Majority
This is an action to recover upon a benefit certificate issued by the defendant on the life of Theresa Weiss. Plaintiff had judgment from which the defendant appeals. The benefit certificate, dated February 18, 1930, and delivered to Mrs. Weiss, was admitted in evidence ; also a copy of her application dated February 18, 1930, and proof of death of insured, dated the eleventh day of October, 1930. It is conceded by counsel that the signatures on the several documents are true and correct and that all assessments and dues required to be paid under the policy had been paid. Defendant, by its answer, sets up an affirmative defense based upon the provision set forth in the application for the certificate and the conditions thereto affixed, and particularly averred that the insured warranted the answers made by her in the application as to her health. Defendant further alleges that each of said statements were false and were known by the insured to be false. The trial court found in favor of the plaintiff on his complaint and found further: “That it is true that endorsed on the back of said policy of insurance, is a copy of the application for membership, signed by the said Theresa Weiss; that the said Theresa Weiss, at the time of the signing of said application, was an illiterate person, unable to either read or write. That said application was not read
And the court further finds: “That it is true that on or about the twenty-sixth day of September, 1930, the said Theresa Weiss died from natural causes and not by suicide; that plaintiff made due proof of death of the said member to the defendant, and at the time of said death, the said Theresa Weiss was in good standing under the terms of said policy and she had paid all sums due thereunder by her; and that she made no false statements, misrepresentations or concealment of any material fact in the application for membership, and at the time of her death, there was a sufficient number of policyholders in good standing in defendant’s association, to pay said sum of $1,500.00 upon said death. ’ ’
This disposes of appellant’s contention that the judgment was not supported by the findings of fact.
Appellant next contends that the written statements made by the deceased member in her application for membership in defendant association were warranties upon which the association had a right to rely, and a failure of the warranties invalidated the application and benefit certificate. The defendant association is a mutual benefit association organized under and by virtue of the provisions of sections 450-453 of the Civil Code. The purpose of its organization is as stated in the sections noted: “Pay benefit to the nominee of a deceased member.” Members can be received into the association under written application containing a brief questionnaire designed to elicit from the applicant true information as to the condition of the applicant’s health and general physical condition, both past and present, as related to be on the date of the application. This application is an essential and vital part of the contract between the association and the member.
Appellant contends that the deceased, Theresa Weiss, warranted the Policy Holders Life Insurance Association that the statements and answers to specific questions made in her application for membership in the association were truthful, whereas they were untruthful declarations concerning the matters about which they were made. Appellant cites a number of eases tending to support its contention. However, the cases cited by appellant are not authorities in the case at bar, for the reason that in those
Appellant next contends that the court erred in granting a money judgment to the plaintiff, and claims that under the by-laws and benefit certificate, the beneficiary of the deceased, Theresa Weiss, was not entitled as of right to an absolute money judgment at law, but is entitled only to the pecuniary proceeds of an assessment levied in accordance with the terms of the by-laws upon the surviving members of the association, and cites a number of eases, the facts of which are foreign to the case at bar. In this case the contract between the parties was set forth in the certificate as follows: “This certificate is issued to Theresa Weiss by The Policy Holders Life Insurance Association, a corporation, hereinafter called the Association, subject to the following terms and conditions: . . . The full amount collected on each death assessment shall be placed in the Benefit Fund and can be used only in payment of death claims. The death assessments can only be made upon the death of a Policy Holder in good standing, and then only when death claims have reduced the amount in the Benefit Fund below the sum of one dollar for each member in good standing in the Association. ... It is understood and agreed that should more than the amount necessary to pay a claim be collected from an assessment, the excess above the amount required to pay the death claim for which the assessment was made, shall remain in the Benefit Fund and there accumulate to be used in payment of further or other death claims for which no assessment shall be made.” This provision provides for the general fund, which fund must first be resorted to before an assessment is possible. In the eases cited by appellant, there was no provision for a general benefit fund. The question as to whether or not there is anything in the fund available for payment of this death claim is peculiarly within the knowledge of the appellant. Under the pleadings in this case the question of assessment is not material.
Appellant, in its reply brief, raises another point to the effect that respondent is estopped, by reason of the
For the reasons above stated, the judgment is affirmed.
Barnard, P. J., and Marks, J., concurred.
A petition by appellant to have the cause heard in the Supreme Court, after judgment in the District Court of Appeal, was denied by the Supreme Court on August 7, 1933.
Cases cited
- Pacific Employers Insurance v. Arenbrust, Farahan & Loran 85 Cal. App. 263 p. 536
- Chase v. Sunset Mutual Life Ass'n 101 Cal. App. 625 p. 536
- McGuire v. Hartford Fire Insurance 7 App. Div. 575 p. 538
- Layton v. New York Life Insurance 55 Cal. App. 202 p. 538