Majority
Plaintiff brought separate ¡actions upon three policies of fire insurance, and upon a trial ifi which the actions were consolidated, recovered judgment for the amount of each policy. Defendants Gulf Insurance Company, Firemen’s Insurance Company and Monarch Insurance Company appeal from separate judgments entered against them.
The insured property which was destroyed by fire consisted of certain incubators, which were separately insured by the defendant companies under separate policies, which provided that the insurer would not be liable for loss or damage to any of the insured property while encumbered by chattel mortgage unless written consent of the insurer was endorsed thereon or attached thereto. At the. time the policies were issued the property was not encumbered by chattel mortgage, but at a later date it was so encumbered to Farmers and Merchants Bank of Watts. Plaintiff, while admitting his failure to procure written assent of the companies to the chattel mortgage, relies upon alleged waivers of the provisions which required written consent. The court found in each cape that before and at the time the chattel mortgage was given, plaintiff gave notice to the insuring company of the execution of the mortgage and that each company had knowledge thereof and failed, refused and neglected to make any endorsement with respect to said mortgage on plaintiff’s policy of insurance. Upon these findings the court held the companies had waived compliance with said provisions of the policies^ The sufficiency of the evidence to support these findings is chal-' lenged by appellants.
One E. H. Rose was an insurance agent at Watts. The policies in- question were procured through him and the premiums were paid to him. Premiums upon the Firemen’s and Gulf policies were paid before the property was destroyed. The premium on the Monarch policy was paid to Rose shortly after the fire and was transmitted by him to an agent at Alhambra, California, who had countersigned thé policy. The note and chattel mortgage were executed and delivered on or about January 21, 1933, long after the policies were issued. On January 13, 1933, the agent Rose, having come to ¡plaintiff’s office upon business other than that of defendant com-
The foregoing is all of the evidence which tends in any manner to support the findings in question. This evidence was not sufficient to warrant the findings. Plaintiff’s evidence did not establish notice to the companies of the execution of the mortgage. It was not shown that Rose received information as to the chattel mortgage within the scope of his authority as agent for any of the defendant companies. The court found inferentially but not directly that Rose received the information within the scope of his authority. It appears that Rose held a license authorizing him to act as agent for each company and that he received his appointments, as agent, through others who were the general agents of the companies in the district. No evidence was introduced as to any written authority conferred upon Rose by any of the companies or by any of their general agents. He appears to have acted as a mere local agent who accepted applications for insurance, procured the issuance of policies, delivered them and collected premiums thereon. He was not a. general agent, which is to say that he did not possess general powers to effect contracts of insurance, to fix rates of premiums, to consent to changes, to make endorsements or to cancel policies. As a local agent he was without power to consent to the chattel mortgage and thereby continue the insurance in force notwithstanding the mortgage. (Sharman v. Continental Ins. Co., 167 Cal. 117 [ 138 Pac. 708 , 52 L. R. A. (N. S.) 670 ]; Madsen v. Maryland Casualty Co., 168 Cal. 204 [ 142 Pac. 51 ].) Neither actual nor ostensible authority to make or to waive endorsements upon the policies was shown. There was no evidence that Rose had ever made endorsements upon policies or waived the conditions of policies with reference thereto. He did not represent himself as having such authority nor was there evidence that plaintiff believed him to
Even though it had been established that Rose was a general agent, the evidence would still be insufficient tjo show that the companies waived compliance with the conditions of the policies. By the terms of the policies no officer or agent had authority to waive any provision or condition of the policies except by writing endorsed thereon or attached thereto. These provisions may not be ignored. They are valid and must be given effect the same as any other provisions. (Fidelity & Casualty Co. v. Fresno Flume etc. Co., 161 Cal. 466 [ 119 Pac. 646 , 37 L. R. A. (N. S.) 322 ]; Westerfeld v. New York Life Ins. Co., 129 Cal. 68 [ 58 Pac. 92 , 61 Pac. 667 ]; Iverson v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 151 Cal. 746 [ 91 Pac. 609 , 13 L. R. A. (N. S.) 866 ]; Madsen v. Maryland Casualty Co., supra.) The rule relied upon by plaintiff and supported by the great weight of authority is, that after a breach has occurred which would avoid or forfeit a policy, unless consented to by the company and a proper officer has knowledge thereof and with such knowledge the company leads the assured to rely upon his policy as a valid policy, it wjll not be heard to allege such breach against a claim for 'subsequent loss occurring at a time when, from the conduct of the company, the assured had every right to believe that his property was protected by the policy. (Arnold v. American Ins. Co., 148 Cal. 660 [ 84 Pac. 182 , 25 L. R. A. (N. S.) 6 ]; West Coast Lumber Co v. State Inv. & Ins. Co., 98 Cal. 502 [ 33 Pac. 258 ]; Murray v. Home Benefit Life Assn., 90 Cal. 402 [ 27 Pac. 309 , 25 Am. St. Rep. 133 ]; Fishbeck v. Phenix Ins. Co., 54 Cal. 422 ; Farrar v. Policy Holders Life Ins. Assn., 3 Cal. App. (2d) 87 [ 39 Pac. (2d) 229 ].) The principle
Upon the giving of the chattel mortgage the policies did not become void nor were they forfeited. There was a mere suspension of insurance coverage as to such of the insured property as was encumbered by the chattel mortgage and while it was so encumbered. This suspension was temporary and the coverage would have been restored upon satisfaction of the debt or release of the property from the lien and it would have been restored as to any portion of the property that might have been released from the lien. The policy itself remained in force. There was no obligation on the part of the companies to return any of the premiums; in fact the policies provided that suspension of insurance would not entitle the assured to the return of any part of the premiums, nor were the companies under the duty of giving notice to the assured that the insurance had been suspended. He must be presumed to have known that. The circumstances were not such as to call upon the companies or any agent of the companies to take any action whatever of their own, nor were they under the duty to suggest to plaintiff any action which he should take in the premises. The essential elements of estoppel are entirely wanting. In remaining silent and retaining the premiums paid, the companies did not fail in any duty they owed the assured under the contracts or otherwise.
The facts of this case bring it directly within the holding of the Supreme Court in Steil v. Sun Ins. Office, 171 Cal. 795 [ 155 Pac. 72 ], In that case goods were insured while contained in the Chronicle building and not. elsewhere. Some of them were removed to another building, thus suspending the insurance as to the removed portion, without annulling the policy. It was said as to this situation: “There being
No distinction may be drawn between temporary suspension of insurance by reason of the removal of the assured goods, and a temporary suspension by reason of the encumbrance of the property by chattel mortgage. In neither case is the policy terminated or avoided. If the plaintiff had jlesired to have the insurance continue, notwithstanding the chattel mortgage, it was his duty to notify the companies of the mortgage, to request the endorsements of his policies, and to exact some assurance that endorsements would be made or that the insurance would be continued in force without them. The evidence fails to show that plaintiff met any of these requirements.
The fact that the premium was paid to and accepted by the Monarch company within a few days after the fire and was not returned in whole or in part to plaintiff is not important and has no tendency to affect the rights of that company in the present litigation. The rights of the parties were fixed at the time of the loss. The insurance w¡as not then in force but it had been in force before the chattel mortgage was given, and the company was entitled to the premium. (Civ. Code, secs. 2616 and 2618, then in force; Gilmore v.
As to the cases of the Gulf company and Monarch company a question of jurisdiction is involved. Each policy was for $2,000 and the prayer of each complaint was for that sum, together with interest at seven per cent per annum from March 23, 1933, the date proofs of loss were presented to the companies. If the demands for interest are to be disregarded, then the municipal court had exclusive jurisdiction of each of these actions under the provisions of section 89 of the Code of Civil Procedure, which fix the jurisdiction of the municipal court at demands of $2,000 or less, exclusive of interest, or where the value of the property in controversy is $2,000 or less. It is contended by plaintiff that the demands for interest must be included because compensation for the detention of money where not allowed by statute can be allowed as damages but not as interest. This theory, while supported by authorities cited from other jurisdictions, cannot be held applicable to the present case in view of the statutory law of this state. Interest is defined by section 1915 of the Civil Code as follows: “Interest is the compensation allowed by law or fixed by the parties for the use, or forbearance, or detention of money." Demands falling within this definition must be excluded in determining questions of
While it was alleged in the complaint in each of these actions that the value of the property destroyed was largely in excess of $2,000, and that fact was denied, nevertheless the issue to be tried related entirely to the amount of the loss and it therefore cannot be said that property jof the value of more than $2,000 was in controversy. The municipal court had exclusive jurisdiction of the actions against Gulf company and Monarch company and they were improperly brought in the superior court.
The judgments are reversed as to all of the appellant companies.
Doran, J., concurred.
Houser, P. J., concurred in the judgment.
Cases cited
- Sharman v. Continental Insurance 167 Cal. 117 p. 453
- Madsen v. Maryland Cas. Co. of Baltimore 168 Cal. 204 p. 453
- Fid. & Cas. Co. of N.Y. v. Fresno Flume & Irrigation Co. 161 Cal. 466 p. 454
- Westerfeld v. New York Life Insurance 129 Cal. 68 p. 454
- Iverson v. Metro. Life Ins. Co. 151 Cal. 746 p. 454
- Arnold v. Am. Ins. Co. 148 Cal. 660 p. 454
- West Coast Lumber Co. v. State Investment & Insurance 98 Cal. 502 p. 454
- Murray v. Home Benefit Life Ass'n 90 Cal. 402 p. 454
- Fishbeck v. Phenix Ins. Co. 54 Cal. 422 p. 454
- Steil v. Sun Insurance Office 171 Cal. 795 p. 455
- Gilmore v. Eureka Casualty Co. 123 Cal. App. 20 p. 457
- Coulter v. Howard 113 Cal. App. 208 p. 458
- Pacific Coast Adjustment Bureau v. Indemnity Insurance 115 Cal. App. 583 p. 458
- Larson v. Du Bain 135 Cal. App. 433 p. 458