Majority
Headnote
1. Trial by Court—Motion for New Trial and for Directing a Verdict.This action was prosecuted to recover upon a policy of insurance issued by defendant, a foreign insurance company, to the plaintiff, on October 1, 1894. The insured property consisted principally of farming implements, grain, hay, and straw. The fire occurred on October 7th following the issue of the policy. It is alleged in the complaint, among other things, that the plaintiff was the only person having an interest in the loss, and entitled to maintain an action for its recovery. This allegation was established by proof. The defendant, by its answer, admits that Miller, who procured the insurance and issued the policy, was its resident agent, and possessed the usual authority of local agents of fire insurance companies in this state, but denies that he had any other or greater authority. The defendant also admits that, through said Miller, it issued its policy, “whereby it did insure the plaintiff against all loss or damage by fire.” Alleges that the property was incumbered, at the time the policy was issued, by chattel mortgages, which rendered the policy void; that Miller informed the plaintiff that, if the defendant knew of the existence of such mortgages, it would refuse to issue a policy, and that such mortgages would void the policy, to all of which the plaintiff assented,—in other words, that the plaintiff agreed to pay his money for a void instrument. Defendant further alleges, in its answer, that the plaintiff fraudulently concealed—and requested Miller to conceal— from it the existence of such mortgages, that Miller did so, and that defendant did not discover the fact until after the fire, and was thereby deceived by the plaintiff and Miller into issuing the policy. No evidence was given in support of these defenses, and the existence of the mortgages was admitted.
The case discloses that at the conclusion of the evidence the defendant moved for a nonsuit, and dismissal of the complaint, which was denied. Plaintiff then moved for the direction of a verdict in his favor, which was granted, under exceptions taken, but defendant did not request that any question of fact" should be submitted
It appears that Miller was empowered—
“To receive proposals for insurance; fix rates of premium; receive moneys; countersign, issue, and renew policies, when duly signed by the president, and attested by the secretary of the company, subject to the rules of the office, and the instructions which you may from time to time receive therefrom.”
The policy contained this clause:
“This entire policy, unless otherwise provided by agreement indorsed hereon or added hereto, shall be void if the subject of insurance be personal property and be or become incumbered by chattel mortgage.” Also: “This policy is made and accepted subject to the foregoing stipulations and conditions, together with such other provisions, agreements, or conditions as may be indorsed hereon or added hereto; and no officer, agent, or other representative of this company shall have power to waive any provision or condition of this policy, except such as, by the terms of this policy, may be the subject' of agreement Indorsed hereon or added hereto; and, as to such provisions, or conditions, no officer, agent, or representative shall have such power,. or be deemed or held to have waived such provisions or conditions, unless such waiver, if any, shall be written upon or attached hereto.”
The'evident meaning of these provisions is that the agent may agree to insure chattel-mortgaged property, provided the evidence of such agreement be in writing, and that such writing be indorsed upon or added to the policy. In other words, the agent may waive the provision that the policy shall be void if the property is incumbered, provided he does so by writing indorsed upon or added to the policy. Miller testified:
“Q. You said you had no authority to issue policies on chattel-mortgaged property? A. I didn’t say so. I issued policies, on-the application of parties, without first reporting to the company. It was a matter of daily pra.ctice. I would issue a policy, and then report the issuance of the policy. I indorsed permits, and reported those after the indorsements were made, without asking the consent of my superior in each case.”
It appears from the evidence that Miller had procured for the plaintiff a policy of insurance in the Aetna Company, upon the same property, or a portion of it, which policy was, in some form
“ ‘All right. All I ask you to do is to take care of these two mortgages. That is all I have got to pay the money for. If they hadn’t asked me, I wouldn’t spend the money to get any .insurance.’ I told him I wanted them put in that policy. I told him about the other chattel mortgages. I didn’t care nothing about them, because they hadn’t asked me to do so. He said the insurance would begin right there; that the policy was all right that day, and would be good until I heard from him to the contrary. I had paid him five dollars. He didn’t deliver me a policy that day. I never saw that policy until after the fire. I asked him before the "fire if he wrote that policy up yet. He said my policy was all right.”
On cross-examination, plaintiff testified that he did not read the policy that was given to him; that Miller agreed to put the mort- ' gage clause on the policy when he wrote it; that Miller did not tell him that the Hartford would not insure chattel-mortgaged property, nor that he would have to take his chances on the policy; that Miller said he would write it in; that it was necessary to put it in; that the company would carry that policy with that clause written in it. “I told him what I had to have in the policy, of course. I knew it was necessary for me to have it written in. He agreed to do it. I supposed that this permission—the chattel-mortgage clause—had been written in the policy. He told me it was. I didn’t look at the policy to see, for, if I had, I could not have told.”
The case, then, we are called upon to decide upon this appeal, may be thus stated: An illiterate man malíes application to an insurance agent having full power and authority to issue policies upon chattel-mortgaged property, provided he indorsed the agreement or waiver upon the policy, or added it thereto. An agreement having been entered into for the insurance of such property, a policy prepared, and a portion of the premium paid, the agent promised and agreed to make such indorsement or writing in or upon the policy, and afterwards told the insured he had done so. The insured, being unable to read, was practically in the position of a blind person. The policy was left in the custody of the agent until after the fire, which occurred six days later. No fault or laches is imputable to the insured. The question, then, is whether, undér such circumstances, the insured must suffer for the fraud or negligence of the agent, or whether the company is responsible for his fraudulent acts or omissions. The fraud or mistake of an insurance agent, within the scope" of his authority, will not enable his principal to avoid a contract of insurance, to the injury of the assured, who acted in good faith; and the fraud or mistake of the agent may be proved by parol evidence, notwithstanding the provisions of the policy. This is clear upon principle, and is abun
The position taken by the defendant seems to be that the policy itself is a notification to the insured that if the existence of the incumbrance is not stated in writing indorsed upon the policy, or expressed therein, it shall be void, and that it is incumbent upon the assured to see that this is done before he accepts it, and, if he should rely solely upon the false assurance of the agent that he has executed the instrument according to the verbal understanding or agreement of the parties, he does so at his peril. However true this may be as a general proposition in courts of law, in an action brought to recover upon the instrument as written it cannot, as we have seen, be invoked as a defense to a suit in equity for its reformation. Nor can we perceive that it has any application to a case of the character here presented,—one that has such peculiar features, and which must necessarily be decided upon its special circumstances. We are unable to assent to it as a proposition of law, and much less as a principle of equity, that an insurance company may relieve itself from responsibility for the fraudulent representations of its agent by imposing upon a blind or illiterate person the obligation of' seeing to it, at his peril, that the agent has fulfilled his duty to himself and to the company by making out the policy according to the terms and conditions agreed upon; in other words, that the insurance company may, by and through the, false assurances of its agent, foist upon an illiterate person an instrument that is void at the instant of its creation. In O’Brien v. Society, 117 N. Y. 312 , 22 N. E. 954 ; .Id,, 51 Hun, 495 , 4 N. Y. Supp. 275 ,— insured could neither read nor write, and he warranted the truth of the statements in the application, whether written by him or not;
“It was not that the defendant would not at all insure a building on leased lands. They did agree to take a risk upon it. But, to have it insured by them, the fact of its being upon leased land must be expressed to them. This was done. As evidence that it was done, it must, they say in the policy afterwards delivered, appear in writing on the policy. This is, like countersigning by an agent, but one of the forms of making the contract. That the policy was delivered and the premium received with full purpose of making a valid, obligatory contract is evidence that, through neglect or forgetfulness, one of the forms was not observed, or that it was waived by the parties.”
Or, as in the present case, that it was fraudulently omitted, the insured being an illiterate person, and relying on the promise of the agent to make the indorsement. And the court, referring to Chase v. Insurance Co., 20 N. Y. 52 , said that there the application contained a clause that the company would not be bound by the knowledge of the agent, and it was held that the company was not chargeable unless there was fraud. The case of Haight v. Insurance Co., 92 N. Y. 51 , is to the point, and the opinion pertinent to this case:
“The defense rests upon the omission of any indorsement on the policy. The case of Woodruff v. Insurance Co., 83 N. Y. 183 , is fatal to the defense, unless the effort of the appellant to point out a material distinction proves successful. It was there held that when a policy is issued upon an unoccupied house, the agent having knowledge of the fact, the defendant cannot be permitted to say it never assumed the risk. And in such case the stipulation requiring an indorsement of the company’s consent must be deemed waived by the agent, and, through him, by the company. But in that case
it did not appear that the policy contained the provision present in this, which expressly denied to the agent any power to waive, modify, or strike out from the policy any of its printed conditions; and it is argued that this limitation of the agent’s authority, plainly expressed in the policy, was thus brought to the knowledge of the insured, and the company was not bound, and could not be affected, by the knowledge and waiver of the agent. But the latter had authority to insure an unoccupied building, and could bind his company by so doing. There was no restraint upon his power to make the precise contract which he did make. Only the manner of his doing it was regulated.’’ “The waiver of conditions at the inception of a policy grows out of the consideration That the company must have intended to make a valid contract, or else to perpetrate a fraud. Their agent had authority to insure the building, although unoccupied; and, having done so, the company must be held to have waived a condition essential to its validity, and cannot be permitted to receive and keep its fruits, and yet repudiate its existence.”
The present case is much stronger than the one quoted, for in that case, we may infer, there was no express agreement to insure an unoccupied building, nor promise to state the fact by indorsement upon the policy, nor any fraud practiced upon an illiterate person. In Woodruff’s Case the court remarked that in Walsh v. Insurance Co., 73 N. Y. 5 , a distinction is taken between the power of an agent at the inception of a contract, and after it has taken effect. In Walsh’s Case there was also a very stringent provision, making the procurer of the insurance the agent of the insurer, and not of the company, under any circumstances whatever, or in any transaction relating to the insurance. Upon applying for a renewal of the policy, the insurer informed the agent that he had sold the premises, and that his interest was as mortgagee, and the agent promised to “make it all right.” The company was held chargeable. In Berry v. Insurance Co., 132 N. Y. 49 , 30 N. E. 254 , the agent’s powers were greatly restricted by stringent provisions of the policy, and yet the knowledge of the agent respecting the title to the property was held imputable to the company. “The agents who issued the policy were general agents, having authority to make contracts without reference to the home office, and their power to waive conditions in the policy was co-existent with that of the company itself. Conditions which enter into the validity of the contract of insurance, at its inception, may be waived by agents, and are waived, if so intended, although they remain in the policy when delivered.” To the same effect is Carpenter v. Insurance Co., 135 N. Y. 298 , 31 N. E. 1015 , although in that case no special restrictions appear. And see McNally v. Insurance Co., 137 N. Y. 389 -396, 33 N. E. 475 ; Cross v. Insurance Co., 132 N. Y. 133 , 30 N. E. 390 ; Bennett v. Insurance Co., 81 N. Y. 273 ; Robbins v. Insurance Co., 79 Hun, 117 , 29 N. Y. Supp. 513 . In Forward v. Insurance Co., 142 N. Y. 382 , 37 N. E. 615 ; Id., 66 Hun, 546 , 21 N. Y. Supp. 664 ,—the action was upon a standard policy, and three of the judges were of the opinion that the doctrine established by the former decisions of the court, referred to, were applicable to the facts and circumstances presented, notwithstanding the restrictions placed upon the powers of the agent; but the decision was placed upon another ground. In McGonigle v. Insurance Co., 168 Pa. St. 1 , 31 Atl. 868 , the action was upon a standard policy, similar to the
It is clear, therefore, both upon principle and authority, that the knowledge of the agent is imputable to the company, and that the company must be held to have contracted, through its agent, to insure this property as incumbered, and to note the incumbrances upon the policy; and, having failed to make such indorsement, it must be precluded from setting up its own omission as a defense to the action. Or, to put it in another form, the company is chargeble in law for the intentional or negligent omission of its agent to make such indorsement, especially towards one who is unable to read, and relies upon the assurance given by the agent, and also leaves the policy in his custody. Gates v. Insurance Co., 10 Hun, 490 ; Chase v. Insurance Co., 14 Hun, 456 ; Miaghan v. Insurance Co., 24 Hun, 58 ; Pierce v. Insurance Co., 50 N. H. 297 ; Insurance Co. v. Gray (Kan. Sup.) 23 Pac. 637 , 8 Lawy. Rep. Ann. 70, with notes; Insurance Co. v. Golden, 121 Ind. 524 , 23 N. E. 503 ; Fishbeck v. Insurance Co., 54 Cal. 422 ; Insurance Co. v. Chipp, 93 Ill. 96 ; Insurance Co. v. Ruckman, 127 111. 364, 20 N. E. 77 . “Defendant is estopped from setting up the condition, for the reason that the plaintiff was induced to forego a formal compliance with the condition by the fraudulent conduct of the person who negotiated the contract on behalf of the defendant. To give effect to the condition after such conduct would require the court to sanction a gross fraud on the plaintiff.” McCabe v. Insurance Co., 14 Hun, 602 .
Plaintiff offered in evidence an assignment, executed by two of the mortgagees, of all rights and claims that they might have in and to the insurance moneys, and empowering him to sue therefor. Objected to as not pleaded. The objection is not tenable. The contract, as executed, runs to the plaintiff, and he alone can support it. It appears that the plaintiff intended that the policy should be prepared in such a form that the mortgagees should be protected, or have some interest in the policy; but it was not distinctly agreed, so far as the case discloses, that the loss should be made payable directly to them, so that they could maintain an action at law. However that may be, since they have disclaimed any interest whatever in the policy, the right of the plaintiff to sue upon it is clear. Roussel v. Insurance Co., 41 N. Y. Super. Ct. 279 ; Luckey v. Gannon, 1 Sweeney, 17; Ennis v. Insurance Co., 3 Bosw. 517 ; Baltis v. Dobin, 67 Barb. 510 ; Winne v. Insurance Co., 91 N. Y. 192 ; Jackson v. Insurance Co., 5 Gray, 52 ; Ripley v. Insurance Co., 17 How. Prac. 444; Duncan v. Insurance Co., 129 N. Y. 237 , 29 N.
The plaintiff called Miller, tfye agent, simply to prove his commission and authority. On cross-examination he was asked if he did not tell the plaintiff that he would have to take his chances as to the validity of the policy if the indorsement was not made. Objected to as not being proper on cross-examination, and objection sustained. The evident purpose of the question was to establish the defense alleged in the answer,—that plaintiff agreed to accept the policy without the indorsement, or that he requested Miller to conceal the fact of the mortgages. Defendant was at liberty to call Miller, as its own witness, to contradict plaintiff’s testimony, but for obvious reasons it failed to do so. The question, no doubt, was perfectly proper; but the court had the right to' exclude it on cross-examination, and this was the ground of exclusion stated. Defendant was still at liberty to prove the defense set up in the answer, by calling its agent as its own witness. The only question put to witness by plaintiff and defendant on first direct and cross examination related only to 'the authority of the agent. As I have said, the agent was called simply to prove the written authority. The court exercised the discretion vested in it, and held that the defendant must defer examination concerning .matters of defense until the case was with it for making its defense. This objection is, in my opinion, answered in Briggs v. Gardner, 60 Hun, 544 , 15 E. Y. Supp. 335, where the court, in passing upon a similar question, says:
“At the time these questions were propounded, the case was with the plaintiff. After the plaintiff rested, no effort was made on -the part of defendant’s counsel to propound the questions already mentioned. Presumably,
the justice would have allowed answers to have been given to them. Apparently, he excluded the answers at the rime the questions were propounded, upon the idea that it was no part of the plaintiff’s case; and, on the contrary, the evidence sought tended to support the defense, which had been set up in the answer, of the statute of limitations. We are not prepared to say that the justice erred in the exercise of his discretion, and we are of the opinion that we ought not to reverse the judgment because of the rulings made by the justice. Neil v. Thorn, 88 N. Y. 275 .”
Also citing Bedell v. Powell, 13 Barb. 183 , where it was held that:
“The order in which proof shall be received on a trial is in the discretion of the judge, and his decision cannot be reviewed on error or appeal.”
See, also, Baylies, Trial Prac. 178, 179; Rap. Wit. § 246. We are of the opinion that this was so far in the discretion of the trial judge that the ruling, as made, presents no error.
Defendant claims there was no evidence of the authority of either Miller, Allen, or Arnold, who were agents of defendant company, to receive notice of proofs of loss, or to waive formal proofs, or to adjust or settle the loss, and that no estoppel is created against defendant by reason of their acts, conduct, or declarations. Arnold testified that for 16 years he was local agent for the defendant in other districts; that he had never before adjusted losses, nor been detailed on work outside of his own local work; that he was sent to plaintiff’s place by Mr. Dewey, who was the special agent of defendant for this territory, and, so far as he knew, was the highest agent for the company in this territory, and his superior in tiie affairs of the company; and that he followed out any directions Dewey gave him, and went where he sent him. The defendant failed to give any evidence as to the authority of Dewey, or as to whether or not he was directed by the company to send Arnold to investigate the loss and adjust it. We will not undertake to rehearse all the testimony given, but we are satisfied that the evidence was sufficient to warrant the trial judge in drawing the inference, from all the circumstances presented, that Dewey was authorized by the company to send Arnold to adjust the loss. Defendant offered no evidence whatever, but remained silent, relying upon the inability of the plaintiff to prove essential facts that were peculiarly within its own knowledge and control. Plaintiff was obliged to rely upon two of the defendant’s agents, whom he called, to make out a prima facie case; and the objection seems to be that he should have called other agents and officers of the company—■ located, as it is, outside of the state—to establish the strongest possible case, if he could. He was not bound to do that. It was sufficient to produce evidence from which a jury could reasonably and fairly infer, from all the)circumstances, that these men were authorized by the company to proceed and adjust the loss. The evidence was sufficient in law to establish a prima facie case, and to call upon the defendant to contradict or explain it. Its failure to do so could be taken by the jury into consideration. Here we have fouf persons, who were the defendant’s agents, engaged in taking part in the matter of adjusting plaintiff’s loss; and although the consequence of their acts, conduct, and declarations will operate as a gross fraud upon an illiterate person, the defendant disclaims
“Presumably, it was in the power of the company to produce him [the agent], and the company had the power to show precisely what authority Carey possessed,: and, failing to do this, it cannot complain that adverse presumptions should be indulged. * * * We think that the onus was fairly cast upon the defendant to show the real truth, or take the consequences which the law infers from the omission.”
Upon the evidence of the plaintiff, showing the relations to the defendant of their agents who negotiated with the plaintiff concerning an adjustment of the loss sustained under the policy, and their dealings with this plaintiff, after the fire, concerning the loss under the policy, together with the presumptions which, under the cases cited, the court had a right to indulge in against this defendant, by reason of its silence, and its omission, upon the trial, ‘to produce the evidence peculiarly within its knowledge, we think the court was justified in finding as it did upon the question of the authority of the company’s agents to adjust the loss of plaintiff.
If the court was right in that conclusion, it then becomes necessary to decide whether it was correct in its decision that agents of the company, clothed with the power of adjusting or settling loss,
Applying the rules of law established for the disposition of like cases to the evidence presented upon the trial of this action, we are of the opinion that the trial justice disposed of the questions submitted'to him according to the rules thus established, and that his decision should be upheld.
The order denying the motion for a new trial should be affirmed, with costs, and the motion for a new trial denied, with costs, and judgment ordered for plaintiff upon the verdict. All concurred.
Cases cited
- Provost v. McEncroe 102 N. Y. 650 p. 302
- Dillon v. Cockcroft 90 N. Y. 649 p. 302
- Sutter v. Vanderveer 122 N. Y. 652 p. 302
- Miller v. Phœnix Mutual Life Insurance 107 N. Y. 292 p. 305
- O'Rourke v. John Hancock Mut. Life Insurance 10 Misc. Rep. 405 p. 305
- Schoick v. Niagara Fire Insurance 68 N. Y. 434 p. 305
- Chase v. Hamilton Insurance 20 N. Y. 52 p. 305
- Haight v. Continental Insurance 92 N. Y. 51 p. 305
- Walsh v. Hartford Fire Insurance 73 N. Y. 5 p. 306
- Berry v. American Central Insurance Co. of St. Louis 132 N. Y. 49 p. 306
- Carpenter v. German American Insurance 135 N. Y. 298 p. 306
- McNally v. Phœnix Insurance 137 N. Y. 389 p. 306
- Cross v. National Fire Insurance 132 N. Y. 133 p. 306
- Bennett v. North British & Mercantile Insurance 81 N. Y. 273 p. 306
- Forward v. Continental Insurance 142 N. Y. 382 p. 306
- Fishbeck v. Phenix Ins. Co. 54 Cal. 422 p. 307
- Roussel v. St. Nicholas Insurance 41 N. Y. Super. Ct. 279 p. 307
- Duncan v. China Mutual Insurance 129 N. Y. 237 p. 307
- Cone v. Niagara Fire Insurance 60 N. Y. 619 p. 308
- Bryce v. Lorillard Fire Insurance 55 N. Y. 240 p. 308
- Maher v. Hibernia Insurance 67 N. Y. 283 p. 308
- McCormick v. Orient Insurance 86 Cal. 260 p. 308
- Bedell v. Powell 13 Barb. 183 p. 309
- Wylde v. Northern Railroad Co. of New Jersey 53 N. Y. 156 at 163 p. 310
- Whitney v. Town of Ticonderoga 127 N. Y. 40 at 46, 27 p. 310
- Bleecker v. Johnston 69 N. Y. 309 p. 310
- Bruce v. Kelly 39 N. Y. Super. Ct. 27 p. 310
- Fitzpatrick v. Woodruff 47 N. Y. Super. Ct. 436 p. 310
- Flynn v. New York Elevated R. R. 50 N. Y. Super. Ct. 375 p. 310
- Watson v. Oswego Street Railway Co. 7 Misc. Rep. 562 p. 311
- Ham v. Gilmore 7 Misc. Rep. 596 p. 311
- Schwier v. New York Central & Hudson River Railroad 90 N. Y. 558 p. 311
- New York & Brooklyn Ferry Co. v. Moore 102 N. Y. 667 p. 311
- Bush v. Westchester Fire Insurance 63 N. Y. 531 p. 312
- Townsend v. Merchants' Insurance 36 N. Y. Super. Ct. 172 p. 312
- Bishop v. Agricultural Insurance 130 N. Y. 488 p. 313