Majority
Headnote
A condition in a policy of insurance declaring it to be void in case the interest of the insured he other than unconditional absolute ownership, will not operate to avoid it after a loss, where the company, before issuing the policy, were advised and had knowledge of the fact that the insured was not the sole owner, or that the property was incumbered. The condition does not apply to facts so disclosed. O’Brien, J.; Finch and Beckham, JJ., concurring; Bari, and Gray, JJ., dissenting.The judgment in this case was recovered upon a policy of insurance, issued April 23,1891, at one year, upon a store and the goods therein, which were owned by the plaintiff. By the terms of the policy the risk was distributed as follows: Upon the store a sum not exceeding $1,000, the goods a sum not exceeding $1,200, and the furniture and safe a sum not exceeding $100. The entire property was destroyed by fire on the 27tli of September, 1891. The complaint alleges and the answer admits that the loss was adjusted and
“This entire policy, unless otherwise provided by agreement indorsed hereon or added hereto, shall he void * * ® if the interest of the insured be other than unconditional, sole ownership, * * * or if the subject of insurance be personal property, and he or become incumbered by a chattel mortgage. * * * In any matter relating to this insurance, no person, unless duly authorized in writing, shall be deemed the agent of this company. * * * This policy is made and accepted subject to the foregoing stipulations and conditions, together with such other provisions, agreements or conditions as may he indorsed hereon or added hereto, and no officer, agent or other representative of this company shall have power to waive any provision or condition of this policy, except such as, by the terms of this policy, may be the subject of agreement, indorsed hereon or added hereto; and, as to such provirions and conditions, no officer, agent or other representative of this company shall have such power, or be deemed or held to have waived such provisions or conditions, unless such waiver, if any, shall be written uppn or attached hereto, hior shall any privilege or permission affecting the insurance under the policy exist or he claimed by the insured unless so written or attached.”
It was shown at the trial that the plaintiff, about two months before the policy had been issued to him, had executed and delivered to his brother an instrument in the form of a hill of sale upon the stock of goods, furniture and fixtures in the store, which, on March 3, 1891, was filed in the town clerk’s office. This- instrument purports, in consideration of $500, to transfer the plaintiff’s interest in the property absolutely to his brother. The proof at the trial tended to
In these cases it was held, either that the company had waived the condition, or was estopped by the delivery of the policy and the receipt of the premium, since, under such circumstances, it could not be supposed that it intended to deliver to the insured a policy which it knew to be void. When the underwriter, before the inception of the contract, is informed by the owner that the property is incumbered, but still delivers the policy with the condition embodied in it, then, as it seems to me, it is not so much a question of waiver ■or estoppel as a question whether the condition ever attached or operated upon the facts thus disclosed. It can, of course, operate in the future upon transfers or incumbrances as the facts arise, and then the question is one of waiver. But when the facts are all known before any contract is made, a condition against a state of things known by all the parties to exist cannot be deemed to be within their intention or purpose. This case cannot be taken out of the rule by any possible dis
It was held in the case of Ellis v. Albany Fire Ins. Co. ( 50 N. Y. 402 ) that an agent with precisely such powers as I have supposed the agent in this case possessed, could bind the company by a paroi contract of insurance, while an application for a policy was pending, but none delivered till after a loss. I am unable to discover in "the record any basis for the contention that the knowledge of the agent as to the existence and purpose of the bill of sale is not the knowledge of the defendant. On the contrary, his knowledge of the facts is, I think, imputable to his principal. So far as appears, the plaintiff dealt with him as the representative of the company. If there were in fact any limitations or restrictions on his powers as an ordinary agent it was for the defendant to show it. His commission was not put in evidence nor any proof given tending to show that he was not what he was described in the complaint, the defendant’s duly authorized manager or agent at the place where the contract was made. There ivere no other means of communication between the plaintiff and the defendant employed. So far as appears he
There is another view of the question that deserves some notice. Conditions in contracts of insurance against liability when the property is incumbered or where the title is not absolute in the insured are inserted for the purpose of guarding against the moral hazard involved. When the transfer or incumbrance is merely colorable or nominal and not real or effective the reasons that induced the stipulation do not apply. Was there any real sale or transfer of this property within the meaning of the policy? Nothing was done except to execute and file a paper. There was no intention in fact to transfer the title or vest any beneficial interest in the nominal vendee. There was no debt to be enforced, no consideration passed, and the use and possession remained unchanged. The filing of the paper added nothing to its validity. It was not a mortgage nor intended as security for any debt. It was a mere paper transfer without consideration and without delivery of possession, and while it had the form it had none of the legal elements, necessary, even between the parties, to constitute a valid contract of sale. In legal effect it was, I think, the same as an unexecuted gift. The worst that can be said of it is that it was intended to defraud creditors, but if that be true the moral hazard which was the basis of the condition of the policy would still be absent, since the plaintiff’s interest in the property at the time of the insurance was in fact the same as before the paper was executed. There is no legal ground upon which this court can properly disturb the verdict, and the judgment should, therefore, be affirmed.
Finch and Peckham, JJ., concur.
Andrews, Oh. J., and Bartlett, J., concur on last ground mentioned in opinion.
Earl,, J., dissents on first ground and concurs on last ground.
Gray, J., dissents.
Judgment affirmed.
Cases cited
- Pindar v. Resolute Fire Insurance 47 N. Y. 114 p. 383
- Quinlan v. Providence Washington Insurance 133 N. Y. 356 p. 383
- Allen v. German American Insurance 123 N. Y. 6 p. 383
- Carpenter v. German American Insurance 135 N. Y. 298 p. 384
- Holden v. New York & Erie Bank 72 N. Y. 286 p. 384
- Distilled Spirits 11 Wall. 356 p. 384
- Hoover v. Wise 91 U. S. 308 p. 384
- Insurance Companies v. Weides 14 Wall. 375 p. 384
- Franklin Fire Insurance v. Vaughan 92 U. S. 516 p. 384
- Rohrbach v. Ætna Insurance 62 N. Y. 613 p. 384
- Claflin v. Commonwealth Insurance 110 U. S. 81 p. 384
- Barry v. Hamburg-Bremen Fire Insurance 110 N. Y. 1 p. 384
- Schoick v. Niagara Fire Insurance 68 N. Y. 434 p. 387
- Insurance Co. v. Wilkinson 13 Wall. 222 p. 389
- Ellis v. Albany City Fire Insurance 50 N. Y. 402 p. 389