Majority
Headnote
M Accident Insurance — Means Occasioning Death — Action on Policy—Sufficiency of Complaint.—In an action upon an accident insurance policy a complaint is sufficient as against a general demurrer where, adopting the language of the policy, it avers in . general terms that the insured met his death from bodily injuries effected through “external, violent and accidental means,” and that Ms death was occasioned by such means alone, without averring the particular facts and circumstances attending the death Or injury.This is an action upon an accident insurance policy executed by defendant to plaintiff’s deceased husband, George Ray Horton, whereby he was insured against death “from bodily injuries, effected directly and independently of all other causes, through external, violent and accidental means.” A general demurrer to the complaint was sustained by the court below; from the judgment thereupon entered, plaintiff has taken this appeal.
The question presented is: Do the facts alleged in the complaint show that the insured died from bodily injuries affected solely through “external, violent and accidental means”? The complaint alleges the circumstances attending the death of the insured as follows: “On or about December 8, 1914, at Los Angeles, California, and while said accident insurance policy was in force, said George Ray Horton received bodily injuries, effected directly and independently of all other causes, through external, violent,
[1] As against a general demurrer, a complaint is sufficient where, adopting the language of the policy, it avers in general terms that the insured met his death from bodily injuries effected directly through “external, violent, and accidental means,” and that his death was occasioned by such means alone, without averring the particular facts and circumstances attending the death or injury, as plaintiff has done in this case. (Richards v. Travelers’ Ins. Co., 89 Cal. 170 , [ 23 Am. St. Rep. 455 , 26 Pac. 762 ]; 1 C. J. 489.) [2] It is, it is true, the general rule that specific averments must be given precedence over general averments, inasmuch as the general allegations are deemed explained, limited, and controlled by the specific allegations; but this is true only where there is an inconsistency between the general and specific averments. In the absence of any inconsistency, the general averments, if necessary, may be looked to to complete the essentials of a cause of action. [3] If, in the instant case, the general allegations alone be looked to, the complaint unquestionably alleges a cause of action (Richards v. Travelers’ Ins. Co., supra), and we think the specific averments are entirely consistent with the general averments and with the statement of a cause of action.
The ■ circumstances attending the death of the insured, as disclosed by the complaint, appear to be substantially these: The death was the result of blood poisoning as the immediate cause; this blood poisoning was caused by the introduction of virulent germs into the body of the insured; these germs were on dental instruments; the infected dental
Respondent contends that there can be no recovery where the injury or death is the result of the voluntary act of the insured, although such result may be entirely unexpected and undesigned. [4] Without doubt, there can be no recovery if the insured does a voluntary act the natural, usual, and to-be-expected result of which is to bring injury upon himself. An injury or death so occurring is not produced by “.accidental means” in any sense of the word, legal or colloquial. (Lickleider v. Iowa State Traveling Men’s Assn., 184 Iowa, 423 , [ 3 A. L. R. 1295 , 166 N. W. 363 , 168 N. W. 884 ].) [5] Where, as here, the policy does -not insure against accidental death or accidental injuries, but against death or injuries effected by accidental means, it is not enough that the death or injury should be unexpected or unforeseen; there must be something of an unexpected or unforeseen character in the means through which the injury was sustained or the death produced. Admittedly, this is the established rule in this state. (Rock v. Travelers’ Ins. Co., 172 Cal. 462 , [L. R. A. 1916D, 1196, 156 Pac. 1029 ].) But, though this unquestionably is the law, it is not applicable to the facts as alleged in the complaint now under consideration. Here, according to the complaint, the element of unexpectedness was in the preceding act or means which led to the death, namely, the use of instruments with virulent germs thereon, the presence of the germs being wholly unsuspected—and justly so, perhaps, for it is common knowledge that in modern surgery great pains are usually taken to avoid using unsterilized instruments,. though, doubtless, whether this is the common experience is a question of fact for the jury.
In Western Com. Travelers’ Assn. v. Smith, 85 Fed. 401 , [ 40 L. R. A. 653 , 29 C. C. A. 223 ],' a leading case, it is said that the term “accidental means” is descriptive of “means which produce effects which are not their usual and probable consequences.” See, also, Lickleider v. Travel
[6] The introduction of germs into decedent’s system, and his resultant death, was not only an unexpected, unforeseen, unusual, and improbable consequence, but the means through which the death was produced, i. e., the dental instruments, contained something of an unexpected and unforeseen character, namely, the disease-producing germs. For this reason, while we quite agree with respondent’s counsel when they say that the means must be accidental, and that a mere accidental result would not suffice under the language of this policy, nevertheless we are of the opinion that the unintentional introduction into the insured’s system of virulent germs contained on what he supposed were clean and aseptic instruments, constituted “accidental means,” within the meaning of the policy. In other words, it may well be that the alleged “accidental” feature of the case was an accidental and unsuspected infection of the dental instruments, or an accidental use by the dentist of the wrong instruments, as, for instance, the use of infected instruments accidentally and unintentionally commingled with his sterilized. instruments or accidentally placed where none but his sterilized instruments were usually kept.
The ease is clearly within the principle of those cases where it is held that if one drinks from a glass containing poison under the supposition that it is a glass of pure water, and death ensues, the death is caused by “external, violent and accidental means. ’ ’ In support of this principle
The above cases, while not involving the identical facts here presented, lay down the principle which must govern. Applying the rules there announced, we must hold that the facts alleged in this complaint show that the insured’s death was the result of “accidental means,” as that term is used in the policy.
To support its theory, respondent has cited a large number of cases. These cases are so numerous that any attempt to notice them in detail would unduly prolong this already too extended opinion. Suffice it to say that every ease relied on by respondent can readily be differentiated from this. Of the cases that respondent relies upon, the one which, in its facts, most closely approaches this is, we believe, the case of Smith v. Travelers’ Ins. Co., 219 Mass. 147 , [L. R. A. 1915B, 872, 106 N. E. 607 ], There the insured, who was affected with nasal catarrh, was in the habit of using a nasal douche. On one occasion, while using the instrument, he “snuffed” harder than usual, with the result that streptococci, germs frequently found in the outer nose, were carried from the nostrils through the Eustachian tube in the middle ear, and thence penetrated the brain, resulting in death from spinal meningitis. There was a hole or perforation in the mastoid bone through which the germ could pass from the ear into the brain. This, the opinion states, is a most unusual condition, found only in about one out of every one thousand skulls. The court held that there was nothing accidental in the inhalation; that, while the deceased “snuffed” harder than he had formerly done, he intended to do so, and the external act was what he proposed; that, though the result was unexpected, the means employed was not, and under such a policy recovery can be had only when the means employed is accidental. In that case the presence of the germs in a place where they are harmless, the outer nose, and the existence of the perforation in the mastoid bone, were not operating causes, but, as the Massachusetts court says, were internal “conditions.” The only operating cause was the too violent
Not only was the insured’s death due to “accidental” means, but the means was “external and violent,” within the meaning of those words as used in the policy. [7] The means is external when the cause of the injury or death is external to the person, though it acts internally. “The insurance is not, by the first clause quoted, limited to an external effect, nor to one beginning at the surface. The accidental operation of external means may be wholly internal.” (Miller v. Fidelity & Cas. Co., 97 Fed. 836 .) Plere the disease-producing germs were introduced into decedent’s system from without; therefore the means or cause of the death was an external cause. [8] The means not only was external, it was “violent,” within the meaning of the policy. The degree of violence is not a controlling consideration. The term “violent” signifies merely that the external cause is efficient in producing a harmful result. “It is not necessary that it shall be violent in the sense of breaking tissues or otherwise physically and visibly affecting the body.” (Vance on Insurance, p. 569.) The root meaning of the' word “violent” is force. But any
[9] It is' contended by respondent that, according to the allegations of the complaint, the insured died of a disease, namely, blood poisoning. Though blood poisoning may have been the immediate cause of the death, it salso appears from the complaint, in substance and effect, that the death was effected through external, violent, and accidental means, independently of all other causes, and the blood poisoning was but the result of such external, violent, and accidental means. Blood poisoning, or septicaemia, is, it is true, a disease. But even though disease be the immediate cause of the death, nevertheless, where, as here, it can be seen from the facts, as alleged, that the disease is a mere link in the chain of causation between the accidental means and the death which it produces, it is not an intervening and independent cause, and the death must be regarded as due to the accidental means as the causa causans. In short, if it can be shown that the original cause to which the disease can be traced was an “accidental means,” then, not the disease, but the original accidental means will be deemed to be the true cause of the death. “If the accidental injury
Respondent has cited a number of “sunstroke” cases. Among others, Sinclair v. Insurance Co., 3 El. & El. 478, and Dozier v. Fidelity & Cas. Co., 46 Fed. 446 , [ 13 L. R. A. 114 ], Sunstroke is a disease. It is a disease that not unusually follows from exposure to excessive heat. One who voluntarily exposes himself to the atmospheric conditions that ordinarily cause sunstroke cannot claim that his condition is due to accident or to accidental means. Says Chief Justice Coekburn in the Sinclair case: “ ... If, from the effects of ordinary exposure to the elements, such as is common in the course of navigation, a mariner should catch cold and die, such death would not be accidental; although if, being obliged by wreck or other disaster to quit the ship and take to the sea in an open boat, he remained exposed to wind and cold for a time, and death ensued therefrom, the death might properly be held to be the result of accident.” A like distinction is made in Northwest etc. Assn. v. London etc. Co., 10 Man. L. Rep. 537. There the insured froze to death on a prairie in consequence of the accidental breaking down of a conveyance, together with a sudden and unexpected change in the weather to great severity; and it was held that the death was caused by external, violent, and accidental means. Sunstroke does not, as is commonly supposed, come like a stroke of lightning from a piercing ray of the sun. It is a pathological condition. The conditions under which the human system may be affected by it belong to natural causes which may reasonably be anticipated, as they come not by chance. It is a result that ordinarily and naturally follows from a known cause; and
[10] There is a marked distinction between a voluntary act and a voluntary exposure to danger. The act done may be voluntary, but it cannot imply a voluntary exposure to the danger that turns out to be the real efficient cause of the death or injury, unless the danger is known and realized. Says the court in Burkhard v. Travelers’ Ins. Co., 102 Pa. St. 267 , [ 48 Am. Rep. 205 ] : “ ... a great distinction exists between a voluntary act and a voluntary exposure to danger. Hidden danger may exist; yet the exposure thereto without any knowledge of the danger does not constitute a voluntary exposure to it. The approach to an unknown and unexpected danger does not make the act a voluntary exposure thereto. . . . The act may be, voluntary, yet the exposure involuntary. The danger being unknown, the injury is accidental.” A good illustration of a case of hidden danger where the insured was held entitled to recover, notwithstanding his own voluntary act exposed him to the danger, is afforded by the case of Lovelace v. Travelers’ Protective Assn., 126 Mo. 104 , [ 47 Am. St. Rep. 638 , 30 L. R. A. 209 , 28 S. W. 877 ], Lovelace, the insured, was shot by a drunken and boisterous man whom he was attempting to eject from a hotel office. The court held that the death of Lovelace was an accident, and not a risk voluntarily assumed,. inasmuch as he had made the attempt to eject the other by force without knowing that the other was armed. So here, the danger that lurked in the dental instruments was not known to the insured; it was a hidden danger, to which the insured exposed himself without any knowledge of its dangerous character and without reason to suspect its existence. Indeed, the danger was not known to anyone; nor, accord
For these reasons we think the complaint was sufficient to repel the defendant’s demurrer, and that the judgment should be reversed, with directions to overrule the demurrer and grant defendant leave to answer, should it be so advised. It is so ordered.
Sloane, J., and Thomas, J., concurred.
A petition to have the cause heard in the supreme court, after judgment in the district court of appeal, was denied by the supreme court on March 11, 1920.
All the Justices, except Olney, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Richards v. Travelers Insurance Co. 89 Cal. 170 p. 465
- Rock v. Travelers' Insurance Co. 172 Cal. 462 p. 466
- Paul v. Travelers' Insurance 112 N. Y. 472 p. 469
- Clarke v. New Amsterdam Casualty Co. 180 Cal. 76 p. 472
- Bailey v. Interstate Casualty Co. 8 App. Div. 127 p. 472