Majority
Prior to the commencement of this action, plaintiffs recovered judgment for $9,286.27 against one Paolo Bonomo for damages sustained as a result of an automobile collision.
The present action is to recover the amount of that judgment from Home Indemnity Company which had issued an automobile insurance policy covering the automobile of Bonomo. The agent of the indemnity company, J. D. Palmer, who represented the company in issuing the policy, was also a defendant. In a trial without a jury, a nonsuit was granted as to the agent. Judgment was for plaintiffs against defendant Home Indemnity Company. The indemnity company appeals from the judgment.
Appellant, hereinafter referred to as defendant, denied in its answer that the policy was effective on the date of the collision, and alleged that prior to the collision the policy had been cancelled.
The court found, among other things, that defendant is estopped to claim cancellation of the policy and that the defendant waived any attempted cancellation of the policy.
Defendant contends in effect that the evidence was insufficient to support such findings.
On June 14, 1952, defendant, acting through its agent Palmer, issued its policy of automobile liability insurance covering the automobile of Bonomo for a year, commencing on said date, at a premium of $48.60, and at that time Bonomo paid $10 as part payment of the premium. It does not appear that any arrangement was made as to the payment of the remainder of the premium. Bonomo resided in Yucaipa, California. Palmer’s office was in San Bernardino. The defendant, through its Los Angeles branch office, caused an investigation to be made of Bonomo by the Retail Credit Company. In June or July, 1952, a representative of that company went to Bonomo’s home and interviewed him. About July 18, 1952, the Los Angeles office of defendant received the investigation report which stated, among other things, that Bonomo’s hearing, speech, understanding of English, and financial condition were poor, and that he was not recom
"We elect to cancel our Policy No. 7073519 issued to you on June 14th 1952 and hereby give you notice hereof, as provided by the terms of said policy.
‘1 Take notice that at 12:01 A. M., Standard Time, on the 6th day of September, 1952, the said policy will terminate and cease to be in force.
"The excess of paid premium above the pro rata premium for the expired time (if not tendered) will be refunded as soon as practicable. .. ■
Respectfully yours,
The Home Insurance Company
The Home Indemnity Company
Per
Agent"
Bonomo received the notice about August 30,. 1952. Palmer received a copy of the notice on August 29, 1952. Bonomo testified that he did not understand the notice; he presumed it was a premium notice; he asked his neighbor to' explain and interpret it; the neighbor said "to send the money on through before they cancel on you”; on the same day that he received the notice, he sent a money order for $20 "to the company.” Palmer received the money order on September 2, 1952. He testified that he deposited the money order in "my trustee account for the insurance company.” Palmer was asked: "That was an account which you kept for the Home Indemnity Insurance Company to deposit sums of money in and forward out for them, is that right, sir?” Palmer replied, "Correct.”
On October 12, 1952, a collision occurred between Bonomo’s automobile and plaintiffs’ automobile. The following morning Mr. Grasso, acting on behalf of Bonomo, telephoned Palmer’s office and reported the collision. Also, on that day (October 13) Bonomo mailed a money order for $18.60 to Palmer. This amount and the $10 and $20 paid previously totalled the full amount of the premium.
On October 17, 1952, Palmer mailed a check for $18.82 to Bonomo, as the unearned portion of the premium as of the date of cancellation on September 6, and he also returned the money order for $18.60 to Bonomo. It therefore appears that Palmer, after the collision, deducted $1.18 from the $20
Appellant argues, in support of its contention regarding insufficiency of the evidence, that there was no basis for a reasonable belief on the part of Bonomo that the notice of cancellation was a notice to pay more money; and that there was no evidence that Palmer had authority to rescind or waive cancellation of the policy.
With reference to the reasonableness of Bonomo’s belief, there was substantial evidence that Bonomo’s understanding of English was poor—defendant’s records show that an investigator reported that Bonomo’s understanding of English was poor; and Bonomo testified that he could not read English very well. The notice of cancellation stated that the policy would be cancelled on September 6 (which was about a week after the notice was received by Bonomo). No reason for the cancellation was stated in the notice. At the time the notice was received, the fact was that more money was due on the policy (the $10 which had been paid was about 1/5 of the full premium of $48.60, and the policy had been in effect about 1/5 of a year—from June 14 to August 30). The neighbor of Bonomo, who read and explained the notice to Bonomo, told him to send in some money before the policy was cancelled. Bonomo sent $20 immediately. The court found that Bonomo was unable to read the notice of cancellation and reasonably believed that it was a notice to pay money on the insurance premium. That finding is supported by the evidence.
It is also to be noted that Palmer, after he had received a copy of the notice of cancellation, deposited the payment in the trustee account which he kept for the defendant and in which he kept money that belonged to the defendant. He did not advise Bonomo, during the six weeks preceding the collision, that the money was not acceptable. Prior to the collision he did not return any money to Bonomo but he retained it in the trustee account. Five days after the collision, Palmer returned $18.82 of the $20 payment, and he retained $1.18 as payment of balance of earned premium to September 6.
The court found, among other things, that Palmer was authorized by defendant to rescind and waive cancellations. There was no evidence that defendant had expressly authorized Palmer to receive or waive cancellations. It is not necessary to decide whether said finding is supported by the evidence. Regardless of the sufficiency of the evidence to support that finding, there was substantial evidence to support the findings that defendant received and accepted the premium payment sent by Bonomo about August 30, 1952, and that defendant waived the attempted cancellation of the policy and is estopped to claim cancellation. As above stated,
Appellant contends that the court erred in receiving testimony and making findings based on estoppel and waiver which were not pleaded. The complaint alleged that the defendants executed and delivered the policy and that about October 12, 1952, while the policy “was in full force and
Appellant contends further that the nonsuit in favor of Palmer and the judgment against defendant are inconsistent. He argues to the effect that the judgment was based upon the acts of the agent Palmer in retaining the money, that the basis for the finding of estoppel was “akin to a tort of misrepresentation,” and that if the agent is not liable the principal is not liable. The action was upon the contract of insurance, and the evidence shows that Palmer signed the policy or contract as agent for defendant. Palmer, the agent, was not liable on the contract. (See Carlesimo v. Schwebel, 87 Cal.App.2d 482 [ 197 P.2d 167 ], wherein rules are stated
The judgment is affirmed.
Shinn, P. J., and Vallée, J., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing was denied November 14,1956.
Cases cited
- Parke v. Franciscus 194 Cal. 284 at 297 p. 323
- Pacific Gas and Electric Co. v. State Board of Equalization 134 Cal.App.2d 149 at 156 p. 323
- Kerr v. Reed 187 Cal. 409 at 414 p. 323
- Bittinger v. New York Life Insurance 17 Cal.2d 834 p. 323
- Bank of Anderson v. Home Insurance 14 Cal.App. 208 p. 324
- Phillips v. Reserve Life Insurance 128 Cal.App.2d 540 at 546 p. 324
- Mackintosh v. Agric. Fire Ins. Co. 150 Cal. 440 p. 324
- Truck Insurance Exchange v. Industrial Accident Commission 36 Cal.2d 646 p. 324
- Atha v. Bockius 39 Cal.2d 635 p. 325
- Buford v. Florin Fruit Growers' Ass'n 210 Cal. 84 at 91 p. 325
- Arnold v. Am. Ins. Co. 148 Cal. 660 at 668 p. 325
- Carlesimo v. Schwebel 87 Cal.App.2d 482 p. 325