Majority
This is an appeal from a judgment in an action for declaratory relief seeking a determination of rights under a fire insurance policy. The plaintiffs, respondents herein, Greco, Flickinger and Konkel, respectively, were the vendor, vendee and encumbrancer of improved real property. The defendant, appellant herein, Oregon Mutual Insurance Company, sued as Oregon Mutual Fire Insurance Company, was the insurer under a policy of fire insurance issued to Greco, as owner, covering the improvements on that property. The policy of insurance was issued to Greco in 1955 and contained a loss-payable clause in favor of Konkel who was the beneficiary under a $7,500 deed of trust against the property. On May 13, 1958, Greco, through escrow instructions, agreed to sell the property to persons named Ream and Fink for $10,935.83; Ream and Fink agreed to assume the $7,500 trust deed in favor of Konkel and to execute a note secured by a second trust deed in favor of Greco for $3,435.83; the buyers were to “receive rentals due as of June 1, 1958”; fire insurance was to be prorated to June 1, 1958; and the escrow was to be completed within 30 days. At this time the trust deed obligation in favor of Konkel had been reduced to $4,935.83. However, as a condition to the deal Konkel was to reloan $2,564.17 to Greco, thus restoring the trust deed amount to $7,500. Although this condition was not set forth in the foregoing escrow instructions, Konkel executed separate instructions whereby he agreed to advance the money in question;
On June 7, 1958, before completion of the escrows, a fire destroyed the building on the subject property and the loss incurred was fixed by the defendant insurance company’s adjuster at $19,000.
The parties had intended that the Greco fire insurance policy should be transferred to Flickinger, the ultimate purchaser. However, an assignment thereof, by its terms, could be made only with the written consent of the insurance company and this consent was never obtained.
After the fire Flickinger expressed concern about the status of the fire insurance; the escrow agreements provided that any party to the escrow could terminate the transaction upon failure of completion within the prescribed 30-day period; but upon assurance from the escrow agent that a transfer of the existing insurance always is approved, Flickinger went ahead with the deal; completion was effected June 23, 1958; the deeds theretofore deposited in escrow were delivered and recorded; the rentals and insurance premiums were prorated as agreed; and the fire policy was submitted to the defendant company for transfer but, as heretofore noted, its consent thereto never was obtained.
Two days before the fire Flickinger obtained a fire insurance policy from the Gulf Insurance Company covering the premises in question which insured him to the extent of $10,300, with loss payable to Konkel and Greco as encumbrancers. After the fire and completion of the escrow this company paid the proceeds of this policy to Flickinger, Konkel and Greco, resulting in full payment of the Konkel obligation and reduction of the Greco obligation to $1,000.
After the fire the defendant insurance company’s adjuster fixed the fire loss at $19,000; was told of the pending escrows
The subject insurance policy requires the insured to file a proof of loss within 60 days. Within this time, i.e., on August 6, 1958, Flickinger filed such a proof, using the form prescribed by the insurance company therefor; identified himself therein as the insured, stating that his interest in the property at the time of the loss was as owner thereof and that no other person had an interest therein except Konkel and Greco; and noted the $10,300 insurance policy obtained from the Gulf Insurance Company. On August 8, the defendant company, through their attorneys, advised Flickinger that his proof of loss was defective because it stated that he was the insured and that no assignment of the policy had been made, whereas the policy showed Greco to be the insured; and also because it stated that he was the owner of the property and at the same time stated that no change in interest in the property had occurred since the issuance of the policy. Thereupon, the attorneys for Flickinger and for the insurance company exchanged communications which, in substance, resulted in a declaration by the latter of their belief that the defendant company was not liable to Flickinger because he was the owner of the property and had not obtained its consent to an assignment of the policy to him before the loss occurred. Thereafter, Flickinger filed another but similar proof with the defendant in which he stated that the policy had been assigned to him by Greco through the aforesaid escrows. Forthwith the company denied Flickinger’s claim upon the ground that it never had consented to the assignment. It should be noted that, at all times since June 24, 1958, the defendant had full knowledge of the true situation respecting the status of the property. Under date of November 24, Greco filed a proof of loss in which he stated, among other things, that at the time of the fire the property was in the “process of being sold to Judson Flickinger.” This proof of loss was rejected because it was not filed in time as well as for other reasons. Thereupon Flickinger, Greco and Konkel brought the present action for declaratory relief, resulting in a judgment against the
The defendant contends that the judgment should be reversed because (1) Fliekinger was the owner of the premises at the time of the fire and the company had not consented to an assignment of the policy to him; (2) that Greco was a “mortgagee” within the meaning of the policy and under its terms the defendant was subrogated to his mortgage claim against the “mortgagor,” Fliekinger, and that Greco destroyed this right of subrogation by acceptance of a payment upon his mortgage, and for this reason he may not recover upon the policy; (3) in a contradictory vein, that Greco, as owner and vendor of the subject premises, had a cause of action against Fliekinger, which Fliekinger could not avoid on account of the fire because he had gone into possession of the property and thereby assumed any risk of loss by fire, and that the company was entitled to this cause of action under the principle of equitable subrogation but Greco destroyed it by accepting payment and, therefore, is barred from recovery upon his policy; (4) that Greco’s insurable interest at the time suit was filed had been reduced to $1,000 and any recovery by him should be limited to this amount; (5) that Greco was guilty of misrepresentation and false swearing in his proof of loss which voided the policy; (6) that he failed to file his proof of loss within time; and (7) that Fliekinger was not the real party in interest.
The trial court found that Greco was the owner of the premises in question at the time of the fire. This finding is fully supported by the evidence.
“ It is the general rule that where conditions fixed for delivery of a deed are not such as are certain to happen, merely depositing the deed with an escrow holder does not pass title to the grantee.” (Vierneisel v. Rhode Island Ins. Co., 77 Cal.App.2d 229 , 231 [ 175 P.2d 63 ]; Estate of Erskine, 84 Cal.App.2d 323 , 331 [ 190 P.2d 659 ].)
In this case, although Greco had deposited his deed in escrow, the transaction was subject to completion of the Konkel loan and the issuance of a policy of title insurance; his deed had not been delivered to the named grantee before the fire occurred; and, therefore, he was the owner at that time. The defendant company contends that a different rule should apply here because the grantee had gone into possession of the property. This contention is not factually sound. The escrow instructions merely provided that the rents should be
The foregoing observations dispose of all of the contentions of the defendant based on the claim that Flickinger was the owner of the property at the time of the fire and that Greco was his mortgagee.
It thus appears that Greco, as the insured under the policy and the owner of the premises at the time of the fire, was entitled to recover thereunder except for intervening impediments, if any.
The apparent simplicity of the ultimate facts in this ease is tempered by the confusion incident to a misconception of the legal consequences attaching to the events upon which these facts are predicated by those involved, and their ensuing conduct. The escrow officer undoubtedly believed that a transfer of the fire policy from Greco to Flickinger would be a mere formality; the defendant’s adjuster did not appreciate the legal significance of the transaction and advised Flickinger that a proof of loss would be prepared in due time; the attorneys for Flickinger, apparently believing that he had to be the owner in order to recover on the Gulf Fire Insurance Company policy, proceeded on the basis that in substance he was the owner; and the attorneys for the defendant company, who
The policy by its own terms, insofar as it involved the substitution of one insured for another, was not assignable without the consent of the insurer. Any purported assignment of such a policy without consent is ineffective. (Bergson v. Builders' Ins. Co., 38 Cal. 541 , 545; Shuggart v. Lycoming Fire Ins. Co., 55 Cal. 408 .) On the other hand, it is settled that the right to recover thereon after loss has occurred is assignable without company consent. (Comunale v. Traders & General Ins. Co., 50 Cal.2d 654 , 661-662 [ 328 P.2d 198 ]; V ierneisel v. Rhode Island Ins. Co., supra, 77 Cal.App.2d 229 , 232.) The former situation involves the obligation of the insurance company to indemnify a particular person against loss; the selection of its indemnitee properly is a matter of its own choice. The latter situation involves only the payment of a claim founded upon a loss against which the policy indemnifies, and the designation of a payee of such claim properly is a matter left solely to the discretion of the indemnitee, viz., the insured. (Bergson v. Builders' Ins. Co., supra, 38 Cal. 541 , 543.) The evidence in this case leaves no doubt that the parties to the subject escrow intended that Greco’s policy should be transferred to Flickinger. Until the fire occurred the proposed assignment contemplated a transfer of the indemnity agreement evidenced by that policy. However, after the fire the subject of coverage no longer existed; it had been destroyed; and the subsequent dealings of the parties in this area must have contemplated the right to collect the proceeds payable under that policy. Immediately after the fire, Flickinger asked the defendant’s adjuster what had to be done to complete the adjustment of the fire loss; inquired of the escrow agent if he was covered, “or if the property was covered under that policy”; was told that the escrow company “had no problems with the assignment of insurance policies under escrows”; and that he “had every reason to expect to be covered under that policy”; and thereafter he deposited sufficient funds
Within the 60-day period prescribed by the policy, Flickinger filed a proof of loss. His implied assignment carried with it the right to do whatever was necessary to prove his claim under the policy. (Civ. Code, § 1084; National R. Co. v. Metropolitan T. Co., 17 Cal.2d 827 , 832-833 [ 112 P.2d 598 ]; Marx v. McKinney, 23 Cal.2d 439 , 443 [ 144 P.2d 353 ].) The proof of loss thus filed was upon a form prescribed by the company ; supplied the information elicited by its use; and was correct in every detail except as to the following statements, viz., (1) that at the time of loss the company insured Flickinger under the policy theretofore issued; (2) that he was the owner of the property; (3) that Konkel and Greco were encumbrancers thereof; and (4) that since issuance of the policy no assignment thereof had been made and no change of interest or possession of the property had occurred. The policy only required that the proof of loss should state “the knowledge and belief of the insured” with respect to these matters. The insurance company replied to this proof with a communication dated August 8th, indicating that the proof was defective because the statements were inconsistent with the fact that the policy had been issued to Greco, as owner of the premises. At the time this proof of loss was filed the insurance company had been furnished with copies of all of the principal documents in the two escrows and was fully informed as to the true facts. Also at this time, the company knew that its adjuster had been told by Flickinger
The contention that Greco was guilty of concealment and misrepresentation which voided his policy is without merit. This contention is based on statements in Greco’s proof of loss concerning the status of the property. The trial court found no such concealment or misrepresentation, and the evidence supports this finding without equivocation.
The further claim that Greco defeated the defendant’s right to be subrogated to his claim as a vendor against Flickinger as a vendee also is without merit. The subrogation contention is based on the premise that Flickinger went into possession of the subject property; thereby assumed any risk of loss incident to destruction by fire; and that, before and after the fire, Greco was entitled to recover from Flickinger the full contract price which the latter had agreed to pay. However, the trial court did not find that Flickinger took possession of the property; the escrow agreements provided merely that the rents should be prorated as of June 1st and not that the purchaser should have possession as of that date; consequently, the defendant’s contention is without factual support and for this reason we need not consider the correctness of the legal proposition advanced.
The claim that Greco’s insurable interest was limited to $1,000 is based on the fact that Flickinger has paid him all but that amount on his, Greco’s, note and trust deed. This payment took place after the fire. When the loss occurred Greco was the owner of the property insured subject to an agreement to sell for $10,935.83; this was an insurable interest; and the status of an insured’s interest at the time of loss, rather than at some subsequent time, controls when applying the requirements of the law in the premises. (Ins. Code, § 286; Fageol T. & C. Co. v. Pacific Indemnity Co., 18 Cal.2d 731 , 744 [ 117 P.2d 661 ]; White v. Gilman, 138 Cal. 375 , 377 [ 71 P. 436 ].)
The defendant contends that Flickinger is not the real party in interest and for this reason the judgment in his
The judgment is reversed and remanded for a new trial on the sole issue as to who is the real party plaintiff in interest; the trial court is directed to make its order setting aside the judgment; to strike from the findings of fact heretofore made the finding that the plaintiff Flickinger is the real party in interest herein; to take such further proceedings as may be appropriate with respect to the issue whether Flickinger is the real party in interest or whether the assignee Fink should be joined as a party; to make a finding of fact and conclusion of law on that issue in accord with the evidence and the law in the premises; and thereupon to enter judgment in accord with that finding of fact and conclusion of law together with the findings of fact and conclusions of law heretofore made. Each party will bear his or its own costs.
Griffin, P. J., and Shepard, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Vierneisel v. Rhode Island Insurance 77 Cal.App.2d 229 at 231, at 232 p. 680, p. 682
- Erskine v. Erskine 84 Cal.App.2d 323 at 331 p. 680
- Blank v. Coffin 20 Cal.2d 457 at 461 p. 681
- Juchert v. California Water Service Co. 16 Cal.2d 500 at 507-508 p. 681
- Church of the Merciful Saviour v. Volunteers of America, Inc. 184 Cal.App.2d 851 at 857, at 856 p. 681
- Hamilton v. Pacific Electric Railway Co. 12 Cal.2d 598 at 602 p. 681
- Wilbur v. Wilbur 197 Cal. 1 at 7 p. 681
- Bergson v. Builders Insurance Co. 38 Cal. 541 at 545, at 543 p. 682
- Shuggart v. Lycoming Fire Insurance Co. 55 Cal. 408 p. 682
- Comunale v. Traders & General Insurance 50 Cal.2d 654 at 661-662 p. 682
- Hibernia Savings & Loan Society v. Belcher 4 Cal.2d 268 at 275 p. 683
- Oswald v. Schwartz 181 Cal. 620 at 624 p. 683
- Guggenhime & Co. v. Lamantia 207 Cal. 96 at 99 p. 683
- Adamson v. Paonessa 180 Cal. 157 at 164 p. 683
- Goldman v. Murray 164 Cal. 419 at 422 p. 683
- Walmsley v. Holcomb 61 Cal.App.2d 578 at 584 p. 683
- Mutual Life Insurance v. Henes 8 Cal.App.2d 306 at 311 p. 683
- Bergin v. van der Steen 107 Cal.App.2d 8 at 16 p. 683
- Long v. Thompson 45 Cal.App.2d 161 at 169 p. 683
- Richter v. Walker 36 Cal.2d 634 at 639 p. 684
- Johndrow v. Thomas 31 Cal.2d 202 at 207 p. 684
- Albonico v. Madera Irrigation District 53 Cal.2d 735 at 741 p. 684
- National Reserve Co. of America v. Metropolitan Trust Co. 17 Cal.2d 827 at 832-833 p. 684
- Marx v. McKinney 23 Cal.2d 439 at 443 p. 684
- Fohl v. Metropolitan Life Insurance 54 Cal.App.2d 368 at 383 p. 685
- Miller v. Fireman's Fund Insurance 6 Cal.App. 395 at 398 p. 685
- Dietlin v. General American Life Insurance 4 Cal.2d 336 at 350 p. 685
- Lagomarsino v. San Jose Abstract & Title Insurance 178 Cal.App.2d 455 at 460 p. 685
- Lincke v. Mutual Benefit Health & Accident Ass'n 76 Cal.App.2d 222 at 231 p. 685
- Trousdell v. Equitable Life Assurance Society of United States 55 Cal.App.2d 74 at 84 p. 685
- Francis v. Iowa National Fire Insurance 112 Cal.App. 565 at 571 p. 685
- Estrada v. Queen Insurance Co. 107 Cal.App. 504 at 510 p. 685
- Hutchings v. Southwestern Automobile Insurance 96 Cal.App. 318 at 321-322 p. 685
- Kohner v. National Surety Co. 105 Cal.App. 430 at 437 p. 686
- Vaughn v. Jonas 31 Cal.2d 586 at 605 p. 686
- Fageol Truck & Coach Co. v. Pacific Indemnity Co. 18 Cal.2d 731 at 744 p. 686
- White v. Gilman 138 Cal. 375 at 377 p. 686
- Bridge v. Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance 167 Cal. 774 at 777 p. 687
- Iowa & California Land Co. v. Hoag 132 Cal. 627 at 630 p. 687
- Philbrook v. Superior Court 111 Cal. 31 at 34 p. 687
- Anheuser-Busch, Inc. v. Starley 28 Cal.2d 347 at 352 p. 687
- Giselman v. Starr 106 Cal. 651 at 657 p. 687
- Stackpole v. Pacific Gas & Electric Co. 181 Cal. 700 at 702 p. 687
- Webb v. Casassa 82 Cal.App. 307 at 312 p. 687
- Bowles v. Superior Court 44 Cal.2d 574 at 583 p. 687
- Consolidated National Bank v. Hayes 112 Cal. 75 at 82 p. 687
- Mosier v. Suburban Estates, Inc. 137 Cal.App. 574 at 576 p. 687
- Reidy v. Young 119 Cal.App. 322 at 324 p. 687
- McCartney v. Campbell 208 Cal. 647 at 648 p. 687
- McLane v. Storr 75 Cal.App.2d 459 at 463 p. 687