Majority
Plaintiff, a highway common carrier, commenced an action alleging that one of his trucks was involved in an accident on June 5, 1951, in which two persons named Kuhwarth were killed; that at that time there were in effect, covering his truck, policies of public liability insurance issued by Northwest Casualty Company, Norwich Union Fire Insurance Society, Ltd. and St. Paul Mercury Indemnity Company; that the Kuhwarths’ representatives commenced actions against him which he settled by paying a total of $6,600; that St. Paul is willing to pay one-third of the amount. Only
By order of court St. Paul and Royal Indemnity Company were made parties to the proceeding. Norwich and Northwest filed cross-complaints which were answered; plaintiff’s complaint was also answered. The issues as joined presented mainly the question of which of the four insurance companies was liable for the settlement with Kuhwarths’ representatives or what portion each should bear. It is conceded that Royal had no outstanding policy covering plaintiff; judgment was in its favor, and no contention is made here for reversal.
The court rendered judgment concluding that plaintiff was insured with Norwich and it must pay all of the settlement because, although plaintiff also had insurance with Northwest and St. Paul, those policies had “other insurance” provisions under which they were not liable except to the extent that the claim exceeded the coverage offered by the Norwich policy which contained no such “other insurance” clause. Judgment was accordingly entered that plaintiff recover the $6,600 from Norwich and for St. Paul against Northwest and Norwich for costs; that Northwest recover its costs of “defending the Complaint.” Norwich, alone, appeals from the judgment, asserting the evidence is insufficient to support the judgment that it had an insurance contract with plaintiff and in any case plaintiff had no interest in the controversy because St. Paul rather than plaintiff had paid the $6,600 Kuhwarth settlement.
It is undisputed that the Kuhwarth settlement was fair and reasonable. St. Paul alone defended plaintiff in the actions and negotiated the settlement. The policy of each of the three insurers, Norwich, Northwest and St. Paul, is in an amount more than sufficient to pay the settlement. The court found that all three insurance companies were notified of the Kuhwarth accident. When the Kuhwarth settlement was made, St. Paul paid plaintiff the amount thereof and plaintiff obtained a cashier’s check for the balance which was paid to the Kuhwarths’ representatives, and a loan agreement was made between St. Paul and plaintiff under which plaintiff was to pay the $6,600 if and when he recovered it from the other alleged insurers.
NorwicU asserts tiian there was no evidence that there was an insurance contract between it and plaintiff because the policy was not delivered to plaintiff nor accepted by him; that there was no meeting of minds. Plaintiff testified that at the
The uncontradicted testimony of Hazel Reed, the office manager of Williams Insurance Center, Norwich’s agent, is in harmony with plaintiff’s testimony and shows that Williams had been handling plaintiff’s automobile insurance and had placed a Northwest policy for him which expired on June 1, 1951; that although they were told by plaintiff prior to June 1st that he was placing his insurance elsewhere and they had no request for insurance from plaintiff, they ordered Norwich and Northwest policies for plaintiff hoping to keep his business. When the Norwich policy arrived, they attempted to deliver it to plaintiff and to his bank which held a loan on his equipment but both refused the policy, plaintiff stating he had obtained insurance elsewhere; that being unable to deliver the policy they returned it to Norwich.
Plaintiff does not question this evidence but calls our attention to the following facts in the record: That at Williams’ request Norwich issued, that is, executed, a policy to plaintiff to run from June 1, 1951, to June 1, 1952, and sent it to Williams; it also filed a notice with the state Public Utilities Commission that as required by the Public Utilities Code, it had insured plaintiff for the period in question. Norwich cancelled the policy in June after the accident, and on June 7, 1951, so advised the Public Utilities Commission, to be effective on June 26, 1951. On April 11, 1952, Williams sent a bill to plaintiff on a Norwich form for premium for the policy from June 1, 1951 to June 24, 1951, and plaintiff paid the bill.
Accepting this undisputed evidence, there is no basis for liability under the Norwich policy where the premium was paid long after the loss (the accident) and St. Paul was negotiating a settlement of the claim arising out of the accident. It is said in Hargett v. Gulf Ins. Co., 12 Cal.App.2d 449 , 457
“The contract of insurance is purely a personal contract between the insured and the insurance company. 32 C.J. 1092, § 175 ; 14 R.C.L. 1365, § 535 ; John Weis, Inc. v. Notie Reed, 22 Tenn.App. 90 [ 118 S.W.2d 677 , 682] ; Hackney Co. v. Wood, 3 Tenn.App. 421 .
“ 'The assent of insured obtaining a fire policy from one insurer to a policy from another insurer as a substitute for the first policy is essential to the existence of a completed contract evidenced by the second policy, and, where such assent is not procured until after [a loss], the second insurer is
Reference is made to a letter written by counsel for Norwich on June 19, 1952. That is of no aid, for even though it stated that notice was given to the Public Utilities Commission by Norwich, it also stated that Norwich had issued no policy to plaintiff, but it was “collaborating” with St. Paul, which was plaintiff’s insurer.
Cases such as Hill v. Industrial Acc. Com., 10 Cal.App.2d 178 [ 51 P.2d 1126 ], cited by plaintiff concerning the effect of the sending of a policy by the company to its agent and the payment of premium did not involve a situation such as we have here where plaintiff never ordered any insurance, informed the insurance agent he did not want any insurance and the payment of premium was made long after the loss and another insurer was actively handling the case for the insured.
Inasmuch as the judgment against Norwich must be reversed for insufficiency of the evidence to show that it had insured plaintiff and only Norwich appeals, the question arises as to the disposition or effect on the remainder of the judgment. As heretofore stated the court found that plaintiff was insured by Norwich, Northwest and St. Paul but that only Norwich was liable because the policies of Northwest and St. Paul were to pay any loss over and above that covered by other insurance.[1] Since by reason of the reversal as to Norwich there is not other insurance insofar as Norwich would be the other insurance carrier, the basis for the judgment exonerating Northwest and St. Paul falls. This would mean that the question on retrial would be, which was liable of those two for the whole loss or some portion thereof.[2] It must therefore follow that the portion of the judgment in favor of Northwest and St. Paul will have to be reversed even though plaintiff did not appeal, because the legal basis for such judgment is gone by the reversal. The judgment as to them on that basis is so interwoven and dependent on
1 Northwest’s policy says if there is other valid insurance the policy shall he void, except to the extent the limits of the policy are in excess of the limits in the other insurance in which ease the excess is covered. St. Paul’s policy says no insuring agreement thereof shall apply to any loss if the insured has other insurance except as respects any excess beyond the amount which would have been payable under the other insurance.
2 This is assuming that no better case could be made than has been made to show plaintiff: was insured with Norwich.
It may be mentioned that the evidence is probably insufficient to show that Northwest insured plaintiff because it is substantially the same as that with respect to Norwich but that is a matter which may be determined on retrial. It is unnecessary to consider Norwich’s objection that plaintiff does not have a standing to sue because of its claim that he was paid by St. Paul and the “loan” arrangement whereby plaintiff agreed to repay the settlement money to St. Paul if it recovered from the other insurers, was not a true loan. Since the judgment must be reversed the matter is one subject for determination on a retrial, and in this connection it should be observed that all the parties are before the court for a determination of the amount if any to be borne by each insurer. (See Fidelity etc. Co. v. Fireman’s F. I. Co., 38 Cal.App.2d 1 [ 100 P.2d 364 ] ; discussion and cases collected, 5 Stan.L.Rev. 147 .)
The judgment in favor of the Royal Indemnity Company is affirmed. The remaining portion of the judgment is reversed.
Gibson, C. J., Shenk, J., Traynor, J., Schauer, J., Spence, J., and McComb, J., concurred.
The petition of respondents Stephen C. Vyn and St. Paul Mercury Indemnity Co. for a rehearing was denied October 31, 1956.
Cases cited
- Hargett v. Gulf Insurance 12 Cal.App.2d 449 at 457 p. 92
- Hill v. Industrial Accident Commission 10 Cal.App.2d 178 p. 95
- American Enterprise, Inc. v. Van Winkle 39 Cal.2d 210 p. 96
- Fidelity & Casualty Co. v. Fireman's Fund Indemnity Co. 38 Cal.App.2d 1 p. 96