Majority
Headnote
In an action upon a policy of life insurance the defense was a breach of warranty. The alleged breach was that an answer in the application to a question as to the age of the insured, was untrue. It appeared that the answer was written in by a general agent of the defendant; that the insured was a German, understanding the English language very imperfectly ; that when asked his age he answered that he did not know, and when assured that it was necessary to be known he repeated his former statement; that the agent made some computation or estimate and entered his conclusion in the application, and that this was not read over to the insured after the answers were written in. No fraud was alleged or found. Held, that an estoppel in pais was fairly established which precluded defendant from setting up the falsity of the answer in avoidance of the policy.The application for the policy in suit was signed by one Michael Dreher; was dated April 17, 1871, and contained questions to be answered by the applicant for insurance, which were therein declared to form the basis of the contract. Among others was the following: “ When and where was the party whose life is to be insured born ? ” and it purported to be answered as follows: “ At Euttlingen, Germany ; year, 1807; month, October; day, thirty-first; age at nearest birthday, sixty-four.” The application further stated: “ It is hereby declared that the above are full and true answers to the foregoing questions, and it is acknowledged and agreed by the undersigned that this application shall form the basis of the contract of insurance * * * and that any untrue or fraudulent answers, any suppression of facts * * * shall and will render the policy null and void, and forfeit all payments made thereon.”
A life policy for $10,000, payable to the plaintiff, was issued by the defendant upon this application and contained, among other provisions, the foEowing: “This poEcy is issued and accepted by the assured upon the foEowing express conditions and agreements * * * if any of the declarations or statements made in the appEcation for this poEcy, upon the faith of which this poEcy is issued, shall be found in any respect untrue * * * then and in every such case this poEcy shaE be nuE and void. * * * This poEcy to take effect when countersigned by Johnson MiEer, agent at Syracuse, N. Y.” It was countersigned by MiEer and deEvered to the plaintiff.
The poEcy acknowledged the receipt of the first premium
Aside from the claim that the plaintiff had an adequate remedy at law and could not, therefore, maintain an equitable action, the sole defense set up in the answer was the allegation that Dreher’s representation as to his age was false and untrue and constituted both a breach of warranty and a false representation. The referee found upon evidence, sufficient as we think to support his finding, that Dreher was, at the time of making the application, about seventy-three years old, being born in the year 1798 ; but he did not find that he, in fact, knew his age, or that the misrepresentations were fraudulently or intentionally made. He also found, as a conclusion of law, “ That by reason of the untrue answers made by Michael Dreher to the questions in the application to the defendant for insurance, as to when he was born, and whether any application had been made to this, or any other company for assurance on his life, the policy was void and inoperative, and the defendant was authorized so to regard it.”
The evidence did not show that Dreher in fact knew his age, or that any representations in regard thereto were fraudulently or intentionally made. The fact that Dreher made untrue representations in regard to previous insurance in another company was not set up in the answer, and was not, therefore, available to the defendant as a defense to this action.
The referee seems to have assumed that the written instrument, was conclusive evidence of the agreement of the parties, and could not be subverted by parol evidence, showing the method by which Dreher’s signature to the application was obtained, and the circumstances attending its execution. It is undoubtedly the general rule that a written contract signed by a party thereto and containing the terms and conditions of an agreement, is conclusive upon him, and that he will not be permitted to show, in avoidance thereof, that other stipulations were made at the time of, or before, its execution, which would vary, alter, or contradict the provisions of the written instrument. Neither is it generally a defense to an action founded upon such agreement, that the party did not read the contract, or was ignorant of its contents, or that it was prepared by the party claiming the benefit of it, unless he also shows that his signature thereto was obtained by misrepresentation or fraud.
In the case, however, of life insurance policies it is the settled doctrine of the modern cases, that where the application for insurance is drawn up by the agent of the insurer, and the answers to the interrogations contained therein, are inserted by him at his own suggestion, without fraud or collusion on the part of the assured, the insurer is estopped from controverting the truth of such statements, or the interpretation which it has given to the answers actually made by the applicant, in an action upon the instrument between the parties thereto. (Plumb v. Cattaraugas Ins. Co., 18 N. Y. 392 ; Rowley v. Empire Ins. Co., 36 id. 550; Baker v. Home Life Ins. Co., 64 id. 648.) It is claimed by the plaintiff that this case comes within the rule above stated, and that the question in the case is, whether the undisputed evidence shows that Dreher did or
"With respect to the manner in which Dreher’s signature to the application was obtained, the referee has made a peculiar but somewhat restricted finding, wMch, although omitting some facts established by the evidence, goes far to sustain the claim made by the plaintiff, that the method adopted by the agent in procuring the application estops the defendant from setting up the falsity of such answers, as a breach of the contract. That finding is as follows: “ At the time when said application was made on the 17th day of April, 1871, Michael Dreher understood the English language when spoken, and spoke it himself to a very limited extent, and quite imperfectly. There were present on that occasion Johnson Miller, the agent of the defendant, the plaintiff, who understood and spoke both the German and English languages, and Michael Dreher. The questions contained in the application were propounded to Dreher by Johnson Miller and the answers were written by him. Questions wMch were not understood by Dreher were explained to him by the plaintiff in the German language. In answer to the question, ‘ Where and when was the party whose life is to be insured, born % ’ Dreher stated the place of Ms birth as written in the application. The agent then said, ‘ Mr. Dreher, how old are you ? ’ Dreher replied that he did not know Ms age. The agent then said, i Mr. Dreher, we must know your age; I cannot insure you without knowing your age; it is very important to know your age.’ Dreher then gave data from which, if true, Ms age could be arithmetically computed. The agent Miller carefully and honestly, and, as he believed, correctly, made such computation, announced the result and entered it as it appears written in the application.” This finding was duly excepted to by the plaintiff, and, m some material respects, does not appear to be supported by the evidence, and, in others, falls short of exMbiting the plain meaning and effect of the evidence produced by the plaintiff.
The findings, when carefully analyzed, amount only to a statement that Dreher, a foreigner substantially unacquainted with the English language, signed an application, written in that language by the defendant’s agent and compiled by him from information claimed to have been acquired from Dreher by means of communications in English, in which, after Dreher had failed to give the date of his birth and had expressly stated that he did not know his age, the agent inserted the statement that he was born in the year 1807. It seems, therefore, that the referee has held Dreher accountable for the answers inserted by the agent in the application, upon the theory that because he gave some data from which the agent inferred his ability to compute the age correctly, supplementing this inference with the opinion that he computed it correctly and entered the result, as he found it, in the application, that he was, therefore, authorized by Dreher to enter the year 1807, as the date of Dreher’s birth, in the application.
This conclusion seems to be based wholly upon the opinion of the witness and cannot be supported. An examination of the evidence given on the trial, however, removes all doubt as to who was responsible for the answers in question. That ■evidence, so far as our conclusions are based upon it, was given mainly by the agent of the defendant, and was wholly undisputed. He testifies that he solicited the plaintiff for insurance on the life of Dreher, his debtor, and persuaded him to go with him to Dreher’s residence, a distance of twelve miles from Syracuse, to obtain the application for such insurance ; that he took blank forms for the application with him and filled them up according to the best information he could
This witness was apparently frank and impartial in his statements, and no reason exists for claiming that he had any bias or prejudice, or for doubting the truth of his testimony. Even assuming that Dreher understood all that was said to him by ¿he agent, and this would be a very violent assumption under the circumstances, there is not only no evidence that he gave his age, or the date of his birth to the agent; but the evidence is positive that he uniformly refused to give it. To hold under such circumstances, that he covenanted that he was born in the year 1801 and was then sixty-four years of age, would be to reverse the meaning and effect of his actual representation, and hold that a-statement, for which the agent alone was responsible, was made by a party who refused to make any whatever.
The most favorable construction for the defendant that can be put upon the evidence is, that Dreher refused to make any representation as to his age, but that the agent, upon what he conceived to be sufficient grounds therefor, estimated his age
It was also in proof by uncontradicted evidence, that the defendant’s agent in fact stated to the plaintiff after the application was made and before the payment of any premium on the policy that “ it was all right as the old man had made no positive statement as to his age.” We think, under the circumstances that an estoppel in pais was fairly established, and that the defendant is precluded from setting up the falsity of the statement with reference to age in avoidance of the policy. The defendant was a foreign corporation and Miller was its general agent at Syracuse, authorized to take applications "and countersign and deliver policies and collect premiums from persons insuring their lives in such company. The knowledge of the agent was imputable to the company and he was held, out to the public by it, as authorized to determine what constituted a compliance with the conditions of the application, the sufficiency of the answers, and the validity of the policies issued thereon, and as fully representing the company as to all matters within the apparant scope of the authority confided to him.
In this case, after having obtained from Dreher all the information that he could give, and without any supportable claim that he gave such information fraudulently or falsely, the defendant has obtained a decree that the contract of insurance "was void upon the ground that Dreher’s statements were untrue, when in fact to the knowledge of the defendant he
As we have before seen no fraud was proved or found, and the defense must rest upon the alleged breach of warranty alone. The rule applicable to such a case as the present is well settled in this state and was succinctly stated in Mowry v. Rosendale ( 74 N. Y. 363 ), as follows: “ The principle that if the statements in the application relied upon as breaches of warranty are inserted by the agent of the insurers without any collusion or fraud upon the part of the insured, the insurer is estopped from setting up their error or falsity as breach of warranty, seems now well settled.” (Baker v. Home Life Ins. Co., 64 N. Y. 648 ; Maher v. Hibernia Ins. Co., 67 N. Y. 283 ; Rowley v. Empire Ins. Co., 36 N. Y. 550 ; Ins. Co. v. Wilkinson, 13 Wall. 222 ; Ins. Co. v. Mahone, 21 id. 152.) To these might be added Grattan v. Metropolitan Insurance Company ( 80 N. Y. 281 , 295), and Plumb v. Cattaraugus Insurance Company (18 id., 392 ).
¡< The remarks of Miller, J., of the Supreme Court of the United States in the case of Insurance Company v. Wilkinson (supra) are so pertinent to the question involved here that a quotation at length is deemed appropriate: “ In the ease before us a paper is offered, in evidence against the plaintiff, containing a representation concerning a matter material to the contract on which the suit is brought, and it is not denied that he signed the instrument and that the representation is untrue. But the parol testimony makes it clear beyond a question, that this party did not intend to make that representation when he signed the paper, and did not know he was doing so and, in fact, had refused to make any statement on the subject.”
This case was followed by the same court in Insurance Company v. Mahone (supra) where testimony was admitted, under objection, to prove that the answers in an application which it was admitted was signed by the assured, were not correctly entered by the agent. The court held it competent, saying: “ The testimony was admitted not to contradict the written warranty, but to show that it was no.t the warranty of Dillard, though signed by him, prepared as it was by the company’s agent, and the answers having been made by the agent the proposals, both questions and answers, must be regarded as the i act of the company which they cannot be permitted to set up as a warranty by the assured.” This was held to be so, although the application and answers were subsequently read over to the assured and he then signed it. We think the evi dence in this case brings it clearly within the principle laid
The judgments of the courts below should be reversed and a new trial ordered, with costs to abide the event.
All concur.
Judgment reversed.
Cases cited
- Insurance Co. v. Mahone 21 Wall. 152 p. 292
- Plumb v. Cattaraugus Co. Mutual Insurance 18 N. Y. 392 p. 292, p. 296
- Armour v. Transatlantic Fire Insurance Co. of Hamburg, Germany 90 N. Y. 450 at 455, 456 p. 293
- Fitch v. American Popular Life Insurance 59 N. Y. 557 p. 293
- Foot v. Ætna Life Insurance Co. of Hartford 61 N. Y. 571 p. 293, p. 294
- Insurance Co. v. Wilkinson 13 Wall. 222 p. 293, p. 301
- Breese v. United States Telegraph Co. 48 N. Y. 132 p. 293
- Belger v. Dinsmore 51 N. Y. 166 p. 293
- Baker v. Home Life Insurance 64 N. Y. 648 p. 293, p. 301
- Mowry v. Rosendale 74 N. Y. 360 p. 293
- Swift v. Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance 63 N. Y. 186 p. 294
- Ætna Life Insurance v. France 91 U. S. 510 p. 294
- Edington v. Ætna Life Insurance 77 N. Y. 564 p. 294
- Dilleber v. Home Life Insurance 69 N. Y. 256 at 260 p. 301
- Maher v. Hibernia Insurance 67 N. Y. 283 p. 301
- Rowley v. Empire Insurance 36 N. Y. 550 p. 301
- Grattan v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 80 N. Y. 281 at 295 p. 301