 203 Cal. 51 , 55 [ 262 P. 757 ]; Diamond D. etc. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 199 Cal. 694 , 697 [ 260 P. 862 ].) Such expressions, however, do not represent the law insofar as they imply that the right to compensation depends upon an actual exercise of control by
Petitioner also challenges the jurisdiction of the commission to make the award in this case on the ground that the proceedings before it were initiated by the general employer without the consent and against the wishes of the injured employee. While the commission’s power to make an award in such circumstances would appear to find support in Independence Indem. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 2 Cal.2d 397 [ 41 P.2d 320 ], we do not find it necessary to determine that question in this case. Following the application by the Gag-non Company for adjustment of the claim, Campellone filed an answer setting forth the circumstances surrounding his injury, requesting the commission to find that the Gagnon Company willfully failed to carry workmen’s compensation insurance on the date of injury, and praying for “any other or further relief within the circumstances. ’ ’ Clearly, upon the filing of that answer, the commission acquired jurisdiction of the proceeding. Nor can there be any doubt of the propriety of the joinder of Metzger & Son and petitioner as party defendants on the application of the Gagnon Company. By section 5307 of the Labor Code the commission is expressly authorized to “Provide for the joinder in the same proceeding of all persons interested therein, whether as employer, insurer, ... or otherwise.” Although one employer cannot object if the injured employee does not proceed against a second employer who is jointly and severally liable with him (see Hartford A. & I. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 8 Cal.2d 589 , 591 [ 67 P.2d 105 ]), it does not follow that an employer or employee can object to the joinder of such persons.
The award is affirmed.
Shenk, J., Edmonds, J., Carter, J., Traynor, J., Schauer, J., and Spence, J., concurred.
Petitioner’s application for a rehearing was denied April 4, 1945.
Cases cited
- National Automobile Insurance v. Industrial Accident Commission 23 Cal.2d 215 at 219 p. 134, p. 135, p. 138
- Guarantee Ins. Co. Ltd. Mut. v. Indus. Accident Comm'n 22 Cal.2d 516 at 519 p. 134, p. 135, p. 136, p. 138
- Independence Indemnity Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 203 Cal. 51 at 55 p. 135, p. 137
- Riskin v. Industrial Accident Commission 23 Cal.2d 248 p. 135, p. 136
- Press Publishing Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 190 Cal. 114 p. 135
- Western Indemnity Co. v. Pillsbury 172 Cal. 807 at 811 p. 135
- S. A. Gerrard Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 17 Cal.2d 411 at 414 p. 135
- Diamond Drill Contracting Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 199 Cal. 694 at 697 p. 135, p. 137
- Famous Players Lasky Corp. v. Industrial Accident Commission 194 Cal. 134 at 136 p. 135, p. 137
- Drillon v. Industrial Accident Commission 17 Cal.2d 346 p. 136
- Hillen v. Industrial Accident Commission 199 Cal. 577 p. 136
- County of San Bernardino v. Industrial Accident Commission 217 Cal. 618 p. 136
- Griffin v. Industrial Accident Commission 19 Cal.App.2d 727 p. 136
- Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 202 Cal. 688 at 691 p. 137
- State Compensation Insurance Fund v. Industrial Accident Commission 194 Cal. 28 at 33 p. 137
- Matthews v. Naylor 42 Cal.App.2d 729 p. 137
- Employers' Liability Assurance Corp. v. Industrial Accident Commission 37 Cal.App.2d 567 p. 137
- Stacy Bros. Gas Construction Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 197 Cal. 164 at 169 p. 137
- Independence Indemnity Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 2 Cal.2d 397 p. 138
- Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 8 Cal.2d 589 at 591 p. 138