Majority
The beneficiary, named in a policy of accident insurance, received a verdict holding the insurer liable in the amount of the policy for her husband’s death. From the judgment entered thereon, the latter appeals, urging as reasons for reversal: that a juror’s prejudice denied it a fair and impartial trial; that the evidence establishes that the cause of death was a risk not covered by the policy, and excepted therefrom; and that the jury was erroneously instructed.
To substantiate its claim of a juror’s prejudice, appellant relies upon the affidavits of the jury’s foreman and its attorney, filed in support of its motion for a new trial. Since the only order relative to that motion was its dismissal, the trial court did not pass upon the question of prejudice and therefore there is no order, relative thereto, to be here reviewed. (Code Civ. Proc., sec. 956.) Assuming that the question is properly presented, the statutory prohibition against a juror’s impeachment of the verdict, prevents consideration of either the foreman’s affidavit (Metcalf v.
Appellant denies liability because of the insured’s alleged misrepresentation of his occupation as police patrolman in his application, which, by the terms of the policy, was incorporated therein. The evidence as to the title of his occupation, at the date of the application, is conflicting. The general manager of the civil service department, a police clerk and the chief deputy comptroller, all of the city of Los Angeles, each testified that, at that time, the insured received the pay of a motorcycle officer. A former captain of detectives testified that the insured then worked as a detective. Respondent, his surviving wife, testified that his occupation then was a patrolman. There is no evidence as to whether these different titles designated different positions and, if so, whether such positions differed as to duties. The burden of proof as to these matters rested upon appellant. (Ogilvie v. Aetna Life Ins. Co., 189 Cal. 406 [ 26 A. L. R. 116 , 209 Pac. 26 ]; Everett v. Standard Acc. Ins. Co., 45 Cal. App. 332 [ 187 Pac. 996 ].) Conceding these titles designated different positions, the conflicting testimony presented an issue of fact as to what then was the insured’s occupation, which an instruction properly left to the jury’s determination.
The policy insured against “the effects resulting exclusively . . . from bodily injury sustained by the Insured . . . (1) solely through . . . accidental means ... (2) or in consequence of being struck”. It excepted (1) “the result of the intentional act of the Insured . . . ; (2) any loss contributed to or caused by . . . exposure to unneces
Arguing that the speed, application of brakes and the swerving of the motorcycle were each voluntary and intentional acts of the insured and that the presence of the automobile was to be expected, appellant claims that the death did not result from injuries sustained by “accidental means”, but because of the insured’s “intentional acts”. The burden of proving that death resulted from the two specified causes, i. e., the risk covered, rested upon respondent. (Price v. Occidental Life Ins. Co., 169 Cal. 800 [ 147 Pac. 1175 ].) The term “accidental means” has been frequently defined in this state, but it seems not applied to similar facts. “The policy, it will be observed, does not insure against accidental death or injuries, but against injuries effected by accidental means. A differentiation is made, therefore, between the result to the insured and the means which is the operative cause in producing this result. It is not enough that death or injury should be unexpected or unforeseen, but there must be some element of unex
Appellant next claims that since the evidence without contradiction shows that the insured’s head hit the right rear wheel of the stationary automobile, it conclusively establishes that the death was not “in consequence of being struck” by an automobile. The wording of the policy does not warrant appellant’s transposition of the word “automobile” from the next succeeding clause descriptive of another contingency, to this anterior clause. The policy merely requires that the insured be struck without specifying what shall strike. Its argument is based upon the assumption that the verb “strike” requires that both its subject and its object be in motion and that therefore the insured could not have been struck by a stationary automobile. The same argument is the basis of its criticism of the court’s addition of the italicized phrase to its following requested instruction: “You are instructed that the verb ‘struck’ comes from the verb ‘strike’ which means to give a blow to; to smite; to dash; to stamp with a stroke or blow; to come in collision with.” The added phrase is one of the definitions of the verb “strike” given by Webster’s Standard Dictionary. “Collision means a striking together; violent contact; the act of colliding, Standard Dictionary. In simple terms it is a striking together of two objects. Both may or may not be moving. One may be stationary.” (Polstein v. Pacific Fire Ins. Co., 122 Misc. Rep. 194 [ 203 N. Y. Supp. 362 ].) The word “collision” has been more commonly used, first in marine insurance and more recently m automobile accident insurance, to cover the same contingency as is described in the present policy by the phrase “being struck”. The great weight of authority in cases involving the latter policies is to the effect that there can be a collision between a moving and a stationary ■ object. (Universal Service Co. v. American Ins. Co., 213 Mich. 523 [ 14 A. L. R. 183 , 181 N. W. 1007 ]; Harris v. American Casualty Co., 83 N. J. L. 641 [Ann. Cas. 1914B, 846, 43
In considering appellant’s- claim that the evidence establishes, as a matter of law, that insured’s death was “contributed to or caused by voluntary exposure to unnecessary danger” and occurred “while violating the law”, it must be remembered that these perils were excepted risks as to which appellant had the burden of proof. (Mattson v. Maryland Casualty Co., 100 Cal. App. 96 [ 279 Pac. 1045 ].) “Where defendant relies on the fact that insured came to his death through some means which are excepted from the risk, such defense should be specially pleaded,” (1 C. J. 493). The answer does not contain such special defenses, and so it may well be doubted whether any issue was tendered relative thereto..
Violation of any provision of California Vehicle Act (Stats. 1923, p. 517 as amended by Stats, 1925, p. 398, in effect at the time of the accident) “ ‘is presumptively an act of negligence and conclusively so until rebutted by evidence that it was justifiable or excusable under the circumstances’ ”. (Berkovitz v. American River Gravel Co., 191 Cal. 195 , 199 [ 215 Pac. 675 , 677].) All witnesses agree that, when two hundred feet distant from point of collision, the insured was driving in the center of street in violation of section 122 of the act. While crossing the intersection immediately before the impact, he may not have been violating this section. Since there was no evidence that the intersection was obstructed, the limit of speed was thirty-five miles per hour (sec. 113). One witness testified that the insured’s speed, when two hundred feet distant from point of impact, was fifty miles per hour and another fixed it at between thirty and thirty-five miles per hour, but no witness estimated such speed after his brakes were applied. Whether either violation was a proximate cause of the accident was a question of fact to be decided by the jury. (Dougherty v. Ellingson, 97 Cal. App. 87 [ 275 Pac. 456 ].)
Since section 153 of the act makes any violation of its provisions a misdemeanor, any such violation by deceased which proximately contributed to his death would be within the exception, but whether he did so violate the statute or whether such violation was a proximate cause of his death were questions of fact for the.jury. (Rowe v. United Commercial Travelers, supra; 1 C. J. 511.) The court properly refused appellant’s requested instruction to the effect that, if the insured was riding at a speed of fifty to sixty miles, he was violating the law and defendant was not liable, because it ignored the essential element of proximate cause. “The proposed instruction was properly refused for the reason that it is indefinite as to place or location at which it might be inferred that the” motorcycle “was being operated”. (Dawson v. San Diego Elec. Ry. Co., 82 Cal. App. 141 , 149 [ 255 Pac. 215 , 218].) Appellant argues further that even if the instruction was properly refused, yet the court, on its own motion, should have instructed on the effect of this exception and, since there was no instruction given as to this matter, the judgment must be reversed. As above pointed out, the exception was a matter of affirmative defense which appellant should have but did not plead. "Since the pleadings did not raise any issue as to the insured’s death “while violating the law”, the court properly failed to instruct upon this issue. (Gulf of California Nav. Co. v. Investment Co., 70 Cal. 586 [ 12 Pac. 473 ]; Marriner v. Dennison, 78 Cal.
Finding no error in the record, the judgment is affirmed.
Tyler, P. J., and Cashin, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Attkisson v. Reynolds 94 Cal. App. 185 p. 311
- Griffin v. Kent 206 Cal. 263 p. 311
- Sterling Corp. v. Superior Court 207 Cal. 370 p. 311
- Ritter v. Ritter 208 Cal. 27 p. 311
- Metcalf v. Romano 83 Cal. App. 508 p. 312
- Kimic v. San Jose-Los Gatos Interurban Ry. 156 Cal. 379 p. 312
- People v. Galloway 202 Cal. 81 p. 312
- Spingola v. Dona 96 Cal. App. 204 p. 312
- Ogilvie v. Aetna Life Insurance 189 Cal. 406 p. 312
- Everett v. Standard Accident Insurance 45 Cal. App. 332 p. 312
- Price v. Occidental Life Ins. Co. 169 Cal. 800 p. 313
- Rock v. Travelers' Insurance Co. 172 Cal. 462 at 465 p. 314
- Olinsky v. Ry. Mail Ass'n 182 Cal. 669 at 672 p. 314
- Harloe v. California State Life Insurance 206 Cal. 141 at 142 p. 314
- Horton v. Travelers Insurance 45 Cal. App. 462 at 466 p. 314
- Moore v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. of New York 203 Cal. 465 at 473 p. 314
- Mattson v. Maryland Casualty Co. 100 Cal. App. 96 p. 317
- Berkovitz v. American River Gravel Co. 191 Cal. 195 at 199 p. 317
- Dougherty v. Ellingson 97 Cal. App. 87 p. 317
- De Greayer v. Fidelity & Casualty Co. 6 Cal. Unrep. 335 at 340 p. 318
- Dawson v. San Diego Electric Railway Co. 82 Cal. App. 141 at 149 p. 318
- Gulf of California Navigation & Express Co. v. State Investment & Insurance 70 Cal. 586 p. 318
- Peters v. McKay & Co. 136 Cal. 73 p. 319
- De Gottardi v. Donati 155 Cal. 109 p. 319
- McKeon v. Lissner 193 Cal. 297 p. 319
- California Credit & Collection Corp. v. Brandlin 75 Cal. App. 609 p. 319